GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Kengo: Legend of the 9

Become the best samurai warrior in the land by playing one of nine real-life samurai, including swordsmen Musashi Miyamoto, Jubei Yagyu, Sanako Chiba, and more.
Average Customer Rating:
7
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 667%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kengo: Legend of the 9
Review 1 for Kengo: Legend of the 9
Not worth it at all.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
NevadaDesert
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I just bought this game and I thought I would give it a try.
After playing the game I can't get past the first chapter and its impossible to figure out what I'm doing because it has no training/tutorial or even a button layout settings.
I am a experienced gamer and I've had my fair share of bad games but this game is so bad I had to make a review about how bad this game is.
I would only recommend this game to someone that has the change for this game and is willing to sit there and die and die and die, OVER AND OVER!
I picked the first samurai and then the others and its the same thing you hack and slash with the B and Y button then when the boss comes there is technical moves that you need to do and you don't know what your doing because it doesn't tell you.
I am returning this game for my money back even if its only $3.00!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kengo: Legend of the 9
Realistic themes!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/11
Attackface
Location: Bend, Or.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have enjoyed this game more than other fighting games, mainly because it is designed more as a simulator instead of a game. I always enjoy simulator style games rather than more fictitious games, so if your looking for a traditional Japanese sword fighting game, I would get this one. If you only want a game based on purely the gaming elements, I am not an avid enough gamer to comment on this.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kengo: Legend of the 9
Kengo was OK but seiriously lacked a ...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/10
DrSlamvan
Story / I personally felt that Kengo Ledgend of the 9 seriously lacked a motive. The Game-Script is about nine ledgendary samurai, and the story of their life. But I felt the game hardly had a story to it. You go on almost completely random missions. Though they are somewhat fun, they have hardly any point oncesoever. Graphics - Sound / Graphics are pretty good, especially the fine detail. And Sound is OK. Battles - Difficulty / Bosses are pretty hard, and take some strategy to defeat. Though, battles are very easy, do to fact that you only have to push one button the hole time, giving it no strategy. In fact raising the difficulty only makes you die faster, making the game even more frustrating. Also may I add that if you die you must restart the entire mission. Achievements - Multiplayer Achievements are hard to get, and have hardly any gamescore. and a lot of achievements are Xbox Live only. The multiplayer is pethetic because it,s pretty much just about who hit who first, as soon as the match starts. Overall / The game is somewhat fun, very frustrating, multiplayer is not so good. pushing the same button all the time in battle is weird but OK. Bosses are hard and do take some strategy, Achievements arn't worth it, and the story makes no sense. Final thoughts / I would say... If your a fan of kengo games, or other sword fighting games, your choice. But if your new to the genre I'd say (NO).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kengo: Legend of the 9
not a button smasher
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/10
knightofs
I was looking at the sales crate thingy and though all the sports plain weird games i found this and decided to give it a try. This game is really challenging master swordsmen are really, well, masterful. I love how you can have the ability to kill a boos with one kill, if you have to skill. unlike in the past where nearly all melee based games have been "a a a" this one is different., you have to use different approaches for different opponents. the controls are easy to use. unlockables were a disappointment because all you can unlock are other samurais so you cant buy new swords. The best part is the storyline, each character has a unique story of there own,there are nine charecters in all, making the game a good 75 hours or longer.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kengo: Legend of the 9
History is fun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/10
Gannan the Viking Chef
Kengo:Legend of the 9 is a fun and challenging swordfighting game loosely based on the battle history of 9 of the most famous warriors in Japanese history.The warriors are Miyamoto Musashi, Okita Soji, Sakamoto Ryoma, Jubei Yagyu, Sasaki Kojiro, Chiba Sanako, Ito Itossai and 2 others that i can't remember...Anyway, the main mode is a story mode where you play through each character's 9-level battle history, hacking up swarms of enemies.At the end of each level, you fight one-on-one with one of the characters you're not currently playing as.Keep in mind, when you first start story mode only Musashi, Soji and Ryoma are playable.There's also a mission mode which puts you through various timed challenges.Each warrior has a different style of fighting which ensures a constant challenge.All in all, this is a great game.I highly recommend it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kengo: Legend of the 9
AFTER A WHILE IT REALLY GREW ON ME
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/08
G-FRESH
I had read many reviews on Kengo Legend of the 9 and just about every review really BASHED this game. Many of them had said that this game is nothing but a button masher. I don't know if those reviewers played this on the easy difficulty or what not, but I can DEFINITELY confirm that this game is in NO WAY a button masher. If you think you can just button mash your way to victory, you're dead wrong, and you will find yourself dying a lot. When I first got Kengo I really didn't like it, mainly because I didn't know what the heck I was doing and there's no tutorial when you start the game to let you know what the controls are and how exactly the gameplay works. After much patience and perseverance I got a hang of the controls and gameplay. Once I got the hang of environmental kills, the stamina bar, and the 3 different fighting styles with each of the 9 characters. I found an enjoyable samurai game with a pretty deep fighting/combo system. PROS: Kengo Legend of the 9 has you playing as 9 real life samurai warriors that in each and every level all you really do is battle through tons of enemies until you reach the level boss. The catch or hook of it is HOW you dispose of your enemies. You can use combos or you can use the "environmental kills" that once you drain the stamina of your enemies you can knock them into walls, wells, lanterns, etc. and kill them in 1 slash/stab. These environmental kills are very cool and they help you gain more points to unlock more combos when you level up your character, in which you upgrade your health, attack power, defense, and stamina (REALLY IMPORTANT). But you most be careful because enemies and bosses can also use the environmental kills on you. The music is alright, nothing really great but it does fit with the tone of the game. CONS: Kengo can be BRUTALLY DIFFICULT especially on the hardest setting (there's an achievement for beating it on hard) when it comes to the bosses. This is because once you get to the boss of each level it only takes them a few shots to kill you. Not only that but there are no health power-ups throughout the levels, so if you take a lot of damage while beating all the enemies and then you get to the boss you're stuck fighting him/her with that same remaining energy. This becomes INSANELY FRUSTRATING because if you die on the bosses (and you will, trust me), it's back to the beginning of the stage and you have to fight all the enemies again. Graphics look like a regular Xbox game, controls while not complicated do take a decent amount of time to get use to, and the Xbox Live mode (if it can even be considered that) is massively weak. When on Xbox Live you don't actually play someone, what it does is it takes the way you played the game in the main mode and adapt that A.I. into the Xbox Live mode and you WATCH matches with other samurai players. WOW, THAT'S LAME. The only bright spot to the "Live" mode is that you can pick up some pretty easy achievements when your character wins matches. That sums up my review of Kengo. Personally, I don't think it's anywhere near as bad as all these video game sites have claimed it to be. If you're interested in it, I say go for it, it's really inexpensive now. Just remember if you do pick it up be ready to commit some time to learning the controls and gameplay/sword fighting.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kengo: Legend of the 9
No wonder the price is low.
Posted on:9/11/07
MrBoNeZ
Bottom line is that if they (game company) don't spend time and money on this game than why should us, the consumer? It looks rushed and horribly made. I have seen practice projects done by college studants that put this to shame. I love these kinds of games but OOOOOO does this suck.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kengo: Legend of the 9
Another Kengo hmm.....
Posted on:9/10/07
medekai
I owned the original for PS2 and it had its good points. The best being the epic control and ease of swordfighting. The swordfights were a thing of beauty. In this latest incarnation, I look forward to the same wicked swordplay as in the previous installment, however the graphics are looking EXTREMELY weak. Looks like they kept the character models from the original! I really hope they polish those up a bit before release (can you say "dated?"). But looks like it could be great, and I look forward to slinging some more swords!
Review 9 for Kengo: Legend of the 9
This game is going to be great
Posted on:9/10/07
all fanboys must die
Stop complaining about the graphics like an idiot. You are not more sophisticated than the rest of us because you have a keen eye for the obvious. The gameplay looks like a lot of fun based on what I've seen at gametrailers.com. It's very technical and it doesn't look like a mere button masher. It's still a fighting game but it's very realistic as far as the moves are concerned, they look authentic. Of course, in real life, nobody can take repeated samurai sword slashes and continue fighting, but this is a game after all. It is possible though, to score one-hit kills depending on the context.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kengo: Legend of the 9
meh
Posted on:9/6/07
Zan
To me this looks like another Tenchu type game only this time your Samurai. Graphics so far look high end ps2 and the story i think will be played out like tenchu. Ive been wrong before but this looks to dissapoint.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kengo: Legend of the 9
Sweet Samurai Game
Posted on:7/10/07
Anime/Game Fan
I played kengo for the Ps2 and man was it sweet the sword play way more realistic then any other game I played before and I played over 200 games for the Ps2 and now that I found out the forth the Kengo game is coming to the U.S I just cant stop thinking about the hours and even days of time I will put in to playing Kengo Legend of the 9 when it comes out.
Review 12 for Kengo: Legend of the 9
Cant wait for this
Posted on:6/27/07
Son ALA
I saw this game a long time ago when it released in Japan as Kengo Zero and i really wanted to try it out. The visuals werent that great but the 40 dollar price makes up for that along with the story of each swordsman