GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Party

The party boards and minigames are crazier than ever in a new title that shrinks down the whole Mario crew for whimsical party play. All-new Mario Party action goes portable with DS features. With over 70 minigames and five themed game boards, Mario Party DS gives you all the goods for portable play. And it's brought to life with fun surprises you can see only on DS, such as touch control, microphone control, and dual-screen challenges. Play as your favorite Mario characters. You can play as one of eight characters in Mario Party DS: Mario, Luigi, Yoshi, Peach, Daisy, Toad, Wario, and Waluigi.
Average Customer Rating:
8.909
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
10 stars
21
9 stars
0
8 stars
22
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 out of 4486%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Party
Review 1 for Mario Party
Partylicious by Coma89
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/08
coma89
Mario Party games uphold a tradition of beautiful boards, wacky fun mini games, and exciting turnouts. As years have passed, many have been doubtful if Mario could continue to make such great party games time after time. But Shigeru Miyamoto has once again proven the doubtful very wrong indeed. Although Mario Party 8 ( the Wii's premiere party) was slightly lacking, every single predecessor was amazing. Mario Party DS is the DS's first party, and it was not a disappointment. Five fun and exciting game boards, 74 mini games, and a great storylinemake this a very special game. Although some games feel a little to simple or similar to other games, the variety is good. The graphics aren't as sharp as we have seen on the DS, but they're not terrible. Overall, this game is one of the best DS games out there, and it is by far the very best multiplayer one. So come on in; the party's just getting started.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
26 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mario Party
Good if you have other real players.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/08
Gasmask Cowgirl
Mario Party DS was a fun game, but you really get to see how interesting it can actually be when you play it mult-player with friends. Especially if your friends are competitive like mine! The graphics are lovely, the game goes smoothly- however I do have some complaints. I really wish this game would've enabled wifi, it seems like an obvious must, so I don't understand why it didn't happen. Another thing is the lack of variety in 'game boards.' They're cute and fun, however I really love variety and it gets old rather quickly with the few they have. Plus, you can unlock board pieces- yet unlocking them does nothing, really. Just stuff to see in the gallery? It would've been awesome if it unlocked board pieces to add to the boards so you could customize and perhaps enjoy more replayable action. It just seems like this game had lots of potential, but all the extras that would've made it great were absent. However, I would recommend this game if you have friends with DS's as it's most entertaining as a multi-player.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Mario Party
mario party ds rocks
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/10
kevinfan786
i think that mario party 5 is better ten mario party ds because mario party ds is the same as mario party 4 and mario party 3 the diffrence is that there tiny and theres new boards and new mini games ill give this a 7.3 because i have the game and i defetead story mode and i unlocked all the minigames and i beated all the bosses like piraniah plant,hammer bro,dry bones,kame, and bowser i say the thoughest boss was bowser because it took me 3 days to defeat him and the one i hate the most s when he turns into a cube when i lost 10 times i wanted to take out the game card and throw it out the stupid window thats why i think bowsers the hardest boss in mario party ds my favorite board is dk stone statue and my favorite minigame is raft riot its like mario kart ds but you need to do it on water its like water kart but you need to raft well thats all need to say
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mario Party
Amazing Party!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/08
Kooaqua
This has to be one of the greatest games ever to hit the DS! I mean great graphics, fun minigames, a nice plot, an assortment of puzzle games! Mario Party DS is amazing. I highly recommend it! I hope they make a second installation of the Mario Party for the DS. The graphics are amazing for the DS and it has some amazing boards an areas you would be amazed by. If you are an Xbox360, PS3 fan I will not recommend it to you, Mario Party and DS games are for Gamers who actually enjoy a game about it's quality and not graphics. Mario Party DS is on the go and you only need one game card to play multiplayer. The 2-Player Games are incredibly fun too. Playing with more friends makes it worth while. Play as Yoshi, Mario, Luigi, and some other of the superstars of the Mario Series. The Mario Party has shrunken down to size and you must go and try to get Boswer ti return you back to normal size. Beat the Piranha at the Garden, Hammer Hammer Bro. out of Toadette's Music room, Save DK from the Dry Bones, and much more! I highly recommend this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Mario Party
A Party To Remember
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/09
MarioPartyMan158
This is the first mario party game I have played and it was great. This was the best story line of all the mario parties ever made! The controls were easy to understand. The graphics were OKAY. The boards were very creative. The game could of been harder to best on story mode though. This game lasted me a year (I beat story mode with every character + got every unlockable). Cons: Graphics were only okay, boss battles were too easy, only 8 characters, not much use of mic, easy story mode, no DK spaces, no donkey kong either :(. Pros: Alot of minigames, 5 creative boards, Great story, easy controls, many extras to do in game, 5 boss battles!, good use of stylis. Overall it gets a 8.5 eventhough their was many cons it was still passable. GO BUY IT!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mario Party
Every Ds owner should have whether New or Old
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/09
SoraX5
Let me start out and say this game that this game is a fun game to play and every Ds owner should try this game out. Story- Basically this game is about Mario and the gang being invited to Bowser's castle for a nice party. To good to be true Bowser soon capture the gang and turns them...well small.Now our bite sized friends must collect stars in their new small form in order to defeat Bowser and return to normal. Gameplay- In story mode you basically go through this fun board and you try to collect stars. You play a mini game at the end and the person with the most stars win. There are about 5 or 6 boards. You have to unlock different mini games and modes. This game is easy to play and is very fun to play with your friends. This game has Ds download play which allows you to link to ds's with only 1 game card. This game will last you for about a month and I highly recommend you to buy it. Gameplay-9 Story-9 Graphics-10 Durability-8 Fun Factor-10 Overall- 10 You should really look into buying this game especially if you need a little fun in your life.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Mario Party
An Awesome Mario Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/08
OC Maker
This is one of the absolute best Mario games for the DS right now! And believe me, I've had tons of Mario games. It has 5 party boards. My personal favorites are Bowser's PinBall Machine (the fifth) and Toadette's Music Room (the second), not that the others aren't awesome too. This was the first DS game I ever had, and I do not regret that one bit! When I first got it, I played Peach right off the bat. If you get this as soon as you get your DS, it may take you a while to grasp, but when you get the hang of it, I assure you you'll love it! This game also has tons of prizes, some that take a lot of work to obtain, so you will rarely, if at all, get bored. Before my original file got erased, I still hadn't gotten all the prizes, and I had played it for 2 months up to that time. Though it upset me I lost 36,000 (yes I love the game that much) points, I still couldn't stay away from it. I recommend this game no matter what!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Mario Party
mario party DS!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/11
minnesotawildfan
Location: newton, massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i got this game yesterday new at gamestop. I tryed it out it could'nt be bad because all the mario party's i've played have be good. the game was just as good as 4,5,6,7,8 and i think it had the best mini games.the only bad thing about the game was that you could only play as 8 characters.mario,luigi,peach,daisy,wario,waluigi,toad and yoshi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mario Party
Its time to Party, Mario Party.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
NintendoDude
One of my favorite Mario Party games. First off, you can play this anytime, anywhere. It has comfortable graphics, and it has a fun story. The music is cool, too. I like how your shrunken and the minigames involve you doing crazy things, like dodging toys in a crane game, or struggling to get out of a hedge. And who doesn't like to play with friends? You can play with one game card only, so if your friends have a DS but not the game, you can all still play nearby. I say, buy it now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mario Party
not the best but still good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
superblooper108
Location: Burlington, NC
This game is perfect for: party gamers
mario party ds is a good game if you like mario party.mario and his friends have been invited to bowser's party there all suspicius but dk gets the message too and see's there is food so he runs to get food first.mario and his friends go too.later at bowser's castle mario and friends get shrinked by bowser and bowser jr with there minimizer.so now they have party there way to defeat bowser.that is the story and if you like mario party you can get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario Party
amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
dman2000
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is a great game and has alot of party games and the story mode is the best part of the game. i reccomend this game to any mario gamer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario Party
not the best mario party game, it's just ok
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/11
nikkimel56
This game is perfect for: party gamers
not the best mario game, but it's still OK. it could have had more improvements 2 it though. my favorite part about the game is probably the party mode where you have a tag team and you play on a board and all that kind of stuff. but yeah, other than that it's a good game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mario Party
FUN
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/08
TurtleGirl
I LOVE THIS GAME! I highly recomend it to everyone! It is VERY fun and there is SO much to do. And the price is not bad AT ALL for what it is. I mean you can do so much like: tons of minigames, 5 party places, lots of characters, lots of things to unlock and more! I got this gamealmost 2 years ago and STILL love it. The graphics are great, the controls are VERY great because you use the microphone for a minigames and you use the pen for minigames and you use the buttons. Basically you use it all! There are some bosses that you try and defeat. There is even bowswer in the game which is cool. So if you are looking for a long lasting, fun, good game, this would be the one for all you mario fans! And mario party fans! ( I wouldn't recomend it for little kids though because it can be kindof confusing for them) But for a FACT adults love it too! ENJOY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Mario Party
A fun game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/11
Blade97
Location: Some where in the state of Ilinois
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Mario party is a fun game. When I first got it I wasnt sure how it would be but it turned out to be a fun game. Its like playing a board game but with a mario twist to it. There are lots of minigames that are fun to play by yourself or with a friend. Another reason why I like this game is because it has the ds download play so i could play with my friends/cousins without them having the game. If you like board games and mario then get this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mario Party
A game every ds owner should have.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/09
Gamergirl123
Let me just say this game is awsome! There are tons of mini games, puzzle games and more. In the story mode your playing on a board game and after all four players turn you play a mini game or battle game. All the players are there including Mario, Luigi, Wario, Peach, Yoshi, toad and more.If you play in mini game mode or puzzle mode, you get mario party points which can unlock special board features. You can play with your friends in multiplayer mode, and only one person needs to have the game. I will admit that if you do play this game constantly it can get a little tiring even though its addicting. But if you take a break you can easily get back into it. This game will definitely keep you busy with all the many mini games and modes. If you own a DS i highley suggest you get this game, it won't let you down.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Mario Party
Time to really party
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/08
The Gamestrs
This game really is a blast! In multiplayer you can play everything including these two "extras" games in multiplayer, and they do include microphone minigames too! In the story mode you get into Bowser's trap again and get shrunken down. So you're on maps that are really big (for you). Complete 5 bosses (Bowser too) to win and get large again from breaking the minimizer. The thing I don't like is that it only has 8 characters: Mario, Luigi, Wario, Toad, Peach, Daisy, Waluigi, and Yoshi. In minigame mode you do 6 different types of ways to play minigames like battle cup you play 5 minigames and whoever wins the most out of this 5 is the winner! There's also a new mode called puzzle mode, play over 5 different games, including one that's a little like tetris. I would recommend this game for mario fans.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Mario Party
Mario Party
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/09
ajjjevans
Mario Party DS is one of the best ds games. There are multiple mini games, there are also many characters. There are a few different modes. There is a story mode, but it Is really short but it is a bunch of fun. There is a lot of mini games and a few different mini game modes but they are all about the same . there is 6 maps which means 6 levels in the story mode each level has a boss, which are fun and only take a few tries to beat. The touch screen adds a lot to the game many of the mini games se it. But for some u use the microphone and some the A B Y X buttons. this game will get old after you beat all of the levels and when you can do all the mini games on hard. I recommend this game if you have someone to play this with you then it is a bunch of fun otherwise wait till it goes down in price.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Mario Party
A Game Everbody should love
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/09
Brendan P.
I have been really obsessed with this game lately, I got it for Christmas and i can not stop playing. You and your gang get turned small, and you need to get normal again. In the begining Browser tricks them to a party, and of course he turns them small. My favorite part about this game is all of the mini games. If you like variety then you will for surely love this game. Another cool thing about this game is that it is nothing like the other mario games, and that is why it is unique. Well number one, you move around on a bored game type thing. I have played basically every mario game , and i have never seen anything like this. If i was the creator of this game and i could change something, truely i would not change anything. This game is as perfect as It gets and i rate It 10 out of 10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario Party
Ok But Just OK
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/09
mlxx2000
This game mario Party was a breakthrough for the nintendo DS. The game was great when i first starred playing it.... but , i soon lost interest when i beat the game ... I was so addicted to this game that i couldn't put it down, only time i put it down was to sleep shower and eat!!! =) So if you are looking for a game that will keep you satisfied for the time being, this will be the perfect game for you... but, if you are looking for a game that can keep you satisfied for a long, extended period of time,... i would totally suggest pokemon or harvest moon island of happiness... This game does have a really great and detailed story line though that aspect of the game actually surprised me!! Well, overall, this was an ok game but i wouldn't rate it anything more than an ok game. :))
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Mario Party
The best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/11
Pao10
Location: Puerto Rico
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I love this game is really fun,especially when you play it with 4 people.I love the minigames my favorites are camera shy and ciberscampers.I recomend this game its the best.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>