GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Sims 2: Castaway

Help your Sims build a life from scratch after washing ashore on a deserted tropical island.Overcome the forces of nature to help them become the ultimate survivors and thrive in thisundiscovered paradise while unearthing clues that will lead them back to civilization. Build shelters,craft unique items, and discover many useful treasures and ancient mysteries hidden deep within adiverse jungle environment filled with plants, fruits, and even wildlife. Your Sims change as theytake on the challenges of island life and learn to survive in style. Create a new life for your Sims onan uncharted island in The Sims 2 Castaway.
Average Customer Rating:
6.4
6.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
11 out of 2055%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sims 2: Castaway
Review 1 for The Sims 2: Castaway
I really didnt care for this game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/11
MegTheEwok12
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I though it was going to be a better game than it was. It wasnt too bad in the beginning, then it just go boring.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Not worth it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/11
silentevil
Location: Phoenix
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is alright at first, but it looses its appeal very quickly! The graphics are horrible and it doesnt really have those same elements like a sims game normally has. If your looking for a game thats the same type of game as castaway, get Lost in blue2. Better graphics, better gameplay and everything. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Loved it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/11
Janell
Location: Vancouver, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was going to be stuck on a plane for 12 hours and I bought this game to take up my time. I loved it. I'm still playing it, and so is my husband. Now I'm trying without luck to find a game that I like as much since I'm going to take another long flight and am afraid I'm going to get to the end of this game before my departure.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Sims 2: Castaway
It's not great, not exactly good, but okay.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/11
TheRawringTiger
Location: Tampa, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It wasn't that good. You can't put it own after you buy it, but afterwards it's likely to sit in a drawer for the rest of forever. It's just gonna rot in a landfill after you play it once, so DON'T GET IT.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Sims 2: Castaway
I Like Kid Games
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/11
saphire
Location: Bowling Green, KY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
My niece got this game for Christmas in 2009. I was hooked. It caused me to got out and buy other Sims games. I have the stand alone Sims Life Stories for PC and the Sims 2 Castaway for PS2. My daughter bought me The Sims 2 and and expansion pack for the next Christmas but it was stolen from my home and I never got to play it. I would recommend this game as a great one. It kept me busy and I didn't even mind starting over every time my profile got accidentally erased. Okay, I did mind the first time. But you learn something different every time and that helps to make your next game better. I loved it and the kids love it too.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Sims 2: Castaway
this is so bad and boring. Do not buy it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/10
peppy456
Location: charlotte,nc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i was so over joyed when i got this game. a week later i got so board with it i had to trade it in for a new game. the character is so slow. its all quiet. plus there is barley any supplies. so dont get this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
shaQue
 
Please wait while more information about shaQue is loaded.
Additional information about shaQue could not be loaded.
Posted 3/18/11
this game is awesome its probably just your ds or dsi.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for The Sims 2: Castaway
OH MY GOSH, I LOVE THIS GAME!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/10
Nattypattyx3
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is AWESOME. you are basically on an island, and you are trying to collect stuff to get off the island, or make your stay, you know, more pleasurable. sometimes there is a box washed up on shore, and you can open it to see what's inside. under the big rocks, there are bugs. you touch them to squash them. make sure you keep an eye on your sims needs, because when they get too tired, they pass out and an EVIL MONKEY takes some of your inventory. -__- this game is super SUPER FUN! i love it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I HAD THIS GAME
Posted 1/1/11
I beat this game like 2 or 3 days or something and it was weird and boring to me.......first you were on an island,then you build shelter and stuff..........at the last part you get to go home then you've already beat the game and thats it.....and you get to see people there that needs stuff and you have to give it to them...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for The Sims 2: Castaway
:D
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/10
Manda
Location: FL :P
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This was a pretty fun game, I mean yeah...It wasen't worthy of being the GREATEST. But this game is only $9.99 and if I say so it was worth it. The storyline was fun, but the only negetive comment I have is how fast you get hungry, dirty, or sleep-deprived. D:
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Sims 2: Castaway
A Disappointment
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
pearpearthe14th
Trying to survive on a deserted tropical island... Sounds cool, right? Yeah. That's what I thought, too. But it turns out it's not cool at all. Far from cool. The Sims 2: Castaway was pretty fun at first. (Though I've found that ALL video games are fun the first time you play them.) I played the game for a couple of days and had at least a little bit of fun with it. But soon, as I progressed in the game, it became too hard for me. Ridiculously hard, in fact. I'm not sure how anyone could possibly win it. I was so frustrated. In all, it's really a pretty junky game. The junkiest thing about it is the boredom it provides everytime you pick it up. Literally all you can do in the game is walk around and help your sim eat, bath, sleep, you know, the necessities. That's all. Oh yeah and you can talk to a few other sims and help them. But seriously, what's the point? I own a lot--and I mean a lot--of video games, and this is one of my least favorites. If I sit down and think, "What are some of my worst video games?" this one immediately comes to mind. So take my advice: don't buy this game. Buy one of the other Sims games; like maybe the Sims 3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Hmm.. Wasn't worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/10
LossOfLife1
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I bought it, I looked at it thinking "This seems fun!". It wasn't as great as I thought. There isn't much to do, it's a pain to keep your sim happy, and just overall gameplay sucks. Not a very good storyline, and I wasted about 4-6 hours of my life on it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Ridiculously Addicting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/10
Anonymous
Location: Los Angeles,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yeah, the graphics aren't that great, and your sim tires out super quick, but who cares, you are tryin to survive on a freakin' island. Everything about it is addictive, where you are gonna get your next meal, how much time you have left to travel before you need energy, It's an insance game, I loved it on the Wii, I love it on my DSiXL!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Sims 2: Castaway
The sims castaway DS is one of my favorites
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/10
Geena Gaparelli
The sims castaway DS may not be one of the best when it comes to the visual detail. almost all the rest of it is amazing. at the start your 'sim' fell into a crate and went through a series of being famished to being parched. after a terrible storm your sims crate falles into the ocean, your sim breakes free and swims ashore. after awaking on shore the tutorial explains the basic controlls. such as walking, eating and how to move to the next area. your sim then must collect items to build a shelter and fire. after resting its time to explore the island. after exploring the island a bit you will meet miss weeder, she has extensive harvesting and planting knolege. later you will also meet : someone who has skills in cooking, also someone with knolege in medical and sewing. they never leave there home so you must go through a series of tasks to prosper in the game. there are a few things i must explain to you. you will nedd to know how to spear fish, catch bugs. spear fishing is quite easy but you must deveope stratagys to catch them. bug catching is pretty easy to, all you must do is tap all the bugs quicly before the crawl out of frame. there are also upgrades to your shelter, fire, and tools. i find the game fun and addicting the most charming part about them is there accsent or the strange language they speak simulainion (sim-u-lain-i-on) but over all it is a good game and i would only recommend it to people who are able to master the other sims games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Sims 2: Castaway
BAD!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/10
Emmars
I got this game as a gift, I started to play it..... and it was fun at first then I just hated it! It's really bad. I thought oh Sims is good it should be good. I thought wrong. It's bad, I couldn't get it and It's really hard. After a while I just got bored. And I wouldn't recomend this game to anyone!!!!!!!!!!! It's BAD:( It get's really hard after you get passed the chef, and you have to go get things for him and I didn't know where anything was! And the people are really ugly in the game and I had to kill a parrot for the stupid chef! This is a stupid game and you should never ever buy it. ANYWHERE! It's really dumb, and I hated it. Total waste of money. :( It made my mom cry cause she was the one to buy it! The sound was so bad when I had to kill the bird it made me cry! DO NOT BUY IT!!!:(
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Sims 2: Castaway
SO DULL!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/09
RuneBladeWielder
I started playing and got bored on the very first day and that's saying something! I can normally show real interest in a game for at least a day but this got old immediately and I seriously almost fell asleep playing! The days are repetetive and you can never do anything within a real amount of time. Besides that, there are next to no options! You get food. You eat. You walk around. You go to bed. I know that it's all well and good for a real life situation, but for a game, it's downright dull. If you see this game on the shelves, don't bother. The only thing that it has been good for as of yet was the fact that it lowered the price of my Pokemon Mystery Dungeon game when I traded it in. It barely got any use at all... Overall, a major waste of time and money.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Great at first, but gets very boring
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/09
teedude94
This game is a great load of fun once you first start playing, but after a while it gets very repetitive. The days aren't long enough to even do anything. This game is a let down compared to the Wii version. But it does supply some enjoyment. I will pick it up and play every once in a while but not often. You start out by making your sim. You have virtually no clothing choices but that doesn't matter once they are all tattered from the wear and tear of the island. You can explore but you'll finish finding all locations very quickly. There are only three other people on the island. They are all fairly close to each other. Two of them are girls and one is a boy. There are three islands to explore but one of them only has four sites to visit. The main island has about twenty sites. I haven't found any way possible to the third island yet. This game isn't horrible, it's just repetitive.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
completlyletdown
 
Please wait while more information about completlyletdown is loaded.
Additional information about completlyletdown could not be loaded.
Posted 1/15/11
This game was to easy.I finished it in 6 and a half hours.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Great sim game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/09
Jlynne26
At first I was hesitant on buying this game because of the other sim game I played, I don't exactly remember the name of it but it was placed in a hotel in the desert which it got really old fighting the aliens and dressing up as the rat girl and defeating the robots and big thugs. So we'll I took a chance and glad I did! This game is very easy to learn and not hard to figure out. Story line is good and graphics are pretty good for a ds game. I am still playing it so it's not a quicker like others. its really neat how you catch the fish and hunt for bugs, build your own tools and house. Learning how to make your own clothes and trade with the other people on the island is cool as well. All over this game is awesome! One of the best sim game I think.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/08
Simsrock!
I really enjoyed this game. I have a DS and there is only so much you can do....i like the psp better but i like the touch screen so i have both! well anyway, I think that there should be more styles and varieties in the clothes you wear and it would be even cooler if their conversations where a little deeper.But the game is great, I enjoyed fishing and all that great stuff. One thing I didnt like was watering the plants constantly, or how I would press "chop down" instead of "forage"but it truly lets you imagine what it would be like to be stranded and having to live on their own in a strange place. Give it a chance and I would recomend it It is addicting!!!! so be prepared to get your eyes glued to the screen have fun and please keep an open mind
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for The Sims 2: Castaway
great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/08
Itz_All_Simz
I am a huge sims fan. This is a great addition to the sims world. The story line is okay and the animation isn't the best but is the DS. What do u expect? I made a character and had a pretty hard time doing some stuff but you don't want to put it down. It's like a drug; addicting. I now want to get more "The Sims" games for DS. Of course this is my opinion. The whole touch screen thing helps a lot. And it's so much fun when you make a fire, you rub the stick with your stylus. And when you get to the right point you have to blow into your microphone and then you have a fire. The mini games in this are fun too. There's pole and spear fishing, bug smashing, and all the quests given to you by the other castaways. Hope you enjoy this game like I did.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 19 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Classic Sims Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/08
Peenk
I love the Sims franchise! This is a great game. The constant balance between your Sim's needs and your environment is your motivation. And as with other Sims games you need "the others" to survive. I love that you can craft things and decorate your surroundings. You can even hurl insults at a pirate's skeleton. If only you could steal his bird. Well maybe you can. I enjoy how you have to inspect your surroundings and figure out the puzzles to get to the next areas. If only i could figure out how to catch a pufferfish *sigh*. Long story short (too late) If you are a Sims fan, or even if you aren't,you will enjoy this game. It is challenging but not too difficult, silly but not overly so. It's a well balanced game that will keep you occupied.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Sims 2: Castaway
sims 2 castaway ds:major rip off!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/08
jamie leigh
as i said in my head line the game: sims 2 the castaway is a major rip offf!!!!wen i saw the commertal for this game i thought... wow this game look like it will be soooo much fun but so i got it for chistmas with the money i got. wen i first started playing it it was kind of hard to understand how to move because they didnt tell you how to move very well . the next thing i noticed was you had to go to sleep just to save the game. it also was hard to keep your sims needs up because you couldnt get enough energy. the nights and days were very short so you couldnt do much for the people. a nother thing i noticed was that there were only four people you could meet. i think that the game was way to short it only took me two days to complete the game and to relize that the game was a totle rip off so i hope you aggriie with my review (its my first!) i hope the sims compony wont have any more "rip off' " games like sims 2 the castaway for the ds (and iff you ask me i would recomend either sims 2 or my sims)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>