GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Darkness

On his 21st birthday, the awesome and terrible powers of the Darkness awaken within Jackie Estacado, a mafia hitman for the Franchetti crime family. With his new powers, Jackie is able to wreak terrifying havoc on his enemies. Jackie must learn to fully command the Darkness so he can take back control of the Franchetti family, which is ruledby his uncle Paulie, a despicable man who is almost universally despised.
Average Customer Rating:
8.95
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
10 stars
23
9 stars
10
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
35 out of 4088%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Darkness
Review 1 for The Darkness
Boring Boring Boring!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/13
Anemicnapalm
Location: california
I had read these reviews hoping this game would be good, i remember playing this when it first came out thinking it wasnt very good ,so i figured maybe i missed something or judged it to harshly. So i purchased it again to see if maybe it was a gem. This game is almost unplayable ....slow clunky its not even fun...the graphics are really good , and teh narrative is fantastic, but that can not save this pile from its oh so boring gameplay . just trying to spare the next person who purchases this flop /.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for The Darkness
Heavily Underrated
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/12
Pwns4u
Location: Mound City, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was one of my first game I received for my Xbox 360. It is a very underrated game and should definitely be played by people who like original ideas in a game. Gameplay was very intense and introduced a new way to play. You spend most of the game dual-wielding pistols, but you also had machine pistols, assault rifles and shotguns. You also had two long snakelike heads that would provide combat advantages, but only if you stopped by a dead body and let them gobble up a dead man's heart, and stayed out of the light. Speaking of light, this game had one of the best looking lighting systems I've seen in a game, handling up to three shadows at a time. Not to mention The Darkness's wonderful voice acting and story line.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for The Darkness
BEST GAME EVER!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
Blackmombagoku
Location: Ishpeming MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
In my opinion theis game is way better than the 2nd. This one has better graphics, better story, and you can turn the darkness on or off. Buy this game if you want to play a good shooter.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for The Darkness
Give this game an hour or two and you'll be sold
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game isn't the greatest FPS ever. It's not the best action game ever. It's not the best horror/supernatural game ever. What it IS is a unique blend of FPS/Half-Life-type-narration with a generous pinch of Open World and a dash of RPG. It doesn't do anything PERFECTLY but it does everything very well and has quite a neat story and theme (and the locations to which you travel are SO neat..... and the skills you acquire during the game are awesome.)
As I said, this game doesn't hit "perfection" on any given aspect. The shooting is good but not great. The graphics (keep in mind this game is kinda old by now) are good without being amazing. Once you get past the very beginning and the story starts rolling along: this is what hooked me and what I believe hooks many of the people that love this game and make this game such a cult classic. The sound and music are very good and nicely set the mood... but the story gets good pretty early on and keeps you interested in what comes next... including some really neat twists and turns. I don't want to ruin anything but this game has some Alan Wake-ish themes of light-and-dark (though not in the way you might expect) and can get very deep and dark (though the name might have given this away.)
This game was 5$ when I got it.... the release of The Darkness 2 raised interest in the first game and the price went up to (currently, July 2012) $10. It is still worth it.... I always buy my games used and as cheap as possible and I'd probably have been happy buying this game at much closer to full price. It you give the game a little time you might just find this to be one of your favorite games ever, like I did. One thing is sure.... there sure aren't very many games like this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Darkness
a freeroam mafia horror game what else do you need
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
frund
Location: EAST QUOGUE,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love mafia games and when i found out that there was a fps i had to buy it was fantastic the best fps i ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for The Darkness
Just not for me
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
CMasta
Location: Utah
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had heard a lot of good things about the Darkness. I was never really interested in the game until the second one came out. I then got to reading up on it and found that a lot of people liked the game. I always thought the darkness powers looked interesting so I finally bought the game for cheap and gave it a spin.
After playing it for about 2 hours I just got bored. The biggest problem I have with the game is that the combat is so slow. The aiming in the game is just not for me. When you move the reticule over close to the enemy it automatically sticks to him. It has to be this way because trying to move the reticule in any direction takes forever. Its almost like trying to aim a tank.
This makes enemy encounters predictable and boring. All I did was walk look at an enemy and shoot and repeat that until they were all dead. Not very exciting. Im more of a fan of running around frantically trying to find cover and flanking the enemy. That isn't how this game is played. The main character just moves too slow.
I do have to say that for a game that came out awhile ago, alot of its aspects hold up even today,however.
The darkness powers ideas are cool and interesting. The environments are detailed and look very good. The developers knew how they wanted the game to look and feel and they nailed it. There were just a lot of details that got put into this game that I don't see very much in games these days. Still, they didn't make up for boring combat and predictable enemy encounters.
If you do enjoy the first person shooters then definitely give this one a shot. Its cheap enough that its worth it. There are a lot of people that enjoy this game but Im not one of them. I was surprised to see that a lot of things in the game hold up pretty well by todays standards.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Darkness
the darkness!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/12
affliction377
Location: minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
great game all together lots of fun and really good story, 2k did really good and the sequel will be even better!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for The Darkness
Love the Mafia/Evil colab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
R4NZ1D
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Very unique story line , great gameplay and graphics for its time. I myself find the gamepaly most compelling eating hearts and using dark powers...by now its 5 bucks do yourself a favor and pick it up
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for The Darkness
Unique combat and great storyline
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/11
Dreadguard
Location: Ilinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I thought this game was well thought the voice acting was off very slightly the graphics great. The storyline is really the best i have seen yet for the xbox for a long time. This is a great game for hardcore gamers or if you like shooting and wreaking mass distruction and mass histeria it is gory and fun at the same time.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Darkness
Great story and fun combat.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
Deaththysoul
One of the best stories in mafia games and the combat is fun at most times. The combat has an action/shooter way about it you can use pistols or use demon heads to devour hearts of evil men.Fun game one of my top 50 xbox 360 games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Darkness
Good Fellas Meets Predator
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/11
Tain7edHalo
Location: St. Helens, OR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is one of my favorites! Aim is dead on and a breeze to go through! FUN
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for The Darkness
Embrace the Darkness.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/11
CGold
Location: Berwick, ME
Yes, I realize my rating is a bit funky. Now let's just move on to the review, shall we? Back in 2007, when COD was loved by all, the first Transformers movie was good and the US hadn't slipped into the financial problems it has now, The Darkness came out. Based on the Top Cow comic by the same name, The Darkness tells the story of Hitman Jackie Estacado and the night of his 21st birthday. Around the time this happens, his guardian/boss, Paulie Franchetti (also the game's Big Bad) back stabs him. However, at the same time, he gains an entity known only as The Darkness, a malevolent being that feeds on suffering and horror. With these new found powers, Jackie decides to fight back but what happens after the first chapter is a dark, emotional and amazing ride. This was, to me, the first game out there that made me realize the importance of story telling with it's incredible voice work (featuring Mike Patton as the titular Darkness) and an awesome soundtrack. There's also several certain moments over the course of the game that will stay with me forever. On top of that, the graphics hold up really well. The amount of detail you see in environments and character models is staggering, even though there are some hitches like mouth movements not keeping up with the pace or some movements being a tad slow. Now, I bet you're wondering why aren't I talking about the gameplay. Well, I will darn it! The gameplay in The Darkness, though an FPS, is different. You can cary all of the guns you've collected over the course of the game, perform gruesome execution moves (shotgun to the mouth anyone?), use your demonic powers (such as a deviating Black Hole or a tentacle that acts as a spear for you) and even summon nasty (albeit somewhat useless) minions known as Darklings to run around and horribly slaughter people. You can get neat little sidequests from the people who habbit the subways of NYC. The AI and controls needs some work, however. The controls suffer from a somewhat finicky and wonky movement and it may take a bit of a learning curve. And, even though you can get killed pretty easily, the AI will make stupid choices like run straight at you to kill you, which will lead to a horrid, HORRID death at your hands. Oh, and after they're dead, you can eat their hearts. Yum yum! Just for the record, there is a Multiplayer component but from what I've heard, it's pretty bad and NOT worth trying out. So, how is The Darkness? Well, in case if you haven't figured out already, just buy the darn thing! You can get for 5 bucks. Sure, you might only play it once but after playing though the story, I don't think you'll regret it. So, COME. AND EMBRACE THE DARKNESS.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Told you it was awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Darkness
POINTLESS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/11
Chamuco42
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
WORST GAME EVER enough said not even worth the money to buy it. It is best used to prop up your table or TV
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 34 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
VinceVaughn
OHIO
 
Please wait while more information about VinceVaughn is loaded.
Additional information about VinceVaughn could not be loaded.
Posted 12/9/11
WE MAY NEVER KNOW.
Customer Avatar
Tain7edHalo
St. Helens, OR
 
Please wait while more information about Tain7edHalo is loaded.
Additional information about Tain7edHalo could not be loaded.
Pointless?
Posted 10/27/11
How was it so?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for The Darkness
This is fun and unique
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/11
kingofthegamers
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
very fun and really unique I think you should buy this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for The Darkness
Perfect Game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
Spardax
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I highly recommend buying this game if you are a hardcore gamer. The game is absolutely flawless. It has probably the most amazing story-lines and gameplay out there! I guarantee that when you finish playing this game all the way through, your going to want to keep playing it over and over again. It's so addicting! The only complaint I have about this game is some of the Darklings are cool but really stupid. LOL!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Darkness
for only $5 you cant complain.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/11
natonjob
Location: Banning,ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is a very underrated gem. you basically get what you paid for. Your not going to play multilayer online. There isn't anyone playing it and the multilayer is mesh anyway so if your looking for a multilayer game look elsewhere. You wanna buy this game for the single player campaign. The campaign is only about 8-10 hours long but its a allot of fun 8-10 hours. The game has a very interesting story. Its a very dark, mafia like story. The graphics are good for its time. The voice acting is some of the best Ive ever heard in a game. The only gripe I kinda had with it was its automatic targeting system. Its much like Golden eye for N64 where you just point in the general direction and the gun will do the rest. Not to say that bad its just kinda takes away from the challenge a little bit. overall its a great game that everyone should check out and for only $5 you cant complain
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Darkness
awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/11
melvin55jacob
Location: texas, tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its a really creative game awesome thing you can do in HE'LLand in the city, and the darkness is probably one of my favorite games
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for The Darkness
Fun at times but other's not so much.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/11
Deaththysoul
This game has a great story and voice acting but that is the only reason why i would give it a 7.5/10. Jackie estacado is his name and mafia is his game and the policemen and sometimes soldiers in reality this game is not bad i'm just angry today that is why the darkness has the score that has been given.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Darkness
Amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/11
reckless
Location: Arlington,Tx
The darkness has a great storyline,and is very entertaining.This game is worth buying and so is the second one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Darkness
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/11
sadisticpenguin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well I first played this game when I got my PS3 its was my very first next gen game I bought.. once I got in and played it i just couldn't stop playing, the storyline is great visually stunning even now, still feels right.. as of right now i don't own a ps3 anymore so i can't play this game over and with the announcement of the sequel i just had to buy this game again [xbox] to freshen up my memory, its just a RAW experience dark and gritty they nailed it perfectly a MUST buy for sure
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>