GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Devil May Cry 4

From the producer of the original Devil May Cry and Resident Evil 4 comes comes the next installment in the hugely successful stylized action series that has so far achieved global sales of nearly seven million units. Devil May Cry 4 immerses gamers in a gothic supernatural world, where a new protagonist clashes with a familiar hero. As the new leading man, Nero, players will unleash incredible attacks and non-stop combos using a unique new gameplay mechanic, his powerful "Devil Bringer" arm. With the advanced graphical capabilities of the next-gen systems, high definition visuals and intricate detail come to life as players explore new and exotic locales. Dynamic action and undeniable style combine with explosive fighting options and a gripping story to produce the incomparable experience that only a Devil May Cry game can deliver.
Average Customer Rating:
8.471
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
10 stars
27
9 stars
10
8 stars
4
7 stars
4
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
44 out of 5186%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Devil May Cry 4
Review 1 for Devil May Cry 4
the highs and lows of being half demon
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/13
brokennanochip7
Location: chillicothe,ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
in devil may cry 4 you play half of the game as dante and the other half as a new protaginist nero,both charcthers have a different fighting style where dante is an eligent fighter with many different styles such as swoard master,gun slinger, royal guard,and trickster,nero relays on brute force to down his enemies and brings a new a new weapon/tool to the game called the devil bringer a.k.a his right hand, witch helps you reach far away items and get past obsticles , haveing two prtaginist is a good thing because it helps mix up the game play and gives the game a nice replay value to it, and yes the style system is still important ,now for the good and bad news the good news combat is still fluid as everand ever charchter has a large arsenal of moves , and geting an s ranki is still addicting,and the game fetures a new mode called bloody palace witch is a survival challenge were you can play as ethier dante and nero now for the bad news in retro spec i think the devlopers did a great job on designing the in game envirioments but there not so good you'd want to play thourgh it twice,dante's campain were nero left off and you pretty much replay the previous levels as dante with new enemies add ,with the exception of one original level , but never the less the game is still fun and addicting so try not to let that flaw hold you back from buying it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Devil May Cry 4
Love It
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/13
DeathTempler
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've had this game for years. It's my favorite next to Devil May Cry 3, Special Edition. If you are good at fast paced hackn'slash games with amazing stories and interesting characters, then this is for you. Not a game for people new to the gaming community. 10/10 for me
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Devil May Cry 4
SORRY DMC FANS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/12
Blackmombagoku
Location: Ishpeming MI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Sorry to all you hardcore DMC fans but this game is bad. Nero is stupid and dante is the bad guy through half the game. The story is also bad. Extremely bad game. And to think, DMC used to be fun. Dont buy this game. For the sake of your entertainment. You might just die of boredom playing this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for Devil May Cry 4
Beautiful game! One of the best games under $5!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/12
ShaunWhiteHimself
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Man, this game has it all: awesome stylish monster battles, beautiful graphics, challenging puzzles, RPG-like system of character skills upgrades, amazing story and sharp and intense characters. The levels are sharp and diverse. The game takes place in a medieval society somewhat similar to Assasin Creed but the main character has an ipod with headphones, revolver, cyborg parts, etc. It's an interesting alternative universe to say the least. Fights can be won many different ways. You can slowly shoot monsters from the distance via revolver, or hack and slash your way through them with the sword, or overpower them all with the rechargeable magic fist, etc. Also, the game gives you achievements for every cleared location. LOOKING FORWARD TO DEVIL MAY CRY 5!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Devil May Cry 4
DMC4
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/12
KratosPR210
Excellent game, of a wonderful saga one of my favorites sagas . I recommend this game and 3 above...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Devil May Cry 4
All-in-all, a nice spectacle fighter.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
Araxon
Location: Fort worth, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is, as Benjamin"Yahtzee" Croshaw once put it, a spectacle fighter. a game where combat rarely gets hard but retains the exhilaration of harder combat through the use of flashy combos that can be strung together like an intricate web, stun-locking your enemies in a "fly-backwards" animation while youre free to bash on them until they run out of cr-p to be kicked out. Not being a fan of spectacle fighters, i had never played any of the other games, so i will leave the plot largely untouched, although from what i understand its about two guys who like to bleach their hair, have demon hands, big guns, and swords with skulls on them, and they hunt demons. apparently hunting demons acts as some sort of mating signal in their world, because these two come across more women dressed in S&M latex than even the most interesting man in the world! Gameplay-wise, the two are the exact same just with some slightly different combos, and dante's plotline is just nero's backwards. The two look almost the exact same too, so get used to seeing guys with white hair looking fruity, because youll be seeing a lot of it in this game! Big points come off because of the puzzle sections, and i pronounce "puzzle sections" there the same way i do "the cr-p lever pulley 'puzzles' from quake but with more walking" if this game simply removed its puzzle sections, i would have bumped up the gameplay at least 3 notches, because the combat is really fun, it be more fun if i didnt have to do a slow block puzzle between each one! that would still leave one empty gameplay bar. why? because the camera in this game is evil. im well aware that this type of camera is pretty average for spectacle fighters, but that doesnt make it a good thing, that just makes it a cr-ppy thing that s used more often than i should be. camera tends to be very unconcerned with your time schedule, or is on a mission to slow down your puzzle progress. normally when doing a puzzle, you have to beat the blocks with your +1 sword of unfathomable durability , and in some parts youll end up walking straight behind the block, or worse, knock it some other direction! To summarize "wee! swordy shooty glowing handy fun! yay! aww another puzzle section.." the game has nice combat that is slowed by puzzles whose only seeming purpose is just to pad out this games play time, and i assume going through game again backwards as your characters dad or future self or some other over-done, half baked thing that i assumed would be the plot twist. by this late after release date, you shouldnt even bother buying it, what with the reboot coming along soon, or if you have a ps3, just stick with god of war
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Devil May Cry 4
devil may cry
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/12
awakeingdead
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Pure greatness and i just cant stop playing this game along with the rest of the series. I would recommend it to others.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Devil May Cry 4
Great game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
darkmage20041
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A great game when it comes to the series btuw tih the addition of Nero's Devil Bringer and Dante's switching devil arms with just a button push takes it to the next level.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Devil May Cry 4
Cant wait till (5)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/12
red420dog
This game is on my favorite list.. i still play it. great graphics, gameplay and brutal combat. if your into like god of war,dantes inferno,castlevania,any kind of game in that realm. Then i dont know how you or me never played it but when i started didnt want to finsh. ill be on the waitin list for 5... made a lil gameplay/movie montage check it out!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Devil May Cry 4_Montage
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Devil May Cry 4
Beast!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/12
35866768
Location: florida,miami
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
One of the best game I have ever played in my entire life. i would recomend this game to people who like the devil may cry series and everyone i know.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Devil May Cry 4
epicnesss
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/11
thebeast122
Location: mckinney,TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it was so epic it makes you think that you are part of it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Devil May Cry 4
The most skipworthy entry.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/11
Deaththysoul
The worst devil may cry yet save your money for the next one looks better then this. Nothing thay i havent seen before in this one boring levels and yes this game has levels that's how boring and unoriginal this game is.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Devil May Cry 4
I LUVED THIS GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/11
sookie
Location: Las Vegas NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I luved everything bout this game it was fun challenging the graphics were amazing the music rocked the souds were perfect this game is one of the best i have ever played i was hooked from the first time i played i even got some friends hooked on it we all luv to play this game. It is an all around friggin sick ace game ... did i mention i luv this game ... well.... I LUV THIS GAME lol
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Devil May Cry 4
Why you hating?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/11
DrJaketheAwesom1
Location: New York
This game is great! I love this game! The music is great! Not as good as DMC 3 but a great game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Devil May Cry 4
Everyone will love it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/11
skydye2
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Maybe not everyone will love it because of the M rating, but everything is awesome! Except it may seem redundant when you play as Nero then switch to Dante. Overall the amazing skills, cut scenes, plot and game play blew my mind! BUY IT! (It's worth the $8) :D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Devil May Cry 4
A Must Play Level to Level
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/11
danishruyu
Location: Atlanta
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The truth is, I'm biased when it comes down to a level to level style video game. I'm not a fan of those kinds of games. Yet, this game is one of the very few games that has IMPRESSED me. Devil May Cry 4 promises and delivers in every aspect. The fact that this game is only $8 on the Xbox 360 makes Devil May Cry 4 a truly amazing game worth the money. This game is recommended to anyone looking to have fun for $10. Trust me, the game is worthy for an approval.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Devil May Cry 4
devil may cry 4
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
RandomOne
Location: New york, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Fun intense and it'll keep you guessing from beginning to end and you get to play dante :D !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for Devil May Cry 4
Eh....just couldnt get into it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/11
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok so I bought this game for cheap and used. I played an hour of it and just couldnt really get into it. First off your not Dante in this your Nero who is exactly the same as Dante including one of the few in the world that has white hair at a young age. The gameplay wasnt bad and did what all Devil May Crys do and uses magic, a big gun, or your sword to fight "demons". My biggest problem with this game was all the loading screens. Every five feet whether its entering a new area or entering a building there is a loading screen. Its not like a quick load either its a pretty long load and it just irretated me to no end. I beat the game unsatisfied. The story wasnt awful, but is a little hard to understand if you havnt played any other of the Devil May Crys. The graphics were ok, but still thought they couldve done more the the 360's abilities. Last and finally overall in my opinion it just wasnt that great of a game. This is a good game for hardcore Devil May Cry fans, but to another gamer who wanted to try Devil May Cry because it finally came out on your system I wouldnt recommend it. Youll just wana snap the game in half or do what I did and traded it in.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
darkmage20041
 
Please wait while more information about darkmage20041 is loaded.
Additional information about darkmage20041 could not be loaded.
Great game!!!
Posted 2/14/12
It as you would expect with any of the Devil May Cry games. Butthe addition of Nero's ability, along with switching between Devil Arms with nothing but a trigger (when Dante) take it to the next level when it comes to it's predecessors.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Devil May Cry 4
good game for hardcore gamers, and casual players
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/11
DanteSparda1
Location: florida, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
devil may cry 4 is a good game there are a few faults on this game like the introduction to this new character nero, real fans of the series will get angry because the protagonist is nero now not dante. Yes eventually you will get to use dante but is only for like 7 missions at first i though nero was better then dante but once i max out both characters its very clear who has the superior edge and that is dante nero is just a punk and the only good thing about him is his devil arm but if you take that out he is very weak, just to prove my point try to play all the missions with nero without using his arm,and play as dante then you can see who is better. and the second problem of this game is the sound not the music in battle but the music for some cutscene is so high that you can barely hear what they are saying like in mission 10 when nero talks to dante. But these are the only problems in this game that annoyed me but everything else in this game is perfect in my book so i give this game a 9.8 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Devil May Cry 4
amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/11
demonalpha
an all round good game worth all the money. can't shut it down
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>