GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rainbow Six : Vegas 2

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas 2 - the sequel to the award-winning next-generation first-person shooter - returns to Sin City. Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas 2 is your last chance to rescue America's sexiest city from an escalating terrorist siege that will force you into heart-pounding action from beginning to end. The best are back and this time winner takes all.Recipient of numerous awards, including 2006 Best First Person Shooter and Best Online Game, Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas 2 will push the top-selling franchise to new heights with new gameplay features and groundbreaking co-op and multiplayer modes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75
4.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
3 out of 838%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Review 1 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
VEGAS 2 is prolly the best multi-co-op shooter
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/10
Equilibrius
My problem with Vegas 2 for the PC is the Controller! You need to by a Microsoft 360 controller for windows which costs roughly 56$. Now i like using my mouse and keyboard, but sometimes i would like to sit back and play and not sit so close to my monitor. And the whole wireless keyboard and mouse thing isnt as responsive at a greater distance. I think Ubisoft has created an illegal monopoly with this terrible feature. They need to allow Logitech controllers. I feel they need to be sued! Other than that, this game rocks! Im not interested in storylines when im playing a shooter, who cares. Story lines are for adventure games. THis game is great for those who like to play shooters with their buddies. I also like the Wall cover feature, making it look realistic. The gameplay is addicting. First week i didnt sleep! They need to add more weapons and features, but keep the WALLCOVER! shooter games lack this! It helps, and makes it interesting!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Agree with old school players
Posted on:4/5/08
Old R6 Vet
I completely agree that R6 has declined 10 fold after raven shield, I am tired of all these new games having the health regen, whatever happened to fighting your way to the end with no health packs and praying that some guy doesn't take out you or a team mate near the end. I hoped Vegas would be good, but was hugely let down, and I doubt Begas 2 will be much different. I think the only reason that I can't stand to play shooters anymore, is because they all feel like watered down versions of what I used to play, they all feel empty and just 1 huge thing of eye candy with no strategy. These "new gen" kids need to wake up and stop buying the same game with different titles, then companies might go back to producing quality games.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
I hope Mr. Clancy is getting paid ALOT
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/08
J. Clark
Because this game is, as well as the previous Vegas 1 and Lockdown, an embarrassment for Ubisoft. First off, it's another console port. But big picture-wise, this is UBI's 2nd failed attempt to make a COD4/Halo2/TF2 clone and appeal to those crowds (and that profit), while at the same time crapping all over a respected franchise that, before UBI acquired it, people knew what they were getting for their money. The gameplay has changed so much from what R6, Rogue Spear, and Raven Shield were that it is almost unrecognizable (unless of course you play the aforementioned games). The single player campaign is mindlessly boring and contrived, and the multi-player, which used to be the meat-n-potatoes of Rainbow Six games and what kept them fun 1 and 2 years after release, is still, after 2 or 3 auto-downloadable patches, in shambles and flat out not fun. Don't buy this. It's not Tom Clancy, and it's definitely not Rainbow Six.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Not as good as I thought
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/08
RSV1 Fan
I am a HUGE fan of RSV1 but mainly the online play...especially the attack and defend mode. On RSV2 the online mode in my opinion is very poor, limited respawns on attack and defend, I don’t get it. Why not let the host of the room decide what he wants to play and have unlimited as an option. and why not bring back the calypso casino, that is the most played map on the first game and I know there are ALOT of people disappointed that the map is not there and once again a lot more people are upset about the respawns. I myself enjoy the story mode but I buy games mainly for online play, you can only play story mode for so long before it gets boring. I also enjoy the terrorist hunt and like the new ranking system but even all of that cannot convince me to play the online play, I have returned to RSV1 to play attack and defend as well have many others. Honestly I wish I could have my money back, I have stopped playing the game about 3 days after I bought it....Maybe they can put a patch through to fix all of this I am not sure but something needs to be done...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Still looking for the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/08
Destry
I was hoping for a product that would be a follow-up to "Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas" not one that in every respect looks and plays like it came before "Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas" ! The graphics are reminiscent of those of 5-6 years ago, dropped weapons and AIs lying/standing "on the ground" about 4 inches above the surface. Sooooo many doors to breech, no ability to go prone, unable to jump small furniture or walls, still can't send members of the team to separate locations........also, it would have been nice to be able to save the game at more frequent intervals. With games like "Crysis" and "Call of Duty 4" now with us, "Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas 2" is a huge disappointment for me, both in graphics and storyline. The game is also significantly shorter than expected.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
one of the best of the Rainbow Six series!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/11
Gzack123
Location: UT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one of the greatest Rainbow Six games, only Vegas 1 and Raven Shield can match it... My kind of shooter, and the best shooter games have Tom Clancy's logo on them!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
A Great follow up to the original
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/08
TrenD
I played R6V1 when it came out and for many months after its release. Granted there were plenty of bugs and problems with it, the graphics were not nearly as good as they should've been. Especially in comparison to the 360 version. Now that I have played this one (R6V2) I am very very very happy. I have the graphics turned all the way up to full and they are crisp and look great. The game play is much like the first one, as one would expect in a sequal, with a new feature (sprint), with sprint added to the cover system it makes the combat exciting and intense. Yes just one feature does that. I have enjoyed hours of coop online play and regular TDM play. This is definately a good buy. I suggest it to anyone who loves the R6 series or any kind of tactical shooter. 9/10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
How is it tactical?
Posted on:4/5/08
Anonymous
Shooting around walls is not tactical, nor is being able to blind fire. I did enjoy vegas 1 but r6 is definitely not the tactical shooter it used to be. It's pretty much on the same path as the Ghost Recon games, which are a lot more run and gun ever since Ghost Recon 2 came out. Even though I would like for a tactical shooter to come out from r6 again, I still want to play Vegas 2. Main downfall I find with Vegas 1 and hopefully won't be with Vegas 2, although I highly doubt it, is that some people's machines can't run it. I can run every other modern game that has come out, but I couldn't run Vegas 1. All the next generation stuff is nice, but they should try to appeal to a broader range of people.
Review 9 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Prove me wrong
Posted on:3/15/08
Nate
Prove us all wrong by actually releasing a game that is good!!!! Because UBI has killed every Tom Clancy game since/after RvS last time they wanted our feedback we gave it to them I was actually part of it but it fell on deaf ears/eyes yes you can not make every one happy but they did not even take any bit of our ideas for those of us who play MULTIPLAYER, if any of us just wanted a single player experiance we would all just switch to consoles. Why can't these game makers understand PC gamers play Multi-Player more then those who play single player! This time around PROVE us WRONG but I wont be buying this game until I hear positive feed back from the suckers who rushed to get it.
Review 10 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Incredible Dissappointment
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/08
Bugmaster
I havent played a "war" type shooter in some time because npthing out there very appealing in long time.. I needed some action and Vegas 1 wasnt great, but not bad so i flipped down a few sawbucks and got Vegas 2. This game is simply horrible, I cant even call it a game. First off, its an Xbox port. What this means is they made it for Xbox and want to suck up extra money so they compile it for the PC and basically piss us off, because they just dont play the same... Anyhow the real truth is.. this game is not a game.. its a pathetic storyline, game where you do some urban ops, but because the game was made for xbox, which doesnt have a mouse, they decided to screw with the mouse sensativity on the pc. (Custom Sensativity with mice does not help much, I have a G9, they seriously lock out control) What this does is nothing more than tick you off as you have very little or absolutely NO control over your gunsite aim. So while enemies pop around corners, you are about to throw the mosue thru the window because you cant get the target on the enemy.. thus the enemy shoots you and with the pathetic, "wound blur" and whatnot you find yourself unable to control your character whatsoever and enjoy the "content" which is as basic and boring as I have ever seen. Seriously this game offers ZERO entertainment and will raise your blood pressure and if quality played a part in what products can be on shelves this one would be a MUST RECALL, i wouldnt play this game if i got it free and no other games exist.. IT IS THAT BAD!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Pray for the best.
Posted on:3/7/08
zack991-VD-
I just hope the game does not have the issues that that the first one had. I really hoping for the ability to have hosted servers unlike the first one did not have at all. The Unreal 3 engine is a great engine and will look a lot better since its now complete. But only time will tell, they really need to stop this kiddie health regen crap go back to what made it a true tactical game. I know I hear plenty of KIDS says it better now with it. They will never understand what the veterans of the game are looking for and what a real tactical game is. Ubi has one last chance to get it right in my mind.
Review 12 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Think about this...
Posted on:4/12/08
Bandit<HSDWG>
One of the biggest things that killed Vegas for a lot of clans was not the game play, it was the total lack of server support. I have a clan that has been playing the R6 series since the day of msn game zone, we all enjoy the series and where it has gone. However if a game is going to be truly successful then they need to make sure we have a way of admining the game properly. This isn't a request this is a requirement, so before anyone purchases this game take the time to read the forums at ubi.com and make sure we are going to have some control ... just my 2 cents.
Review 13 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
not really
Posted on:3/13/08
A Customer
Granted people did like some of the original features in the r6 games, but not everyone likes the same thing, you can't please everyone, its impossible. So they have to take into consideration the fact that if they go tactical many of the newer gen of people won't like it, but if u go "run and gun" many of the older gens won't like it. Unfortunately for the older gen peeps its a newer generation driven market. Its nothing new. Every add u see is geared toward young people. Personally I think it will be good from what I am seeing
Review 14 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
What are you guys talking about?
Posted on:3/15/08
Duyso
I have played plenty of the rainbow sixes and I find las vegas to be one of the top tatical shooters of its time. I mean I liked playing swat and so forth, but swat never had shooting around walls and some other kool features that rainbow six has. Whoever says that las vegas is not tatical must not have played the game and is probaly just flaming this game. I will tell you one thing I CANNOT WAIT FOR LAS VEGAS 2. Its going to be sweet with harder ai and more maps! What else can you ask for...
Review 15 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Why is it not a tactical shooter?
Posted on:4/5/08
KnowMyShooterGames
R6V is the pinnicle of a perfect balanced shooter between realism, cinematic, and fun! You can't design a quality game like this if it is not done by an really good dev team that knows what they are doing. R6 series has gone through a lot in the past going back and forth in its various iterations between hardcore realism and fun that FINALLY in R6V, has got that chemistry dead on right. It is both FUN and it is TACTICAL. You still have to think about your approach and study the environment to your advantage. The only difference between this and old rainbow is that the gameplay control IS A LOT BETTER in R6Vegas and it does not punish you heavily for making minor mistakes. After all this is a game! If extra challenge is required, there is always a harder mode which is much like one shot kill by npc. What is a run and gun shooter? Quake or Serious Sam are run and gun shooter. Do you run circle or bunny hop around enemies in point blank range to kill them in R6V? NO! so this is not a run a gun shooter. It is a tactical shooter that let you properly enjoy it. Both R6V and GRAW series are the top of everything measured against now. It is that awsome of games! There place in gaming history is set until something better comes along which is probably the next shooter coming out of UBI soft. If you hardcores like your oneshot, everybody wipe, super accurate npc, pointless time consuming planning that needs to be done over and over again, there is always that ArmA game that came out you all can go play.
Review 16 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Hmmm
Posted on:3/2/08
Kojak
Why has rainbow been declining since Raven Shield? Besides outdated graphics and bad AI that was a perfect multi layer game! The first Rainbow Vegas had Toooo many bugs! They also need to bring back the multi player voice commands! As well as the multi player experience all around! I'm sure this game will be more hype than anything!
Review 17 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Will it be a flop
Posted on:3/10/08
zack991
The game has been known to be the best tactical Shooters in the past but in recent years that has not been the case, where they have traded in Tactical game play for. A run and gun style game play, may view the games on its last legs if they can not return to their roots as a tactical shooter.
Review 18 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Server Software?
Posted on:2/23/08
Draga
The first Vegas for PC was plagued by not having a supported dedicated server software to host games. This ruined the all around experience for the multiplayer side of it. If Vegas 2 does not release a standalone server client then this game won't be worth touching either.
Review 19 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
looks good
Posted on:2/29/08
TheTrooper
If dedicated server support comes right out of the box the game will be good... also when vegas 1 was made the unreal 3 engine was incomplete so the game play was choppy at times, now that unreal 3 is out this game will run alot smoother
Review 20 for Rainbow Six : Vegas 2
Could be a fantastic game, if made by a better company.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/08
JD45
Let's get the good things out of the way first. Rainbow 6 Vegas has an ingenious game play system implemented with it. The Cover system used in Rainbow 6 Vegas is a fresh and unique way to go about the tactical shooter. It gives the game a great sense of tactical presence and is very unique. If any of you have played the old game "Winback" for PS2, the system is similar to that. It's a Duck and Cover system where you utilize the terrain as your protection, which can make for some really interesting firefights. You now also have the ability to create a custom character which places "you" in the game as an actual Rainbow Operative. The Story itself isn't bad, and unless you have a specific idea of how you'd react to situations the character is genderless enough to make it a very nice and rich story for you as a character to be immersed in. With that said, there is precious little "new" equipment for your operative to wear in Vegas 2. Most of the equipment is rehashed from Vegas 1. That said, the equipment from Vegas 1 was highly varied and allowed for a large variety of choices and styles for you to create your own perfect operative. So what you see is that the bread and butter of this game is solid from a design aspect. It has a wonderful Gameplay system with a very rich immersible character creation system which can really put you right in the action when you're playing. Now for the negatives. While the game as you've read so far has amazing features and super customization, it is riddled with bugs. Unless you have the exact computer that was using to create this game. Chances are you're going to run into some kind of issue with performance. I HIGHLY recommend visiting and reviewing the Vegas 2 Forums before you buy this game to make sure you won't be running into an issue that is plaguing a lot of the other customers who dropped a lot of money just for it to work below expectations or not at all. There are issues with Firewalls, Port forwarding, Native languages (yes) which can interfere with your ability to log in. If you have a good sound card, any kind of hardware acceleration will cause the sounds to overall not work. Gunfire will not register, there is good deal of Popping, mission critical sound effects, like Orders, will sometimes not play or cut out halfway through playing. From a Design point of view there is also a big issue with the "new" content in Vegas 2. As said earlier, a good portion of the Customization for Vegas 2 is simply rehashed models from Vegas 1. Well along those lines, a lot of the multiplayer maps are from Vegas 1...and before. You're looking a remake of Oil Refinery and Import Export from Ravenshield (Rainbow Six 3). There are about 3 new maps, some or most of which have reused textures from the first Vegas (like Dante's Casino). The new gun Models themselves are OK. The animations are not. Unless the animator had the ability to use an animation from the first Rainbow 6 Vegas there is a stark difference in quality. The reload animations on the new guns are shoddy at best as well as a bit inaccurate. I've seen better animations in counterstrike. As well as the hostage animations. As you're probably aware games like these usually have the budget to use "Mocap" or Motion capture technology for their models. Which is why Jung and Michael and the Terrorists look so fluid and realistic. This is not the case with the Hostages; and as well as not being Mocapped, the animations are horrible at best. Online play is laggy again. The same issues that plagued the first one are still here...and possibly magnified as well (as there are now issues with simply logging on). They have released a SADS (Stand Alone Dedicated Server) So if you can find one of them, chances are the lag wont be as bad. However, if it's not present the game jitters and stutters. I've also run into an issue with Punk Buster not working properly which wont allow me on to those servers. I
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10