GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only

Rock out to the third entry in in Red Octane's music series for guitar gods! Songs for Guitar Hero III include Barracuda by Heart, Sabotage by Beastie Boys, Rock And Roll All Nite by Kiss, and much more! In addition, players can experience an incredible number of added features and explosive content including a new multiplayer action-inspired battle mode, grueling boss battles, a bevy of exclusive unlockable content and authentic rock venues.
Average Customer Rating:
8.629
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
2
8 stars
9
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
32 out of 3591%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Review 1 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
i wanna rock and i did
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/12
strayrogue
Location: Harrington Park, New Jersey
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i dont have legends of rock for the 360 only the wii but even though this game rocks. the list of the songs are really great music. a fan of metal, alternative and others will love to have this game and if you dont believe this you can buy the soundtrack it has all the songs. Guitar
hero III is a major win for any music fans out there period.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Pokemon HeartGold - Game Only
9.2 out of 10(19)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
So So game
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/12
TDOGG94
Location: salt lake city ut
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game is ok but not the best. I would prefer rockband 2. . i would not perfer any of the guitar hero game rockband is more fun
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Amazing Game, If you can Get the Guitar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/12
Fusion
Location: Brooklyn, NY
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is the best game ever! Theres only 1 problem, you CANT buy the guitar from gamestop! That explains why this game is only like 2 dollars. If you can hold of the guitar, this game is amazing. I always play it on my PS3 when I get bored. But now im on xbox, guitarless...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Good music.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/12
thatguywiththecrazyideas
The musical selections for this game were perfect. The battles were intense and fun. All around a fun waste of a few hours.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
rocking
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/12
felix94
Location: chicago
This game is perfect for: party gamers
all i got to say is that six years later i am still play the game and have fun the song are great!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Incompatible with RockBand guitars.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/12
Ps2hustler
Location: N/a
WARNING: Before buying this game, make sure you have a GuitarHero guitar and not a RockBand guitar, because the RockBand guitars will NOT work with this game. I do not own any Guitar Hero guitars, so when I tried playing with the guitar that came with RockBand 2, it does not work. The navigation is OK, but when playing a song, it DOES NOT READ MY STRUMMING! Unless you have bought a Guitar Hero guitar, skip this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Best In The Series!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/11
mrgamer452
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is soo good its better then aerosmith and the other tittles buy it its made rockish
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
STUPID
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/11
Jthebrain
Location: Orlando,FL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock is a game that I would never get or play again. The guitars and the shop were great and the sound and graphics were pretty good like most other Rock n' Roll band games. I would never get it again, though, because on the last level, you have a guitar duel against the devil. That turned me off a lot and I found that to be REALLY stupid. Unless you are obsessed with anything and everything satanic and demonic, don't get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CW1989
 
Please wait while more information about CW1989 is loaded.
Additional information about CW1989 could not be loaded.
You fail
Posted 5/26/12
1st off, this game is awesome and could be the 2nd best of the series behind GH: Metallica. 2nd off you are WAAAAAY off base saying to only get this game if you "like everything thats satanic and demonic." That comment quite simply put is garbage. Just because you face Lou on the last level(yes his name is Lou) and he happens to be the devil does NOT make this a satanic/cult game. Its called being originated from the song you face him with(which incase you didnt know is The Devil Went Down to Georgia). Wow some people these days.........
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/11
tneall
Location: cali
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i played the demo and the full game once an itwas awsome
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Great Game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/11
jonjonito
Location: spring hill,florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game.I played the other games in this series,but this one is by far the best.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
The Best one in The Seires
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/11
EJF753
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
GH3 is the best it has the greatest songs and is the most fun and entertaining
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
it is a good game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/11
javi259
Location: ca
good game love it ilove playing this game hahahahhahah
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Pretty good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
ChevChelios13
Location: Torrance,CA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game wasn't bad. The guitar controls are pretty easy. If you play it with the regular controller, it's hard as hll. The graphics are kinda bad, but the music makes up for it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Best Guitar Hero Game EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/11
NewWaveNinja
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best of the Guitar Hero games. Yes, I am aware that I pretty much said the same thing twice but, that just proves how good it actually is. Now, let me explain why it rocks: there is the best setlist on any Guitar Hero game and yes, I know some songs are covers but, you're not going to sing anything so, it doesn't really matter! Besides, how else do you think they could have gotten "Sunshine Of Your Love" on here? Also, at no point do any songs make you hurt your arms, which is a problem I've encountered in literaly every other Guitar Hero. Almost dislocated my wrist playing "Satch Boogie", in GHWT. Another reason this game is the best, is that the Guitar Battle songs in which you use powers to make your enemy fail, are equally fun and challenging, unlike every later game in this series, in which Guitar Battle sucks, and is a waste of precious time. Which brings me to my final reason this game is the best: the epic final Guitar Battle against "Spoiler Alert", THE DEVIL!!! With that, I will say some bad things about this game. It can only be played with a Guitar Hero controller, not a Rockband one and I played this whole game, and did not find three songs: "Sabotage" by Beastie Boys, "She Builds Quick Machines" by Velvet Revolver, and "Cities On Flames With Rock N Roll" by Blue Oyster Cult. That is all, please buy this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Peavey
 
Please wait while more information about Peavey is loaded.
Additional information about Peavey could not be loaded.
Songs
Posted 12/5/11
Just a helpful hint. "Cities" and "Sabatoge" along with some other great songs can only be unlocked as encores in the co-op mode. So if you want the FULL setlist unlocked, grab a friend and rock out. Have fun rocker!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Great selection of songs, pretty challenging too.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/11
doratheexplorer
Location: Superior, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best Guitar Hero there is. If you are planning on getting ANY Guitar Hero, get this one. It has great music, and this is the hardest of the series. On medium, there will be points where you have to play four to five notes at a time. If you are new to Guitar Hero, you have a plastic Guitar with 5 colored notes that you need to press and strum. It is fun. Just so you know, this is FAR better than Rock Band. Start with this before Rock Band. Yes, there are better games then Guitar Hero III, but this is a game you want to play at least once. If you want a 1 to 2 player difficult guitar game, this is the right game for you. If you want an easier Guitar Hero with the addition of drums, microphone, and the same guitar, buy Guitar Hero: World tour. Don't get Rock Band or Guitar Hero 2, 5, or Warriors of Rock. They stink.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
RandomOne
Location: New york, NY
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Fun guitar hero and it will want you wanting more just tat this guitar hero doesnt have many good song as Gh and Gh 2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Fun if you're into Guitar Hero
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/11
jdollars
This game is perfect for: party gamers
For me, this is a fun, casual game that will provide plenty of entertainment for fans of music. Fun to play with friends.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
the best music game ever made.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/11
maggot4ever
Location: norfolk,va
This game is perfect for: party gamers
when the guitar hero franchise launvhed on the ps2, it added fun to peoples partys with a never before realized concept for music games. and then two games later it changed the fate of the music genre forever. with its awesome cast of characters, unforgettable songs, and humorous story activision created a whole universe of possibilities. there have been many nights when i would stay up till 2 in the morning just trying to beat my friends high score on a song. and there is no better feeling than when you complete your first song on expert difficulty. the setlist is the best for any guitar hero game out there. with my personal favorite being before i forget by slipknot.(the best band ever!) and others like one by mettalica, welcome to the jungle by guns n roses, my curse by killswitch engage, and the most famous song of music games, through the fire and flames by dragonforce. a little word of advice, just give up trying to beat it on expert, itll never happen so just quit. all these songs and many many others. to unlock all the songs you have to beat the career on any difficulty. which, in truth, shouldnt take you long at all. the graphics are simply stunning, and have to be on my list for best ever. the cast of characters is superb. with living legends like slash. and other made up characters like the god of rock. if you have never played a guitar hero game or any music game for that matter, start out with this one. its cheap, and is the best of all the guitar hero games put together. final score:10
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
GH 3
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/11
Disambiguation
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game is good but not great because of some of the songs on the game. if you buy this game i reccomend that you buy some of the song packs to keep you playing this game longer.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock - Game Only
Best Guitar Hero
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/11
ajax0014
This game is perfect for: party gamers
If you want to try Guitar Hero games, get this one. This one is the best one! Warriors of Rock is boring, so is World Tour, Smash Hits is boring because the songs have already been used, and the one band named ones (Metallica, Aerosmith, Van Halen) are bad because you are stuck with mostly one type of music. This is the best, after III, Guitar Hero dropped. Best one, good songs, original, and it beats Rock Band too. I still play this one, but I don't own any other music games anymore. Sold them all, and this one is so cheap, $3 preowned, what a deal! Just be sure to pick up a guitar.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>