GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

History Channel: Battle for the Pacific

The History Channel takes you to the Battle for the Pacific where you will experience history brought to life in one of the defining campaigns of World War II. Relive epic land battles fought on some of the most brutal and unforgiving battlefields in recorded history. Retake strategically important locations throughout the Pacific Theatre that are vital to the allies on the Road to Tokyo. Play through the eyes of an American GI as you experience intense, no holds barred action against an opponent for which surrender isn't an option! Fire authentic allied and axis weaponry including sub-machine guns, sniper rifles, anti-aircraft guns, pistols, and grenades Relive History - each level begins with a documentary video featuring actual battle footage, key facts and statistics, and the importance that the battle ultimately played in the allied victory.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818
4.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
3 out of 1127%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
Review 1 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
Ummmmmm........no.....
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/12
KYgamerBTH
Location: KY
Not that good u should get call of duty over this game call of duty is WAY better. Its a nice try but no don't get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
Blacklight: Tango Down
6 out of 10(5)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
The Good, The Bad, And.....Well......More Good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/11
baylorbears321
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game was great. It only took like an hour and fifteen minutes to play, but I would play it over and over. I dont understand what everyone is complaining about. The graphics are not even close to being as good as CoD games, but the game is definently more playable than CoD. The multiplayer is not the best, but the campaign makes up for it. If I were to pick between BAD GAME and GOOD GAME, i would probably pick GOOD GAME. I reccomend that gamers who are looking for a good shooting game but don't want to pay for CoD or BF games should buy this game. It is just the right mix of shooter and adventure. I give it 9/10 stars.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
This is awesome!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
turtle32
Location: Horseheads, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The sound and graphics are really good. I like the videos before each level.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
whats the problem
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/11
lilili12344
Location: Charlotte,NC
the game seems fine to me. i woulnt be happy if this was my ionly game but i have plenty so im fine with it so
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
this game is a total waste of money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/11
sharks
at first i thought this game was gonna be awsome until i played it, the graphics suck, the ai have no clue what they there are doing, theres 7 or 8 missions and was able to beat the whole game in one hour on the hardest difficulty, i recommend you dont get this game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
Afternoon game
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/10
IronNoahJ123
This game is a game that someone would give to you just to get ride of it. The graphics of the game are ok almost like a battlefield:modern Combat type graphics. The guns in the game a strange all of the guns like the BAR, Type 100, and the Colt 1911. All of those guns and more are reloadeble when they have like a couple of bullets left in it but not a full clip. The M1 Garand can not, it is very hard when you have only 1 bullet left in it to fire and you cant reload. If you want to spend 20$$$ on the game to beat in in like 30 to 45 mins. then go!. I liked the game thow it is a good game to play over and over again, if you are in to getting achivements then it is the game for you on just easy you can get 180ap's buy beating all the missions.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
The real heroes of WWII?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/09
Mr.Bob2000
Alright, my dad and I got this game thinking it would be almost as good as the older Call of Duty games, we got home and popped it in and from that moment we knew it was not a good game. The AI basically line up for you to shoot them, especially when you're in the trenches, it's almost overkill for them. The graphics aren't really all that bad, but they're not up-to-date with the newer (and older) Xbox 360 games. The sound when it comes to the characters voices ranges from being okay to being ear splitting. One moment your captain could be talking to you in the typical Army Sergeant voice and in the next he could sound like an air-ripping robot. The storyline is fine, seeing that it is based on real battles and what-not, but they didn't do much else with the WWII theme, such as going into detail with your squad/company, character, etc. I would only recommend this game to someone who really loves achievements because you get one for each mission whether it is on easy or hard and all of the difficulties are technically easy.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KYgamerBTH
KY
 
Please wait while more information about KYgamerBTH is loaded.
Additional information about KYgamerBTH could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
I also think this game is terrable compared to..
Posted 1/22/12
call of duty. I would recomend call of duty over battle for the pacific...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
UGHHHH
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/09
prince of darkness
Ok this was one of the worst games i have ever played. The story was way too short and everyone seemed like they were just out to kill you. On this one mission where there is enemy snipers one guy dies but no one else dose and after that you have to kill them an all three just shoot at you and it only takes three shots to kill you. Another part there is machine guns and your guys just run past it and they don't even pay attention to it then you come around the corner and your getting showered with machine gun ammo. The graphics were okay but need work because you can walk through trees. You also run slow as heck and the guy never shuts up every second hes like "hurry up" and "come on" hes just so damn annoying. I would never recommend this game unless you like getting pissed off at games.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
History Channel Battle for the Pacific
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/09
ilikepie219
First of all, I think this game is very short. I played it for about an hour and a half and I had already beaten it. The graphics were okay, but they could be better. This was also the easiest game I have. The sound was one of the best parts of the game. One bad thing was that you have to follow this guy around and he runs faster than you. If you don't stay right behind him, you have to start the checkpoint over again. Pros - You fight in places other than France. (unlike other WWII games.) - You carry 3 guns with you (one is a pistol that you can't trade for another gun.) - The sound is very good Cons - Very short - AI characters say the same thing over and over - You don't care about the characters - Very easy - Artificial intelligence - The graphics are okay Overall, I would give this game a four out of ten. The History Channel definitely could have made this game a lot longer. Don't get me wrong, this game was okay but it could have been better. I love that you fight in places other than France and Germany. In most WWII games, the only place you are throughout most of the game is Germany and France. If this game and Call of Duty 2 were sitting next to each other, I would get CoD 2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
decent but to short
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/08
nickydinthehizzie
This game is very, very short. I wasn't even trying to beat this game and i beat it in about 2-3 hours. The AI in this game is some of the worst i've seen yet, they are really terrible and i beat the game on hard mode with dying about 3 or 4 times the whole game. Another thing about this game is that you play the same three maps the whole time! You start the game in a ditch running around killing guys, then there's the map of the jungle and then it basically repeats itself over and over again. But overall if you love achievements and a lot of points for doing the story mode i think you will like this game and not mind the cons of it. I think i would wait until it either drops down in price or you rent it. The history channel makes another average game!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
PAINFULLY SHORT AND INSANELY EASY
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/08
G-FRESH
Ok, having played The History Channel Civil War and actually finding it pretty entertaining because of it being based on something OTHER than WW2 and the fact that it had some REALLY old school weaponry was (for me) a nice change, but man did Cauldron drop the ball with History Channel Battle for the Pacific. I really like the fact that you fight the battles of Iwoa Jima, Baatan, Wake Isand, etc., but what drags it down is the fact that ALL of these levels are RIDICULOUSLY SHORT. I'm talking 10-15 minutes at the absolute most. You'll breeze through the levels (and beat the game) in no time flat. The fact that i started and completed the entire game in exactly 2 hours and 10 minutes on the "HARD" difficulty does'nt exactly scream "challenging" and "lengthy" either. HC: Civil War had OK enemy A.I., but in HC: Battle for the Pacific its just downright idiotic. Sure they'll shoot you here and there, but for the most part they'll just stand by and let you shoot them till there dead. Graphically it easily looks like an original Xbox title (so did HC: Civil War), controls are good and simple, and the music and sound effects are great, it's the challenge and length that really brings this game down hard. If your interested in re-living some old school war than i strongly suggest Civil War and leave Battle for the Pacific on the shelf. Civil War was'nt great but AT LEAST it presented a better challenge, better A.I., and a longer campaign.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
Game Guru
Posted on:11/27/07
Game Guru
Totally disagree with other people's statements. If you are a WWII buff like I am, the more the merrier. There are however a ton of WWII games. Now in completely trying to rip on the "History Channel" games: Okay guys, why don't you tell me about the last Civil War First Person Shooter you played. Yeah, not a large selection. I appreciate that this series is trying to give the consumer something a little different than all the other brainless games that are out there. I hope they make more. I mean, how many more modern war fighters do we need now either. I like options. If you personally don't like realism and you want your game to be arcadey and not a little realistic and tedious, there are plenty of options.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
Get it!!!
Posted on:11/27/07
preveiwer
get the game!!! it is so much better tan history channels civil war game!!I've been waiting for a pacific war game where your not a spy it's not as intese as if you're on the front line. I played the demo and I felt like I was really there.I reseved this game the day i played the demo i'm still waiting but it's worth it.In this game you are a marine or a army solider you get to stop the japs bonzai charge an invade tarowa its really cool so get it!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
Why!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:11/22/07
Bad video game developer
If you played the Civil War version of this game, why are you here??? This game will take bad to a new level. Why even make crappy games like this? Waste your money on a real game. If you want to learn history go to school or read a book.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
danny3
 
Please wait while more information about danny3 is loaded.
Additional information about danny3 could not be loaded.
battle for the pacific
Posted 4/3/11
this game is cool but so easy to pass thers only 10 missions i can pass it in 3 hours not agood opotions if you like ww2 games soes call of duty world at war
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
Dont waste your money
Posted on:11/21/07
A Customer
People Im going to tell you right now, Ive seen this before, a game that costs less then any other game automatically means that it sucks and plus it has some kind of TV show or movie name and symbol on the game. Just trust me it wont be good people.
Review 16 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
I don't know what to think!
Posted on:11/15/07
A Customer
I waited a long time for the Civil War game. When I finally got to play it, I was dissapointed. It was a wild-west shooter, not a civil-war game. So I'm skeptical to buy this one, its gonna be a "rent first and maybe buy after" And I agree that this is not a strategy game, or at least I bet it isn't!
Review 17 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
Looks fishy
Posted on:10/22/07
Sniper 1967
well i aint gonna ay much besideds that it sounds interesting but my hopes aint high for buying this game. since the history channel released the civil war game im hopeing they improved there game makeing graphcs and abilitys. it was ok game that civil war one but not everything was good . so im gonna wait and see . who knows mabey its gonna be a great block buster....well c.
Review 18 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
U.S. strikes back at Imperial Japanese forces!!
Posted on:10/21/07
Cpt. Darby,USMC
What's the possibility that in this game that your character (either aCPL OR SGT. in either the U.S. Army or the Marine Corps) mans a .50 caliber machine-gun defending Henderson airfield against multiple waves of Japanese Banzai charges circa1942/early 1943-your marine rifle squad land on the beaches on Tarawa and take heavy machine-gun and mortar fire.You wait for the engineers to hit these positions with bazookas and flame-throwing tanks.The weapons that your character can use are as follows: M1 carabine-Garand-Thompson(aka Tommy Gun)sub-machine gun-.45 1911 pistol- .50 cal. Heavy machine-gun- .30 cal. light machine-gun -browning automatic rifle(bar)- Springfield1903 sniper rifle-bazooka-flame-thrower-frag. grenade-anti-personnel mines.This game should be awesome!!!
Review 19 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
Uhhhhhh.... This is a Shooter... not strategy a game
Posted on:10/10/07
Rock E. Shaftmeister
Hay EB games/Gamestop.... This game is a First Person Shooter, not a strategy game. I had a hard time finding this game on your site because you had it listed in the incorrect category and I couldn't remember the exact title. Anyways, the game ought to be decent, The thing that was bad about civil war was the SLOW firing. Automatic weapons in this should speed the combat/action up, thus improving the gameplay!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for History Channel: Battle for the Pacific
?????
Posted on:10/5/07
antdeezy05
Well this is made by Activision and they have brought us Titles like Call of Duty, but if this is anything like The History Channel Civil War game that came out a little while back then it's probably going to suck
0 of 1 found this review helpful.