GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus

Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus is a standalone addition to last year's award winning stealth action title of the same name. Focusing on a portable multiplayer experience, players will be able to enjoy more maps, more missions, and recruit a talented crew of war heroes for battling real opponents in online arenas.
Average Customer Rating:
8.316
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
3
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 1979%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
Review 1 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
A metal gear portable at its best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/08
G Man Legendary
If you have no idea what metal gear is and decide to get this game your and idiot! THis game can only be enjoyed if you know what ity is and even then you may not like it. If you played the first portable ops and LOVED it this game uis for you. HEADS UP! This game has almost no story what so ever, but don't let that discourage you, the new ways to play, new maps, and new modes and soldiers make this a portable ops to remember. It is a truly must buy if you loved the first portable. More ways tyo play like training, boss rush, and infinity mode which lets you play over, and over, and over for new soldiers. New maps like the Metal Gear Rex Hangar!!! New modes like shooting range, new soldiers like Tengu, Genome, High-Tech, and unique like Old Snake, Raiden, and Roy. PLUS you can AP scout your soldiers by getting them from wireless access points but you must meat their demands. You can import your old file from the first. Finally you can feel the PLUS by getting this game today, you wont regret it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
DO NOT BUY!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/10
GoodDealsOnly
I bought this game after playing the demo of Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker. Peace Walker was awesome and I had never played MGS before playing Peace Walker, so I bought Portable Ops Plus, thinking it would be like Peace Walker. Boy, how wrong I was! First of all, I never even made it past the first stage; I stopped playing it after 4 long, hard tries. It's very confusing at first because there's so much going on at one time, and you have no idea what to do. There are no objectives, so if you get lost you can radio someone who is on standby, but they always just give you random advice (Ex. Press SQUARE to shoot). There is virtually no action at all and when you don't have a weapon, the only thing you can do is punch and the enemy you punch just does a cartwheel and then falls down every time. I am returning this game as soon as I get the chance. If you're looking for something similar to MGS, then try Syphon Filter (that series is MUCH better).
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
worse game
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/09
Duc2772
This is one of the worst games on the psp in my opinion. It was very confusing. You had to go to portal to go to different stages. It isn't like any of the other metal gear solid games. You don't even get to play as snake i think. The graphics are okay for a psp game. You have recruit people by knocking them out and taking them to there van. I think that was one of the worst parts because it takes FOREVER to drag them. The best thing about this game is the variety of weapons. That's the only thing that's good about this game. The game starts to get really repetitive and get boring on the first day. The controls are really bad too. It will take you about two to three days to get used to the controls. The camera angle is also horrible. Sometimes you can't even see the enemy. The map is bad too. I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone that likes the other metal gear solid games. Do Not Buy This Game!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
Online fun. (Dont listen to bad reviews)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/10
Snakeh64
Location: Hesperia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've noticed that people like to give bad reviews to games because they are bad at said game. Don't listen to those reviews. Now, PO+ is an awesome game for playing online. The missions for single player are there for farming. You build your force and deploy online. There are a lot of weapons and items to use that makes a match exciting. My friend and I play it when we cant play MGO. Even though its not as amazing as MGO, it still holds it own.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
DON"T BUY THIS GAME
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/10
JDEMO
When I tell you don't buy this game don't buy it. Lets start with the challenge I have to admit this game was pretty challenging. The controls were a bit hard but you'll get it once you get the hang of it. the graphics were good it just needed a few minor touches and it would be good. I can't say about the length because i could not finish or continue this game. the storyline was horrible it made no scene at all. what happened to the original guy? it start with you training people. why the heck are we training people? what the reason? whats the point? plus when i'm trying to complete a check point i'm all going in circle because i can't find out what i'm susposed to do. the interface was garbage they a minute into the interface. the interface was just a list of word you can go down and click on. So if you want to buy a good game don't buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
What Happened ?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/08
SandyKnowltonIV
The last time I checked I thought MGS was about tactical espionage this game is alright but i wish there was a storyline behind it all you only do mission that require you to go to certain locations, playing as Old Snake & Big Boss in the same game was pretty fun though i would recommend this game to all the real MGS series fanatics like me, but be prepared to be bored to death by all the short missions. I beat this game in 4 days.The online part is a great experience as well. You can against plenty of people all around the world I hate the fact that your starting soldier isn't Sanke at all just some unknown guy with a MGS3 genome soldier(desert climate)outfit on, once you obtain Snake you'll realize how different their stamina and health are. Through and through I think Kojima and Konami staff should have put any of the Snakes as your starter
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
MGS +
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/09
CHABobcats
The game doesn't have a storyline if your the one looking for one. But other than that, the game is so fun. You complete missions after missions you can never predict what will happen next. All the maps are random and your strategy will change everytime so you have to be aware of your surroundings. One soldier may be over at this spot but, when you play that same map again, that soldier may be at a different spot and a dog may be the soldier's replacement. You can remember the maps but you can never remember the soldier's routes from mission to mission. Also the soldier's change from map to map so you end up changing how you approach them. Everytime you start the mission, you go clean without weapons or items. By starting like this, it makes it more challenging. I think that if your looking for a game that you can never get bored to, get MGS +
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
Mpo+(online only!!!)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/10
XxR0acH
Mpo+ is a great game its only meant for online play if you dont want that then purchace mpo this game is great i liked it alot i like how they brought in many new characters like raiden,tengu soldiers and others from mgs2 and also old snake from mgs4 many unlockables for you to find many new maps the one i liked best was the hanger the fight that took place between snake and liquid on top of rex game is great thought before going online you should find good characters to go into battle walk around the house and use the psps wifi to find hidden character to help aid you in combat their are many ways to unlock characters using the wifi using cheats or play the non online part of the game that has your crew go from one area to the next collecting weapons and characters for you to use online go get this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
Not A Real Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/08
Keul
Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus is a very good game, the only problem is, it is more of an expansion pack than a game. The game has no story line, or for lack of a better term, purpose. It is very short, but is very challenging. This game has a wide array of weapons and items that help you to beat the game. It also has many characters from all the games including: Naked Snake (Big Boss), Solid Snake, Old Snake and Revolver Ocelot. It has unique gameplay, if you choose you could play it stealthy or go all out killing machine. The aiming system is good, you can lock-on to the enemy or manually aim in first-person. The online gameplay is incredible. With people on front lines, side lines and anywhere else you can think. If you want to get this game, I say that you should get Portable Ops before Plus.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
Great for mgs fans, difficult to learn for newcomers
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/10
terminator27
I played the demo for peace walker and thought: so i have to wait till June to get the whole game? nope. so i downloaded this game off of psn. so this was about 3 months ago and hated the game. now, i saw a few new vids on peace walker and thought ill have download the demo again and decided to give po+ another try as well. now that i get what to do an all its a little more fun. to start off, i cant really rate the challenge cuz ive only beat the game on easy and medium modes fairly easily. your objective is to capture enemies and drag them to a truck, and then recruit and use them later on. to do this you knock them out using melee or a tranquilizer gun. there are a lot of ways to trap your enemies too. you can pick up magazines and put them in your enemies path and while they're salivating over an image, you sneak up behind them and knock them out. there are also a variety of weapons to use if you need to kill them. the maps you play in are very open and you can decide where you want to go. the graphics are average, nothing amazing, nothing horrible. again i havent finished the game so i dont tell you the length, but ive played for a good 4 hours and 2/3 of the way through. there is no recognizable storyline here, just completing the missions and recruiting the guys. the controls are very customizable, you can choose to change a number of things and find whats best for you. to wrap it up, i'm sure that hardcore mgs fans or people that have played po first will understand and enjoy this game. i had to look up some stuff in order to find out what the heck was going on, and now i like this game. so if your a beginner to the mgs series, and youre patient, then you will enjoy this game as well.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
Cool game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/09
Agent Fett
Well I had really high hopes for this game and wow it's great! First of all the challange this game is hard but not to the point of just quiting. Another hard thing about this game is you don't start of missions with weapons so so you have to find your weapons. (which really isn't hard). In this game it's not really the best idea to just jump out and start shooting cause it's harder that way. But it's just so cool you get have squadrans and stuff so when you die it's not over yet. But a bad thing is there is pretty much no story so far where I'm at. But it's not really a big loss considering how great the game is. And you get to play as naked snake and old snake. And a bunch of other guys with animal names. SO since the game price did go down I would buy this cause it's really good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
MPO+ offline: glad :P online: rad :0
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/10
Psycho_Fox
MPO+ is an expansion to the original hit PSP title "metal gear solid portable ops", the online gameplay is drastically revamped, with new features such as taunts, characters, and other fun features. Gameplay: offline play, though limited, is not, by any means, unentertaining. there is a non-story mode known as "Infinity Mission" where you have to utilize your squad members' different abilities to work through the stages, recruiting new squad members along the way. old faces such as the Geonome soldier, Raiden, and Old Snake make appearences as playable squad members, once you have constructed a squad of your liking you can take them into the online arena feturing levels such as desert outposts, abandoned cities, and even Metal Gear REX's hangar from the original Metal Gear Solid! Graphics and Sound: the looks and sound are very good, not surprising for a PSP title, but none the less, very well rendered. Controls: MPO+ fetures simple, easy to grasp controls, though they may seem odd at first, they are easy to get used to. The control pad moves the camera, the analog moves your character, the R trigger is used to aim down the sights, and the X, square, triangle, and O buttons are used to perform various actions Overall: MPO+ is a very fun online PSP title, great for the MGS fan on the go, the challenging new infinity mission mode is sure to provide many hours full of fun for the player, and once you boot up the online mode, its hard to put it down! MPO+ is a fun squad base MGS game that i'm sure fans new and old will be able to enjoy, it is definately worth the standing price. I would definately recommend this game to anyone thinking of buying it or interested in MGS. This is a great, long lasting PSP title that earns a solid 10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
Best action/espionage game for the PSP!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/08
LiquidRes.105
Before I start pointing out details I'd like to say that this game is a must have. For me the down side of this game is the story mode because all you do are missions after missions without a clear story, besides that the game is simply flawless. The controls are fairly simple and can get the use of them in a day or two. The sound is really good and the background music is really good and sends you into the moment. The characters in the game are like in the other MGS game series but you can also use Raiden and Old Snake from MGS4. The guns in this are really cool and creative. The best thing about this game is the new and improved multi player; you can use your "own" team in the new multi player and take snapshots of your friends and/or squad. I really recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
Good Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/09
Nickname47
This game is pretty good. If you like a challenge its a gret game for you. If your new at the shooting games, this will be a really great game for you. The controls are easy for you to learn. The graphics are OK. I don't think there really is a point to the game, but it is very addicting so when you lose a level it makes you want to try again and again. You get very little amo, and not that much space for wepons. The sound is very good, you can hear the shooting of the gun, the people screaming, people talking, and more. I think playing the game is a great way to pass time, but not a game to play just to kill 5 minutes. The length is pretty long, because there are a lot of levels. This game also has lots of great things to it, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
Amazing Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/08
Ratchet
This is an amazing game. I've always loved the MGS series, and this is another great game. I love the bonuses after you beat the game just as much as I love the online play. I'd recommend this game to anybody looking for a good tactical or shooter game. For the game to be on a handheld system it still has amazing graphics and sounds so realistic. The cut scenes look as if they were made to be on an actual system like the PS3, and the sound is so accurate and makes you feel as if you are actually in the game watching the amazing storyline unfold before you. The storyline is not extremely complex, but is not predictable. There are a few times when the story gets a little confusing, but then later on in the game it gets cleared up, making everything understandable.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
Story
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/08
Hardcore MGS fan
If you pay attenion to any of the metal gear solid games you would know whats going on. In MGS3 snake is the REAL snake or Naked snake he is the character in Metal gear solid portable ops also. Now Solid snake is a clone of Naked snake or big boss. so solid snake has not been shot in the eye. Solid Snake is aging abnormally fast because of the cloned cells dieing so thats why he is so old. In MGS4 his "eyepatch" is a device/gaget that is like night vision and thermal vision. and some new mode but he is still very good at what he does. Now Liquid Snake is another clone of Big Boss, Solid Snake and Liquid Snake. Hope this helped anyone who was confused. but this game also has a new mode and is a great addition to any MGS fans library. Thanks for reading!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
its ok
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/08
solidsnake
if you are planning of buying this game do it but its not like a regular metal gear game if you look on the back and see old snake and think ooh this is going to make sense of mgs 3 and why solid snake is different from naked snake and why snake dosent have an eye patch in metal gear solid 2 but it dosent in fact it has no story you mostly play as regular soldiers who you usually choke or stab the only thing that saved this series on the psp was the fact that it used the same engine as a regular metal gear game if you dont like metal gear games i dont recomend this game you will probley hate this game with a passion
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
Why...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/13
oreo123
Location: Chicago,Illinois
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game after playing mgs peace walker, thinking it was another great metal gears. i was wrong. The controls are way different and confusing. The plot was very hard to follow, and the objectives didnt make any sense. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! Not nearly as good as peace walker
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
sigh...
Posted on:10/28/07
naked snake
i wish to buy portable ops for psp but the thing is, they have no stock in stores and one day i saw only one left in stock, but then when i was in the cashier, the person said that he cannot sell the game to me unless i have a parent with me... you know mgs por ops should be rated t for teen. not m for mature. 4/5 disadvantage is i have mgs3 and i want to continue the next story but rated m for mature. BADLY
Review 20 for Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus
Great!
Posted on:9/22/07
Alastor
This game is going to be great! For those who don't know the difference between the original and this one is that there is more in this one, but it doesn't have a story mode. In place of that, it has infinity mode. Infinity mode is a game mode where you take the role of Snake and play through randomly generated missions. Still sounds awesome!
1 2 next>>