GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Halo Wars

Halo Wars is a real-time action strategy game for the Xbox 360 that allows the player to control large armies and to shrewdly direct them in realistic warfare. Set early in the iconic war between the Covenant and UNSC - made famous by the Halo FPS games - Halo Wars provides a new angle on the war while bringing new heroes to the battle.
Average Customer Rating:
7.696
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (350 reviews)
10 stars
74
9 stars
39
8 stars
22
7 stars
9
6 stars
8
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
17
138 out of 19172%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Halo Wars
Review 1 for Halo Wars
No I'm not a raving fanboy, but....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/09
Maddogm12
I was apprehensive at first about Halo Wars, considering that in the past Real Time Strategy (RTS) and consoles have not mixed well. Dating back two generations of hardware, we witnessed many bad ports of computer based RTS's. These were bad because they had focused on being, first and foremost, for the computer. Halo Wars changed my opinion on the matter with a supposedly short demo. I must have played through and through it for a minimum of ten hours before the game finally arrived. The interface system is simplistic but intuitive and gives the user a feeling that they have everything in control. The AI responds to your actions to a degree that is refreshing, based on what difficulty they are set to. Many times have I had a suitable defense torn apart by a sudden and unfathomably strong attack force. In terms of the story, if you've played any of Bungie's trilogy so far and enjoyed the plot, then by all means, this game WILL NOT DISAPPOINT! Sitting back and watching cinemas with immaculate graphics, and listening to witty yet enthralling dialogue, I found myself wrapped within this game's story far faster than even Halo: Combat Evolved. Multiplayer is a healthy social system for people to compete in. While I'm unsure about the Co-op campaign or the multiplayer matches being quick and tidy (RTS's have a habit of drawing things out), I foresee many hours of fun. The learning curve will be a tad on the steep side, but all for the better when learning what units are for what purpose. In summary, if you like the strategy of an RTS, and the story of Halo, then this game will provide for you an eventful bundle of hours.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
70 of 78 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Zellex0
Visalia, Ca
 
Please wait while more information about Zellex0 is loaded.
Additional information about Zellex0 could not be loaded.
You are right!
Posted 12/28/11
Love this game. thanks for telling everyone!
Customer Avatar
mayospeed
 
Please wait while more information about mayospeed is loaded.
Additional information about mayospeed could not be loaded.
Great game
Posted 2/26/11
it is such an epically awesome game
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Halo Wars
best halo next to halo 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/14
omegaxis242
Location: VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game get your blood pumping and your brain working and amazing cut scenes. there is so many ways to fight
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Halo Wars
Fantastic!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/14
Jeremmy
Location: Windsor, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I enjoyed very minute of halo wars, from all the bases I built from the ground up, to the awesome battles I had destroying my friends in online. Gameplay is smooth and simple, just build, attack, repair until you win. Although it kind of get repetitive at times,I still found my way back to the battle. This was an epic game, and it was totally underestimated by halo fans and regulars alike.give halo wars a try!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Halo Wars
It wasn't the best.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/13
Jhay
I didn't like the 3rd person. I like Halo 2 MUCH better. 1st Person games are my thing so you might think differently. But the 3rd person games i like include Saints Row 4, Gears of War 3, and Just Cause 2.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 5 for Halo Wars
Surprising
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/13
SquidGun
Location: San Diego Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Better than i had thought, Surprisingly good storyline and graphics, unfortunately once you beat it, it goes to game heaven.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 6 for Halo Wars
not the best
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/12
gammer98
i got this game and i played it not for long. this game gets boring after 6 min. the games graphics are't that good and the game over all is not fun after a wile.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Halo Wars
Simplest RTS(Real Time Strategy) I have played.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/12
Strikebait
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When you've over-played all your new games, Halo Wars is a great game for 2-3 friends to go back to. When the AI are on legendary they are very difficult to beat, its a fun challenge. Because of it's simplicity it is easy to use but still offers a wide variety of tactics that don't involve spamming your cheapest unit.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Halo Wars
Okay FOr Hardcore Strategic Fiends
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/12
knockemdown
Location: New Jersey, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
to me it's judt a plan suckish game i have no idea whta bungie was thinkin creating this game. they should stick to shooters but since they don't own the halo series anymore (new owner is 363) but if you're addicted t strategy games it is definetlt the game for you. Killem'all
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 9 for Halo Wars
Best Real-Time strategy game on Xbox 360!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/12
Arnoldo
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is the best real-time strategy game for Xbox 360. This game is real fun making a big army and then attacking. All the leaders are balanced out so everyone has the same chance of winning. I got the map pack and its has really great maps but the strategic options game modes are not really fun except for Reinforcements, Reinforcements game mode is fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
50cent94
ny
 
Please wait while more information about 50cent94 is loaded.
Additional information about 50cent94 could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Posted 8/6/12
Highly doubt you have played every strategy game on xbox 360 s how can you call this the best one? Command and conquer Kane's wrath has more factions, units, upgrades, maps, types of bulking and freedom to move your base any where. Sounds better than this. And ruse is a great strategy game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Halo Wars
A good strategy game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/12
FanofDaHaloSeries
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I enjoyed this game, and it was a learning experience. Before I played Halo Wars I never had played a true strategy game. But since it was Halo based, I just had to buy it. IT WAS A EXCELLENT BUY! I love the game. In the game you basically just have to capture a base and once you capture it you can build barracks, power plants, vehicle depots, and most importantly supply pads. You constantly need supplies to build your army. You can also capture other bases and keep increasing your supplies and increase your army! Sadly there is a limit on how far you can have your army reach, but still it is awesome! The campaign was fun and the multiplayer is excellent. It is a good break away from First Person Shooters.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halo Wars
Good Strategy Game Without Much Startegy
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/12
hawky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have had this game for over 3 years and play it every once in awhile.I loved this game at first, but now it isnt as fun since their is little to no strategy involved. However with this being my first rts it was great and helped me learn the basics of a startegy game. This game is a definent buy if you like halo and rts games. However their isnt that many people playing online so i would recommend getting it to play with friends and the story. I noticed this game has a 7.7 or something like that but the reason why that is is because all the low ratings are from people who wnat it to be a first person shooter.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Halo Wars
Halo WARS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/12
KingzEmpire21
Location: plainfield, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It is a awesome game to people that love to think and use team work to reck the other team!!!!! I would love to see more people on this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Halo Wars
Average game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/12
Bunniesareawesome
Location: Malibu, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Many people expected Halo Wars to be another addition to the Halo Trilogy which left them disappointed when they realized it wasn't meant to be like Halo 1-3. The game is sort of like Warcraft or Starcraft. It's a real-time strategy game which requires thinking, countering, and teamwork to beat enemies. It has a co-op campaign, skulls are included, and I loved the multiplayer. At the time I loved RTS games and this fit my genre like a glove. Don't buy the game if you're expecting something like a FPS, this game wasn't made for that type of gameplay. If you're new to Multiplayer here's a common strategy, Two supply pads, reactor, more supply pads, and a barracks. Take your second base add 2-3 more supply pads and begin to pump out units. Remember to use the extra units from capturing your second base to take any scout towers which provide extended vision or towers that create walls.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Halo Wars
Super Cool Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/12
Hamburger
Location: Colorado
The game meets with Halo expectations. It's a diffrent turn from the game being a FPS and turning it into a RTS. The games cool. It's sort of what happened before the halo event. Even though the game isnt a shooter and more of a RTS the game is still cool. If you skipped over this game and got halo 3 or halo reach beacuse you thought it would be bad well it's not so get the game. Besides at gamestop it's only $20. So you might as well get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hwfan
 
Please wait while more information about hwfan is loaded.
Additional information about hwfan could not be loaded.
Totally worth it
Posted 9/4/12
I pre ordered this game back when it first came out and ive loved it ever since. i didnt originally have xbox live so i never got to play multiplayer. the single player is just as much fun as the multiplayer though. multiplayer on the other hand is extremely fun and it doesnt usually take long to find a game. totally worth it
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Halo Wars
Overall, a great game to play with or w/o friends.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/12
ABigHaloFan10001
Location: Holley, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The graphics were amazing and they really suprised me because I didn't expect a 2009 game to have as good graphics as this. The sound and music were great. The gameplay was very fun and challenging. I really liked how you got to build up this massive army and then move in to attack. I loved watching my army crush the enemy in 10 seconds. A little disapointed with the fact you cannot play with or against you friend on the same Xbox. This is a great game for serious thinkers and those who want to have fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halo Wars
How halo was meant to be
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/12
Cr4zyGodd
Location: International Falls, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a little fact in halo history, halo was suppose to be a RTS game, they then decided to make it a FPS after they put spartans into the game. This game has amazing cut scene graphics, i was impressed. this is a turn from the halo FPS games, and it was a nice turn. We must also remember, BUNGIE DIDNT MAKE THIS HALO GAME. if you love halo, get this just so you can get the storyline a little better. If you like RTS games, this is an fun RTS game. I look forward to the sequel if there will be one by ensemble studios.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halo Wars
Haterz be Hatin
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
TheGameMaster1
Location: Ironton,OH
Its a really good game, most of the people out there are just disappointed because its not a shooter. Anyone who likes real time strategy games would love his game.Its the best of its class for Xbox.
~The Game Master
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halo Wars
a game for mature/intelligent halo fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/12
shadyassassin93
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I get real tired of people booing this game because its a RTS and it not being what they expected, its called reading don't just pick up a game from a series and expect it to be the same as the others especially if its a different developer. This is a well put together game and has great filler information in it from before 'the Fall of Reach' great graphics for a RTS the music wasn't composed by Martin O'Donnell this time around but Stephen Rippy douse a great job of making music for this RTS the only real complaint I have is the Covanent tend to be a little OP late game and weak early game and vise versa with humans other then that this is one of the best if not the best RTS out for the Xbox
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halo Wars
Ehhh......
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/12
Coolyo
Location: Boston, MA
I like halo, but this is kinda... not anything like halo. Of course it isn't, it's a strategic game, but it isn't the type of game that I was hoping for in the halo series.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halo Wars
Not Bad Not Good Ethier
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/12
packerschese23
This game is OK. Not my favorite Halo. What really holds this game from being really good is that you don't really play shooter, you just look at the battlefield and press buttons so that the forces can fight. For example you press a button and a Warthog goes there, but your not driving or shooting your just controlling the forces. I recommend you get it and try it out, but I think Halo Reach and Halo 3 are better.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>