GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tony Hawk's Proving Ground

Skating is a form of expression, so why settle for canned characters and run-of-the-mill surroundings that don't reflect your style? Tony Hawk's Proving Ground gives you ultimate control over your in-game persona, your skating skills and your turf. Develop your character into one of three skater classes and turn your surroundings into a custom-made skater's paradise. To be successful, you'll have to master mind-blowing Nail-the-Trick moves and show that you're not all talk. If you're as good as you say you are, you can impress some of the most well-known athletes in the sport, including Ryan Sheckler, Arto Saari and even Tony Hawk himself.
Average Customer Rating:
8.667
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
Review 1 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
Awesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/12
DrewRaper
Location: Sardis, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have this and Underground 2 both great games but I think this is better because I like how you don't have to change levels you just ride from place to place and there is more things to create your skater with and also the graphics are much better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
ohhh goodness
Posted on:10/2/07
mxc
the ps3 version is MUCH more fluid than the 360 version. and c'mon...don't listen to anyone telling you that skate is better than thpg. that's like saying halo is better than socom. yes, they're both shooters, but the similarities end there. same with skate and thpg. they're both skateboarding games, but other than that, the differences are monumental. anyone with half a brain wouldn't try to compare them. you want a game where the trick itself is a challenge? get skate. you want a game where the trick is easy, but to keep connecting them is difficult? get tony hawk. if you've played tony hawk, you pretty much should know what you're in for.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
Talldestroyer
Location: new york,ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
it was pretty good with all the modes and characters. but it was kinda missing some thing. good cost .get it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
stop hatin
Posted on:10/13/07
A Customer
dude realistic skating didnt come around untill SKATE came out and now everyone is talking about realisum (sp?) tony hawlk is fun to play realisum isnt always fun in some cases and u guys all have played th be4 SKATE so give it a try and stop hatin
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
hawk rules
Posted on:10/14/07
th[ps
yea skate is great in its own ways online blows its like whos makn these games and i gave up on line sick of pple bein cheap and not even tryn to win proving ground looks like they went all the way on this 1 so i hope very1 enjoys between the thps series and skate its a perfect skate world so pick up both
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
Online?
Posted on:10/11/07
Pete
If THPG has online chat, I will be so happy, that is the only thing the previous online versions lacked. And as far as the whole "competition" between this and skate, who cares? That's like saying I only play Socom and all other shooter's are just ... (insert negative comment). I am glad there is another game about skateboarding, it's about time. And Skate is a great game, the online is the worst I have ever seen, and that is a huge let down, but other then that.... And what skater, either real or just virtual is not stoked for another game about our sport to play. Gotta do something when we mend our broken bones!
Review 7 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
Unrealistic combos and complaints
Posted on:8/16/07
dude
Everyone says that it will suck because of unrealistic combos and stuff. That was only THUG2, and Project 8 was trying to fix that, and did okay. But the reason Project 8 wasn't that great was due to the fact that they were working on Proving Ground more. So, rent it and SKATE. and give them a try. Find out which is better for you. But SKATE. kinda is more of a simulator, so how will it be as a game, well, who knows. Maybe THPG for story and variety and SKATE. for the real experience, though I could just go outside and skate myself. Give 'em both a try. With a PS3 or 360, how could they not be good.
Review 8 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
Eh, not excited
Posted on:10/8/07
D
I have the demo for THPG and I own skate. I think skate is a much better game over all with game play and the different control style. Ever since THPS2 and 3, the series has been going down hill. They're all just do insane combo's and none of it looks any different than it did. Honestly, I think skate is a better game. I think the Tony Hawk series is just putting out games cause they have nothing better to do, and Project 8 is now old. So personally, I'm not even gonna buy it. I think skate is a much better game. I'm sick of the 2 million point sick score crap.
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
Don't know much yet...
Posted on:8/5/07
kt
So far no one really knows much about this game, I'm going to give it a shot though even if thp8 wasn't that good. I'd really like to see a lot more freedom, like you could walk into most of the buildings without load times and other things. If they could really do a job on the physics and make it so very crazy tricks are impossible, and maybe make better goals. I will probably buy it.
Review 10 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
mmmeeehhhh. dunno
Posted on:10/1/07
randomperson
This game is really fun. Skate is a lot more realistic so if you skate you wanna go with Skate. Tonyhawks is always pretty fun and thisgame is probaly the best one they have came out with since underground 1. unrealaistic combos are pretty fun, but get old after a while. So you gotta go with skate, if you r tired of those1080 ollies.
Review 11 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
no comp. hawks the best
Posted on:10/9/07
KIngROckSTeady
okay all i gots to say is tony hawk all the way most people on here are just posting stuff that they heard from other people like skate is for skaters, its like your really skating, blah blah blah i own skate at the moment and if they want to beat the hawkman i think they need to try a little harder hawk for life
Review 12 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
Proving Grounds
Posted on:10/13/07
A Customer
I have played the demo and it is horrible. Its just the same as project 8 or wasteland. If your going to get a skateboarding game go with SKATE. I would not waste my money on this.
1 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
awesome.
Posted on:9/28/07
A Customer
tony hawks does it again like always. i love this series no matter how many games they put out, and skate sux, it's a piece of junk compared to tony hawk. nothing will ever replace tony hawk. The controls for skate are bad and frustrating, and i like unrealistic combos, which tony hawk glorifies.
Review 14 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
should be the best tony hawk game
Posted on:9/20/07
A Customer
out of all the Tony Hawk games, Tony Hawk's Underground was the best after that the games just started falling down even though there were okay, expect for THUG 2 that game really sucked! So even watching the trailers on this game, it looks like this will be the game of all the Tony Hawk series.
Review 15 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
Compotition this year
Posted on:10/13/07
Skate player
Im not saying this is gonna be a bad game but its gonna have compotition. Ive played "Skate" as a demo and it was amazing! I havent played this game yet but it will have some compotition. Once I play Tony Hawk I will then decide. Tony you had good fames but this year will be tough.
Review 16 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
American Wasteland
Posted on:9/3/07
Dylan
I think they should go back to how american wasteland was. I am a biker and i loved how they put bmx into the game. Even tho the tricks were limited and the physics sucked. They should have more bmx in their games and stop segergating bmx from skating.
Review 17 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
Hawk vs. skate
Posted on:10/8/07
Rivethed
I dont care what anyone says,this game is so much better than skate. it might not be realistic but its alot more fun.skate's controls are just gooffy and hard to get used to.i skate so dont let anyone tell you that IF you are a skater skate is better.
Review 18 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
stop
Posted on:7/18/07
A Customer
the tony hawk series should just end. they should have stopped after T.H.U.G . if this is going to be just like all the other tony hawk games where there it unrealistic goals and have so many glitches like thp8 did, than i'd just buy SKATE
Review 19 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
think about this
Posted on:7/14/07
andy
i think the last tony hawk game project 8 wasn't so hot BUT everyone learns form mistakes and u should always give things another chance so u might want to check the new game to be realesed called TONY HAWKS PROVING GROUND!
Review 20 for Tony Hawk's Proving Ground
Awesome
Posted on:8/5/07
A Customer
I can't wait for this game. I like the crazy unrealistic combos of the Tony Hawk Games. If i wanted to skate in a way where i couldn't grind for long and couldn't jump very high i would go outside and get on a board.
1 2 next>>