GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command

Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command marks the first time that the brutal, war-ravaged world of Games Workshop's Warhammer 40,000 universe will be playable on the PSP. Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command features fast, action-packed combat through turn-based strategy and an engaging, authentic single-player storyline.Gamers play as the elite Space Marines of the Ultramarines chapter and strive to combat the encroaching evil of the ruthless and daemonic influenced Chaos Space Marines through 13 cinematically-tied missions. With a robust multiplayer mode featuring 9 unique missions, gamers will team up and go head-to-head with other gamers worldwide as either the Imperium of Man or Chaos Space Marines, ensuring hours of unique replayability.Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command will also fully utilize all the portable functionality of the PSP, bringing the Warhammer 40,000 universe to life on handheld.
Average Customer Rating:
9.25
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
Review 1 for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
Dawn of War in the palm of my hand.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/11
TENZAKU
Location: Novi, Mi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I only own a handful of PSP games because they are usually hit or miss so when I give a PSP game a solid review I'm not messing around. As a vet 40k table top player DoW was my dream come true and 40K: SC lives up to everything I enjoyed about DoW. Right out the bat your put in charge of a squad of six characters varying from Space Marine scouts up to the Space Marine Predator tank and lead them through small scale battles with the level of epicness you'd expect from playing a table at one of the Games Workshop Gamesday. Players can roll either the single player campaign or go online using wireless and jump into a battle against other players online. Unlike 40K: Fire Warrior and the upcoming Space Marine games by THQ which have fallen very short of their expectations this handheld title lives up to everything that DoW was.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
Portable "Warhammering"
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
Gamerdude999
Location: Palmdale,Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Very good i never thought warhammer could be this close to the real game on a gaming system
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
Best 40k Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
GreyKnight
Location: Albuquerque
I love Warhammer 40k and am an avid player of the tabletop game. However, few of the video games have succeeded in capturing the essence of the tabletop game. This one comes very close. I first played this on my friends PSP when he let me try it out on our way to Denver for a tech student conference. He never got his PSP back that whole trip; I was glued to this game. The gameplay is really fun and is a turn-based strategy where you use action points to make your men move, shoot, and do other things soldiers do. I've never played the multiplayer but I've heard really good things about it. Graphics are really good for a handheld, as are the sounds. Lasting appeal is pretty high because it allows multiplayer matches and you can always replay missions to try out new tactics.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
Warhammer done right.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/11
TENZAKU
Location: Novi, Mi
After stumbling upon this game b4 leaving for a trip I spent 4 hours straight in the multiplayer. I never played the pc version so I have nothing to compare this too but as far as turn based strategy games on the psp go this one is a win. Controls are easy, sound ok, the look of the game superb, you have alot of vehicles and troops to choose from, and the quality of both the single and multiplayer modes gave me hours of enjoyment. If you ever played the table-top version of 40k and thought it was too slow, that the dice never rolled your way, and/or hated how you couldnt paint to save your life but still loved screaming "FOR THE EMPEROR!" and moving those little $50 space marines around the board this is a game i would get.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
Reminds me of Fallout
Posted on:10/29/07
A Customer
I just downloaded the demo and it rocks. It uses an Action Point system much like the of fallout games. It have good character customization, and has a fully destroyable environment. I can't wait for this to come out for the multiplayer. Easy controls and fun gameplay will make this one stand out.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
wow!
Posted on:10/29/07
doom guy
this is amazing so far all it needs is a button designated to ending your turn. graphics are amazing for a handheld! gameplay is smooth and the destructive enviroments allow for players to come up with great strats. 8/10 overview based on demo
Review 7 for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
Demo is great
Posted on:10/24/07
JagRaider
Just downloaded and played the demo to WH40k:SC! If you liked WH40K:Chaos Gate for the PC, you will love this game! Nothing beats turn-based combat without resource farming - what you got is what you got! All actions in your turn evolve around action points (AP) - AP's to move, shoot, melee, etc. Graphics are on par with SOCUM and Metal Gear Solid. I will buy this game when it comes out!
Review 8 for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
Still no 'nids!
Posted on:9/11/07
endersblade
DoW and it's expansions were a blast; add in the modability, and it's endless. But those games, like this one, DON'T HAVE TYRANIDS! 'Nids have to be one of the coolest races to place as in the tabletop game; many fans have been pounding on Relic to add them into a WH40K game; but STILL no 'nids. You can only play as humans and orcs so many times before they start to get old-looking...I will probably pick this game up just because I like Tactical turn-based games, but I'm seriously tired of them leaving out an entire race in their games.
Review 9 for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
it might be cool.
Posted on:7/23/07
A Customer
from what ive seen of this game it looks pretty bad. almost like a gba game. it also looks like it will be nothing like dawn of war. from the screen shots it looks like you will just have control of a space marine squad, a cool concept but this would be way better on a console. If it was done anything like full spectrum warrior it would make a decent game.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
HOPEFULL
Posted on:6/30/07
disgia
I really hope this game is good. I am a big fan of this series and I was rather upset with the last psp game being a card battle game. From what I can see of the game it looks good i'm just worried about load times and how big the game will be, since its on the psp I don't know how epic the battles will be or how much lag there will be.
Review 11 for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
Lets see
Posted on:6/25/07
Damonx9
Well if this is ANYTHING like the Dawn of War PC games then it should be welcome on the psp. please.........PLEASE!!! No more card battle games for Warhammer....it just isnt right!
Review 12 for Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command
i think this game is gonna be pretty cool
Posted on:6/20/07
ONE_SLICK_CAT
wel this game should be prettey good as long as it aint some card game the warhammer battle for altuma was a joke but this game should be prettey good i lookin foward to it