GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Darkness

On his 21st birthday, the awesome and terrible powers of the Darkness awaken within Jackie Estacado, a mafia hitman for the Franchetti crime family. With his new powers, Jackie is able to wreak terrifying havoc on his enemies. Jackie must learn to fully command the Darkness so he can take back control of the Franchetti family, which is ruledby his uncle Paulie, a despicable man who is almost universally despised.
Average Customer Rating:
8.976
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
10 stars
24
9 stars
10
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
36 out of 4188%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Darkness
Review 1 for The Darkness
Embrace the Darkness.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/11
CGold
Location: Berwick, ME
Yes, I realize my rating is a bit funky. Now let's just move on to the review, shall we? Back in 2007, when COD was loved by all, the first Transformers movie was good and the US hadn't slipped into the financial problems it has now, The Darkness came out. Based on the Top Cow comic by the same name, The Darkness tells the story of Hitman Jackie Estacado and the night of his 21st birthday. Around the time this happens, his guardian/boss, Paulie Franchetti (also the game's Big Bad) back stabs him. However, at the same time, he gains an entity known only as The Darkness, a malevolent being that feeds on suffering and horror. With these new found powers, Jackie decides to fight back but what happens after the first chapter is a dark, emotional and amazing ride. This was, to me, the first game out there that made me realize the importance of story telling with it's incredible voice work (featuring Mike Patton as the titular Darkness) and an awesome soundtrack. There's also several certain moments over the course of the game that will stay with me forever. On top of that, the graphics hold up really well. The amount of detail you see in environments and character models is staggering, even though there are some hitches like mouth movements not keeping up with the pace or some movements being a tad slow. Now, I bet you're wondering why aren't I talking about the gameplay. Well, I will darn it! The gameplay in The Darkness, though an FPS, is different. You can cary all of the guns you've collected over the course of the game, perform gruesome execution moves (shotgun to the mouth anyone?), use your demonic powers (such as a deviating Black Hole or a tentacle that acts as a spear for you) and even summon nasty (albeit somewhat useless) minions known as Darklings to run around and horribly slaughter people. You can get neat little sidequests from the people who habbit the subways of NYC. The AI and controls needs some work, however. The controls suffer from a somewhat finicky and wonky movement and it may take a bit of a learning curve. And, even though you can get killed pretty easily, the AI will make stupid choices like run straight at you to kill you, which will lead to a horrid, HORRID death at your hands. Oh, and after they're dead, you can eat their hearts. Yum yum! Just for the record, there is a Multiplayer component but from what I've heard, it's pretty bad and NOT worth trying out. So, how is The Darkness? Well, in case if you haven't figured out already, just buy the darn thing! You can get for 5 bucks. Sure, you might only play it once but after playing though the story, I don't think you'll regret it. So, COME. AND EMBRACE THE DARKNESS.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Told you it was awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Darkness
Face " The Darkness "
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/10
Nati A.
ok basically i only bought this game cause i had several dollars left and and saw this game REALLY cheap. so i bought it not expecting greatness since i say " You get what you pay for " and man i was wrong.. This game was totally Amazing in every way, was pretty short, but the real good gameplay made up for it, was never repetitive, you can choose when you want to do your objectives. The storyline is definitely one of the best I've played so far. Using your darkness powers at first may confuse you, but once you get used to it, its hella fun to use. My fav is the Darkness Crawler thing hehe.. Controls for the game are easy to learn, especially when you get the darkness. Little note, this isnt a normal First Person Shooter. The guns are actually very realistic. When you reload, if you still had ammo in your Mag, you will lose that ammo. Sound Quality is great, graphics, real good, even for a game made in 07'. Cool thing about this is when you watch TV its the Full Length show! even when watching a movie haha. but yeah i completed this game and it was tons of fun. If you don't buy it ( seeing its like less than $10 ) you are missing out on an Amazing game. BUY THIS RIGHT NOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Darkness
A Twist of Darkness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/14
Frunders
Location: East Quogue NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At the time of my first purchase of this game I had already played through the second game and expected its predecessor to be a subpar generic action game despite thoroughly enjoying the sequel. I couldn't have been more wrong the main draw of this game to me is that I happen to be an enthusiast of Mafia and Gangster films and this has the elements of a great Mafia film with a twist of Psychological Horror which is something I've never seen done before. The greatest aspect of The Darkness is that the plot and characters are taken from a comic book series made by Top Cow and the video game adaption truly does it justice. Overall even now in 2014 this game holds up well and is truly an individual game not matched or comparable with any other game of the time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for The Darkness
Simply a Grate Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/10
Bullet4thedead
I have never heard of The Darkness comics before nor anything about it i saw this games trailer and really wanted to try it out so i rented it and loved it so much i bought it. I loved the storyline so much i started reading The Darkness comics and i am not a fan of reading but i still enjoyed it but back to the game. the darkness powers are very fun to slaughter your enemies with u can bite their faces off, impale them with i giant tentacle arm, shoot them up with your guns or the darkness's guns, and even suck ur enemies into a black hole. your minions or darklings are all so every fun to use especially the berserker when he gets his different outfits and weapons the fire man with the axe, the butcher with the machete, and the street worker with the jack hammer are my favorites. my over all rating for this game is a 8/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Darkness
A great game with a few flaws.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/11
DeceptiveKid17
Location: Amarillo, Tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a great steal for the price of $4.99. The graphics are good considering it came out 3, 4 years ago, but The Darkness is the best part about this game. By far one of the most unique ideas for a FPS. The AI is a bit weak, on even the hardest difficulty. (Don't expect much a challenge, especially when you inherit The Darkness Powers) And Jackie. (Main Character) Has extremely slow movements at times. (He doesn't really run, more so jogs) Minus these two things, the game is great. Very addicting and the storyline is really intriguing. My personal favorite thing about the game is the music. I can't help but feel like I'm in a city in Cyrodiil, or exploring a cave from the Oblivion. (At other times, the music just plays annoyingly for no reason at all.) Nonetheless, this is a great 2K Game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Darkness
for only $5 you cant complain.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/11
natonjob
Location: Banning,ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is a very underrated gem. you basically get what you paid for. Your not going to play multilayer online. There isn't anyone playing it and the multilayer is mesh anyway so if your looking for a multilayer game look elsewhere. You wanna buy this game for the single player campaign. The campaign is only about 8-10 hours long but its a allot of fun 8-10 hours. The game has a very interesting story. Its a very dark, mafia like story. The graphics are good for its time. The voice acting is some of the best Ive ever heard in a game. The only gripe I kinda had with it was its automatic targeting system. Its much like Golden eye for N64 where you just point in the general direction and the gun will do the rest. Not to say that bad its just kinda takes away from the challenge a little bit. overall its a great game that everyone should check out and for only $5 you cant complain
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Darkness
Simply Incredible
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/09
Kraig
This game is almost perfect in every aspect except for its length which is in no way bad but when it does end I at least found myself wishing that it hadn't. This game isn't to challenging since the darkness will actually bring you back to life any time you die but it has its sticky spots where you just have to try your best to get past the enemies. The graphics are top notch and I wish the 360 had more titles with this world of darkness feel to it, the sound and music were perfect the gun fire sounded as it should and the voices for all the characters were amazing, the music for every scene and situation matched perfectly and the controls are easy to remember and very well placed. The story line goes right along with the comic and you really feel the emotions that the character feels, I dunno about everyone else but I was VERY upset about what happened to Jenny and wanted revenge just as much as Jackie. This is definitely in my top 5 favorite games of all time I just hope the sequel is just as good. All in all, just go buy this game you will not regret it and for the price that its at now there's no reason not to.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Darkness
The darkness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/09
hybrid gamer
At first I was very skeptical, I had never heard of it or the comic. When I played it though, I was blown away. From the moment the game started, the story line was very gravitational, like I was being pulled into the screen. The first-person view really helped with that. Jackie Estacado was also a very good main character. I didn't feel like I was playing someone with no emotions, like I did with the Grand Theft Auto games (all of them). Jackie felt very real to me, partly because they make it so that you learn more and more about him as the game progresses. I think it's very interesting how you already know who the rest of the characters are the moment you look at them. As a character, Jackie was definitely more of a dynamic character, whereas the rest of the characters were somewhat static. But that doesn't make them any less likable, either. Some were even funny. Also, I'm one of those people who loves a game with realistic and convincing sounds. The Darkness had excellent sound quality. The squelching of the enemy's heart being ripped out and then swallowed by the darkness tendrils was what mesmerized me the most. The music also really impressed me. The sinister choir in the background sent chills down my spine. However, the online play was very choppy. And most of the kills were one-hit kills. All in all, I would recommend this game to any gamers who like a little time to themselves.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Darkness
Just not for me
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
CMasta
Location: Utah
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had heard a lot of good things about the Darkness. I was never really interested in the game until the second one came out. I then got to reading up on it and found that a lot of people liked the game. I always thought the darkness powers looked interesting so I finally bought the game for cheap and gave it a spin.
After playing it for about 2 hours I just got bored. The biggest problem I have with the game is that the combat is so slow. The aiming in the game is just not for me. When you move the reticule over close to the enemy it automatically sticks to him. It has to be this way because trying to move the reticule in any direction takes forever. Its almost like trying to aim a tank.
This makes enemy encounters predictable and boring. All I did was walk look at an enemy and shoot and repeat that until they were all dead. Not very exciting. Im more of a fan of running around frantically trying to find cover and flanking the enemy. That isn't how this game is played. The main character just moves too slow.
I do have to say that for a game that came out awhile ago, alot of its aspects hold up even today,however.
The darkness powers ideas are cool and interesting. The environments are detailed and look very good. The developers knew how they wanted the game to look and feel and they nailed it. There were just a lot of details that got put into this game that I don't see very much in games these days. Still, they didn't make up for boring combat and predictable enemy encounters.
If you do enjoy the first person shooters then definitely give this one a shot. Its cheap enough that its worth it. There are a lot of people that enjoy this game but Im not one of them. I was surprised to see that a lot of things in the game hold up pretty well by todays standards.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Darkness
great game, kept me doing till the end
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/09
Cartmen838213
This game was one of the best early xbox 360 games that i have ever played. I had just started looking for older games for the 360 and this and a few others were very highly rated. I checked this game and 2 others out. The first 2 i couldn't really get into but this one was interesting because things kept changing to keep my attention. I went from the subway in new york to the underworld. Killing everything from swat to zombies. I couldn't believe the graphics they were something u would expect of a new releasing game. This is one of the best games ive played for a while and i recommend it to anyone that wants a game that you don't want to stop playing, also to anyone that likes difficulty. Not saying its the most difficult but if you put it on hard your in for alot more time than if you keep it on normal. The sound affects were amazing, i could always hear the subway coming before it actually reached the station, tearing the hearts of your enemies out was also a good touch. It is a great game for everyone that likes role- playing games and needs something to do for a day or two.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Darkness
It was fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/08
xbox626
I loved this game i could not stop playing it, even the demo was fun. the online was ok it was not great, it glitched way to much but every thing else was fun. I did not use my guns as much when i got to chapter 3, i only used the darkness, the guns just got in the way. At the no mansland it was hard but after some time i got it and it was fun. when you get the darkness guns it makes it much easier but finding them was a pain in the neck. i played alot of online and had fun the matched went fast and i got fist place in the first match i played. I would tell people to get this game it was very fun. the storyline was really really good. so i guess in all i give it 10 out of 10. The game play was really good and the controls were good. the end of the game was so sad.I had a hard time controlling the darkness after a lot of time i got it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Darkness
Passing up this game is a MISTAKE
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/09
Asylumrunner8
I bought the Darkness with an expectation of an average game. Not great, but average. What I got was an exceptional tale of a tragic anti hero fighting his own demons (literally) and a great FPS. Has plenty of things to keep you busy, although re-playability is average. The interface is invisible, with ammo and weapon types popping up only when weapons are changed. This is slightly inconvenient, but nothing too major. The game, even on Easy, will provide a challenge for most players, with an even spread of deaths and a steady difficulty curve. The graphics look fine (only no one moves their mouths when they are talking). The sounds of the game add to the ambiance of the entire experience of the game and do nothing but make it better. The gameplay, the excellent story (even beyond video game characters) and the varied combat (demon summoning? WW1-based Hell? The ability to impale, devour, and suck up my enemies in a black hole? YES) Even for someone like me who doesn't normally play FPSes, one can defiantly find a part of The Darkness to enjoy. For me? The best part of the game is, in fact, The Darkness, an immortal being who inhabits the main character. The Darkness is an insane sentience played by Mike Patton, I believe (with no voice editing!) and is in itself a fantastically intriguing character who is revealed throughout the game. This is only one of the many compelling characters one will find if they pick up The Darkness
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Darkness
Dark and AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/11
Julie27
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I ended up buying this game because of the cheap price and I was pleasantly surprised about how AMAZING this game was! The storyline is fantastic, the voice acting is perfect with it's deep dark twists and turns along with great fighting that's challenging yet exciting and entertaining. The main storyline along with the side quests kept me utterly glued to the TV for hours! I am truly glad I got this game, definitely check this one out! I would have bought this game at full price! I cannot wait for the sequel!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Darkness
Darkness
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/09
Hellsword59
When my i bought this game i thought it was going to another short and scary game. But i was wrong this game is great when you play as jackie and on his 21 birthday he got evil powers then you have to kill your uncle before he kills you. the graphics are great very clear on my tv and the sound is good. the length is kind of short. the only part that is hard is when you are in hell it is too dark and you have to eat the germans hearts in order for them to die completely or they will get back up and start shooting at you. and how it sucks your uncle kills your girlfriend jenny it was kind of sad. the monsters you create are pretty cool like the gunner and the bomber monster ( i forgot the name of it) and how you can use your darkling. so in my opinion this game is great but need to make it more longer and little bit more challenging.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Darkness
Great story and fun combat.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
Deaththysoul
One of the best stories in mafia games and the combat is fun at most times. The combat has an action/shooter way about it you can use pistols or use demon heads to devour hearts of evil men.Fun game one of my top 50 xbox 360 games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Darkness
Can't beat it for the price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/08
Kiba's Shadow
As a late adopter, I just picked up this game for the newly discounted price. The storyline is involving, and the graphics and sound are well done. There was only minor frustration with the targeting at the initial fast paced levels, but controls were very easy, especially after gaining your dark powers. One of the few first person shooters where the game is much more fun when you aren't actually shooting anyone. Finding new, creative ways to dispatch someone takes center stage. I also appreciated the dark humor applied to the darklings. My only complaints are it wasn't very long, but it was probably just long enough for the storyline to continue to be engaging, and not become dull and repetetive. Also the script could've used some tweaking and felt simplistic at times - think stupid mob hitman speak. Overall though a great game and worth playing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for The Darkness
This game is amazing and addictive.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/11
eagles
Location: georgia,GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off let me start off on how great this game is, not only does it have a great story line, but the weapons are fun and easy to use. The powers are easy to use but shooting out the lights are kind of a chore, too many for my taste. It was very exciting, original and fun to explore everything they had in this game. Now here comes the bad review on this game. The speaking of the characters are unrealistic meaning mouth doesnt match the words, or mouth doesnt move at all. The graphics could be a little better but still decent. Online is fun but terrible since there isnt many people playing this game so it is still pretty slow. Overall this game is definetly worth the 5 bucks it cost. I had no interest in playing this game but im glad i picked up a copy and gave it a shot.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Darkness
The darkness is an overall GREAT game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/11
Arby
Location: McD,OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am really adicted to the darkness, but i can't play it :P. I like this game alot you can use the darkness and your minions(darklings) to just kill all enimies in sight. You will learn to control the darkness and unlock new powers as you play through the game. The game starts out you and fellow hitmen( you were part of the franchetti crime family) are driving around and the cops find you so you try to lose them but you end up without teammates because they died trying to lose the cops. Oh yeah, you don't start out with the darkness. :(
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Darkness
FPS with a twist
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/09
rypg75
So, I had started reading The Darkness comics when they first came out. I wasn't a "huge" fan, but it was good and the idea that they made a game out of it intrigued me. the storyline for the game is very good, although I can understand how the Darkness aspect of the game can be it a bit confusing, because I'm not sure it got as much into the story as it could have or some things were easy to miss. (I would have given the sound quality 10 stars because overall it was awesome, but there were enough times when either Jackie or an NPC talked too low to hear well without blasting the volume OR a train or TV somewhere was too loud to hear properly). The human graphics are pretty good, not great, but I was really impressed with the environment graphics. The mini-cut scenes (meaning the load screens) are way, way too often and are also repetitive. I'd almost rather just have a load screen pop up. The mini-map you can view is basically useless, it really tells you nothing except what areas you have been too - that is saved, however, by the street maps you can view when you are on the streets. Speaking of maps - I know the word is that the game is really short, and that may be the case, but I wasn't disappointed too much. My bigger complaint is that the entire game is played in a very small area, meaning you are constantly going back and forth between the same two train stations. (with load screens every time you enter a station, get on a train, leave a station, etc.). I'm not asking for an area the size of the GTA games, but a little more would have gone a long way. The brainless humans that walk around, particularly in the train stations often get in your way and sometimes interfere with what you are trying to do. It's really fun when you get like 3 near each other and can't get past them on the stairs, grrr. (Also, for NYC the streets are really deserted) There are a couple of chapters that aren't in New York. They are important to the story, but I didn't enjoy those chapters at all. Saving - you can't save on your own! Everything is autosave and sometimes that confuses you as to whether you can take a break or if it will send you way back if you do. Frustrating. Apparently it is a "lone" save as well, so you can't have alternating progression points if you sometimes want to try something one way and then go back and try it differently. Darkness powers...okay, this is where my game changed completely. I played for so long using my guns exclusively (in my opinion the uzi and shotgun are terrible and the pistols rock until you can actually get a good machine gun later in the game) that I ended up sleeping on my powers and not realizing how effective they really are. Once you are comfortable with the darkness powers, the game almost becomes too easy, so learn how to use them right away. Even then, the darklings are nice, but I really only brough them out for a few situations. The controls are good, but the creeping dark power can sometimes frustrate you. I think a sideways dive+roll or some little additions like that would have been nice to have. Lastly- the phone numbers for extra content. Stupid, Stupid, Stupid. it's just a big waste of time to call these numbers. Maybe 2% of them were actually humorous. It's almost as if they wanted to fool you into thinking the game was longer by calling all these numbers. Yes, you can skip the audio - so that's an option to consider. I would rather they have done something else with the collectibles. Parental note: there is a lot of profanity in the game. Think of it as watching a mob movie. For the low price it is going for now, I think it's money well spent. The story and game are good, aside from the few complaints I listed. If I paid full price I would have been disappointed, but am overall very satisfied. Now they just need a Witchblade game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Darkness
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/11
sadisticpenguin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well I first played this game when I got my PS3 its was my very first next gen game I bought.. once I got in and played it i just couldn't stop playing, the storyline is great visually stunning even now, still feels right.. as of right now i don't own a ps3 anymore so i can't play this game over and with the announcement of the sequel i just had to buy this game again [xbox] to freshen up my memory, its just a RAW experience dark and gritty they nailed it perfectly a MUST buy for sure
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>