GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Space

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design and Action Game of the YearWhen an immense mining ship, the USG Ishimura, comes into contact with a mysterious alien artifact in a remote star system, its communications with Earth are mysteriously cut off. Engineer Isaac Clarke is sent to repair the Ishimura's communications array, but he arrives to find a living nightmare - the ship is a floating bloodbath, the crew unspeakably mutilated and infected by an ancient alien scourge. Clarke's repair mission becomes one of survival as he fights not just to save himself, but to return the artifact to the planet ... at any cost.
Average Customer Rating:
9.386
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (258 reviews)
10 stars
156
9 stars
45
8 stars
10
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
213 out of 22396%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Space
Review 1 for Dead Space
AWESOME START TO AN AWESOME SERIES
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/13
Playerofgamesbydaxbox
Location: The Ishimura
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is AWESOME!! Buy it! I always loved this game and everything about it. Story and gameplay.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Dead Space
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/13
Champion8799
Location: Kiddyland
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I beat dead space it got boring to me, so I sold it. So I got dead space 3 and thought it was a disappointment. So I think selling it was one of the worst mistakes I've ever made.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Dead Space
Very Good stuff right here
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/13
Bladed
Location: York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I found that this game is extremely fun. While at times the rather unique control system can be very frustrating (especially when the game is causing you to freak out) which detracts from the game play just a little. The nice thing is that the sound and graphic quality are good enough that it really doesn't effect my overall view of the game. The game is re-playable every now and then when it has been long enough that you do not remember where all the enemies are. The story line can be very compelling the first few times as well so i find this game really nice to keep around because every now and then i get a craving to play it all over again.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Dead Space
Something new and fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/13
apezz
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Game is plot is very interesting, takes place in space with weird looking zombie alien looking monsters popping out in all different places, have to play this game with headphones on, it will have you jumping off your seat a few times....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Dead Space
Good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/13
crazeeavery
Location: mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Love this game ,If u like horror games this is the one for you, but get in on XB live it's only 14.99.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Dead Space
A look at what started it all
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/13
TheJokesOnYou
Location: St. Louis, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Yes, Dead Space has been plastered with the horribly violent and disgusting bias from those who have never played it (trust me I was one of them). But once you get past all of that stuff, the story that Isaac Clarke is thrown into will take you for a wild ride. This game started the series that we all know and love. The gameplay might cause you to jump on occasion due to the claustrophobic atmosphere and the sounds might make you shiver but the story is where it is at for this game. EA has done a great job with not only this game but the others as well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Dead Space
Fantastic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/13
VultureBoy47
Location: Florida
"Dead Space" is a true horror game. The combination of suspense and horror along with action just makes this a fantastic game. It has a great story, great graphics, and moments that will scare you out of your skin. I tried to play this game at midnight with all the lights out, and just the main menu music made me switch them back on! If you love horror games, then this is a must have. I would strongly recommend this game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Dead Space
Only One Word To Describe. SCARY!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/12
thelegocow
Location: HI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Oh boy, where to begin? Lets just say I have never been so scared playing a video game. Coming into it I knew that people said it was "scary" but never actually believed them until I played it. I constantly found myself scared to walk around corners and also shot everything until I was 100% sure they were dead. Bottom line, a FUN game for any gamer looking for a good scare and a great addition to any gamers collection.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Dead Space
Keep the Lights ON
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/12
PaperMemories
Location: In amazement
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As everyone has already stated; this is a HORROR game. DO NOT let little childern play this. Halo games have a M rating when they really don't need to, but Dead Space has the M for many good reasons. First off, the game has tons of gore (body parts, dismembering, etc) and has horrific creatures that range from adult like beasts to little babies running around. Images that scar the brain.
Aside from that, this game is designed to scare you. There is no doubt about that. When something pops out at you, or you get attacked from behind, you jump. You scream. You tell yourself you are never picking up that game again.
But you do.
The game has a sickening appeal. Your at once, horrified that this game can be so bloody and gorey, but then you load up your file and realize that you need to figure out the mystery behind this game. And another great thing about this game is the weapons. You can get levitation abilities, machine guns, flame-throwers, etc. But all are awesome and completely useful in their own way.
The game keeps you on edge, and that much can be expected. For ultimate scare-factor; turn all the lights off. Play at night. Don't think your even safe.
Because when you turn around, you're dead.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Dead Space
Honestly... The Best Campaign iv ever Played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/12
xXMrHotSauceXx
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game's graphics and the sound is incredible for a 2007 release but even to add to that this is thee Best Campaign ever and the only 10 i have seen in my eyes EVER!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dead Space
Went from Good to Great to AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/12
MuffinManKillz
Location: Biloxi Mississippi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its a really good game for people who want to be scared and just have a scary feeling throughout the game just the fact that your alone and you on a ship with only you your 2 friends and over 9000 of freaky looking monsters how would that not be fun. Also has very good graphis for a 2008 game 2nd best graphics ( also includes sound effects ) for a game ive ever seen. Overall an amazing game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Dead Space
Scary and Thrilling
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/12
TurbanNoggin
Location: Erie, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
From the moment you take control of your character you're flushed with a sense of urgency and imminent doom. Watching an alien rip apart someone then having to run from it because you're unarmed is pretty terrifying. Then, Escaping by pure dumb luck. I find this game to be pretty scary. I turn every corner expecting a huge man-eating alien to jump out and kill me. The quite whispers in the back-ground of the entire game add an eerie atmosphere to the calmest parts of the game. Your surroundings present a taste of hopelessness to the ship, as if it's been deserted for years. finding bodies every so often, All in all, I find this game to be very good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Dead Space
Awesome game!!! A must buy!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
ByTor
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A completely awesome game. One of the best I have ever played and it has it's great share of action and creepy moments. A must get for anyone who loves action games
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Dead Space
Awesome game!!! A must buy!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
ByTor
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is great action-packed game with plenty of surprises and always fun. One of the best games I have ever played. Definitely a must play for everyone who loves action games. Very creepy too.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Dead Space
A well-polished fun-to-play horror game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead Space hits a particular sweet-spot for me, personally. I love games with a well-made and over-bearing atmosphere. I love games that get the most use out of music and sound. I LOVE games where there is weapon upgrading and customization. I also have a weakness for games that hit upon the lynch-pin of survival-horror games; weapon and item scarcity. There are a LOT of games (think Gears of War) where you can stick your gun out from cover and waste 3, 4, 5 clips on a given enemy. In your traditional Survival Horror those same 3-5 clips had BETTER be used to kill many, many enemies. You might not even have 5 clips for a given gun at the same time in such a game..... admittedly I haven't played Dead Space in a little while (I actually traded it in and now, in my despair, need to buy it back to prep for playing Dead Space 2) but I do recall having to make every shot count and only using certain, more powerful weapons, in special circumstances.
The graphics are very nice and everything has an eerie vibe. The enemies are freaky-enough-looking to make you jump a few times when they sneak up behind you. The music and sound effects work perfectly to further enhance this mood. I always think back to Resident Evil 4; there was a Research Lab on an island later in the game...... they place STILL makes me jump when I play that game... a perfect mix of freaky-looking-locations and REALLY creepy music. In a way, Dead Space, in a sci-fi sort of way, is more the spiritual successor to Resident Evil 4 than Resident Evil 5 turned out to be.
The upgrading system is cool; even your first little Rock-Cutter-Thingee can be a diesel weapon when you've put some upgrades into it. You can buy enhanced Armor (you wear an engineering-suit-type-thing that really isn't geared for combat... but you can make it into something that can take a few hits) which is really almost a necessity when you get later into the game.
Long story short: play this game. If you enjoy the older Resident Evil games or perhaps even the Silent Hill games (though there is much more action in Dead Space) you'll enjoy the vibe of Dead Space. It tends more towards the action side of the spectrum than some of those older games, but it still has horror in spades. You can upgrade your favorite weapons, you'll jump out of your seat a few times, and there are some really cool set-piece moments. I'd recommend Dead Space to any gamer, but Survival Horror fans and even straight-up action fans will find the most here to like; however this is a well-put-together-enough game to where even if you don't enjoy any aforementioned genre you might find yourself converted. At the current less-than-$20 price-tag you owe it to yourself to experience this series if you have not already played it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dead Space
Wow.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/12
AJay89
Location: Columbus, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Probably one of the most frightening games I've ever played. The sound design alone will give nightmares. Both the sound and the lighting puts you in the perfect environment to be terrified, not to mention the creepiest monsters/aliens jumping out at you from who knows where at any given time. There were times where I just remember standing in one place, to afraid to advance. Great job on this one, EA!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dead Space
Scary but fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
thatguywiththecrazyideas
Dead Space is a great "horror" game that has intense background noises and music that set the mood just as much as the dark rooms. The fact that something could jump out without the music changing made me jump since I was used to games giving me a heads up. Great game with cool weapons and enemies.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Dead Space
In space, only the dead can hear you scream.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
Denimatron
Location: Champaign, Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
What can I say that hasnt already been said about Dead Space? Dead Space 1 is actually the THIRD part in the series- the first two parts were comics. Anyways, Dead Space takes place in the 26th Century-Earth's resources are completely depleted, and man-kind has turned towards the depths of space for its survival. Along with Necessity, comes greed-When the captain of the Ishimura, Benjamin Mathias came into orbit of the Aegis System, he was breaking Earth-Gov law: Aegis V is a restricted area. The CEC sent the crew to the system regardless of the laws, due to the prospectors reports that the planet itself was a figurative (And probably literal) Gold Mine-Greed and Corruption are fatal flaws. Interestingly, but not surprisingly, the majority of the crew onboard the Ishimura belonged to a Religious Cult called Unitology. After an unknown amount of time had passed, the Ishimura went Dark-Fearing the worst for the crew, the CEC sent a small repair crew to diagnose the cause of the Communications blackout. That is where the story begins, and this review ends.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Dead Space 2: Severed
10 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dead Space
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/12
HALOFN4EVR
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead space is a game in which you are Isaac clark an engineer who is sent on a mission to go repair a deep space mining ship that goes dark. The game is really horrifying and is well played out. The game at some points can be a little refusing some times and can take a little time to figure out but that really only happened to me on one part of the game. So if you like zombies, guns, and so scared you are shaking and sweating with fear, then this game is a perfect edition to add to your game shelf.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Dead Space
What a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/12
mrcamper
Location: belleville, Il
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It is hard to point out anything bad about this game. Everything in it is awesome, the weapons, suits, story. The game really has it all. One thing I hate is how slow you move, not so much running, but turning around. The enemies are like nothing else and it is truly a terrifying experience. resident evil, silent Hill.....well maybe the first silent hill. I still get creeped out when I here though sirens. Anyway, pretty scary. One of the best on the 360 and would not disappoint now or in 20 years
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>