GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Golden Axe: Beast Rider

GOLDEN AXE RE-IMAGINED FOR A NEW GENERATION! One of SEGA's most popular franchises storms onto the PLAYSTATION 3 computer entertainment system and the Xbox 360 video game and entertainment system. As the unstoppable Tyris Flare, players will engage in vicious melee combat both on foot and atop massive mythical beasts, savaging enemies with blades and magic on a quest for vengeance. This highly-anticipated re-imagination is guaranteed to leave the fans reeling with incredible graphics and never-before seen character skills and abilities.
Average Customer Rating:
5.167
5.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 650%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Golden Axe: Beast Rider
Review 1 for Golden Axe: Beast Rider
This game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/09
Demagos009
From what ive heard and read here, all i see are complaints about this game. What people fail to realize is that its based on an old school gaming "series" Any old school gamer would know that. So obviously theres not going to be customization or anything like that, to keep to the core, original version that this and its predecessors are. This aint oblivion. This game is a pretty good game, i would say. I liked it and it really never did get boring at all for me. I think people should just give this game a chance and look past all the customization, or lack thereof. Although i have to say this game wasnt anywhere near as challenging as the older versions were. Not at all, i got through this game in almost no time, and without dying. So, in the end i give this game, in my opinion, an 8.8/10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Golden Axe: Beast Rider
I Hope It Has That One Chick
Posted on:1/17/08
Alveration
Seriously, I remember playing this junk on my Sega Genesis. It better have that one chicky boom that was dressed in red and had like no cloths and controlled fire. Remember when you were able to get on the dragons and like, slash people and light their booties up? HELL YES! Girl Power!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Golden Axe: Beast Rider
Worst Game Ever
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/10
TheSnowman79
Location: San Juan, TX
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I Loved golden axe 1 through 3 and was excited when this game came out but then found that they butchered it and was severely disappointed. worst experience ever lost 60 bucks.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Golden Axe: Beast Rider
Golden Axe has done it again!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/08
Gamegod versus The loser everytime!!!
When I fist bought this game I was hearing that a lot of people didn't want to check it out thinking that it was gonna suck because we haven't really seen too many great games come out from Sega but I knew judging from the artwork on the box and the graphics that this game was gonna be incredible!!! Don't get me wrong it's no God of War and Heavenly Sword but that's another reason I really enjoyed this game because a lot of games nowadays are trying too hard to become the next Grand Theft Auto or God of War but this is a game unlike any I ever played in a long time...It starts off on the first level with great introduction and when it introduces the first beast you can mount and ride to crush off all of your opponents I was truly amazed...The graphics are perfect and showcases the ps3 graphical engine with perfection and the cinemas are very unforgettable...If God of War 3 graphics are this good when it comes out next year for ps3 then I will be the first one to reserve it...I really love this game...The only negative thing I can say is that the controls could have been tweaked a liitle bit but that is just a minor issue cuz when you get the hang of it it will not be a problem so you will get your butt kicked when you first start playing because the enemies do not show no mercy to you whatsoever and it can be a little challenging but when you start getting into it you will get to Death Adder in no time if you can play through 15 hours at a time...This is truly the Golden Axe experience I would recommend anybody who loved the original Axe on the sega genesis!!! Go buy this game with no delay!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Golden Axe: Beast Rider
Saw the preview!
Posted on:9/23/08
Crazyd
You're the girl and looks like it's only single player. The game is much the same with 3d graphics and looks well done. I am sure they can ruin the game with controls, but the graphics look AWESOME. Riding beasts is a larger part of the game and I'm fairly sure it won't be that long of a game seeing how it's coming to 360 and PS3. I'm sure it will be a great rental with 6-8 hours of gameplay. I don't expect much more than that... even Ratchet and Clank was a better rental than purchase.
Review 6 for Golden Axe: Beast Rider
No character class?
Posted on:2/23/08
Silver
It sounds like you can only be this one character who is a barbarian. The old golden axe was better because you could choose between barbarian, dwarf, and mage. If you have to be the main character hopefully you can at least choose your fighting class. If not then this isn't Golden Axe. I hope it comes out for XBOX 360 too so we can play 4 player.
Review 7 for Golden Axe: Beast Rider
played the begining
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/13
lizzybeth
When I got this game I thought it was going to be cool but I was VERY WRONG.First you start off with a cut scene the there will be some monsters you have to fight the controles were confusing.The blood you will see when you kill people just looks like its spraing red water.DONT GET THIS GAME!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 8 for Golden Axe: Beast Rider
Just Fair...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/12
HolyWarriorcm
Location: Oshkosh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I Completed this game on normal a few weeks ago and its so hard! D:, enemies are so repetetive! the Last Boss Was a little hard cuz of the Golden Axe Which Replineshes my Life, So This Game is Just Okay... :/
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 9 for Golden Axe: Beast Rider
I hope its like the original
Posted on:10/25/07
Dave
I hope they dont ruin this great classic game. It was a great game back in the day, but the last few remakes have been terrible.The need to go back to the original format.If they dont I believe this game will fail.
Review 10 for Golden Axe: Beast Rider
This games gonna be sick
Posted on:10/5/08
Anonymous
I just watched a trailer for this game yesterday, I've been wondering about this game ever since I bought Viking for the ps3. After watching the trailer I wasn't dissappointed don't sleep on this game ya'll.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Golden Axe: Beast Rider
Bronze or Copper Axe
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/08
TheJazz
After reading another review on this website, I felt compelled to give my side of the Golden Axe story. To be clear, this game is mediocre at best. I knew this game would be a hack n' slash adventure when I rented it. What I wasn't expecting, was zero customization. While you do get new outfits and weapons, you can choose what weapons, armor or skills to buy/upgrade. If you're going to make a simple hack n' slash game, you better let me upgrade my player at the end of each level, and maybe buy some goods to outfit them. I would rather purchase armor, weapons, skills, and magic, not have them just automated by the computer. The only replay value here is the difficulty settings, and we all no that's no replay at all. The graphics are probably the best part of the game. Also the beast riding and fighting can be fun at times. I've noticed some bugs though. There are many places where you can fall off a bridge and die, where the developers never should've allowed you to fall. Fights will slow down, and this game has framerate issues. The controls for this game are mediocre also, with parry and evade button, not as responsive as I would like. The games continue system is also a big gripe of mine. You get these dragon statues, that allow you to be reborn, and brought back to life. Trouble is, you can keep up to five in stock, but only can use these statues once. What ends up happening is you'll use up all your statues on a hard level, only to realize, since you didn't beat the level on the first run through, you now have to attempt that very same level you couldn't beat with statues, without them. It essentially traps you into restarting the game. In conclusion this game is similar to many games created in the 21st century. Too much emphasis on graphics, and not enough on gameplay, and replayability. This is a rental, and I'd just pass unless you have no other good games to play.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10