GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox Live Messenger Kit

Chatting with friends and family on Xbox LIVE® and Windows-based PCs is easy using the Xbox 360 Messenger Kit. This device easily connects to any Xbox 360 controller and provides easy to use chat capabilities while maintaining gameplay functionality in one easy-to-hold device. The Messenger Kit includes a Chatpad and Xbox 360 Headset.
Average Customer Rating:
9.462
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
10 stars
18
9 stars
3
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
Review 1 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
A great bundle!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/13
TheStorm
Location: NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this a couple of months ago,still the chatpad and headset still looks,and works great.I needed this because I hated sending messages to my friends on Xbox Live,using the controller.So I decided to spend a extra $12.00 to get the headset,and the chatpad,because the used chatpads at Gamestop were almost $20.00.They both are quick,and easy to use.But this is a great deal for $30.00,and it is totally worth your money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
A Must Buy For All Gamers!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/13
Elitez
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a keyboard for an X-Box controller. How can you not want/like this. It gets annoying typing one character at a time, but now that changed and it is wroth the price. It saves more than 3/4 of the time that you spend typing on the X-Box anyway. This is just my opinion, but you should really buy this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
Great for quick messages
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/12
ArTiZzLe
Location: Springfield,NJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this product when I bought my Starter Kit. I like the design and now they finally made a black color for the new Xbox 360 slim. At first I couldn't get not to fit in my controller. Something is wrong with the chat pad where you have to push it on the bottom of the controller. You need to push hard enough for it to make a "click" noise. The first time you do it, it sounds like it broke but trust me it won't ask anyone else who has this product. Overall it's great for quick messages to people. It's like texting on a phone. By the way, it makes your controller look more stylish. Buy this product!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
honestly...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/12
skullkruncher007
Location: north carolina, nc
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
honestly this is just for those people that just sit around on Netflix all day and search for games and don't have headsets but overall good product
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Halo 4 Trigger Stereo Headset for Xbox 360
8.5 out of 10(35)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
It's Good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
WaveNiso
Location: Manhattan, IL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I like this product, i use it a lot. But it does not work with my turtle beach x12's. but overall it is a good product.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
Helpful Tip
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
Chazman
Location: PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
A lot of people have a problem with connecting it to the xbox360 controller. Here is a tip that I learned off the internet and it works for me: In order for the system to recognize it, you have to smack it in hard and hear a click for it to be in properly. It may feel like your going to break it, but you wont, trust me I do it all the time. Just don't be afraid to smack it in. Besides that, it works GREAT!!! Just follow my tip, it always works for me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
AMAZING!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/11
Colton103301
Location: PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This device makes it a lot easier to send messages to your friends and it fits perfectly on the controller. Overall its a great value as it gives you a text pad and a mic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
Go for the Xbox live gold starter kit!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/11
MaqDiesel
Location: Columbus, OH
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I didn't buy the messenger kit, so don't think I'm downing this kit. I am simply showing other options. I bought the Xbox Live Gold Starter Kit, includes a chat pad, wired mic, 400 ms points, and a year of XBL. Totally worth the money I spent. The chat pad connects to the controller it has a spot to plug in a wired mic still, so chatting live is still enabled. I recommend the XBL Gold Starter Kit, just because of the extra contents. But, if your not looking to spend that much money and still want a headset and mic, this is definitely the way to go!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
GOOD GOOD GOOD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/11
cocun97
Location: Carolina,PR
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
VERY EASY TYPING, BACKLIGHT. BEEN BRIEF A GREAT ADD FOR ONLINE GAMERS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
Don't regret buying but......
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/11
thepslayer
Location: Michigan
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This chatpad + headset is awesome, and i needed a headset and was happy with getting a chatpad too. I recently found out that a PC keyboard that uses USB could plug in to your xbox 360 and it works. I have a wireless keyboard, and I plugged it into my xbox and it worked very well. I do recommend this product but if you are buying it 'cuz of the chatpad, and you have a PC keyboard lying around or you can get a cheaper PC keyboard, or you can just use your PC keyboard if you have one. Enjoy!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Interceptor
texas
 
Please wait while more information about Interceptor is loaded.
Additional information about Interceptor could not be loaded.
Great, but...
Posted 12/28/12
The chat pad is extremely useful. And its good how its on the bottom of the controller, unlike the PS3 when its on top. I think thats stupid and unconvenient.But there is one problem, its WAY OVER PRICED. Why would you spend $30 one a mini keyboard when you can buy a full size one for equal or lesser the price? But over all its worth a buy for those messengers on xbox live.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
This is a great buy, and a great save
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/11
ArTiZzLe
Location: NEW YOURK, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This product is perfect for anybody who types messages in a constant basis. I have a clan, so i have to give out updates to my clan members, and now that I have the chat pad, it feels almost imposible not using it and to type without it. It is almost 7 inches and fits perfectly. It is not heavy, so it is great to handle. Hope this helped and buy this, its a great save.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
Cullann
Location: Hattiesburg,MS
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is the best product for xbox and xbox live.If you didn't get a headset with your xbox like me.so i got xbox live with the 12 month gold membership card and then my birthday (which is today) i made $35 the day before and so i read the reviews for just the plain headset and they were negative and so i was like I'll just get a chatpad. i thought it would add like 5 pounds on the controller but it really didn't it added bout 1/2.You'll get used to it.My only downside is that its chosen at random but it looks cool i have a white controller and its black so it looks awesome.my gammertag is CODvsHaloS117
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
Quick Typing
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/11
Stinkle
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love this messenger kit, it is fast and it is easy to use. I only have two problems with this kit. 1: its hard to put on. 2: It doesn't fit on the controller if the controller has a cover on top of it. Even though there are two problems I would still reccommend this to anyone who doesn't want to take forever when typing a message
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
EXCELLENT PRODUCT GREAT PRICE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/11
mackmanron
Location: nyc
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
HEY IF YOU WANT TO TEXT EMAIL OR GO ON TO FACEBOOK AND TYPE IN YOUR INFO IN A SNAP OR ADD PERSON TO YOUR BUDDIE LIST WITHIN SECONDS THIS IS THE THING YOU MUST HAVE DOING IT THROUGH THE CONTROL PAD SUCKS AND THE PRICE IS RIGHT $20.00 PLUS YOU GET A MIC HEADSET AND THE KEY PAD LIGHTS UP IT IS NOT HEAVY AND YOU STILL CAN CONNECT YOUR HEAD SET TO THE CHATPAD AND NO DRAIN ON THE BATTERY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
Great for people that use Messenger
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/11
Ben702
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had this for over 2 years and i never touch it... but when i do it is very good and i have a ps3 with a chatpad and the ps3's chatpad sucks. this one comes with the querty keys and it lights up... i dont use it because i dont send messages or use messenger but if you do i recommend this highly...yeah it kinda pricy but if you really want it get it. also dont play games with it because it makes the controller heavier. but if you like it go ahead its just i dont like heavy controllers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
good buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
Magnum
Location: USA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i have had the chat pad for almost 2 years and havent had any problems yet.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
useful but pricey
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/10
CanonSniper
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The obvious advantage of the chatpad is it makes using windows messenger much easier. Some people might opt for a USB keyboard which does much the same thing, but this keeps you from having to put the controller down, and since it plugs right into the controller, it's wireless. Now, aside from texting, it also makes a lot of other things much easier, such as entering codes, creating character names, naming or renaming files on the xbox, and other seemingly mundane tasks that the on-screen keyboard makes tedious and annoying. for some, the price may be too steep, in which case i would reccomend looking for a used one, though those seem to be hard to find, for others, the lack of aggravation will be enough to justify the expense. (side note: you really ought to be able to buy the chatpad without the headset as some of us already have it, and despite what at least one review seems to have said, the chatpad works with the standard headset. The headphone jack is just a simple pass through from the chatpad's jack to the controller, like an extension cord. However, if you find it not working, or not working well, check the connection and try cleaning the jacks off....i like to use WD-40 as I typically have some handy and it does an excellent job cleaning metal.) As for actual performance, comfort, and ease of use: The keys, while small, are spaced well enough that texting is easier than on phones with full qwerty keyboards. The back lighting makes the keys easy to see in the dark, including the second and tertiary functions so that one can include all the proper characters without too much hunting. It also doesn't make the controller unwieldy or uncomfortable, nor do I find myself accidentally pressing keys on it while playing games. The one problem I have is that the buttons don't respond as well as they could and I often find that several characters can end up untyped if you aren't careful. I think it's just that I don't always properly depress the button for it to register rather than the chatpad having a problem registering a depressed button. To conclude: yeah it's pricey, and yeah, many people probably won't use it often, but even if you don't use it often, the few times you do use it will make you glad you have it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
MaqDiesel
Columbus, OH
 
Please wait while more information about MaqDiesel is loaded.
Additional information about MaqDiesel could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Old vs new-style headsets
Posted 11/8/11
The headset the guy in the comments area has, is an old style headset. Those at the time had the headphone jack and the extra prongs (if you will) that connect to the controller. Yes, the chatpad does not have those slots, as its meant for newer headsets, hence, the reason you get a newer headset with it. Making them compatible. The newer headsets (whether from Microsoft, Phillips, Plantronics, or whoever) only have the headphone jack. So all newer headsets are compatible with the chatpad, to clarify your problem.
Customer Avatar
sykoskit
 
Please wait while more information about sykoskit is loaded.
Additional information about sykoskit could not be loaded.
my headset doesnt fit in the bottom of the chatpad
Posted 2/18/11
i got the chatpad from a friend but he said his headset was missing... i have my original headset, but it won't fit in the bottom of the chatpad... the bottom of the chatpad has only one single hole for just the plug, not the two weird shaped objects sticking out of the plug for the headset... basically you know how the bottom of your controller has not just the single hole, but one hole and two weird shaped holes on each side? the chatpad doesn't have the 3 holes just the one... so i can't get my headset to fit. anyone have any ideas? or can i just buy a headset with one single plug instead of the 3? any help would be appreciated... i don't really feel like going out and buying another chatpad just to be able to put my headset and chatpad on the same controller.. and i don't feel like using 2 controllers just to have one with the keyboard and one with a headset... thats just weird lol
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 18 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
Great Product!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/10
JPSein
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
At first i thought that i bought a bad prdouct. but after looking into my system settings under language and i saw english with QWERTY keyboard. lol and it works PERFECTLY! messaging my friends is simple and when im on netflix i dont have to slide back and forth between letters to find a movie!! just type and go!!! BUY this ya wont regret it!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
nwstar
Location: frederick md
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Excellent product, two for price of one, can't beat it, keypad is great, headset is alright but does the job.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Xbox Live Messenger Kit
very great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/10
CmDogy19
Location: ohio,oh
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is a very useful item. i would love to reccomend this to a friend... it fits perfectly in anyones hand.and i love that it comes with a headset
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
halo3heroic
 
Please wait while more information about halo3heroic is loaded.
Additional information about halo3heroic could not be loaded.
Wait, what?!
Posted 11/30/10
I'm looking to get this, actually. I mean, sure, you could go out to wal-mart and get the headset itself for $20, but nope, Gamestop wins again! I mean, the chat pad AND the headset for $19.99? Oh, yeah, AND you get some Power Up points if you have an account with them ;) Gamestop: 1, Wal-Mart: 0
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>