GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends

The Succulent Sequel to the Award-Winning cooking Game! Everyone's favorite Mama returns for a second helping, but this time her finicky friends will taste and judge your kitchen creations! Get ready to whip up a good home-cooked meal on your DS and find out if your dishes are truly delicious!
Average Customer Rating:
7.857
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
3
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 1479%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
Review 1 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
The Game is Pretty Fun
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/08
Claudia
A lot of the reviews I saw for this game are bad. The game isn't that bad. It gets kinda annoying and boring when you do the mode where you have to cook for Cooking Mama's family. They expect you to get everything you make right if you get one part wrong they make you redo it all over again. Which is really DUMB! But if you do the cooking with /Mama mode then you cook with her and if you make a couple mistakes on the food it is okay. But if you make a really big mistake [for example] Don't crack any of the eggs given to you then you will have to restart over. If you crack one egg though you can complete the rest of the game. They also have practices modes so you can practices some of the steps that you dont get. They wont have everything under there though but quite enough to close from. It is a pretty good game except for the mode when you cook for Cooking Mama's family.....they are really picky people lol
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
One of the best DS Games Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/09
BESSAY
Cooking mama was great! It taught me some recipes {especially asian foods}.The Challenge, Controls, animation, interface,sound and storyline was perfect! Length could've been a little bit better but overall the game was great! Cooking Mama on the Wii is slightly better than in the DS. You could feel your movement on the wii but on the ds all you do is watch the screen. This is a great road trip game so whenever you're going on a trip u should bring this game! {My parents even like to play this game}! I went to Pennslyvania one day and I live in Maryland. I brought cooking Mama with me and for the whole ride I was silent. If you get this game you'll have the time of your life!When I brought my ds to school i got a big crowd around me watching me play cooking mama. They were amazed at the graphics and the different types of recipes. Some other cooking mama versions you should try would be gardening mama and cooking mama 3. I LOVE THIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
I Love It
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/10
elissa kowalski
i had the first one and i thought it was fun until i got the 2nd one. i love cooking mama 2: dinner with friends. it is my ultimate favorite one out of cooking mama throuhg cooking mama 3. i love how each friend has different food to make. you get awards when you complete certain things. i love dressing up everything including mama. some times i had hard time rolling up things, or stirring the pot. other than that i love it. best one. id say. it is so much fun when you get to cook with her friends not just with mama. it also makes me hungry after i play alot of it. some times people would stare at me (if im playing the game in public) because ill be blowing into the microphone. i like how its interactive like that. i also have a habit of beating it than restarting it and doing it all over again. each time is different.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
Cooking Mama Awesomeness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/08
Simsfan2
Cooking Mama Rules! I will only say it takes a few days to get used to it. It can be fun challenging but that is the whole point of it. It is easier to play it if you realize what the story line is."Mama" is your Mother and she invites friends over for you to make dinner for. You can practice to make dishes, make them , and then really cook them for your "friends and family" in the game. People say it is boring but it is really really fun. It doesn't make waste of your time it actually keeps you active in the game.It is so much fun to play. You feel like you are the cook .There are so many Pro's about the game but there is one Con some of the time you can't get a dish right so you do not gain any bonuses and get new dishes.I geuss that is two but you get what i mean. i'v had soooooo much fun with this game I hope you do too.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
Looks Good!
Posted on:11/8/07
Sean
Even though the first game in the series didn't get the best review scores, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I always like something new. This second in the DS series looks like it improves on everything in the first one, I'll be picking this one up!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
AAAAAAGGGHHHH!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/08
girlygamer
The game is exactly what it says it is, so i don't know why i expected more. AWFUL! boring, boring, boring! I played for an hour, hoping it would get better, then I decided to return the game. I'm still angry about the hour of my life that I lost. Really all you do in this game is chop, slice, stir, etc. Over and over again. If you make one little error, like if you stir a bit too fast, the game stops and your food is deemed inedible and you have to start all over again. yeah. I never post reviews, but I wanted to prevent someone else like me from making the mistake of buying this game. I feel really strongly about this. The only way I would ever play this game ever again is if all the movies, TVs, books, and every other video game disappeared from the earth and even then you'd have to hold a gun to my head.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
7 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
Not really for Single Players...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/10
Toshi
Cooking mama is an overall fun game that is enjoyable. But as soon as you complete the every single recipe you realize that the game is over and you've mastered everything. I finished the game in less than a week and if you don't have a lot of friends who are up to playing multiplayer with you, it gets boring fast. This is a fun game to play but don't count on playing it over and over, as the "storyline" is quite short with only about 80 recipes in the game. The gameplay is enjoyable and overall it is a pleasant game to play. The price right now is pretty cheap but don't count on it being one of your favorites in the long run. My opinion-- You could easily finish the game in a week. Rent it, don't buy it. It honestly isn't worth the trouble.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
good cooking game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/09
Halo dude
The "Cooking Mama2" is a really good game because it teaches you how to measure ingredients, different methods of preparation, and how to do virtual cooking. This may not be true cooking, but it is very similar expect you won't get "burn" while learning how to cook. It gets very frustrating when you lose a challenge more than once, but I improve each time. I feel that most children would enjoy this game, since it makes them feel like they are learning something that would be helpful to their necessary skills of life. Overall, this game is worth your while to purchase as a gift or just for giving. So if you don't already have this game go to your local GameStop and buy Cooking Mama 2 for the children who wants to learn how to cook before standing at a stove.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
it was soo fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/09
gabrielacool8
well this game is pretty darn fun. you get like soo many recipes. i think there are like 84 or 86 recipes or something i just know it is in the 80's. well there are 10 characters and they each have about 12 foods or desserts for you to make. i got all the characters after like two hours of playing but each character only starts out with 1 or two recipes. here's a tip: if you want to get more recipes try playing the new ones.if you dont know what i mean im saying say you got the lobster recipe for ayaka dont play the ones you already have play that one so you can get a new recipe. one thing i like about this game is that you can play it in two ways: you can cook with mama or you can just play normal. If you get a new recipe and it looks kind of hard you should touch the "cook with mama" option. with that option you have the choice to practice or just cook the recipe. the difference between cooking with mama and just cooking normally is that when you cook with mama and you mess up, she will fix it. but when you just cook normally, and you mess up you cant continue cooking so practice practice practice! until you get it right.in this game if you like the way you made something you can save it and put it in your cooking journal (i think that's what it's called) and you can also put a stamp on it the only thing i dont like about this is that you only get about ten spaces to save your favorite recipes.you also get bonus's until you have all the trophies if you want this game and you arent sure about buying i hoped i helped you :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
So fun that you'll get angry with it!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/11
xXAngeIXx
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Seriously, this game was so fun to play even though it has no important goal at all. I spent hours and hours, staying up late at night, trying to master EVERY, SINGLE, RECIPE. Just kidding. Actually at some point, I got upset and angry at the game because I wasn't able to master a recipe so I'm currently re-playing the first one. Well, anyways, this is the sequel to the first Cooking Mama and it provides a lot more extras and some new characters. I was quite satisfied with it up until that one recipe I could never master...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
Fun and addictive
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/13
Wintear
Location: United States
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really love this game. I find it better than Cooking Mama 3, and it's even more difficult than its sequel, too! It's very addictive when you start, and you may just love it. The downside is when you finish and get gold medals on all the recipes, unlocked everything, and get all of the trophies, there isn't anything else you could really do, unless you have someone to play multiplayer with. You actually need a really good amount of control for some recipe "techniques," REAL good, to get a gold medal on. It takes a decent amount of practice. Gameplay is enjoyable. The graphics are above average and colorful. The sound's good, and memorable, but it's not anything special or amazing. All in all, anyone who likes reflex games or just wanna have fun, you should totally give this one a try!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/10
nik101
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I liked this game a lot but I finished it within the first two weeks. It was fun but after awhile it just gets boring. I've had it for a long time now but don't play it at all. If you don't mind doing the recipes over (you could try to master them all) then this would be a good game for you!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/12
CeCeAlldai
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is pretty awesome. It has many different dishes for you to cook and even lets you send a demo to a friend. It gets kind of hard to put down at times. This game was so fun that i cleared all my data and did it all over again!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
Okay
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/12
biggie321
Location: florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay,this game's okay but it's the same thing over,and over,and over again it's the same way every single time!The different dishes just seem the same the way you play should be different every time you shouldn't feel like it's the same ever time they should have changed the game up a bit it's really easy and annoying!I think people will like it at first but after like 10 minutes you'll just be annoyed.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
Cooking MAMA 2
Posted on:9/30/07
Breesasha
Well I've seen Video & Pictures online on other sites. IT looks amazing! NEw foods, no longer are you stuck with just making dinners. Now you can make desserts, drinks, breakfast too. You can serve your food to friends at dinner time and change what Mama wears. For people who enjoyed Cooking Mama 1, you better get cooking mama 2.
Review 16 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
looks cool
Posted on:10/2/07
dude
I saw pictures of this on another site(if you go on Google and search game spot and click on the top one and then search cooking mama)it looks pretty cool you can make breakfasts drinks desserts etc and even change her outfit I'm probably going to get it PEACE OUT
Review 17 for Cooking Mama 2: Dinner with Friends
It teaches you how to cook!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
GamerGurl
Location: Montgomery, AL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Cooking Mama 2 not only teaches you how to cook exotic meals, but it gives satisfaction while doing it. This game is fun, and I was estatic when I got it for Christmas. It's very easy and it makes a game out of every step. Don't be suprised if your children know how to bake sesame seed dumplings.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10