GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black

The Nintendo DS Lite is a high-powered handheld video game system in a sleek folding design, loaded with features for a unique gaming experience. The color screens are now even brighter and the lower touch screen provides a totally new way of playing and controlling games. Use the built-in wireless mode to share games, chat or even play multiplayer games on-line via Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection. Play impressive 3-D rendered Nintendo DS games and play all your favorite Game Boy Advance games in single player mode.
Average Customer Rating:
8.125
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
8
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 out of 3281%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
Review 1 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
"... the Lite brought back handhelds ..."
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/08
Jay Cee
The Nintendo DS Lite (Or NDSL) is an upgraded version of the Nintendo DS. And I just love the color of this NDSL, this was my second one and it hasn't failed me in a year, and is quite strong, hardly scratching against most surfaces (not knife proof or anything though). I'd like to think the Lite brought back handhelds from PlayStation and made them fun and more affordable again. The PSP (PlayStation Portable) was going to take over if NDSL's never came out! Of course, one minor flaw to the smaller handhelds, sound is almost like a disease ... this flaw was also in the Lite. It is much quieter and thus, less of a headache to parents, but less "experience" to the person playing. Some kids like to actually hear the level up or hear the gun shoot loudly and obnoxiously. But all in all, the NDSL is great for most people. For Parents: This is probably the handheld you want to get to your kids. It's not gonna be obnoxiously loud and it won't break without a person TRYING to break it. All Nintendo DS games will run on it and so will GBA (Game Boy Advance, Game Boy SP) cartridges. BE CAREFUL! The games of a NDS are very small and easily lost.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
24 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
STINKS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/12
DKplayer
Location: minnesota
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the 1st time i bot it i was sooo excited but as soon as i got it the r and l button didnt work. do not buy it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
Good for all ages.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/12
warfarefan210
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Like all the pictures say, with adults playing, it is for all ages. My parents could play brain-age over ds download play. I have a black one but there the same in a way. The ds's are for all ages from 5 to 50
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
Great system.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/12
biggie321
Location: florida
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Um it brought back gameboy and other handheld games period my only 2 complaints are 1:The mic,and 2:The graphics otherwise it's great!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
Awesome !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/11
mickey9568
Location: vancouver wa
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this system is simple. its something to get away from all the other stuff. and i mean like who does not want to play mario. kirbi . donkey kong. and many more classics. this is for the people with the feel for the old days. but is also great for new stuff. since the have a hull bunch coming out. i don't see a problem with this game device. accept that it is well worth the money and time . and the color is awesome !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
it is what got me hooked on Nintendo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/11
supercoolrater
Location: webster wi
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it started as a unknown handheld but got games of the gameboy and the gamecube exited it was the best of its time, i still have one it is a vary cool version it is a mario version.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
My fav color
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/11
121210mnk
Location: NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its really cute. (: good game system to have. entertains me
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
ds lite
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
dman2000
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
awsome system if you like this then check the gba sp i got this when it came out
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
very handy and small
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/11
j21005
Location: new york
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Now you guys all know that there are diferent kinds of ds.They have the original bulky ds,the ds lite,the dsi,the dsi xl and finally the 3ds.So since Im only writing a reveiw for the ds lite i wont be talking about the other ds,but i will be comparing them.The ds lite has the same features just like the orginal ds.,so this is just an upgraded version o the nintendo ds.The ds lite is very light and portable due its small body.When i was smaller i had a ds lite and iwas suprised by portability an the great sound.The thing that only changed with the dslite feature is the gba slot.I noticed that it came with a little catridge to block the dust out of the gba slot wheni is not used,that was kinda cool.Those of you who alredy have a original ds,you should go and get the ds lite because it is smaller and better.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
Nintentdo DS Lite (Black & Crimson)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/11
Disambiguation
Location: Minnesota
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this handheld is one of the best out there with the cool colors, sleek design, and the touch screen, you can't go wrong if you buy this.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
howmeean
nevda
 
Please wait while more information about howmeean is loaded.
Additional information about howmeean could not be loaded.
BUY IT BUY BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 8/26/12
i got this Nintendo DS Lite two weeks ago or more...any way i got home and play it for i guess maybe 10 hours or more. so i buy so many games for it like Mario Kart DS and deal or no deal and much much more so this is something for ages 10 to 500 peace out :--)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
good and small
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/11
jake1234
Location: new jersey
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
really cool and portable. affordable price comes with a game and is colourful.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Game Boy Micro System - Used
9.4 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
it's goooooooooood
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/11
beavis81
Location: Gas City,IN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
my wife bought me this system on v-day of 2008 it's ben 3 years latter and i still play it every day i've droped it on cement the floor the road ect and it just keeps on tickin ........ since then nintendo has come out with the dsi dsi XL and soon 3ds and honestly i dont see a reson to buy these other systems because i still play alotta g.b.a. games for one and for two i play alot of band hero and guitar hero games and u cant play those with a dsi or 3ds because theres no g.b.a. slot so if u want a goood system and dont want to pay 250.00 i say get a ds lite !!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
Love THIS!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/11
dolphinboy
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love the DS because it works 80% of the time and it has nice features. It has good games and it has a good price.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
Oh yay. It's the old one, but fragile... Why buy?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/11
starwarsreviewer
Location: Fairburn, GA
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Let's see, fingerprint magnet, fragile, and tiny. Wow! So wonderful! Look, I got one of the FIRST DS' and I loved it. I also still have it after a long 6 years. It had survived drops, falls, water, even my baby cousin! I dropped my Lite one time, and it broke! I touch it, and fingerprints, unlike my old one! It may have a brighter screen, but that is it. I would just buy the DSI, and I did.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
they were good but then bad
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
Biebs
Location: indianapolis,IN
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
my ds was good until it tookmy Ds about 10 min. to finally read the game. So i wouldnt buy it because they arent vary good buy a dsi or dsi xl.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Nintendo DSi Orange Mario Party Bundle
7 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
Nice system
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
TheBox
Location: Woodlawn, NY
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It's a very decent piece of technology. Pictochat, DS Download Play, but nothing much else except for the game boy and DS game function. I would recommend this to anybody, but my advice is to wait for one of the other DS systems.
 
My Product Recommendations
Nintendo DSi Blue
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
DO NOT BUY
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/10
COD Rulz
Do not buy the ds lite it is not worth it. I bought mine about a year and a half ago and loved it for about ten months . Then it just got boring. The design is poor and when I was a friends house part of it broke it didn't look that bad but it turns out I coudn't save my progress any more the money I put into that thing was not worth it I should have just bought an Xbox. The graphics are terrible and PSP has ten times better graphics. Suprizingly the sound is pretty good i was playing call of duty on it and it had some pretty realisitic sounds same with Mario Cart. It's performence is poor and it freezes up way too much. It is a helpful thing to have in the car with you on a car trip but only short ones because the batterie is so unpedicible. Do not buy this product
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ProGamer1236
Metairie,LA
 
Please wait while more information about ProGamer1236 is loaded.
Additional information about ProGamer1236 could not be loaded.
Its okay
Posted 8/2/11
Ive been an owner for this system for like two years now and i'm satisfied with my DS lite because when when i was looking for a DS back in 2009 i wanted a portable device that would play 'normal' games.So i recommend this device tokids/teenagers who want to get a portable device that isn't really a big deal o and did i mention that if you're gonna let it sit in a shelf for months without playing (like me) then dont buy it but otherwise if your sure you're always gonna play with this device then go ahead and buy it!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
uuuuuuck
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/10
pspps3man
When i traded my psp in for a ds lite someone must of hit me in the head with a hammer because i didnt know what i was doing.First of all, the graphics are TERRIBLE i dont know what the heck they used for the graphic chip because when i looked at the graphics when i was out of a nintendo trance on mario and mario looked like a mashed potato with potato skins on it.The gameboy game graphics are as terrible as usuall. I mean id rather watch paint dry than play this system. Trading my brand new psp system for this was probobly the BIGGEST mistake of my life!!!!! If our looking for a GOOD hanheld system then get the psp.The soundon the ds lite is A PIECE OF JUNK when you turn it up its either to loud or when you turn it down its way to quiet.piece out
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PlaystationONE
 
Please wait while more information about PlaystationONE is loaded.
Additional information about PlaystationONE could not be loaded.
The DS eats the PSP for lunch.
Posted 6/24/13
first of all, graphics dont make the system, its games. PSP has few good games. the Nintendo DS has Zelda, Mario, Tetris, Pokemon, and Animal Crossing just to name a few. And the GameBoy Advanced games have slightly poor graphics because that was 2001-2004! Playstation didnt have the best graphics when it came out. and also, the processors for the DS are: Two ARM processors, an ARM946E-S main CPU and ARM7TDMI coprocessor at clock speeds of 67 MHz and 33 MHz respectively.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
DS Lite
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/10
Burritosaregood
I think the Nintendo DS is a good system for all ages. It kind of hurts after a while to hold, but the curved edges help a little bit. For most games, they are not the best graphics, but it is very good for a hand-held, otherwise my rating for graphics would be, considering all systems, a four or worse. Anyway the DS has many games, most new games are a little over half the price of a new game for PCs or other next-gen consoles. What I like is the GBA port on the bottom and that some games have wi-fi. It also has wireless connections for other local players. The microphone function is kind of cool, like how you can blow, talk, or something else like that. The touch screen is cool except the fact that you use a pen, which can be easy to lose. I have taken good care of my pens so far, still on my first after almost two years. I like the settings on the inside too, how you can set the time, the day, the month, the year, your birthday, GBA games on top or bottom screen, the color of the menu screen, etc. Some of the games I like or others that some may like may be the Call of Duty games, Pokemon games, Nintendogs games, Brain Age games, Zelda games, Sonic games, Cooking Mama games, Lego games and, so obvious I don't have to say it, the Mario games. All in all this is a great system, I'd say if you take trips a lot or just want a portable system, get a DS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendo DS Lite - Crimson and Black
Pretty good, get it!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/09
cloudslash7
Well, I got this ds about 2 years ago. I sadly lost it, anyway, it is really great. It's speakers are very loud, and it's put up a great fight. It had awesome games, good graphics, great form and it's pretty compact. I would recommend to any kid looking for something to do when they're bored. If you want something with more things with the system, I would get a dsi. If you want something simple that will keep you occupied, like me, get the ds. It is b-e-a-utiful. It's not good for RPG's. If you LOVE RPG's like me, get a console like a Wii or PS3. They are great too. Again, let me say, the best thing about the ds, the graphics and sound. If you're looking for a good game, I recommend drawn to life, pokemon platinum, new super mario bros, or brain age 1 and 2. Have fun with your new ds!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 next>>