GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Prototype

You are the PROTOTYPE, Alex Mercer, hiding in human form. You step out onto the streets of New York with no memory, but limitless power. As a terrifying viral epidemic sweeps across Manhattan, top-secret Black Watch Special Forces move in, transforming it into a war zone. Delve into the mysteries of your origin, the true nature of your power and your part in a conspiracy 40 years in the making.
Average Customer Rating:
6.143
6.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Prototype
Review 1 for Prototype
This Game is a must grab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/09
KooKooKaChew
Ok so you start off with the best opening sequences. You have three powers your in day 18 of an infection. So this basically gives ya the lowdown on the controls. So after the title goes by the story begins. The main story starts with you knowing everything but you as the player do not. then you go back to before the outbreak and after a few missions you get to another cut scene where your back at 18 days after the infection and continues like that till the last two missions where everything is revealed and OMG it is such a twist. But you have to upgrade your powers and it is worth it. This game is so intriguing you just wanna play it till you completed the game. With 31 missions to complete, 50 hints/tips to find, 200 landmarks to locate, and with 100+ memories to find, and with 50+ submissions this game will not disappoint fans at all. The length is great not your typical "oh I can complete this in 4 hours" kinda game. This is if not a title for Game of The Year
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Prototype
Insanely fun and addicting
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/09
TheAntiYou
The range of weapons/moves/abilities are still keeping me occupied after 2 days straight. Consuming pedestrians and using their identity as a cover. The different ways of consuming others is simply brutal. High-jacking helicopters in flight. Crushing tanks with your bear hands. Leaping over buildings at high speed. The story is deep enough to keep you playing even after you've played through the main plot. Hunting down others to discover hints about Alex and the virus. The only real problem is the graphics. They're quite terrible for a next-gen game, and seeing how long we've been waiting for this title, some would expect them to be better (especially on the PC release). Graphics are meant to draw people into the game. Better lighting can set the mood of the game. Higher texture resolutions just ad more depth/realism. And shaders/materials help differ. a metal surface from a leather surface. There are a few bugs on the PC version. Screen resolution problems, random locking up (and im running this on a powerhouse PC). Hopefully a patch with address these problems. Overall... get it! You won't regret it. Even if you're not into action/free-roam games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Prototype
Fun.. But can get boring.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/09
Xauth
After playing the game all the way through, and then playing again with all powers, and then just running around the city and getting all the challenges, upgrades, landmarks, etc. The game will then get boring. Even though Prototype might not be one of those games that will keep you playing for months, its still one of those fun rides. The graphics were decent in my opinion (As a PC gamer I've seen far worse.), Storyline wasn't what I had expected, and the voices were just terrible in my opinion. What really matters in this game is the gameplay of it though. Having all of New York city to destroy is just.. fun. Not to mention missions can become pretty hard and difficult (depending on what difficulty your playing on.) Overall, this is worth buying, just be warned that it will get old after beating it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Prototype
Prototype is a game of the year title!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/09
Dark Insomniac
The story of Alex Mercer codename Zues is amazing in itself. You beging in the game with one of the best openings. You have three powers and get the hang of the basic controls. The story keeps going from 18 days after the infection has occured and you know who did whatever to you. Then it travels back as Alex tells of how it came to be. This game has unbelieble graphics and story. The real time changes are the best part in it. With the searching of the memory of individuals to the looking for hints/tips/landmarks to doing side missions so you can gain more EP, this game so far this year is the game to beat. Oh and when distruction happens its there in the game for the long haul. Oh and when ya pre-order the game the map and figure are amazing, even though the map only shows half of your hints and none of your landmarks.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Prototype
So many bugs and no fixes in sight
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/09
Sang
If you own a PC and have bought this game "cross your fingers". the first time you play it because you may be a victim of one of the game numerous bugs and there are no fixes for the PC version and no news of one either, i bought this game when it first came out and i still cant play it. i say there are better games out with companies that will support there games. don't believe me? look at there tech forms and look at views and posts. and still not patches except the forum manager who constantly apologies for the company turning its back to its customers. this game should have never been released, i will never buy a game from Activision again this was a huge let down and a loss of money and time,. i would not buy this game until there is a official patch out.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Prototype
Good game
Posted on:8/16/07
A Customer
From what ive read, This goom seems really good. I mean what ever you kill you can use to you advantage. kill a mutant with giant claws, gain giant claws. I also read that the game is really interactive, that you can just sit back and watch the army and the mutant fight to the death or join on in and change the outcome. Its you, the Military, and some Mutants, all against eachother. I personaly cant wait for this game to hit the shelves.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alex1Mercer
Fresno
 
Please wait while more information about Alex1Mercer is loaded.
Additional information about Alex1Mercer could not be loaded.
THE BEST GAME OF ALL THE TIME
Posted 3/19/11
Guys I honestly tried thousand of games that where made lately and none stands even on a close distance with Prototype.I never expirience so much fun while plaining before.It's so awesome when you finish all the missions or story line in this game and get full upgrades on everything you can just have fun going aroubd the city and killing everything on your way. This game is pretty easy because it is very hard to die there, therofore it is cool. Highly recomend this game!!!! And can wait 3/31/2012 when the Prototype 2 will come out...it will be Massive!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Prototype
Cant Wait
Posted on:3/27/08
Pwnanator
Im expecting this to be one of the best games of 2008 (Single player wise at least). The features in the game look pretty amazing, and the graphics are gorgeous. I read its open world and the plot is completely non-linear. If this game is bad, i will be very surprised.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Prototype
dont buy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/11
SupSupBoy
Location: North Carolina, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I saw all the previews and videos about this I thought it was the best game in the world so when i bought it i downloaded it which took a day then there is this stupid lil thing asking for a serial code but when you FINALLY figure it out you go on the game and then you start lagging and the controls dont work but im not saying its a bad game but there is a better chance youll have more fun on xbox or ps3
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Prototype
Sandbox!!!!
Posted on:1/12/09
R35ftw
Super human powers in a clone of NY with adaptive AI that changes to give new diverse battles! Steal the identity of others and go undercover to find out the subplot to the madness happening around you. Jump off tall buildings, take over tanks, destroy everything and after you think there is nothing that can stop you... the blackwatch throws a new toy into the playground. Sierra has been gone too long! Welcome back and what a great game to do it with. This will put all other sandbox games to shame!
Review 10 for Prototype
SUCKED HARDCORE but good-ish story but also short
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/12
DShy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
hate the movement in the game didnt always go the right direction and just having 2 different parties made it hard to get wanted when needed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 11 for Prototype
WOW
Posted on:12/3/08
Deafening Silence
Woah this game looks really good.I read it in the gamepro magazine and was amazed about the graphics and storyline.Woah i can't wait for it to come out!
Review 12 for Prototype
can't wait
Posted on:8/3/08
Anonymous
This looks like the game of the century, but I could be wrong. The graphics are stunning, and the storyline seems almost flawless.