GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Prototype

You are the PROTOTYPE, Alex Mercer, hiding in human form. You step out onto the streets of New York with no memory, but limitless power. As a terrifying viral epidemic sweeps across Manhattan, top-secret Black Watch Special Forces move in, transforming it into a war zone. Delve into the mysteries of your origin, the true nature of your power and your part in a conspiracy 40 years in the making.
Average Customer Rating:
8.151
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (123 reviews)
10 stars
37
9 stars
21
8 stars
13
7 stars
7
6 stars
4
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
4
74 out of 9380%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Prototype
Review 1 for Prototype
Great!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/13
Tom10
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Prototype is very fun. There are so many powers that Alex (Main Character) has. There are so many upgrades to choose from making the game fun to play for years to come in my opinion. The only complaint I have is the game play being to challenging. When you are fighting in a mission the military is just to much to deal with. Although there is health upgrades that help you through these mission's. That is my opinion on this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Prototype
Best Anit-hero
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/13
IronManMark3
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Fast, deadly, out for revenge! This game although not given a good review by critics is a great game for anyone who likes super heroes. My age recommendation is 16 and up. To put is simply Free-Running, Sword power, Whipfist, Hammer Fists (Hulk Hands), Claws (wolverine), and Muscle Mass. so many powers and combos plus and in depth story line that makes you act like a detective to figure it out. My only complaint can feel a little repetitive at times but you can change it up at anytime with different powers. This stands as one of my favorite games and better than the second let nobody tell you different! I recommend this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Prototype
NOT A BAD GAME AT ALL!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/13
HAZEEN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
THIS GAME IS FUN! HARDCORE GUT BUSTING ACTION. IT IS NOT TOO SHORT NOR IS IT TOO LONG! THE RIGHT KIND OF GAME FOR A GUY LIKE ME.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Prototype
Use the powers u have
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/13
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ok this game had me questioning it for a while but then I decided to give it a try and go ahead and buy it. so I just started playing it and what can I say. I like it. I mean you can jump all around, climb up the side of buildings, destroy cars and tanks, and if you kill somebody in the streets that was running away you don't fail the mission you just keep going to your location. watch out cause the place is like a wasteland with people running all around, guns begin shot, people trying to fight you but you will win cause you have powers. you don't have to fight but you can. anyway good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Prototype
In My Opinion...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
Qwerty001
Location: -.-
this game actually dissapointed me, i thought it would be an awesome game but it was the opposite. Graphics are outdated even for a 2009 game, the first Uncharted game was made in 2007 and it even had better graphics than prototype. Not only that but it also gets annoying when the hydras chase you, i understand that they have to chase you but at least they should make less of them chasing you every time you pass by their area. A game i would definetly reccomend is all of the Uncharted series, not this game. But that is just my opinion.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Prototype
Best Free Roam Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/12
AC3Assassin
Location: Hoover, Alabama
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Basically The Free Roam Is What Pulled Me In, The Free Roam And His Power Are My Favorite Parts About Prototype, I Like The Story, It is Pretty Cool, I Love The Way He Can Change His Arms Into Multiple Weapons, This Game Truly Is Fun And Unique In A Way. Worth The Money, Yes. Recommended: Yes
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for Prototype
Not bad
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
Tammisto
Location: Hobart, OK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was good all while I had the story line going The graphics were okay-ish the story had a good way to keep me going. Kinda hard at parts, and it involved a bit of thinking to complete some of the later missions. Good game all around if you keep on just the storyline. Free roaming afterwards kinda sucks and it takes awhile to upgrade fully of free roam.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Prototype
The game is not good at all
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/12
Kurupt21
Location: Fort Worth, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Yes you get alot of upgrades but when it comes down to it its never enough. some missions are impossible to complete even on the easiest mode. i have to believe a game is horrible if i have to spend over a hour on a mission and still die. this game is recommended for challenging hardcore gamers only. the game is very hard l would at least play the sequal because the difficulty on this will get you more than just fustrated
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Prototype
Great game, just the graphics.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/12
Deoxys04
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game a lot, and if you are one of those people who just wanna roam around town and kill things, then this is for you. One thing that makes me upset is the graphics, its not so good. The buildings look awful, and some other things look bad. But don't let that ruin your game play. Once your done with some missions, you get to free roam around a BIG city, and I mean BIG. You can do anything you want, like kill random people. You might get bored after awhile, but its not likely. Theres a variety of weapons that can keep you entertained for hours. But if you do get bored, you could just replay the missions or get Prototype 2. This game is not bad, I let it pass.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Prototype
:D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/12
BlackToiletWater
Location: Chicago, Ill
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This games amazing. I have the second one also. Both are awesome. Everyone should get this game and the second. You can do so much in the game. My 2nd favorite game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cockofthewalk123
new York Bronx
 
Please wait while more information about cockofthewalk123 is loaded.
Additional information about cockofthewalk123 could not be loaded.
ITS THE BOMB!
Posted 6/11/12
IV PLAYED THIS GAME AND I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Prototype
Best Game action of 2009
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/12
arroncena11
Location: greenvill,nc
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
prototype is based on a not so populer comic by dc comics but u play as alex mercer and to be comlitlyt ahonest the only bad part about this game is grhapics other than that i cant think of anything else u get a ton of power and thats just what i want for a shap shifter and the story is simple but long
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Prototype
Buy it now!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/12
Santos
Location: Dallas,Tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was extremely fun for me when i first played it, you should just go and buy it, trust me you will not regret it, its action packed with so many cool things to see and do!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Prototype
This game is loads of fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/12
zattle123
Location: East Falmouth, MA
the story is good, and none of the quests/side quests are generic which is good, so when you beat the game you've got some ok challenging side quests to work for, and the whole man slaughter aspect is cool for letting out your anger and just hack and slashing everything up in the city, i really hope the sequel is up to par
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Prototype
THIS GAME SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/12
ALLTIMEGAMER2616
Location: Florida, FL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Any person who likes this game needs to upgrade. This is the WORSE game ive ever played, besides Prince of persia. the combat sucks. Sure, you can shapeshift, but come on! I think we all know that having cool abilities doesnt make the game superior or changes the fact that this game has many, many, many more mistakes. I mean, if you're gonna make an open-world game, at LEAST add side missions. Or an alternative stealth stance and set of attacks for infiltration.the only thing i liked about this game was jumping from buildings, which is sad. And do I have to even mention the storyline? Worst plot ever! I would be ashamed to even sell this game on craigslist!!! If making horrible games were illegal, Activision would be in trouble. If you are a fan and you don't like what i'm saying, deal with it! you'd think Activision would learn from very successful open world games like the Assassin's creed series or Infamous, but no, they went and made it boring and ridiculous. This game is perfect for a nine year old who doesn't know the concept of QUALITY! With this first impression, there's no way I'm getting Prototype 2. And a word of advice, don't get this game to see if I'm wrong. You'll regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 42 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Prototype
Kill EVERYTHING... Like a Boss
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/12
IAmNIKe
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game!!!!! Are you havin a bad day? well blow off some steam on this game by mindlessly running around New York City and kill whatever you want and how you want. What i think made this game so awesome is the fact that Alex Mercer has the power of Polymorphism ( in english, a shape-shifter ) and turning your hand into anything from razor sharp claws to a giant whip to huge rock hands ( more like mallets ) to a sick lookin blade that replaces your entire arm. This game is boss...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Prototype
Awesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/12
gamedestroyer1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I didn't really think that this game would be good at first but by the time I bought the game it blew me away! I never have guess that it was a very cool/awesome game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Prototype
If you want pure fun, play this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/12
MLTP
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is pure destruction. Pure unadulterated fun. This gameplay has some of the best gamplay mechanics of the next generation. That's as far as it gets though. This game can be, well... Very unpolished. There are many glitches I've encountered like the targeting system in the game definitely needs improvement, and the free running can be uncontrollable. The story is great (I enjoy a good conspiracy) but the storytelling is god awful. Characters (especially the protagonist) can be extremely boring and 'cookie cutter' of other character archetypes. Which is why I could hardly get into the story. Graphics are lackluster at best. But, I really enjoyed this game. I had lots of fun just running around the open world. It's great fun. So if you're into extreme mayhem, you'll love this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for Prototype
Fun then Done
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
demondayssean
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game was fun and I bought it to play with friends. It is a decent game with cool powers so if you wan't to play the story or terrorize helpless people, it is your choice. . . It is fun to mow the sidewalks of people. After you play it a few times you might (Like Me) give up on it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Prototype
Spider-Man
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/11
TranceFreak
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game, plays almost exactly like any spider-man game. The only differences are you play as Alex Mercer and not Peter Parker (Spider-Man), and you can't swing from webs in this game. The story-line is such a cliche, Alex wakes up in a morgue after some loon causes a virus outbreak and is out for vengeance to find out who made him a "Walker", well sort of a Walker, most Walkers couldn't do anything but eat random things and run around like senor citizens in an old folk home. The main reason I think this game isn't as good as it could be is because it's a huge sandbox. It really would have been better in a more linear approach like Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands or God of War 1,2 or even 3. I really wouldn't recommend this game unless you actually liked the Spider-Man games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Prototype
[Prototype] ...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/11
h007
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't have words to describe this game, is very funny, very interesting, the incredible powers of Alex Mercer ....is really amazing!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>