GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Monster Hunter Freedom 2

The non-stop epic hunt-or-be-hunted adventure continues with more content and options than ever before! Monster Hunter Freedom 2 builds on Monster Hunter 2 for PlayStation®2 (previously released in Japan only) and contains 50% more content than the original Monster Hunter Freedom. In this unique action-adventure game, gamers increase their play skills as they battle through breath-taking environments while defeating bloodthirsty creatures. The series has proven to be a phenomenal success with sales exceeding 2.4 million units worldwide and Monster Hunter Portable as Japan's #1 PSP system title. As mighty hunters, players can face a variety of quests alone, but the true spirit of the game comes alive with the aid of others. Multiplayer battles with up to three friends via wireless ad hoc mode foster team building and strategy for the ultimate battle of man vs. beast. Players can fully customize their characters, building up their abilities with armor and weaponry as they make their way through hundreds of quests. With the addition of infrastructure functionality, players will now be able to download even more content and quests. Let the carnage begin!
Average Customer Rating:
8.591
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 out of 2282%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Review 1 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
lots of work
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/13
TGamer
Location: 54302
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is really hard in the beginning and takes a lot of playing time to advance in the game. im half way done and ive played it for 124 hours.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Great but know what your getting...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/13
beanboyjrb12
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Monster hunter freedom 2 is a great addition to the franchise. But things such as the controls and timing can get a bit hard latter on in the game. But awesome battles make up for that problem! The graphics are not great but there pretty good for PSP. The sound was great it felt like I was in the fight. And the lasting apparel? You will be playing this game for hours and hours! I love this game but its easy to understand why some people might not like it. So give it a go and see if you will like it! :D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Meh its ok
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/11
highguy68
Location: marietta, GA
It's an a really good game. although you attack slowly and the camera motion is a little awkward (at least for me it is). The scenery is breathtaking weather it's looking through vast desert and or standing at the edge of a mountain. the creature however just look like copies of each other just in different colors. overall i find Monster Hunter 2 an awesome and pretty addicting game. i would give it a thumb up.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Good but not great.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/11
xXtHeBoMbXx
Location: Texas, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its fun, but not alot of action. I think its a cross between Runescape and Pokemon. The controls are really annoying though, and I would have rated it alot higher if they were better. The graphics are almost as realistic as a PS3 or an Xbox 360, like all the other MH's.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
this game is a horrible game
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/10
dinoman
Location: colorado
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
ok this game is flat out bad there are no good weapons or monsters so you can't even kill monsters with these weapons the only good weapons are in training and there are not even any people you can play with
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 37 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
METALLICA895
 
Please wait while more information about METALLICA895 is loaded.
Additional information about METALLICA895 could not be loaded.
pretty good
Posted 1/15/11
good game endless ammount of quests but kinda difficult and u can never find anybody to play with
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/09
Ryuu16
Great game overall. I must say this is a must buy for anyone who owns a PSP and has a love for RPG's. Graphics of course are not as good as they could be, but since it is a portable gaming device, it has good graphics. For some that say there is no story line I call blasphemy, the story line is just not very evident. Of course from its predecessor, Monster Hunter for the PS2 with the dual Analog fighting, this had great dynamics with controls with the use of only one analog stick. I have spent almost 20 hours into this game and still have not done all that I wanted. For those that want replay-ability, just go co-op and have fun with friends or people you just met online. I have recommended this game to many of my friends with PSP's and they love this game. So for those who aren't sure, rent it anywhere you can find it and see the fun that it is.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
One of the greatest psp titles ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/09
Dodgersdude
This game is a must buy! I have spent hundreds of hours playing and still have plenty to do. The length of the game is amazing, I know people who have spent thousands of hours playing and still have not done everything. I love it becasue it is one of the few psp ction games that isn't a button masher. The challenge is great. It can be VERY hard at times but it keeps the game interesting. Controls are ok. They did a great job for a psp but controls for some weapons could be better. Graphics are amazing for the psp. Capcom did a great job with that. Interface is nice, but could use a little work. It can get a little bit frustrating at times but it doesn't really distract from the gameplay. Length is great. As i have said before you ca play for thousands of hours and still have alot to do. Sound is ok. Great for a psp, but still could have been slightly better. The soun will sometimes hiccup but it is very rare. But one of the few bad things is the story line...or lack there of. There isn't a story at all. You play, but there isn't any plot and no characters. But over all I think this is a must buy for any psp owner into an action game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
The Best Game In Awhile
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/09
Shin136
This is by far one of the best games i have been privileged to play in quite awhile. it has 600-1000 hours of play to fully complete the whole game multiplayer quests and all. that is a great amount of time to spend on one game i know. most of you are probably thinking why would i spend that long on one game when i could be playing other shorter games,because this game is worth it. if you own a psp this is a must have game. i have owned this game twice. the first time i bought it i skipped the tutorial and tried to play it,i then failed miserably and returned the game thinking it was ridiculious. i bought the game a second time along with one of my friends and after going through the tutorial i realized that this game had great potential. the day i bought the game i spent 17hrs playing it. i just couldn't put it down. The multiplayer feature is great. it is a bit harder than the normal quests but well worth trying.i've only been able to play multiplayer with two people not the full four yet,so it may be easier with four. the only downside to the multiplayer is that sometimes when you and a friend are in the same room you don't see monsters in the same place as the other person. if the monster is killed by either player you both see it die but it does make it a little more complex when your friend is trying to hold off all the monsters while you fight the boss and he can't see the monster hitting you. the gathering hall is a fun place. you can get drunk by sitting at the table and pressing the circle button and thier are other emotes you can do at the table. it makes for hours of laughter for you and your friends. The controls to the game are fairly simple but take a little getting used to for some people. the camera isn't always in the best position but you can rotate it. the only problem with that is when you are near a wall sometimes the camera won't rotate for you. that can get a little frustrating sometimes. The selection of weapons is nice. you have plenty to choose from.as you progress through the game you get materials to make better weapons and cooler to look at too. some of the weapons can get frustrating because of the slow swing or the aiming but you just have to find to find a weapon you like. some people complain that the sword and shield is bad at blocking because they say that the shield doesn't work and glitches when hit. this has never occurred for me. the shield is small and for it to block and attack the hit must land on the shield,so you have to learn how to position your shield to block hits. you get good at this given some practice. The graphics are good. the cut scenes look great,but the in game graphics are nothing spectacular. they are good but they could be better. The sound is good. the quality is great,but the music itself is nothing special. it would have been nice to have been able to make a playlist of your own music from your psp and listen to it while playing but that is not an available option. The single player game is good,but i much prefer the multiplayer. they have plenty of quests available to challenge your skills and a variety of monsters to entertain you. the wyverns present quite a challenge. they are hard to kill and generally have special attributes(or "powers") that make it more difficult to fight them compared to normal monsters. Hope this helps anyone who is having a time making a decision regarding buying this game. i definitly recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 9 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Too repetitive...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/08
Gunner_God
The game was a little too repetitive for me, same fighting style every time I kill a monster. Anyways lets get this review going. Challenge was there, it was hard at the beginning which is fun when you have a challenge. The challenge soon died out and it was almost impossible not to lose. I have to hand it to you though, the graphics were just wowing. You could see every grass grain, wheat, mud, clear skies and clouds. The storyline was...well I don't really know, they never explained it in the game. Controls are easy to learn which makes the game a little bit more fun when you get the hang of it. The controls were just pretty basic. Sounds were okay I guess, they were good with weapon noises and walking. I probably did not like this game because I was expecting an RPG and this is NOT a RPG. I would not recommend this because of the repetitiveness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
The best RPG for PSP
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/08
gamestop fan
First off, this game is SWEET. But it's hard. Don't let anyone tell you it's easy. It had amazing graphics for psp. I originally played the first MH on PS2 and it was impossible unless you played online. But this one is a lot easier on solo play. Plus you can get with your friends and play Ad Hoc, or download content using infrastructure.There are a lot of weapons to choose from, and a lot of armor to make. Basically, you make weapons and armor, hunt down monsters, and then have a delicious meal cooked by your Felyne slaves, which are also on your farm. The best part is the freedom. If you turn on background loading, it makes the loading times shorter, but sucks the life out of your battery. that is the only downside to the game, I think. I have 50+ hours on it already and I still haven't finished the 4-star village quests!(it goes from 1 star to 5 star village quests, plus even more in the gathering hall.) If you like RPG's, then this is definitely your game, and it's a reasonable price considering the length.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Forget the bigger name games...this is it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/08
Monster Hunter
I recently started playing Monster Hunter Freedom 2 and I must say that this game next to Shadow of the Colossus is the best game I've ever played. I read a review that said "...kiss your social life goodbye." and they were right. All I want to do is play this game! I have other good PSP games such as FF Crisis Core, Splinter Cell Essentials, and Grand Theft Auto Liberty City and this one is the most addicting. I could easily spend all day playing this game if it wasn't for having to work! I am not even someone who can spend more than 3 hours playing before I have to put the game down and move onto something else. This game is that addicting and that good! If you love a challenge you will love this game because it is by far the hardest game I've ever played - by far and that's an understatement. Yes, I love fighting big monsters as you can see by my love for Shadow of the Colossus but that doesn't mean that is the only reason I love this game. THIS IS A GREAT GAME PERIOD! Get this game if you have a PSP...it is Very involved and it is the LONGEST GAME you will ever play!! People that can sit still and play a game for 8 hours straight complain that some games are to short but they will not complain about this one. I've read reviews that the writer states they played for 150 hours to 200 hours and they're still not done! The graphics are one of the best if not the best on the PSP, the amount of monsters you fight are amazing and there is a huge amount of weapons to choose from. Shadow of the Colossus is special to me because it is such a majestic game and I will not even count it on a list of my favorite games but on that list Monster Hunter Freedom 2 is at the top...no doubt about it. I have no worries that this game will get better as I get further into it. You go on quests to save a small village and they are long and fun. You can even cook raw meat that you get from a monster after you kill it to sustain your energy! The map is easy to use and the creatures are HARD to beat. Trust me, this is not a fake article from GameStop, this game is awesome! I can't praise it enough. If you think that you're good at fighting creatures than let's see what you've got. I've read and heard that later in the game some creatures are so hard to beat that you have to go online to get help to kill them! Is that hard enough for you? IF YOU ARE A TRUE GAMER and LOVE A CHALLENGE, get this game. Get this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
THE psp game you HAVE to have!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/08
Derek H.
Monster Hunter Freedom 2 is an amazing game especially for being on a handheld system. By the time you kill your first big monster you'll be left saying "how did they put this all on the little disk!?". Anyways Monster Hunter Throws you into a world of hunt or be hunted style. where the monsters have control just as much as the humans and it's your job to hunt them down for sport or for the defense of your town or life! GAMEPLAY: So you start out creating your hunter with multiple features like gender, face, hair and color, voice and under clothing. you may say well thats not much...but after you get into the game you create armor and weapons that will make you look like none of your hunting buddies! After you create your character you start out in your home village with some things you can do like training(DO IT if your a first timer!) Trust me if your new and you pass up training you WILL be pwned, trampled, flamed, and...farted on by a gorilla...(ill let you find that out on your own lol) after you complete your training you can search out the village elder to get started and you can pick a quest for your rank. You start out gathering items and killing small time monsters to get decent gear to build up to fight your next monster then so on and so forth. You may be asking "well...what kind of Monsters are there?" they are mostly all wyvren or dragons but in Freedom 2 Capcom has added many more creatures that are not just that like giant sand crabs and other things that i really dont want to spoil for you. COMBAT: Combat is definately strategic in almost everyway possible but you can kill the highest level monster running without armor and with a noobie blade you just have to know where to hit it and how it moves around. Because unlike almost all games of this type it is completely skill based. Dont get me wrong it is absolutely no walk in the park! the gear you have on helps tremendously but at the same time even if you have the ultimate gear and you don't really have the hang of it yet, you probably wont live to tell your friends you killed it and you cant lie cause they can proove it because you carry a hunting log with you all the time that tells you the size and how many of the type of monster you have killed. STORY: Well here it is "Once upon a time you created a character and killed lots of monsters to get awsome looking gear to show off to your friends" yup theres not a whole lot more to it. this game is not for you story loving RPG players. It focuses on multiplayer and real life social play. What i mean by that is like your character is a new puppy that you want to tell your friends about so they get a puppy and you can grow them and make them have really cool illegal dog fights! (umm i mean....well never mind ignore that lol) Multiplayer: Now that i told you it focuses on multiplayer that doesnt mean at all that its an MMO because it really isn't it's far from it. you can solo through the whole game if you want but the psp allows you to ad-hoc with 3 other people so you and your friends can hunt down the really hard monsters that are almost impossible without help. Just as anyone who plays monster hunter will tell you when you play monster hunter with a friend you REALLY get the reason why japan loves this game SO much. multiplayer really and i mean REALLY makes this game make total sense. CONTROLS: Ok when you start out in your hunt you'll find the game to have some funky controls. But honestly don't listen to IGN or Gamespot review about it because they picked up the game and played like 2 hours of it and wrote a review.(just like almost all review sites) it's somthing you will have to force yourself to learn but after you have you will notice it all ties together perfectly well and probably better than you would have ever imagined. OVERALL: I love monster hunter its my game and i hope this review will give you some insight on why you to should also buy it. Its the top selling psp ga
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Delve into a World of the Hunter & the Hunted.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/08
Ren Lotus
MHF2 is a very engaging game at the start. As soon as you pop in the UMD disk, a wonderful cutscene opens with wonderful graphics. This, of course, is just the opening cutscene. When you press "New Game" you are opted to customize your character, Male or Female, hair color, etc., and if you're a beginner. When done with that, the main cutscene appears--which, of course, is the closest thing you're gonna get for a storyline. NOTE: If you are a gamer who is looking for a storyline, I opt you to stop reading this now and ignore this game, or just read the summary at the end. Apparently, while your hunter is on the way to a new village to serve as it's guardian, you are knocked off of the mountain by a draconic beast. You are luckily recovered by Pokke villages former hunter, who was attacked and suffered fatal damage, therefore disabling him from being a hunter. So, he sent for you to be the new guardian, and you were knocked off of the mountain and almost died. Thus ends the storyline. Literally. At the start, you get the most basic of armor, only granting you six defense, and the former hunter grants you all of the bone weapons--from sword and shield to gunlance--which is useful, but at the same time the weakest of weapons. Choose your weapons, put on your armor, and be ready to begin the hunt. Now. I shall say that I enjoyed this game for the basic two cores of gameplay: Quests and multiplayer. Upon exiting your home, you should visit the village chief, who will ask you to go on quests. Quests, like I said, IS the game. You can go on Capturing quests, Gathering Quests, and Slaying quests. Capturing quests involve capturing the monster. Gathering will force you to gather things like twenty Mountain Herbs, and Slaying is...You guessed it, relentlessly hunting down your target and slaying them. But do not take this lightly; in some cases, hunting a monster is a big pain. Multiplayer is the second core of gameplay. If you have WiFi, you're n luck; link up by entering the building known only as the Gathering Hall, and press "Online Play". Within, you'll meet different people who can go on quests with you and reap the rewards. This is a blast; it's easier and way more fun to kill the monster with others. But do not despair if you don't have WiFi; if a couple of your friends have it, then you can wirelessly hook up and go on quests. If you are alone, then you might find the beginning of the game to be challenging. Upon strapping on your free armor, maybe selling the spare weapons that you won't use (I did; it financially helped me), you may go to either the Village Chief or Gathering hall for quests. Thusly, this game may be labeled a "Single Player MMORPG" because it makes you go on quests with no main storyline (You can, luckily, go multiplayer to up to 4 players, making it a little tiny bit like an MMO). There are different levels of quests--1 star quests to 5 star quests. You shall start on 1 star quests and obviously work your way up. Each quest is usually 20-50 minutes long, depending on what you are doing. Eventually, the chief will ask you to go on an "Urgent Quest" which, in reality, is a quest one star up from what you are currently on, and usually is a boss monster that will take 40 minutes to kill, unless using the proper equipment (i.e., Bombs, Pitfall Traps). During the urgent quest, you may be surprised to see the boss monsters flee, making the challenge even greater--chasing them, however, is one the best parts. Marking the with a paintball, you will be able to track your monster via the map, so you may chase and slay with great speed. When you do slay the monster, it's body shall be left behind, allowing you to "Harvest" random items from the corpse. Be warned, the corpse will disappear after a set amount of time. The Graphics are astounding for a handheld game. The Zones are done beautifully, with distant horizons rendered beautifully, and even the landscapes you
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Don't listen to the critics. This game ROCKS!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/08
Rathalos Hunter
This game has amazing graphics, the environments are very real making fighting in them a phenomenal experience. The list of creatures is long and range from wooly-mammoth-like animals to fat pink gorillas to giant flying fire dragons. The list of equipment is even longer allowing endless combinations of armor and weapons. And oh, the weapons. Alright, do you want gunner or blademaster? If you are blademaster you can have either a great sword, long sword, sword, dual blades, hammer, hunting horn,or lance. If you are gunner you can have either a bow, gunlance, light bowgun, or heavy bowgun. It's all up to you, do you want one weapon, or all of them? With two long lists of exciting quests you can have fun by yourself. But the game really begins when you join up with other players, you can have up to four at a time. One on the ground slicing the monster with a long sword, one smashing it with a massive hammer, and the others on a ledge safely shooting away with a bow and a gun, that's one possibility, what will you do? The game is endless never for one second losing it's excitement.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
THIS GAME IS AWSOME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/08
X-The-Jet
This game is really amazing. with a ton a weapons to choose from, such as, the longsword, gun lance, hunting horn, bow gun,and alot more. Plus each of these weapons can be upgraded a ton. there is also more than enough armor to collect. The game really doesn’t have a storyline at all. You are a monster hunter that was knocked of a cliff or something by a dragon and you were saved by some dude and now you are doing quests for the village. The graphics on this game are amazing. Of all of the psp games i have bought I have never hade one with as good graphics. There are also a ton of quests to do, plus there are downloadable quests for free if you have wifi connection, and although some of these quests can be extremely difficult, this game is really good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Buy this game asap
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/08
gladiator
This game rocks I never take it out of my psp I've had this game for about a year and I still havent betten it yet granted I dont play every day. This game has awesome graphics and great sound qualtiy. Theres hundreds of weapons and you can even upgrade them so they become stronger, sharper, and attack faster. You can also give your weapons an atribute if you upgrade them enough like fire, water, poison, lightning and way more. Theres also tuns of different armour types such as velocyprey kutku Rathalos and tons more. By the way if your into dragons and dinosours buy this game theres tons of different monsters and there are monster evolutions to like veloceprey into velocedrome. But I hope i didnt spoil the game to much for you. So run to your nearest gamestop and pick this game up today.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Best source of Carpal Tunnel since the Internet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/08
Mr. Tofu
I'll start from worst to best. There is very little storyline. If you're a Final Fanboy who adores storylines, this probably isn't the game for you. The game does open up with a nice little cutscene where you get mauled by a dragon and a nice fellow who saved you tells you all about how lucky you were that he found you before you died. Beyond this, you go on to avenge the monster that put him into retirement, then it's all just gameplay with a very loose storyline. The controls work well once you get used to them, but they give you a great case of early-onset carpal tunnel first. You pan your view using the D-Pad while moving with the thumbstick. In order to do this, you have to hook your hand around in a manner that's terrible for your wrist until you develop the muscles for it. However, there is no damage after the right muscles are developed. For this reason, I recommend using this method of panning the view while running immediately when you start playing. Don't wait until you're fighting a Kut-Ku or Congalala to try it out. Other than this quirky viewing method, Monster Hunter Freedom 2 makes use of all the buttons of the PSP, including the select button, which you can use to kick dragons to death. The music and SFX are fabulous, but there aren't a lot of them, and you don't get the full symphonic value of the music without a well-equalized set of speakers with a strong bass. The graphics are killer, some of the best available on the PSP. The gameplay graphics aren't quite as good as some of their stunning CGI videos (which you can watch any time!), and most of the cutscenes don't use their full graphical potential, but even the gameplay polygons rival those of high-end PC and Console games like Oblivion. They look truly exceptional on the PSP's LCD screen. The gameplay interface is great. You get a quest and zip off to some exotic environment, where both passive and aggressive monsters are abundant. Each of the environments is spacious and unique, with many secret areas to discover. The only real design feature that I dislike is that there is no pause feature in Ad Hoc. The menu is usable and well-organised, and the game features many nifty features including 15 gestures and plenty of comical situations. This is a HARD game! It took me 370 gameplay hours to make it to the highest rank. This is a good thing for some, and a bad thing for others. I personally LOVE difficult games, so this has been one of my favourites. It is a great challenge, and one of the few action games released this millennium that truly challenges the player! This immense difficulty, along with the killer graphics, make this game one that can truly feel rewarding when you kill a huge monster or unlock the Red Fatalis. This game is one that can be played well beyond its pricetag. I know people who have put 800+ hours into this game and still haven't gotten bored of it. It can also be beaten in under 100 hours for those who like to just finish a game and move on. This is one of my favourite games of all time; I can see myself still playing it in 2, 3, even 5 years, and its sequels well beyond that.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Really Good but...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/08
ex-guitarherolover
I personally liked the gameplay. The controls are great and the many options to customize your character are awesome. There are many different types of armor and weapons which is a major plus. There really isn't much of a story but that isn't the point of this game. The only reason I wouldn't recommend this game is because of the ridiculously long loading times. You have to wait a very long time when navigating from map to map and that completely killed the whole gaming experience. During the missions you are forced to navigate through many different maps (I was up to 8 when I quit) and the fact that you have to wait so long make missions boring. Sometimes you end up spending more time waiting for the game to load than playing the game itself. I would only recommend this game if you are a very patient person. I would prefer to play this game on a console that would drastically cut loading times.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 19 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
Just get it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/08
HeartofStorms
all i have to say is JUST GET THIS GAME!!!! it's awsome it's challengeing,fun...and addicting i play it all the time! so far i have gotten my little bro and a few of my friends to play it. and they all say it's awsome! i know i probley all ready said this but it rocks! it is my favorite game for my PSP it hardley ever gets taken out and my psp is my fav handheld game system i have 30+ games and MHF2 hardley ever leaves it! the first reason i love this game is the length it is the onley game that has taken me more than a year to see all there is and most games take me a matter of days! 2nd reason is the music if you ever get to the White fatalis listen(and don't forget to dodge!) that is my fav bit of music in the game! and if have a friend to play it with you it makes ot 10 times better! all of my friends live very far off so i can't exactley see them every day so the most common person i play with is my little bro so anyway... Get your butt and away from your comp,wii,PS3,PSP or whatever you are viewing this from and go and get it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Monster Hunter Freedom 2
TOTALLY WORTH YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/08
BEAST from the EAST
This game is insanely good i've had it for a since November 2007 and still haven't beat it. True I haven't played it all day every day. And no I don't stink. It is just that challenging ask anybody. It is incredibly fun and addicting. And fighting things that are 4 times your size with huge awesome swords, guns, bow & arrows, daggers axes, hammers and anything else you can think of. This game is truly worth your money and time. You start off as an inexperienced hunter trying to find a village that needs protecting from dangerous monsters. Then the more you play the more quests and weapons you get. The sounds of the monsters, Dragons, giant apes, huge crabs, is just amazing. The sound of your gun firing and your sword slicing and dicing beasts is so realic it will make you want to go hunt more just to hear it. The monsters look soooooooo cool it's so amazing it is impossible to describe you have to see it yourself. It is an over all an amazing game and I highly recommend it to anyone who like swords, blades, hunting monsters, killing and other things like that. THANK YOU FOR READING!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>