GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness

About Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness:Completely remade to take advantage of the PlayStation® Portable, Disgaea offers a deep strategy RPG experience with an exceptional story, a fantastic script, and a host of loveable characters and settings. With graphics and art upgraded for the high resolution widescreen PSP display, Disgaea has never looked better. But the improvements don't stop there! An all-new story focus means a completely different experience for the player, not to mention a brand new ending. Geo Cubes add special effects to the battlefield, completely shifting the balance in the blink of an eye. For the first time in the series, multiplayer has been implemented - take your friends on in grand battles of strategy and wit - or try different modes like Defeat the Leader and Capture the Flag!It's an all new Disgaea on an all new platform - pick it up and take it with you wherever you go!
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
Review 1 for Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
Go ATLUS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/08
GunbounD Mansonite
I first tried out this game on the psp which has a few differences from the ps2 game. The difference is that on the psp there is an Etna mode that you can unlock. Also, there is no button to find the dimensional gate like there is for the psp. So you have to find it on your own, but it isn't usually hard to find. Last but not least is the names of the role-players that you can unlock. I was amazed at the graphics and the storyline was definitely entertaining and motivating. You get o make your own monsters and humans that you unlock. Name them what you want and strap them with the weapons you choose. It can literally entertain you for more than 200 hours, thats because there's no end. Wanna find out what I'm talking about then don't hesitate to go out and purchase this revolutionary game. This RPG involves an evil prince that determines to be overlord since his dad died. You play the evil prince... Exciting and great if you've always wanted to play the bad guy. I recommend it to any RPG fan... it's a great addition to your collection.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheHappyGamer
Princeton, TX
 
Please wait while more information about TheHappyGamer is loaded.
Additional information about TheHappyGamer could not be loaded.
No big deal but
Posted 9/18/10
I thought the game was made by Nipon Ichi Software, not ATLUS, it says so on the cover.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
My thoughts
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/10
omega0red
Location: Missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is one of the best games I have ever played. It's vary funny, vary long, and has tons of verity. I spent over 80 hours on my first play through alone and still love it. It's also really easy to pick up and play for a few minutes and then set back down, or you can play it for hours on end, and forget to eat (I've done that before). And even after playing for what is now over 100 hours I have barely even begun to find all the hidden jems within it. So if your looking for a fun, funny, and rather entertaining game you can really sink your teeth into, then this is the game for you. I would also like to say that this game is good for both casual and hardcore gamers. You can just play it cause it's something to do, or you can spend hundreds of hours doing everything there is to do in the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
Reason I bought a PSP
Posted on:10/16/07
Bran
The idea of this, one of my favourite games, being portable... well, it was the reason I recently purchased a PSP. As some have noted, this is purely a remake of the original PS2 classic. Some new features include Etna mode, where you play with Etna as your main character, some extra characters from other Nippon Ichi titles and a multiplayer. Even if it didn't have any special features over the original i'd still buy this in a heart beat.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
Disgaea Portable
Posted on:9/3/07
Oscar
I just heard this game was coming out for the PSP. I played the first Disgaea for the PS2 and had a great time with it. It's fun, funny and challenging. If this same formula is used for this Disgaea, it's a must buy for any PSP owner and/or RPG-tactic fan. I don't know is it's a port from the PS2 version, but I did play Disgaea Portable for the PSP and it was the very same game available for the PS2, except that it was in Japanese and I couldn't understand anything I was reading and this was way back in July when I got to play it. If this is the PS2 port, they sure have taken their sweet time passing it on to the PSP. Come on guys, the game's already translated. Do the port already. In conclusion, get this game. Disgaea does not disappoint. .
Review 5 for Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
Looking foward to it
Posted on:7/26/07
guu
Disgaea is a fun strategy role playing game where you can level up more than a thousand levels, and yes the replay value is very high. This game is not a port of the PS2 game Disgaea: Hour of Darkness, but neither it is independant of the original story. However, this is definitely a great buy for all those who already owned the PS2 game. Of course those who haven't experience this game should play this as well. The story will focus more on the character Etna and will have more episodes as well and contain more features such as Geo Cubes and character classes. There is also a multiplayer mode for those who want to show off their skills.
Review 6 for Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
BLUE! YELLOW! TRANSFORM!
Posted on:7/31/07
KaiTenSatsuma
Disgaea is a SRPG gamers best asset, with easily over 100 hours of gameplay (Especially for those hell bent on completion) With a level barrier of 9999 you are bound to spend hours and hours into this game, There is mention of a second game mode where you play through another story, and there is now AD-Hoc usage when you want to battle a friend, and to make things fair (with all fairness) there is now a way to balance the playing field.
Review 7 for Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
you have to get this gonna be rpg classic
Posted on:8/23/07
Defender of Earth Gordon
It's about time a rpg of this caliber is coming out for the psp this is of those games that you can play for over 100 hours and still have things to do, this game will be my shining psp game than any other because this game is funny easy and very very hard at the same time and it has great characters (such as etna) and very very deep game play(you can be level 1000 and over and it's not easy) if you psp needs a rpg this is the one
Review 8 for Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
A common misconception...
Posted on:9/17/07
Duq
Many people believe that this will be a new game, which it really isn't. In truth, this is the same PS2 Disgaea game (Hour of Darkness) with much more features added on, like the Etna what-if story, multiplayer battles and more secret bosses. In a sense, this is Disgaea 1++ (I've imported the Japanese version, the US version will have more extras supposedly) A must buy for anybody who has played and enjoyed the original.
Review 9 for Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
One of my favorite games of all time!
Posted on:10/17/07
DirkStar
This is a great surprise and just in time because i just purchased the Daxter Bundle P.S.P. and was wondering what my first game purchase would be. Disgaea is still one of my favorite P.S. II games. If the P.S.P. version is half as good, this will be a great game for some time to come. Multiplayer? Sweet! I've already ordered both the guide and the game...
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
omega0red
 
Please wait while more information about omega0red is loaded.
Additional information about omega0red could not be loaded.
One of the Bests
Posted 12/14/10
This is one of the best games I have ever played. It's vary funny, vary long, and has tons of verity. I spent over 80 hours on my first play through alone and still love it. It's also really easy to pick up and play for a few minutes and then set back down, or you can play it for hours on end, and forget to eat (I've done that before). And even after playing for whati s now over 100 hours I have barely even begun to find all the hidden jems within it. So if your looking for a fun, funny, and rather entertaining game you can really sink your teeth into, then this is the game for you.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
awsome in the palm of your hand
Posted on:9/6/07
Josh
I am a hardcore Disgaea fan. I have all the animes and mangas and I just can't wait for this game. The only good srpg on the psp is the new jean darc game which is pretty good and now this game is coming out and it will hopefully be as good as the others in this series.
Review 11 for Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
Great Chance to Get Disgaea again!
Posted on:10/8/07
Aldotsk
For those who have missed their chance of buying the very first Disgaea for PS2, and you have PSP handheld right now... this is the right time for you to get the game! The first one explains it all!