GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)

As its digital soul, the Cell BroadBand Engine represents a tour de force in parallel processing, which means a gaming experience that is beyond what you know today. Its built-in Blu-ray Disc drive delivers a whole new generation in high-definition gaming and unmatched digital media storage. Whether it's gaming, Blu-ray movies, music or online services, PlayStation 3 invites you to Play Beyond.
Average Customer Rating:
7.65
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (117 reviews)
10 stars
58
9 stars
15
8 stars
8
7 stars
5
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
10
1 star
9
83 out of 11771%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Review 1 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Lasted 5 Months
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
lordFRZA
Location: New Franklin, MO
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My old PS3 stopped reading Blue-ray discs. So, when I saw this, I thought I was getting a great deal. But in the end I just wasted my money. At least my old PS3 still plays PSone games, DVDs and downloadable games. This one won't even turn on (YLOD) I'm never buying a refurb again.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 2 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
DO NOT BUY
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/14
JohnColston
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had this 40 g playstation 3 for 2 months before it quit working. Also from the day i got it the fan would turn on high after a few minutes and never turn off. I would not suggest that you purchase this. I mean I wasn't planning on it lasting years, but 2 months. And it couldn't be replaced because it was past the 30 day return time limit.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/13
Ps2man
Location: Az
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Within two weeks I got the YLOD and I had only had it on for 30 minutes at the most so I don't know how it overheated. I understand that this won't happen to everyone, but I strongly recommend buying the PS3 Slim without the Super-Loud cooling fan.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 4 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Good Console, but save for new
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/13
Lewdawg24
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So i bought this 3 days ago and it has stopped working. I brought it back, full refund, but i was still pretty mad about it. I love this system, im going to get a new ps3 and ps4 when the price drops a bit, but unless u want to take a chance on refurbished, save the extra $50 for a new one
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 5 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
My PS3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/13
Ninja3
Location: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got the game, and it worked fine. About the a week into me having the system, I turned the game on & it came on with no problem. When I went to go online the game turned off by it's self & the red light started blinking. I tried to turn the game on 6 times & it never can on. I got my Marvel Vs. Capcom stuck in the system. When I took the game to the nearest store they wouldn't take it because the game was stuck in the system & told me I had to mail it in
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
very helpful
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/13
papermarioguy
Location: nyny
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this systeme is good but i recommend ps2 but over all it has good games like gtA's sleeping dogs but i know ps3 games work in ps2
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
NOT WORTH IT!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/13
rockstar18
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought this system with a warranty and after a month and a half it gave me the red light (it would turn on for a few seconds,show me a red light, and then shut down) and when I went to use my warranty, the store would not accept it even though I showed my reciept and then they offered me 40$ when I tried to trade it in. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Works but...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/13
Gpeofrango
Location: Virginia, VA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Console works fine but it came broken on the top (plastic) and with a bunch of scratches. This was suppose to be a gift and won't have time to exchange. Very disappointing.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Be sure to buy the Warranty.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
Anonymous
Location: Boise, ID
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This model of the PS3 system has overheating problems and if this system has been refurbished for an overheating it will, most likely, overheat again. So if you do buy this BE SURE TO BUY THE WARRANTY, it is worth it. Or buy a slim model which doesn't have the overheating problems. However, the newest model, the super slim, has the same over heating issue, so again to save yourself some aggravation buy the warranty.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 10 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Best system I have ever had
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
LegendaryTribes
Location: Escondido, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This system is the best PS3 I've ever owned even though its kind of heavy and bulky but it's worth buying I just have 2 flaws in the system but it really doesn't matter 1) Loud fan but it is not that loud and 2) The screen freezes for like 5 seconds but this happens like 2 or 1 time a day so it doesnt really matter to me but overall I really love this system and its graphics I would recommend this to anyone who loves online play but doesnt want to pay for it. So yeah great system great entertainment at a great price, Thanks gamestop
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
A VERY SOLID CONSOLE FOR GAMING AND MOVIES
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
sweeby
Location: northcarolina
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This console is very reliable it is like a entertainment system all in one just be careful of overheating i have heard about that YLOD. But overall if you treat it good it will last i was very skeptical on this at first but it is a very good price overall i even purchased a ps3 exclusive with it littlebigplanet.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Ps3 is the best system ever !!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
trelle
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i love ps3.... ps3 is the best system i mean who wouldn't want a ps3 its so COOL..... it has free online, good games, the controller feels great, ps3 dont overheat, and lastly u dnt need batterys for the ps3 controller..
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
ps3 is cool =)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/12
trelle
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
ps3 is for anyone, its better than xbox because ps3 has free online n better games also its easy to work. ps3 dnt have the ring of death (rod)
ps3 is just to cool like i said ps3 is for anyone.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
read this
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/12
poppa
Location: CA,CHICO
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is a very great system never got a prob;em had it since it came out the first day but in ways i bet it could get over taken and better if they make a ps4 and 5 thats my opinion
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
get a ps3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/12
dnholton
Location: ithaca,ny
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
about a week ago i traded in my xbox 360 the original white model i had for some years i was going to get the slim xbox 360 but i looked over and seen ps3 its the fat model for $199.99 only 40 gb but is alot for me so i looked at my wife and was like i got to have that so i traded in the xbox 360 got the trade value and made up the remaing balance for the ps3 i was so excited well i had cod mw2 i played all the time on xbox 360 so i got that game for ps3 and god of war 3 i got home hooked it all up set up all my settings and started to play cod mw2 i could not get into it i was so board i quickly looked up games for ps3 on gamestop.com i came across killzone 2 the reviews are really good so i returned cod mw2 and got killzone 2.the game is so awesome and god of war 3 is epic the last time i played a god of war game was for the ps2 then i had xbox 360 for a long time so i cant play it on there so when i started to play god of war 3 i was in heaven.(well maybe he**)but thats ok.i wasted about 60 bucks on the 360 because you have to pay for online multiplayer but the ps3 makes up for that with the free online multiplaer so get a ps3.please.im on my way to get killzone 3 in a few day i cant wait.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Biggamer32
 
Please wait while more information about Biggamer32 is loaded.
Additional information about Biggamer32 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/24/13
I recently sold my xbox 360 60 gb (older One) I was looking into getting another system but i dont know what to get, a PS3 or a 360 slim. Does the 40GB PS3 hold music, games etc.? Can someone help me out with what to get
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
ITS A AWESOME SYSTEM
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/12
hann12
Location: flushing,oh
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well first it comes with a build in network and xbox u have to buy xbox live 2 ps3 has great HDMI and it has great reviews and was #1 in 2011
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Still a good system
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/12
OldNik
Location: Houston, Texas
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought the 40 gig PS3 new in 07. Have used it constantly to play games, watch blu rays, and Netflix. Never have had a problem with it, though WiFi is a little flaky at times. No backward compatability on this model, but its no deal breaker. Good system, good price, its hard to beat.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BannaNAseal
MN
 
Please wait while more information about BannaNAseal is loaded.
Additional information about BannaNAseal could not be loaded.
great system
Posted 12/18/12
its very reliable and trusty and ive had mine since the week after it came out and it still works great
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
its ok
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/12
awsome1598753
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
i bought one on my birthday and it dose scann the router but my wii and 3ds dose so what is the problem it dose not fine the ip adress
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
ps3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
redskins24
Location: virginia beach
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i just got ncaa football 13 on tuseday and then today it stop working i dont know if its the game or the ps3 but be sides that PS3 is really good to play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PlayStation 3 40GB System (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/12
justsomeguy
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Had this for several years now and never had a problem with it. I originally bought a Xbox 360 and PS3 and later bought a Wii. Still have the PS3 and Wii and traded in the Xbox 360 since it kept freezing. If you want a product that will keep working and good for many types of games buy the PS3. If you want classic games buy the Wii. But stay away from Xbox 360.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 33 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
heat3032
myrtle beach, sc
 
Please wait while more information about heat3032 is loaded.
Additional information about heat3032 could not be loaded.
ps3
Posted 8/5/12
i agree with you #justsomeguy. stay away from 360 they're horrible at lifespan. they die in 1-2 years, where ps3 can last 5-6 years.
Customer Avatar
TheFirstBeast
atlanta
 
Please wait while more information about TheFirstBeast is loaded.
Additional information about TheFirstBeast could not be loaded.
traded?
Posted 8/1/12
what do you mean by traded the xbox? is it possible to trade an xbox for a ps3 at gamestop?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>