GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

The new action-thriller from the award-winning team and Infinity Ward, the creators of the Call of Duty series, delivers the most intense and cinematic action experience ever. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare arms gamers with an arsenal of advanced and powerful modern day firepower and transports them to the most treacherous hotspots around the globe to take on a rogue enemy group threatening the world. As both United States Marine and British S.A.S. soldier fighting through an unfolding story full of twists and turns, players use sophisticated technology, superior firepower and coordinated land and air strikes on a battlefield where speed, accuracy and communication are essential to victory. The epic title also delivers and added depth of multiplayer action providing online fans an all-new community of persistence, addictive and customizable gameplay.
Average Customer Rating:
7.46
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
9
8 stars
10
7 stars
7
6 stars
0
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
39 out of 5078%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Review 1 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
What a fantastic game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/09
Lt. Billson
As soon as I started playing Call of Duty 4 on the DS, i was utterly amazed. First of all, the controls are excellent, the levels are challenging, and this game is awesome. Please let me explain; the graphics of Call of Duty 4 on the DS are amazingly real, I almost thought it was real! The shooting, well, is AWESOME!!! The guns are also really cool and the arsenal the game has is awesome! Sniper rifles, machine guns, shotguns, rocket launchers, and even guns I don't even know what are called! The game levels never get boring. One time I am in a sniper post, the next time I'm in the middle of disarming a bomb! Now to the enemys, there are soldiers, helicopters, tanks, and snipers. The AI of everyone is amazing! Now the music, well the music is simply amazing! The only drawback of Call of Duty 4 for DS is that the campaign is too short. On the plus side, multiplayer is so knarly! So overall, I give this game: 9.5/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
its alright
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/10
frostyk
it's alright, it take's getting use to using L to fire and the touch screen controls but once you do it's pretty smooth. though the controls are nice the story is horrible, with only about 3 hours of play its a average game. though it is DS of course you cant compare it to ps3, or xbox 360 but the graphics are alright. you will only use about 3 guns through the whole game. it is pretty entertaining through the story mode, but the reply value is about 2 (out of 10). the ds dowload play is fun but there is no online and after you beat story mode it's unlikely you will pick it up again. if you want a good shooter i recomend Metal slug 7 or Metroid prime hunter's. If your not sure i dont recomend picking it up or at least rent it first.........
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
its alright
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/10
frostyk
it's alright, it take's getting use to using L to fire and the touch screen controls but once you do it's pretty smooth. though the controls are nice the story is horrible, with only about 3 hours of play its a average game. though it is DS of course you cant compare it to ps3, or xbox 360 but the graphics are alright. you will only use about 3 guns through the whole game. it is pretty entertaining through the story mode, but the reply value is about 2 (out of 10). the ds dowload play is fun but there is no online and after you beat story mode it's unlikely you will pick it up again. if you want a good shooter i recomend Metal slug 7 or Metroid prime hunter's. If your not sure i dont recomend picking it up or at least rent it first.........
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Gamezilla
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/09
Gamezilla
this game rocks! in this game you do it all, you face the russians. But not by yourself, but with your team, squad, unit. you get help from your team, but you have to protect them as well. you fight in many areas, you choose what weapon you want or steal one of your enemies. You even get to use a snipper gun and use it at your enemies, when they don't even know it. and use use a machingun shooting at your enemies, on a helicopter, or on a car. You even get to get to bomb your enemies from the skies. But in mutiplayer (single-card) you can only fight in two areas. Also in the game you have two types of granades. The only thing i did not like was that i didn't get to use a missle launcher. In the begging of the game they teach how to use the weapons, and how to diffuse a bomb.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Are you serious?
Posted on:10/10/07
It won't look like the pics^
Come on people seriously you don't really beleave that the screen shots above are DS COD4 screenshots do you?Those are in fact the PS3/360/PC screenshots and the DS COD4 will not come remotely close to looking like the PS3/360/PC screenshots let alone actual gameplay not because i can tell you i've seen gameplay of this game on a 3 systems and it is just unbelievable, i'm not telling you guys this to flame the DS version of COD4 but i'm just letting you know the screenshot above are actually of the PS3/360/PC versions and i'm warning you guy don't get your hopes up because you think the DS version will look that good because it won't.If you have a PS3 or 360/PC pre-order it for one of these systems like i and so many others have because i can truthfully tell you the graphics in actual gameplay looks far far more incredible than the screenshots above.I'm pre-ordered the PS3 version which on will you pre-order it for?
Review 6 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Great game for a good price!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/11
dog12345
Location: Bay City, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Overall I am pleased with this game and the rest of the COD games.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
pretty good game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/11
ninja1
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
fun game, kinda short, graphics aren't very good, hard to melee.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Realy fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/09
Super dude
This is a great game. It is relly fun and there is a lot of cool things. There are mostly really fun levels. But it's pretty easy. I love the controls . There is also really awesome music. It's got a pretty cool story to it. But one more thing that is cool is that you can play any level anytime or continue on your storymode. And you can have up to three storymodes going at different times and different levels. You can play multiplayer mode if you have two DS's. That is really fun. The good thing about that is that the places that you play on when you're playing multiplayer are really cool. But the bad thing is that there is only two of them. So I would reccomend getting this to anyone who likes playing good and entertaining games. Oh, and another thing is that there is some sweet guns that you can use and you can also use grenades. I say get the game!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/12
Zachbo1234
Location: Shakoppe
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is overall pretty good. I dont get why but the graphics are better in this game then in Black opps, modern warfare 3 on the DS, although both those games are really good the graphics are alot better on this game. The campagne is good but not lasting. the sound is decent but could be better. the game is better if you do multiplayer on multicard play. but you can do single card play. On single card you get one gun and 2 maps. but with multi card you get 5 guns and 6 maps i think. Overall a pretty good game get it it is worth the money:)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Best DS Game in History
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/08
kinglord515
This is the best game for DS in the world. The graphics are extremely real, and the controls are pretty easy if you ask me. The only flaw on the game is the sound. If you are listening to it without headphones, then it isn't the best sound you'll ever hear, but if you put on headphones, it will be as loud as a surround sound system. I'm not kidding. I turn the volume as low as it goes, and it is still extremely loud. The game is very challenging as well. Also, in order to know what to do, you must listen to what they're saying. If you don't, you will get the objective overhead, but your teammates will warn you if there are any enemies to your corner. The map is very handy as well. You could just look at the map while walking most of the time. And my advice to you is never to have your back to the door, enemies will pop out of almost every corner, and the best way to kill them is by looking through your aim, and getting a headshot. If you don't use your scope, you can lose up to three rounds of bullets, that's about 90 bullets. Well, I highly recommend this game, and it's a good deal too.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 11 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
It's a good game for casual gamers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/11
BlackOps17
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's a good game for casual gamers. I think it is a good shooting game for a DS that is. I still think the xbox 360 is the best for graphics.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/09
Minotour13
Wow, this game is just so amazing. I was so wowed when I played this for the first time. For the first few seconds I thought it was a Playstation 3 game. The controls are absolutely perfect, I gave them a 9 though because I sometimes look around alot, and double tapping goes into iron sights, resulting sometimes going into ironsights. The shooting feels extremely satisfying. The graphics and animation is absolutely outstanding. There's tons and tons of different guns in this game, and I am extremely happy with my purchase. I definitely recommend you get this game, because in my opinion, it's one of the best games EVER MADE for the Nintendo DS and Nintendo DSi. I love this game, and I've been playing it every day since I got it! I'll definitely be buying the next in the series!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
WAY to short
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/08
seven7seven
I got call of duty for the ds on christmas and I was really into in for a while. I checked to see how long it was because I'm gonna be getting another game. All in all it was a good game but I had started to really enjoy it..then I beat it an hour later. I beat the game in 2 days not even playing all the time. It was probably a total of about 12 hours. I would recommend it to you if you like games that you can play over and over again. After the first time it does get boring though. I cant stress enough that it was to short though because I would think in a war game it would last a little while. I you're REALLY into war games its pretty good. World at War is supposed to have Wi-Fi so you can play against others though. So if you dont like this one hang in for World at war.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
I EXPECTED MORE
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/08
?????????
The first time I saw that Call of Duty was available for DS, I wanted to get it. It was my first game for the DS. The story line was OK but it wasn't the best and it did not follow the PS3 version. The gameplay was good. There is a good variety of weapons to use. I expected more of the graphis but overall they were good. The problem with the gams was that it takes 20 bullets to kill one guy unless you shoot him in the head. The controls was the biggest problem. You have to aim with the stylus, move with the D-pad, and shot with the R or L buttons. That took a little while to get used to. If you want to aim through your iron sights, you have to double tap the screen. This means that you'll find yourself aiming when you don't want to and not aiming when you want to. Over all I would give this game an 8 because of the controls and graphis arn't what I thought they would be.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
The Best War Game So Far
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/08
Pathwalker
Call of Duty 4 is fun and exciting to play. The graphics are clear and crisp. The audio is is good. I rate the gameplay as, challenging and fun for anyone who love's war games. Learning the controls is the toughest of the game but once you get this down, the application get much easier for gamers. The plot is well put together and will keep the gamers interest throughout the entire game. Being able to shoot and blow up things on a handheld system is totally awsome. I personally feel that this is the best game I have ever played on the Nintendo DS Lite System. I paid 29.99 for the game and its worth the price. To all the gamers out in the world, this game is worth the money. It's one of those games, that I like to think of as a " Keeper" for my collection. I highly recommend this game to all, who have never played the Call of Duty series and to all whom have.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 16 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/09
cartman101
at first when i played i was expecting like some other games to have a cartoonish picture. i was real happy when i started playing the game. this is not one of those games you dont understand. the 2 player kicked butt for the ds. i would reccomend that if you love the ds and you lover war games this is a must have. i was over all surprised. this is one of those gmes you dont trade. over all buy the game it was great. there is nutthin better than a clasic game like this, you can bomb cities (at certin levels) shoot peop with rocket launchers. this was a shock that nintendo could mak a game like this but i loved it how you could replay some of the levels and it made it more realistic with the nintendo ds touch screen pin. if you love war games this is one of the best you will get.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
why are people rating this bad???????
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/10
957478639042760
i got this game last year and can't stop playing it.Considering that this game is for DS is really good because it is detaled,the enemy soldiers are NOT stupid. overall GOOD GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
My opinion on COD 4: Modern Warfare for the DS
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/12
Enforcer2012
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I played this game on the DS, I was not as happy as I thought I'd be. The graphics for this game were not the best. The graphics for the other COD game for the DS were much better. As I said in my review for World at War for the DS about the reloading, this is different. When you reload your weapon in this game, your character brings his weapon out of sight from you, THE GAMER. You can't see your weapon. All you here is the reloading sound. You don't see yourself reload. Also, it took a couple of second to kill and enemy either from a distance or right up in front of you. I didn't like that. When you kill an enemy, he falls in some weird position and then disappears. Not really the exciting. The game was ok. I wasn't that excited with it after a couple days of playing. The problem with the game is mostly the graphics. Yes, it is on the DS so that would be a contributor. But for those who have any of the other COD games for the DS, and also have THIS game for the DS, I think you know what I mean. Overall, COD 4: Modern Warfare for the DS gets 7 out of 10. (I have reviews on all the Call of Duty games for the DS. Only the DS)
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 19 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Awesome game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/12
DarkBlade2556
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Awesome DS game for the price and whats even more epic about it is that if you have more than one person with the game you can play deathmatch
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
FUN FUN FUN!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/08
TheXGlue
This game is really worth the price. The controls are pretty easy you just gotta get use to them. I got used to them in about 1-5 minutes? The story line is interesting. I highly recommend this game to all. The 2 bad things about this game are that it is SUPER short, like i beat the whole game in a day when i got the last mission and i beat it i was like aww thats it? Now i'm waiting for the next one which is coming out soon. The second bad thing about it is that the sound; it literally plays the same music over and over and over and over again. So i just turn off the volume and put my ipod on and bam combo. But even though the game only has like 10 missions the game itself is still pretty entertaining and the defusing the bomb and planting bomb feature is really fun and easy. It's an experience like no other. BUY THIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>