GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rapala Fishing Frenzy

With their hands on authentic gear, players will feel like they have an actual rod in their hands as they cast, jig the bait, and reel in fish. Players can battle for their favorite trophy as they angle for 25 of the most sought after species of fish in the world, all within pristine, uncrowded freshwater environments. This is the most exciting, progressive fishing game ever made and every angler's dream.
Average Customer Rating:
5.2
5.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
2 out of 540%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rapala Fishing Frenzy
Review 1 for Rapala Fishing Frenzy
Fisherman4life
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/09
Sony Man
well let me start by saying this is a really fun game to play. If people say it stinks dont listen too them. the controls arnt as bad as people think. i bought the game today and it only took me 10 minutes to get used to the controls. the graphics are pretty good and so is the fish variety. i only wish it had salt-water fishing but sadly it doesn't. but the fresh-water is really fun also. the gear variety is decent it has enough where you can feel the realism by selecting the appropriate bait for that particular fish! the challenge is also good. tournaments are fun and are a reasonable time amount ex. it doesn't take more than 20 minutes to complete a tournament. the boat controls arnt bad either. trolling the boat is super easy just tilt the controller how hard is that? any way its definitely worth buying trust me this comes from a diehard fisherman. happy angling yall!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rapala Fishing Frenzy
i think its a great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/09
i <3 baseball
well i fish alot itn real life so i think i know some good realisim to a game. well the realisim is good but not great because number 1 you can catch a fish on every cast number 2 like every time USUALLY! the size goes down. but on the good notes hotspots are pretty realistic like hotspots on points, banks, and some open water areas. the graphics are absolutly amazing but also the lures tribute to which you catch a 20 pound bass or a 8 pound bass because of the rating of the lure. also time of day makes a huge difference in fish size also because the lures change in rating. the sound is great beacuse the water and line tension like when the fish jumps it makes good water splash noise. but the gear variety is an 7 because 1 reason the fishing pole and reel itself like in other rapala fishing games they give you a choice of what rod and reel you want. so if you are wanting to buy this game you really should because its also fun to watch another person to play. so my advice dont listen to what people say!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Rapala Fishing Frenzy
Not Impressed
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/08
BASSFISH08
I'm a big time bass fisherman and been waiting for this game to come out for about a year now. I got it the first day it came out and was kinda skeptical about it being the price was only $**** and 95% of all the other games are $**. Sure enough got it home started palying it not impressed with the graphics especially it being the same company that created Call of Duty 4. There really is no challenge. You catch a fish EVERY cast literally. The only challenge is catching the right kind of fish being there are trout in the same lake as small mouth and large mouth in tournament mode. I did like how it was interactive to real fishing, you actually have to "cast" the controller forward and jerk back for setting the hook. There is no detail in hardly nothing. I was kinda expecting a little more detail that what is in it. Hopefully the next fishing game for PS3 will have a little more time put into it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Rapala Fishing Frenzy
Game worthy of dismall reviews!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/08
ahood820
I recently purchased the game and was very disappointed. From the beginning I was reluctant to play the game because I found out quickly that I already own this game. Anyone who has Cabelas Monster Bass for PS2 will not like this game. IT IS THE EXACT SAME GAME!! Same lakes, same tournaments, same same same!! The only thing that was different is that since Rapala made this one, the lures were given the Rapala trademark names. So even if you can pass up the fact that you already own the game, the game play itself is not funtional enough to keep you satisfied. The PS3 sixaxis controller movements are too hard to keep up with. I felt as if I was in a boxing match rather than fishing. You are constantly flinging the controller around trying to get the movements down which in itself was an impossible feat. And you cannot change the controls. The only thing that was satisfying about the game were the graphics. The graphics are VERY realistic. Challenge is minimal. You always hook a fish (if you can get the controls down). If you miss the first attempt there will always be a second. The variety of fish was low. There are only bass in the beginning and then new fish can be unlocked. In open fishing your chances at catching anything but a bass are none. I am a very displeased customer and hope this was helpful!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rapala Fishing Frenzy
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/09
Kevin Hatfield
This game has ridiculous controls and it is the same repetitive functions over and over. The graphics are pretty neat but the fishing is the same... Lack of boating controls, difficult to use the trolling motor. I returned it, definitely not recommended. May try another Rapala game in the future but the lack of bait and all lures seem to drag the bottom. The ability to fight the fish when you're reeling is nice but it seems to be really unrealistic. You can catch fish with every cast and there is never a question of whether they will bite. It is so easy and quickly gets very boring. I'm guessing there is a reason there isn't many fishing games for the playstation 3 or other consoles as it seems they're all the same. Very indifferent from the rest and nothing that stands out from the crowd.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 6 for Rapala Fishing Frenzy
Can't wait....
Posted on:10/27/07
A Customer
Experience rod-bending heart-pounding action as you battle monster bass beyond belief in the first ever Cabela's fishing game! Cabela's Monster Bass takes you to the hottest bass locations in North America where your angling skills will be put to the test. Race your bass boat to your favorite fishing hole and hook into a monster trophy bass for the fight of your life. Features 10 species of monster bass including largemouth smallmouth spotted striped and more plus 15 other trophy species! Fish in 24 tournament events where you will need to fill your live well with only the biggest bass but time is limited so don't be late for the weigh-in!
Review 7 for Rapala Fishing Frenzy
My reflection
Posted on:8/30/08
C-dawg
I already have this game pre-ordered. It's gonna be great. I saw the trailer. It recently came out, i think. The graphics are amazing. The way you catch a fish looks pretty cool and i hope you get to customize your person and gear. If you don't get to customize your gear i would be pretty ticked off. Yet, i still think it will be great. If i were making this i would make like a career and you can start as an amateur and work your way up, but hey i didn't make it and i don't know what it's gonna be like.
Review 8 for Rapala Fishing Frenzy
this game is gonna be good but can be better
Posted on:6/24/08
fishing fan
i have played this gaem for ps2 and they were pretty good imagine how good ita gonna be for the ps3 in hd, but i also thing that people that love fishing reallly dont like to fish only for bass, salmons and stuff like that we like to fish for marlins, groupers, the green dolphin, tunas, snappers, cobia those type of things or wat you call deep sea fishing. i think that any type of producer better if its activision or ea sports should make a deep sea fishing game
Review 9 for Rapala Fishing Frenzy
This game is gonna be AWESOME!!
Posted on:10/31/07
A Customer
I bet this game is gonna out best any other fishing and hunting game ever made thus far!! The game is gonna make you fell like your there yourself experencing the far out detail of the many different species of animals and fish that will jus seem to jump out at you!!!
Review 10 for Rapala Fishing Frenzy
First fishing and hunting game for ps3 in hd!
Posted on:8/18/07
Phil
Yes, I can not wait for this game to come out! First hunting and fishing game for ps3 in hd. Man these animals arer going to look so real in in hd and the fish too. The water is going to look realisitc too.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.