GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Prototype

You are the PROTOTYPE, Alex Mercer, hiding in human form. You step out onto the streets of New York with no memory, but limitless power. As a terrifying viral epidemic sweeps across Manhattan, top-secret Black Watch Special Forces move in, transforming it into a war zone. Delve into the mysteries of your origin, the true nature of your power and your part in a conspiracy 40 years in the making.
Average Customer Rating:
8.6
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (295 reviews)
10 stars
84
9 stars
51
8 stars
27
7 stars
6
6 stars
10
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
168 out of 19586%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Prototype
Review 1 for Prototype
Love this game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/14
Callofbattle78
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is super awesome because u get tons of power and disguise Alex mercer and there's parkour in the game!:)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Prototype
Great Overall but pretty short
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/13
EtherDK
Location: Dayton
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's a great game the first time around. It's also a massive stress reliever just splattering hundreds upon thousands of people. But after that appeal wears off (AT least for me) It got dull fast. A great buy because it's only 15 bucks but I wouldn't go out of my way for it. It's game play is pretty Unique. For once you are in essence the bad guy because you just don't care. And you are more or less a God.A Unique game but it's not as great as it should be
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 3 for Prototype
beast
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/13
swaggers
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its good but once you beat it gets boring but dont buy prototype 2 they get no new powers but the game is ok
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Prototype
Awesomeness at it's finest!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/13
GamerX87
Location: Arkansas
I kept skipping over this game. Just sounded & looked like another B rated game. But finally, I gave it a shot & I'M HOOKED & A HUGE FAN!
The story is kinda boring & confusing at times, but the gameplay is what makes this game. Sweet powers/mutations. The more you play, the more you will fall in love with the story & Alex (main character). It's compared to Infamous, they are somewhat alike, but a lot different. I've played Infamous & Prototype, I sold Infamous & still own this game, if that says anything. But you must play Prototype 2 it's way better then this original. Highly recommended for anyone wanting to play, a total awesome game franchise.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Prototype
Over Powering!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/13
goblin100
Location: Billerica,MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great -if you like blood and gore everywhere. This game is for the stealth, for the loud bangers, and for the hardcore full-gamers. [Prototype] starts you off in New York plaza, where you are seeing mayhem and destruction. One thing I absolutely cannot resist in this and the second [Prototype] is that you are SO OVERPOWERED! Once you have the armor and arm knife ability, you are in some forms, unstoppable. Within the first week of having this, I had already completed the campaign on Hard. After you complete it once, you can complete it again, except on Insane difficulty. This game will bring you hours of fun, whether you are rampaging the scenes in New York, or using stealth around the area getting into military bases. No matter what kind of gamer you are, you will enjoy this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Prototype
a very sharp game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/13
deamon0821
Location: virginia beach, va
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I would buy this if I was you its like infamous but its a lot cooler you change in to people and your arms can turn in to very sharp swords you can even drive tanks! sky dive SO GET THIS GAME NOW!:).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for Prototype
let's kill some zombies
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/12
Aiddyman105
Location: New Orleans, La.
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I love this game because you kill people and you can get in disguises and you can do missions i'm on level 5 but i'm gonna make them eat my dust.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Prototype
I absorbed an enemy in a gory gut fest, WOW
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/12
AwesomeShadowNinja123
Location: West Covina, California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome, disgusting and complicated, I like it. Let me just go through this game in a kind of quick review that explains the ups and downs of this video game. First off, the storyline is okay, used before, by still entertaining. Here's basically how it goes: you have been turned into a super-powered mutant-like enemy who continues to search for the cause of your transformation. It has something to do with a company called BLACKWATCH which is trying to catch and or kill you. At the same time a zombie invasion is rising past control, and you have to utilize your power to make your way past the zombies, fight for your life, and figure out who to exact revenge on. Figure out the rest on your own. On to the graphics, which are not exactly fantastic, but okay considering this has been out for a few years. The voice acting is average, not on cue, a little delayed but not horrible. The sound quality itself is good, along with the music score. The songs get you in the mood for cracking skulls. The gameplay is also good. Free-roaming, parkour and running up buildings is not only easy but fun. With one button you can run at a super fast speed, running over cars and pushing people out of the way, and one more button will send you scaling up a building. AWESOMENESS! Pulling off combos is made just as easy. It's a simple two button button-mashing style with one also letting you CONSUME people and get their memory and health!!! You can also take their appearance after! You can also use guns and other weapons if taken from enemies. Plus, you can buy power-ups to your speed, strength and get additional button codes for great devices that can let you glide and more! Even more AWESOME you can transform into an ultimate weapon turning your hands into huge hammers, swords, and knives for special attacks!!! For getting around, you have a map in the menu, and markers for challenges, and free-roaming is fun enough. One downside is their is no huge variation in enemies. You see the same zombies over and over again, as well as the same military enemies. Also, even though your said you have limitless powers, you just don't seem to have as much power as you're said to have. You're just strong and fast, and your transformation powers only come once in a lifetime! Fighting helicopters is practically impossible if you're not fighting from a building. Free-roaming as I've said is fun, but not fulfilling. Places mostly look the same, and the only activity you can do other than fight enemies is collect blue orbs that give you extra experience. It's also fun to pick things up, throw them against structures to damage them, and disrupt traffic putting everyone into mass hysteria. If you look closely, you will also see people getting run over as they run into the street. The lasting appeal is okay, you have the orbs, the enemies, and a story that will keep you captivated. It's also quite challenging, and sometimes frustrating. This games is fun, but nothing new. I think anyone who want's a fun experience wrecking a city while eliminating zombies, tanks and helicopters should get this game. Overall, good game, could use work or expansions to get you to play longer. My verdict, 9, because it's just plain fun. PEACE OUT GAMERS!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Prey 2
 
 
 
Rainbow Six: Patriots
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Prototype
Different
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
Bunniesareawesome
Location: Malibu, CA
This game is free roam/story. You can just go around killing people for fun and run for the cops.. but that's not what normal people do lol. You are a person who has been tampered with to get abilities to transform, and as you go through the game you can upgrade or get new abilities. While the abilities are awesome and the game is fun, the story leaves you a little hanging. It's definitely fun destroying the city and all, but that's basically all your doing.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Prototype
nice free roam
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/12
tjones
Location: Baker,LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
good that we have another free roam game b/c I can beat it and still play!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Prototype
Chaos, destruction, mayhem, SUPER!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/12
Coolyo
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game, so many different weapons you can choose, you can go into other people, and it is bloody! A great game to get, did I also mention the plot is different, in a good way.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Prototype
THIS IS INSANE BEAST GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/12
MJGSTFG372528
Location: VIRGINIA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I LOVE THIS GAME SO VERY MUCH ITS THE BEST GAME EVER I THINK ITS REALLY FUN AND ADDICTING I LOVE THE FREEROAMING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Prototype
fun and good stress relief
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/12
epicgamer813
Location: new york ny
This game is perfect for: party gamers
prototype is great to play when u want to relax after a game of mw3 or blops and mw2 also when u play this game its fun to just play around and goofoff and doing this ur almost garenteed to get a few achievments
 
My Product Recommendations
 
The Call of Duty: MW3 Ear Force Bravo
8.4 out of 10(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Prototype
A Unexpected Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/12
ChadilacAttack
Location: Broomfield, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My brother had told me that his friend had got the game and that he enjoyed it more then he thought he would, He also said I should try it out as well. So eventhough I do like action games I wasnt sure if this type of theme game would be fun. Nevertheless, I decided to try it out off of the recommendation of my brother and see how it was. Well shockingly to my surprised I enjoyed myself so much more then I expected. To start the graphics are great. The city landscape and the overall layout of the game is a good way to keep it interesting. The opportunity to switch weapons that are made from your own arms is cleaver. You can upgrade them threwout the game which helps make the roaming around the town interesting.The bad guys in the game are neat and definitly keep you on your toes. The diferent type of mini objective are cool and some even are fun to do again and again after you beat them. The sound is good and playabiltiy is something that cane keep most player interesed for hour and days on end. Prototype should hopefully be a good prequel game for the next version released.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Prototype
Superman 64 + Spiderman = Prototype
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/12
Malevolent
Location: Grand Bay, AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game starts off looking pretty. The monsters are great, powers are interesting, and an amnesia plot cliche I am willing to overlook. But the game takes a turn for the worse when I encounter the first minigame of going through rings, checkpoints or whatever. Then a time trial minigame. And even more minigames. There are far more minigames in this game than an actual main plot. And when you finally enter a vehicle, feels like a sandbox. On top of all that, they couldn't even make cgi cutscenes when he uncovers memories, they go through his mind like a flip book of real photos, of real people, and real locations. That struck me as lazy. So, if you enjoy a game with more minigames than Crash Bandicoot, this is the one for you, as for me, I'd prefer finding a real game instead of some Prototype of one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Prototype
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/12
mercer123
Location: Georgia,GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is the best game ever if you want something better the 2nd one you want but if you do not have that kind of money get this bloodiest and goriest game you can not turn off blood or gore.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Prototype
awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/12
TheTinyPlayer
Location: Laredo, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved this game cause of how the environment works with the charters, and i also loved it cause they made it like spider-man but its a total different way and i also like the power Alex Mercer has i love more the body shield.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Prototype
Great for relieving stress!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/12
TheseusOfAthens
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I hadn't heard of this game before I started watching my brother play back in mid 2010. Just seeing it played I was a little skeptical but when I actually sat down and immersed myself I was instantly hooked! I played it for hours and hours a week and though my love for it eventually faded, it's one of the best games I've ever played. On the surface, the story is confusing and uninteresting, but when i dug down a little deeper it actually became interesting and complex. The story doesn't make the game though, the gameplay holds its own against even the best spiderman game. Mercer is fast and agile and all around nice to look at. A perfect combination of Spiderman, Wolverine, and the Hulk. When I'd come home from a long day at school, it was nice to smash my enemies into little pieces even though gameplay was repetitive. I have a PS3 and own inFAMOUS and while both are good games they are also too different to compare. Overall a great buy and replay value is very high!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Prototype
A Pretty Epic Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/11
DeViLzReDNiNjA
Location: Lake Charles, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first played this game I got really addicted to it. It's crazy when you have that feeling just to kill everything in your sight. The gameplay's ok BUT I wish there were more different side missions. Storyline's pretty awesome, plus I love all the moves you get to try out!
9/10 For Me
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
darkman25433
Nowhere, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about darkman25433 is loaded.
Additional information about darkman25433 could not be loaded.
If you wanted more side missions....
Posted 5/4/12
Play [PROTOTYPE2]. It's got tons of side missions, and is all around better than the first one.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Prototype
Excellent feeling of power
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/11
LeonHk
Location: LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Really liked this game. The world feels alive and you feel awesomely powerful. The game mechanics are good and responsive.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>