GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sega Superstars Tennis

SEGA Superstars Tennis includes over 15 playable SEGA characters - like Sonic The Hedgehog, AiAi from Super Monkey Ball fame, Ulala of Space Channel 5 and Amigo from Samba De Amigo, each of whom have their own unique attributes, and superstar tennis skills. The game's arcade style matches are played out on courts based on environments from Sega games of the past such as the lush tropics of Sonic's Green Hill Zone or the street fair fiesta of Amigo's Carnival Park to name a few. In addition, there are a host of cameos and other surprises for fans of Sega games.
Average Customer Rating:
8.636
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
4
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sega Superstars Tennis
Review 1 for Sega Superstars Tennis
Fantastic Fan Service
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/08
G-FRESH
Sega Superstars Tennis is a tremendously solid game. Think of it as Virtua Tennis with a bit of wackiness thrown in. It has famous characters that range from Sonic, Ulala, Amigo, and Nights, to even former mascot Alex Kidd. Controls are easy to learn and the graphics, while simple, are very nice and detailed. The courts that you play in also deserve mention. You get courts from Jet Set Radio, Super Monkey Ball, Space Channel 5, Afterburner and even House of the Dead, just to name a few. Needless to say they are VERY well thought out and creative. Game modes consist of singles, doubles, tournaments, all of which are Xbox live enabled, mini-game modes, and planet superstars mode. In planet superstars mode you go to each of the characters' respective worlds and complete different goals which pertain to that character's game. That's where you'll also unlock the TONS of music tracks, hidden characters, and hidden courts. It's a total blast and really adds alot to the game. Overall I think it's a rock solid tennis game with great fan service.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Sega Superstars Tennis
A Good Addition To Sega Fans!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/09
gamerexpress
All of Sega's characters together in one game...of tennis! Sega has returned all of not only their classic characters but reinvented their worlds to look like tennis courts! And included with some fun minigames set place in your classic Sega worlds & it would fun for Sega fans and/or tennis fans. The animation in the game reinvented the Sega worlds and characters to make them look better than ever. Also, the Sega characters can use powerups in the game to increase their chances of winning! It's also very cartoonish which is good for a Sega game. All of your favorite Sega characters are going be in Sega Superstars Tennis: Sonic Tails Dr. Eggman Nights Amy Amigo and more!! You can also change the challenge of the game for Normal to Hard if you want a real challenge or if you just started playing the game and don't know what the heck you're doing, just change it to Easy! Simple as that. It can also tell you the character's special abilites (Speed, Spin, All-Around, Power, etc.) To start playing, you serve by pressing the A Button. To earn your powerup, you might has to discover that on your own. If you're a Sega and/or tennis fan, this game is right for you. Or if you're looking to try something else that looks fun to you, try Sega Superstars Tennis! You won't be disappionted!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sega Superstars Tennis
Renter, not so much a buyer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/08
speen
This game is one of those simple, great games. It is reminiscent of Mario Tennis, but it is a quick beat. It's very short, but it's extremely fun! You can play with legendary characters such as Sonic, Shadow, Dr. Eggman, Tails, Aimee... ect. It's actually very enjoyable. There are like 10 places you get to go and you beat a few unrelated to tennis tasks and then have a singles tournament to unlock the character. It's probably one of the quickest and easiest games i've ever played, but it's obviously one of those classic games. I recommend you rent it instead of buying it because it's simply a waste to purchase it. The mini games are also very fun guys, go out and get this game (whether it be renting or buying) and you'll understand exactly what I mean.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sega Superstars Tennis
*sigh*
Posted on:2/29/08
A Customer
Posts like Starscreams only reinforces how the education system has failed to produce intelligent kids. Nothing but mindless dribble from him. Anyone who was/is a fan of Sega's Virtua Tennis (from back in the DreamCast days) just may enjoy SST because it uses the same tennis engine. Videos of the game make it look pretty fun and thus, it has potential. I'd imagine most will dismiss it simply because: A. Nintendo has done a tennis game starring its well-known characters and ultimately see this as a copy of their attempt; or B) see it as a Sonic game and thus dismiss it because they're dissatisfied with how Sega has been handling the Sonic franchise of late. Please, don't be so naive in believing that this is just another lame game based on what you've seen in these "previews" people write. Either do the proper research yourself or stick to your ignorance.
Review 5 for Sega Superstars Tennis
Great game, even before looking at the great price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/11
21Dave
Location: Washington DC
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Have you ever played Mario Tennis for the Nintendo 64? Some of you younger gamers may not know what I'm talking about, but Mario Tennis may have been the best game for the whole console. When I try to explain to my friends what this game is like, I always liken it to the good ol' Mario Tennis. It's fun. It's casual. And it's great to play and pass around with a large group of friends. For two dollars, it might just be the best steal in the entire store. The music is awesome, the graphics are perfect, and the gameplay is party-friendly. What more could you want?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sega Superstars Tennis
Decent, but it came with the 360
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/09
Charles Slone
This game came with the Xbox 360 Arcade bundle. It's not really my type of game but, it wasn't horrible. I've played worst. I didn't really like playing by myself but, it was pretty fun with multiple players. More of a "party" type game than a game you set and sink into and play to win. But, if you wanna have some fun play it. I can't really figure out the controls, and they always hit the ball back to the receiver of the ball. It's almost impossible to get it pass people unless they get you by with one. Kinda challenging. It's a decent game to come with a Xbox 360 bundle, and when I'm interested in something different I go to Sega Superstar Tennis. Overall its good graphics, decent gameplay, pretty challenging, just a decent game. Anything that's free, I like!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sega Superstars Tennis
Its an ok game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/09
ice 5051
This game came with my xbox 360 arcade holiday bundle. This games is a normal tennis game but instead you get to play with sega characters like sonic, beat, shadow, Dr. Eggman, gum and many, many more. Also you have a star under you and when you play good it stars to fill up and spin around and then you get your superpower. Like for example when sonic hits the ball with his superpower he hits it very fast and when the opponent hits the ball he or she gets pushed back by the spend of the ball. This game also has many mini-games. This game is not really for me because I play shooter/adventure games but if you love the sega characters, cartoon games, or tennis games then I would highly recommend this game. This game is long and very challenging as well.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Sega Superstars Tennis
wow great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/09
cB4fan18
I love this game. the graphics are great and the game is EASY as pie. You can unlock players and arenas. You have to do missions for that by the way. The controls are easy and the sound is good. Everything is good in this game so I recommend you go out and buy it today. GREAT GAME. You can also be a lot of good players. They all have some great specials they do. Which is very good. I like there specials. It is so easy. There is season mode (Its not called season mode but it basically is) and that is what gives you chances to unlock charectors settings and some more missions to do to unlock those things. So yeah I think you should go out and buy this game for the Xbox 360. It is wonderful and trust me you will not be dissapointed cause it rocks!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for Sega Superstars Tennis
Sega Superstars Tennis
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
Disambiguation
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok, so this game is not your typical tennis game as it should click by the title of the game. This game as 16 playable characters as 8 you are able to use from the start and 8 are unlockable. You will be able to unlock these 8 mystery character by completing challenges in Superstars mode. You will also unlock new courts, music (for courts), and new missions for yourself to use freely once you have unlocked them. Sega Tennis features characters from games like Sonic The Hedgehog, Alex Kidd, Space Channel 5, and many more. Sega Superstars tennis also has an Xbox Live mode in which you can put your self up to random people in a competitive game of Tennis in Ranked Match mode or you can play with friends (or bots) in Player Match mode.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for Sega Superstars Tennis
Sega's spin on Mario's Tennis. Success
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/08
Mrwiiman
Sega fans were dying for a Tennis game like the one Nintendo issued on the N64 titled "Mario Tennis". This is basically the Sega version of this classic game title. Lets get started. Camera Angle: Angles in this game are what you'd expect a Tennis game to be at, no part of the court is non seeable, perfect view off everything! Controls: Controls, um a 1 year-old could play this game, its simple. Use the analog stick to move your selected character. A button hits the ball (topspin) and the B button hits the ball (back spin). The "R" trigger activates a special shot the each character adding a fun twist to the gameplay. Interface: Fun and easy to find your way around. Statistics: If you want a game to boost your 360 gamer points fast, get this game. Challenge: This game is VERY EASY! No challenge at all unless you are a 1 year old. Graphics: For a PS2 and Wii title, amazing! 360 and PS3? Not running to the consoles full potential. The courts and backdrops are beautiful! Sound: Probably the best thing in the game. Wonderful music for each court makes you feel right there and they dont get annoying like other games. Overall: Good game and at its current price you might as well pick it up for any console but I suggest it for the Xbox 360.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Sega Superstars Tennis
A must for a true Sega fan
Posted on:3/18/08
A Customer
The game is great fun, anyone in the family can enjoy it, but it's a treat if you are a Sega fan. Sure most of the characters come from the Dreamcast era, and the missions are really easy, but other than that it's fantastic. Even if you are just a Sonic fan it's worth the money, get it, and don't pass it off as just another sports game! Don't forget that theres online play and all of the good stuff to keep you coming back!
Review 12 for Sega Superstars Tennis
what in the world
Posted on:2/22/08
Starscream
What is sega doing nooooooooo there making sonic more stupied! ever scince sega went to nintendo sonic has went down hill for me the only game that was cool they made was sonic secret of the rings check it out on the wii. I use to love sonic I played it on the sega genises and still do and sega dreamcast sonic adventures they were to good for words o and shadow the game was wicked
Review 13 for Sega Superstars Tennis
looks awesome
Posted on:3/15/08
CaribouKing
yeah, uuh from the looks of the screenshot, id say that the person on skates playing is BEAT from JSRF!!!!!!!!!!!! beat is awesome. and the tennis court in the busy urban-looking area looks like its modeled after the shabuya terminal from JSRF! that is awesome.seems like it might be a decent game. i would probably get it just to play with beat.
Review 14 for Sega Superstars Tennis
How can you go wrong
Posted on:1/31/08
Sega Fan
This game looks great and almost all the games these tennis starts are off of i have played. Lets face it Topspin 2 was not Great so this will make me give this kind of game a 2nd chance for the Xbox360. I can't wait and if you add online play and gamer score you can't really go wrong.
Review 15 for Sega Superstars Tennis
A Better Mario Tennis???
Posted on:1/1/08
Sexysteve19
From what I've seen on their website, this game could be another Mario Tennis (with Sega characters like Sonic though) but for the 360!! The graphics are exactly what you want out of a Sega game. Hopefully, the controls will be simple for everyone, but have never-ending fun.
Review 16 for Sega Superstars Tennis
This is not just a Sonic game
Posted on:3/12/08
R1der
People always think this is a Sonic game but it's not it's a Sega game and the people behind the famous Virtual Tennis is developing this game, so don't go critizising this game just becuase Sonic is in the cover, I mean why wouldn't he, he's the freakin' mascot of Sega.
Review 17 for Sega Superstars Tennis
awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/11
fflash57
Location: chesterton, indiana
this game is so fun you should pick it up i am not kidding get it for any system it will be so fun so woth 3 dollars i would pay 60 dollars thats how fun it is the graphics are awsome cool powerups
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Sega Superstars Tennis
great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/12
skullkruncher007
Location: north carolina, nc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
amazing game and great graphics overall good game gand amazing price, just 0.99 cents!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10