GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only

Rock out to the third entry in in Red Octane's music series for guitar gods! Songs for Guitar Hero III include Barracuda by Heart, Sabotage by Beastie Boys, Rock And Roll All Nite by Kiss, and much more! In addition, players can experience an incredible number of added features and explosive content including a new multiplayer action-inspired battle mode, grueling boss battles, a bevy of exclusive unlockable content and authentic rock venues.
Average Customer Rating:
9.625
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
4
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Review 1 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
the legend of music games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/10
kylenator_99
this game is fun . Well were do i start ill start at the challenge of the game. The game is little hard it becomes hard because sometimes in the game you fight against bosses in guitar battles and you have to jerk the controller to break one of his notes and he can do the same to you and you also have to play the notes while he attacks you and you attacks you. The controls are easy you have a guitar and you have different collared circles. There yellow orange blue red and green. Then you have a space bar thing you press down while having one hand on the circles. There will be other collared circles coming down and you want press down on the circles before they go past your circles it is confusing to explain. The graphics are good for a PS2 game. The game has a lot of songs but the bad thing is that you have to beat story mode if you want to play songs with friends. The sound is good like when you play at a concert on story mode it sound like a rock concert with real guitar's. This game is fun and I recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
one of my favorites
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/11
BibE
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this guitar hero was by far my favorite of the series. after this game the whole series really went downhill. i remember going to my friend's house to play wii with him and he said he just bought some new game called guitar hero 3. i thought it sounded interesting so i decided to play. about 3 months later i picked up this game on my ps2 and loved it. as time progressed, i became better and better until i was on expert. once you beat the game, it's not like some games where the game's just over the end. oh no this game is fun even after beating the game. i would get this one first if you haven't ever tried any of the games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
THE BEST GUITAR HERO YET
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/10
videogamegamer
This is easiley the best Guitar Hero game ever made. The song variety was fantastic, really good songs. I thought that this game was very challenging, if you want a Guitar Hero game this is the one to buy. I think that the thinner lay out of when you had to hit the notes compared to the larger lay out from Guitar Hero 2 was a really good improvement. If you wanna get this game, buy the wireless guitar controller because it will make life so much easier. I would also purchase a seperate memory card for this game because it seems to take up a lot of space on the memory card. This game looks better on plasma hi-def flat screen tv's instead of on regular tv's, but non flat screen tv's will still look good. This game is easily the best Guitar Hero out there. Enjoy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Guitar Hero
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/10
Dman69
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a very fun game to play. Now if you like to have people over a lot this is highly recommended to get. There are a lot of fun songs to play. There is also cool characters to play as to. Overall a very good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
Guitar Hero: Aerosmith Kramer Bundle
8.7 out of 10(5)
 
 
 
Guitar Hero Aerosmith and Guitar Hero Rocks the 80's 2Pack
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Best song list!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/09
JulieTroyAthena
This really is a great game. I've had it for over a year and still love to play some of the songs. They never get boring. After all this time there are actually songs in this game that I still didn't beat! Not to mention the battle with the devil at the end! This one also has a 2 player career mode that will unlock even MORE songs. Actually that is probably the worst part because not everybody has someone to play thru an entire career mode with them! But the songs are really great if you can get them. Some of the stages for this one are pretty creative too. When you get to the really hard songs you'll be amazed that the system isn't on information overload! I play Expert and have never had a problem with the game slowing down once all those millions of notes appear on the screen! In general I say this is the best guitar-only Guitar Hero game. And has the best song list of ALL Guitar Hero games. Highly recomment it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
The Best!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/10
Matt Davis
Guitar Hero III has the most amazing song variety ever! The only flaw I can think of is that the Kramer Striker is bad. The star-power will not respond for almost 4 seconds. I love the bonus list. It's a great idea. Also the great Through the Fire and Flames by Dragonforce. The best thing is that there's fun easy songs and fun hard songs. When I was not a experienced Guitar Hero player I hated how boring the easy songs were and I couldn't play the harder ones. The career mode is intense and very real. The sound i ranked a ten because in previous Guitar hero games it just does not sound like the real songs. Guitar Hero III: Ligands of Rock also has cheats. Non-like any other Guitar Hero games. I think out of all Guitar Hero and Rock Band Games this is my favorite!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Great music with a cheap price.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/13
TeamxxGhostxxRJ
Location: Ohio,OH
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Buy this game you can play solo or face off with someone. I beat this game seven times and I still have it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
AMAZING!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/08
Guitar Hero Maniac
This is one of the most amazing games you will ever play. This game is a great challenge because you can go from easy all the way to expert. The controls are amazing letting you actually use the guitar to hit the notes. The graphics are not bad I have seen better but not much some of the characters look like robots by the way they move. The responsiveness is amazing I never hit a note because the button wouldn't press down or it just wouldn't play the note. All the songs in this game are amazing it ranges from guns n' roses to rolling stones to 3's and 7's and over 70 songs! The sound is just truly amazing the songs sound just like you were at a concert or listening to the radio. I recommend this game completely I play this game almost everyday and I got it around 5 months ago!!! I rate this game a 10000000000000/10!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CowBellz
 
Please wait while more information about CowBellz is loaded.
Additional information about CowBellz could not be loaded.
Should i Or should i not
Posted 11/15/11
should i get it and is it really worth spending money on?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Pretty good except...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/08
What does it matter to you?!
So when I saw that Harmonix was leaving and in it's place was Neversoft, I knew the game wasn't gonna be that good, but I'm a big fan of GH and I had to get it! Well the con's about the singer is that his face is pretty ugly, he has a HUGE chin, bad hair, barley moves, but the pros would be, his mouth matches the words... and thats about it. The con's for the drummer are that he is wearing either EXTREMELY short shorts or no shorts at all, constintly has a smile on his face (even when the band drops into hell and battles the Devil for their lives), dosen't hit the drums, stays in one position, and the body work and moves like a robot, in a lock position, and their are no pro's about him. The songlist was pretty good. Had everything from The Killers to Killswitch Engaged and AFI all the way to Slayer. All though the tracklist has a couple songs just about everyone knows (Welcome to the Jungle, Miss Murder, One, Hit Me With Your Best Shot) it also has songs just about no-one knows (Through the Fire and Flames, In the Belly of a Shark, Story of My Life, I'm in the Band, Impulse, Nothing for Me Here). GH III is Called Legends of Rock because of the "legendary" guitarists you battle, but it should be called "legend of rock" (and that would be Slash) because the other guy is an unfamous guitarist Tom Morello, who just makes squeeks with his pedal and killswitch. P.S. The audio gets messed up alot like to where you can only hear the drums, bass, and vocals, but not guitar.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/10
UltimateGamer22
Location: Xenia, Ohio
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is amazing. It makes you feel like you are really playing a real guitar, and the songs are awesome. The sound is awesome the graphic are almost perfect and it's just plain fun. There is no plot at all except that you try to complete what ever song you try and you try to get better and better. So buy this game but make sure you have a guitar so you can actually play the game. SO BUy IT.
 
My Product Recommendations
Rock Band Bundle
9.4 out of 10(51)
 
 
 
Guitar Hero: On Tour
8.3 out of 10(90)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Guitar Hero III is Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/10
J5
When I first played Guitar Hero III, it was an awesome game, I won it but I still want to play it.It's hard to explain how to play it, but it's easy and there's 5 frets Green, Red, Yellow, Blue, and Orange.The harder difficulty you pick the more frets you have to push and the faster you have to push them, but you have to strum like a real guitar. There's a lot of songs.You can play alone or with your friend or someone in your family.You have battles in the game with Tom, Slash, and Lou.If you never played the any of the Guitar Hero games pick the tutorial because it will explain how to play it better than I can.I used to have all the Guitar Hero games so I'm trying to buy them all.Make sure you buy two guitars so you can play against or with someone. I Recommend It.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
This game is awesome!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/12
Shamus
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is really good. Activision did a really good job with selecting the soundtrack. There's a lot of classics on here, but this game is not for the faint of heart. As Jack Black once said, "It will test your head, your mind, and your brain." It's a really good game. Great for party gamers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Pretty Good Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/08
the reviewer 123889
This game has a large variety of songs and stuff. But the animation sux! It also has a good challenge to it because there are many different levels like easy medium hard and expert. Overall a good game. I have had this game for a long time and all of my friends and family always come over and want to play it and steal it. I think it is more fun if you don't own it because then you can't play it too much and you wont get too obsessed and it will be more fun and more of a treat. Another thing that matters is the guitar. I had a wireless one and the connection broke up a lot and I lost the plug that goes into the PS2. So I would recommend a wired guitar. Overall I think there are many different options on this game, I have mixed feelings about it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
One of the best on GH!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/11
Alexpb
Location: Victorville, Ca
This game is perfect for: party gamers
My personal opinion is that this is one of the best version of Guitar Hero games! Why? Well, its got some of the best songs plus you could buy more songs from the store in the game, there is no way you can get bored with this game not even if you can get 100% of the notes on expert mode. The only reason its not #1 on my list is because you cannot play the drums or use the mic, you can only select guitar or bass. It has multiplayer capability and a screen for you to input cheats, I highly recommend this game to anyone. I also recommend GH: World Tour but the songs aren't as great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
looking forward to more heroics
Posted on:7/7/07
squirrel-bait
Man, I hope Led Zeppelin's "Stairway to Heaven" comes up as the "final boss." I have both games (I'm also anticipating the 80's pack) and a wired guitar, so I'm pretty much ready to roll when this one's released. So far, I've heard that KISS, Beastie Boys, Alice Cooper, and Smashing Pumpkins have been confirmed (There's also Living Colour's "Cult of Personality," which I'm especially looking forward to playing). I'm also hoping for some INXS.
Review 16 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
could be good, might not
Posted on:7/12/07
gh2 freak
guitar hero is amazing. i have gh2 and I've played most of the songs on gh1. I'm probably gonna get the 80's one. looking at the songs on rock the 80's, im very disappointed. unless gh3 has some metallica or ac/dc, this game will be a failure. id even like to see some linkin park and my chemical romance on this game, cuz they really deserve to be on guitar hero.
Review 17 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
the songs are ok
Posted on:7/16/07
bob
i have seen the songs they are ok. slow ride,mr. crowely,through the flames and fire, and back in black well all be on their. but i have listened and the songs are awesome. through the flames and fire will be the last song in the game to play. and playing slash in the boss battle is going to be awesome. :)
Review 18 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
COOL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/10
iceyhawk
Location: toronto, canada
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i love this game and i play it with my wireless guitar.The guitar works fine.the only problems are that the bassest and drumer were made very lazzey the bassest only rocks up and down struming.And his face is covered with a beard.the drumer is fat and skinney plus he misses his parts.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Metallica is gonna be there
Posted on:10/25/07
Tabman69z
Just so you guys know, One by Metallica, note not a cover, is gonna be on there. I didn't hear Mr. Crowley, but that will be insane, probably one of, if not, my favorite Ozzy tune. The solo gonna suck. Again Metallica WILL be on GH3.
Review 20 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Can't wait!
Posted on:7/3/07
Kobi :)
I CAN'T WAIT FOR THIS TO COME OUT! I also have Guitar Hero 1, 2, wired guitar, and wireless guitar so, no bundle for me! ;) I heard that one of my favorite bands, INXS, is on the setlist! I am trying to get more info...
1 2 next>>