GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thrillville: Off the Rails

Build, create, and experience everything involved with the theme park of your dreams in Thrillville: Off the Rails!
Average Customer Rating:
7.591
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
4
8 stars
6
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 2268%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thrillville: Off the Rails
Review 1 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
here we go now of the rails!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/13
strayrogue
Location: Harrington Park, New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i have had this game since 2007 an this game has been my favorite ever since. this game is so awesome with constructing new WHOA coasters and this time you dont even have to complete them. the new parks are breathtaking and the new games are really fun. this game deserves a gold medal for best game of 2007 even though its 2013.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
A fun ride for anyone =)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/11
JFresh1977
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Thrilleville: Off the Rails is a kids game where you more or less design an amusement park and compete against the evil globo-joy corporation who is trying to foil your plans.
This game is not a serious roller-coaster design game. It is a kids game first and foremost that takes the thrilling idea of the fun of owning your own themepark and running away with it. Taken from this perspective I've found it to be a lot of fun (I'm also a hardcore gamer who's beaten hundreds of games and have been playing since the Atari 2600).
What this game really comes down to is its story and the min-games.
First the story:
You and the professor/inventor (obviously inspired by Doc from Back to the Future) team up and at first are given control of one (of 5 total) different parks. Each park has some problem where Globo-Joy has worked to sabotage you in some way or another and it's up to you to stop them. In each park you can do many things from playing many different types of minigames (many of which are inspired from classic arcade games such as R-Type, 1942 and Bust A Move). To hiring maintenance staff, doing research on new rides and advertising for your park. Of course, you can also build roller-coasters too :P. What this game does have over RCT is that it gets you into the role on a personal level. In RCT you're kind of the God on high crafting the absolute perfect park. You're given the data of how people feel but you can't interact with them on a personal one-on-one level. In this game you can. You can talk to everyone in the game. You can learn about their likes, dislikes, and challenge them to games. Build this up enough (by learning about what they like and answering appropriately) and you can become sweethearts. As well, with each park comes a laundry list of things to do. Perform these tasks and how well you do is measured by giving you a bronze, silver or gold trophy. Earning bronze in each one is pretty easy but getting the gold can be quite a challenge. Tasks include finding X number of this item, get a score of XXXXXX in this game etc.
Everything from riding a ride to picking up trash is done with a mini-game. I personally did not have much trouble with the controls at all and the games were overall quite enjoyable. Of note each game isn't just a mini-game. If you go to the game's party mode you'll find that they are actually full, multi-level games in and of themselves and it is here that the hardcore gamer will find their challenge. What's more the majority of these games are also playable online. Some games such as the Bust A Move clone are pretty mediocre but others such as Event Horizon stand up pretty well to its inspired counterpart (in this case R-Type).
I had no problems with the sounds and the music was pretty good top-40ish more or less music. That said they are all real songs one of which is Natasha Beddingfield's Unwritten.
So what we have here is a kid's game with a lot of content, surprisingly deep gameplay, a bunch of multi-player games (some with up to 4 players) that can also be played online, a cute story, and a game that really doesn't contain anything offensive regardless of age. I've own this title for a while and I've really enjoyed playing through it =). Highly recommended for all.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
STAY AWAY!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/10
Entoria
My brother bought this game and we were both expecting it to be awesome. We play it and it sucks. The Graphics are bad and cartoon like. You can only build 3 Roller coasters in a theme area and water slides count. You get a certain area to but rides and food areas and bathrooms. Its unrealistic how they make you build roller coasters is fake and could never happen. You can ride the rides but its very stupid and gives you a bad angle. The sound is the same thing on the Rides. Same scream or same cheer. Also to clean up your park you have to play mini games and it is awful. The Controls are bad and it will annoy you. The game gets old really fast all you do is make a roller coaster with limited options and finishing the coaster is bad. Most of the time you have to delete half of your coaster to get it to fit. Overall it gets a 3 for its bad graphics, lousy controls, and stupid gameplay
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
AWESOME!!
Posted on:10/8/07
a customer
This game is going to be great! The first Thrillville was fun and this one will be even better. Its cool how you can make the guests go flying off track, but instead of lying face down on the ground they safely float down in parachutes. Can't wait until it comes out!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
Its a great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/11
SimonSays
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The first Thrillville was terrific, so I figured this one would be at least just as great. I got it for Christmas and played it that afternoon. I loved it! Its very fun to put different rides, stalls, and games and watch your empire start to form. You unlock other parks and you can do everything like your going to an actual theme park. I would recommend this to everyone that loves to have fun, and it won't disappoint.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
This Game Is Am-Azing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/11
GummyBearLoverxo
Location: Fall River, Ma
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is just awesome cuz if you love theme parks yuh can make your own and ride the rides you make
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
I loved this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/12
katie3gAMER
Location: San Deigo,CA
this game is the best!!! its soo funn u get to MAKE AND BUILD ROLLER COASTERS AND play games AND Talk to "people"not like real people but u can i totLLY RECOMMEND IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/11
GothicRomance6
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i think this is a good game as i use to love the Sims Roller Coaster
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
Great for kids, Fun for teens!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
JoLilly
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I played the wii version as a 9-10 year old, and it was a lot of fun! On the XBOX version, it is pretty similar... In the beginning, getting a roller coaster to look the way you want can be really frustrating! It often gets messed up, but after you finish, you get a neat-o sense of accomplishment! The music isn't really popular, and after you are about 14 you wouldn't listen to it on your own, but it's exactly what I would expect from a total kid friendly amusement park game! (Lots of cheesy banjo playing) But my favorite two parts are the mini games and the interactions. Even cleaning trash is a mini-game! Also you get to interact with any visitor you choose, it makes it really personalized!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
its ok
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/11
ikilledkenny234567
Location: laguna niguel, ca
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this is a good game for younger children who are interested in creating and owning their own amusement park. while the game is some what disappointing because there are a lot of stupid nonsense track designs but some times makes the game fun. the controls for building the coasters are hard to get used to at first and you will find yourself probably just buying a pre-built coaster rather then trying to build your own. but if you are a younger gamer who is just looking for fun and likes to engineer and find out how things work then this a good game for you. but if you are looking for a better style rollercoster type building game this is not for the game you want is rollercoster tycoon.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum
9.6 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
Somehow, this game is kind of fun
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/11
doratheexplorer
Location: Superior, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When it comes to building coasters that crash, or using track assist to help you finish your coaster, or even torturing your guest by not building enough restrooms, this game is very fun. Coaster building is very fun, but this game is awful when it comes to certain objectives and ALL arcade games. [shiver] It was bad. Buy it for coaster building mode, not for the arcade games. Oh, and this game has some of the worst music I have ever heard, from Miley Cyrus to some idiot on the banjo, I was speech less. Other than that, this is a fun game. Although, I do question why this is $14 while BioShock is $9. Just saying.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
omg
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/11
DaPrincess
Location: Fuquay Verina
This game is perfect for: party gamers
wow.......all i can say is wow this game is so amazin i have it on demo on mi x-box 360 its amazin sooooo freakin amazin wow
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
Bored out of my mind ville.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/10
MoHfan48
Location: Chicago
I never expected this game to be good. I was right. The graphics are bad. Everything is limited. Heck you have to delete half of your coaster to get it to finish. The storyline is quite stupid. If want a Roller coaster game get Roller Coaster Tycoon 3. Dont even rent this game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
4 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
Awsome
Posted on:8/5/07
a customer
This game awsome when i played for the xbox with how you could be the janitor or the entertainer but now that they are coming out with thrillville 2 on the xbox 360 i bet the grafics are going to be great and that you will be able to do a lot of more things on the game. I can't till this game comes out on the 360!!!!!!!!!
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
Best roller coaster game ever.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/12
jdmax121reviews
In my oppinion i liked thrillville better than rollercoaster tycoon 3. Mainly becuase the control's are horrible in roller coaster tycoon 3. In thrillville you can mostley do whatever you want including: Building roller coasters, free roaming exc. Thrillville had some issues. The mini game's were boring and laggy, The graphics were just plain messed up and the missions are very easy. Although i love this game and i think its so much fun, it still could have been better.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
Pretty Nice
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/13
videogameplayer11
Location: Unknown
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first got this game, nobody could keep me away from it. But, when you get through all of the ranks and complete almost every mission, it tends to kind of boring. Even though I am saying this, it takes a pretty long amount of time to do everything. All in all, this game is good, but somewhat loses it's appeal after completion.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
Not Enough Options, Average Game
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/10
CAFFEINEISMANSBESTFRIEND
What were Atari and Frontier thinking Even though the atari community was raving about this game before it came out, it turned out to be less than average. The game is fun for some amount of hours, then you might wish you hadn't bought it. In this game, you don't get to decide where the coasters or scenery go. You'd be better off getting the older games by atari such as rollercoaster tycoon 1, 2, or 3, where you get to place everything where you want. You have to build the coasters around the scenery, which can be a serious pain. You can choose a launched coaster in the game, but it allows you only a small range of speeds from something like 52 mph to 55. Also, you cannot add brake sections, and the chain lifts are automatically put in. Good luck with friction. If you want to create a realistic park, this isn't your game either. You can place stalls, in which the people get food and souveneirs from, and you can place rides.... in the same area. These areas are 3 sections that are seperate from the path. IF, however, you're okay with getting a game that pretty much only let's you build coasters around the pre-placed scenery as you place rides and stalls in a pre-determined area, then go ahead and buy this game. If you like putting unrealistic track pieces, such as a jump from one track to another, or a track section that rises as the track tips back and forth like an unexperienced waiter's serving plate, then go ahead and buy this game. I give it 3 stars out of 10. Please note this is coming from a heavy gamer that has played all of the games mentioned in the article.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
Eh.....
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/10
1d64da
Location: Lorain, OH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
It was good at first but... not worth it in the long run.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
GOOD GAME
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/11
Cool13
Location: Richmond Va
This game is perfect for: party gamers
THRILLVILLE OFF THE RAILS IS GREAT EXSPESSIALY ON XBOX LIVE PEOPLE CAN COME TO YOUR AMUSEMENT PARK AND RIDE RIDES AND MMORE THATS ONLY!! ON XBOX LIVE REG.. VERSION IS OK TOO:)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Thrillville: Off the Rails
Awsome!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/12
Gamermen09
Location: New York City,NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Really Cool!!!! If You Want To Make Your Own Aument Park It's The Right Game For You. And Best Of All You CAn Play Minigames Wiht Your Friends!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>