GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Warhammer: Battle March

Warhammer: Battle March, the next installment in the tactical strategy game updates Mark of Chaos with a new single-player campaign that features two new factions: Dark Elves and Orcs & Goblins. All of the existing factions will also receive new units, and new online modes will also be added to the mix.
Average Customer Rating:
6.929
6.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
10 out of 1471%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Warhammer: Battle March
Review 1 for Warhammer: Battle March
Good Game, Bad Controls
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/08
Mr.Blib
To all of you out there who like to play hardcore strategy games this is the one for you. But I would recommend that you buy this for the computer. Right now I still haven't mastered the controls, but it is getting in a better and better game the more I learn them. So if you are not interested learning the controls on the Xbox for a game made on the computer then just get it for the computer. Though the graphics are good and the gameplay is similar to a mix of Rome Total War and Age of Empires, this game will seem like it's the worst game ever for a day or so if you get it for Xbox. All you need to do is dedicate yourself to learning the controls and I promise you will like this game. Another good idea is to rent the game first. If you can't stand the controls then don't play it. But if you do then go buy it. What I am trying to say this is a very good game, but it would have saved me a few hours if I had got it for computer. It is a good game either way, computers just easier to learn.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Warhammer: Battle March
Great translation of an excellent game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/08
Swampfox01
This is an excellent translation of a great strategy game to the 360. Some have complained about the controls, but if you play the tutorial and practice with only a few units, as you can in the opening chapters of any of the 3 campaigns, you will quickly get used to the controls. After about 1 hour of playing, i was able to issue all commands effortlessly. The graphics and sound are excellent and the gameplay is very deep. For skirmish mode you can completely customize your army from something like 6 races and over a dozen factions (each race has about 3 factions with unique units and bonuses). You can further customize each unit with weapon, armor, champion, banner, and other such upgrades. The heroes can be further customized with magic items and dozens of skills via three skill trees for each hero type. I highly recommend this game. It has a little bit of a learning curve since the controls are complex, but this allows you to quickly give many different types of orders to your units on the fly.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Warhammer: Battle March
Good Stuff
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/09
GorrilaKrack
First off you need to understand this is a Strategy game, not Halo, not GTA, not Call of Duty, a STRATEGY game. It's not designed for you to pop the game in and just start mashing a couple buttons and running through enemies like a god. With that being said, there is a learning period to get used to the controls. If you do the tutorials youll be good to go. I've only put about 2hrs in so far and am loving it. It really makes you use the ole brain to achieve victory. The campaign part of the games starts you off slow and easy, with only about 3 armies to control. You can upgrade your armies weapons, armor, morale and some other things. There are also a good selection of troops to pick from such as swordsman, archers, spears, etc. After a battle in campaign mode you get a chance to go to towns and upgrade, heal and many other things to your army. You also get to distribute hero points. Hero's are a character you can associate with an army and they have special attacks. You get to upgrade these guys pretty heavly as well. The game play is pretty straight forward. Command your armies to achieve victory. However it's easier said than done. You have to be crafty to get a victory, while keeping the majority of your army alive. If you like strategy games along the lines of Warcraft (not WOW), but the original, I'd say pick this up.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Warhammer: Battle March
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
Apollo James
I have had this game for a week now and I have to say it is a great game. The Challenge is excellent and the story will grab you and not let go. I have been playing as the Chaos in the campaign and I have to say. It is really good. The battles are a challenge, you have to outsmart the AI and out maneuver it. Also the hero's and their abilities are good. I also like the duels they can have against each other. Again this is a great Strategy game. I would recommend this game to anyone who likes a good challenge. The controls are a little hard to get used to, but that is what the tutorial is for. To teach you how to play with the controls, but after a while you get used to it. Also, I love the massive battles you can have and the unique units at your disposal. If you're a range person you have the range units, but if you like to get up close and personal, then the infantry is for you. Again I would recommend this game to anyone who likes a good strategy game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Warhammer: Battle March
Warhammer: Battle March is a Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/08
Madmac55
Warhammer: Battle March is a Great Game, I picked up this game at EBGames in Saint John, the day that it came out, and brought it home, went through the tutorials , read the manual, then started to play the game, I love this game, the story draws you in, the missions are a lot of fun,they are challenging, but very good. I am not that far in one of the campaigns, as I don't have much time to play the game,just a couple of hours after work each evening, and have enjoyed every minute of the game so far. This game is highly recommended by me ,if you like strategy games, pick this game up, you will not regret it. I do not have a computer system that can play any of the newer games that come out for the computer, and am quite happy that this game was released for the xbox 360 system.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Warhammer: Battle March
Great gameplay, complicated structure.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/11
Pqsurfing
Location: Beaufort, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok, this game is based off of a tabletop strategy game, so don't expect yourself to be able to jump into the campaign and start kicking booty. Since its on consol, they controls are VERY complicated, I would say get it for PC, but if you don't mind learning them, then go ahead and get this. No the graphics arn't that great, but the gameplay and the story make up for it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Warhammer: Battle March
Made for real Hardcoregamers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/12
MarleyHead
Location: San Antonio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the type where you have to savor units and pick them wisely. Best thing to do in a game like this is actually try to be strategic not like Gears of war where you barge into a new level and bayonet some guy, you really have to think out your plan before you play. Each unit is good against something else such as pikemen are good against horsemen and so on. Another thing you need to take into consideration is your hero. The hero is the tank in a match, but still the hero can be over run that is why you need to use the special abilities or powers then you might have a chance. Overall this game ( in my opinion ) is not made for kids with a trigger finger if you really want a strategy challenge this your game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Warhammer: Battle March
Rent it first
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/08
Negoksa
First off I'll say RENT this game. don't buy it! If you like it after you rent it then buy it. The user interface is extremely over-complicated. In order to select a troop, you have hold the right trigger down, while pushing the left stick in the direction of it's picture, and push the 'A' button. Using abilities can sometimes be more over-complicated. The army customization menu is a decent feature, but it doesn't make the game any better. You can change the banner, color, and slightly change the look of your unit. As far as the game-play goes, it's pretty boring. There are no buildings, or strategies. all you need to do is make sure your army is stronger then your opponents. Just group your units together and walk around the battlefield until you find them. No buildings to create more units either, what you have when you start the battle, is all you get. Heroes duel each other, but all you do is hold down the right trigger, the left D-pad, and hit A, B, Y, or X, every few seconds. I'm disappointed and upset that I spent the money to buy this game, before I rented it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for Warhammer: Battle March
Terrible!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/08
Mikey P
Do you guys remember those great NES Warhammer games like Shadow of the Horned Rat? Well, sadly this one misses the mark. Instead of taking the simplicity of those previous games, and combining better graphics and an engaging story. They went for the overcomplicated controls with a very poor GUI. Guess what that means in real time strategy? Disaster! Most battles, I just group my guys together and send them charging around the battlefield. You would think, with a widescreen LCD TV in 720p, I would be able to make out the unit commands on the GUI. The commands just look like blobs. Even worse is the terrible Hero duels. To use a item hold LB, while squeezing RT, aiming to item with leftstick, while depressing A. Yeah, I exaggerated, but it's that stupid. Don't look to the manual for any help either. I will be in mourning, for the loss of my hard earned dollars.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Warhammer: Battle March
OH WOW I CANT WAIT!
Posted on:9/1/08
Adrian Lopez Pie
It is better to get something than nothing. Being a fan more towards WHFB than 40k ill take this. This game from what I have heard and read is suppose to be improved and better than its counterpart on the pc and well being a dark elves player myself I couldn't be more excited. i guess one of the things I'm eally hoping for, is if they throw in tomb kings, vampire counts, Skaven etc. it would be a great idea for down loadable content but i think thats just wishful thinking. so heres to hoping for the release date to come quicker!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Warhammer: Battle March
Do you give it a chance?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/10
Used to be warhammer lover
Well, i was looking for a game where you run around in a massive army like dynasty warriors, i love warhammer so even though this is an RTS i gave it a try. and i played every warhammer 40k RTS game and installment for the PC and loved them all. I had high expectations, good graphics, amazing animations, cutscenes, finishing moves in the fighting, all of which the PC version has! well picked up this game and got it home, threw it in the xbox and seemed ok at first. i quickly realized you better have a laptop or splitscreen on your tv on cause the units take so long to move that you need something else to entertain you while your playing. So i played the first level, ok easy enough, went to the the second level, wow, alot more difficult! after losing my hero i failed the mission and decided i needed to play the tutorial to learn a little more. played the tutorial and got so bored and frustrated with the bad instructions in the tutorial i had to turn it off, YA! the tutorial was frustratingly difficult! out of the 100+ games ive owned i have never had to return one before or even thought about it, i cant believe i considered it. after work the following day i went to return it, (thankfully i bought used.) I went to gamestop to return it, they ended up being closed since it was sunday. So i figured, well i have it for another day, maybe i should give it 1 more shot. played the tutorial again, actually got through it this time! sweet! still slight difficult with explanation. but i still beat it. i replayed the second level, cool got through alot of it, unfortunatley the controls are horrible, cluttered, and rediculous! i would need to study them like i study in college to memorize it.. no joke, they might as well given me a 40 button controller for this. CONTROLS ARE TERRIBLE, i hope you understand that. you try selecting one hero and you get a million men, "click thumbstick to select everybody on screen" yet when i click thumbstick it selects everybody on map. anyways i ended up horribly outnumbered with no idea how to take down enemy numbers before they got close enough. the long range soldiers were pitiful at minimizing enemies and i could not fight close because of the massive outnumbering. got close to the end, and was horribly outnumbered again and lost my hero. sat and decided to try again or stop waisting my time. i thought, well i want to try the skirmish, when i played warhammer (the actual models) i played skaven, so i went to Skirmish mode to play skaven, game claims you can play 6 armies. went into skirmish mode, and couldnt figure out how to change my army! no instructions on how to help me change my army! all i wanted to do was play skaven! i guess not! after spending 15 minutes in the Team/Army menu, i gave up, and decided to just play the skirmish on the only army they would let me. Elves, cooool :( i started the skirmish and told my army to start walking, after about 45 seconds they moved 10 feet... ALRIGHT! ENOUGH! i chose to stop waisting my time. I loved warhammer and cannot believe out of all the games i have to return, this has to be it! ive never writen a review before, and this game was so terrible it drove me to this time. im sure i left out more. but i think you get the picture, I would not recommed this to anybody unless you want to as a prank. i hope this helps anybody with this decision to buy this or not.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
7 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RPGsandFPS
gilbert, az
 
Please wait while more information about RPGsandFPS is loaded.
Additional information about RPGsandFPS could not be loaded.
Not the right genre for you
Posted 7/27/12
Strategy games can be boring you should be prpared for that
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Warhammer: Battle March
Did not satisfy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/08
The Orc that got took!
I just got this game because it looked promising with the graphics and all the types of fantasy factions you could be and customize your army. DON'T BUY!. The controls were bad. It felt and played like the old xbox playing full spectrum warrior. All you do is just SELECT each unit and move them around zooming in and out. You NEVER tap any buttons or can move without selecting the unit(s) to fight, like how most REAL games are played. After selecting the unit to an enemy it does auto fight for you. You don't even feel as if your in control. The graphics are not 360 standard. I do like the idea of all the different orcs and monsters etc, but you still can't customize them fully. I have 42 inch widescreen tv and it still did not satisfy!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Warhammer: Battle March
Really Fun STRATEGY Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/13
gunnerman211
This game is really fun and has some really good customization options for your army. It is also a lot unlike most other strategy games like command & conquer because you control massive armies. It requires actually thinking although the controls can be a bit complicated all the more basic controls that you need are easier to remember.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Warhammer: Battle March
Great Game But Confusing
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/11
Kasrkin
Location: Kindred,ND
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game two days ago and I finished the EMPIRE campiagn yesterday. I started playing chaos now and it is fun, but I had no idea what is good against what. The game doesn't need strategy. Just send your troopers en masse and you will probably win. The heros are a waste of time, they were hard to use. To cast a spell you had to hold the right trigger, hit left/right on d-pad, and press y, x, b, or a. I am kinda iffy on the recommendation, but any player looking for a game to hold you awhile this is it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Warhammer: Battle March
Play the tabletop version instead
Posted on:1/22/08
whfb-vet
This is the port of the PC game Mark of Chaos with the new expansion coming out. The graphics, sound, and gameplay are all the same. The game itself is lacking a lot of things you would expect from this franchise. You basically don't get to build a hero like the tabletop game, and this is live action so it doesn't allow you to take turns like the tabletop version either. If you play whfb tabletop, then just keep playing that. If you have no exposure to the tabletop game you'll probably like this a lot as a RTS.
Review 16 for Warhammer: Battle March
looks great
Posted on:12/18/07
evaneezer scrooge
There isn't much out for it, but I'm excited that a warhammer game finally came out for a console. I don't use computers much. I advise everyone to go to youtube and look at the trailer. I just hope it's rts or based closely on the fantasy battle game. Playing as a single character isn't attractive in a warhammer game.
Review 17 for Warhammer: Battle March
Table Top Meets Console
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/08
Roth Darkshield
Warhammer: Battle March for the X-Box 360 is an excellent Strategy/Tactical game, in that it takes away the feeling of who can make more units faster and overwhelm the enemy. In Battle March there is no base building, resource gathering or researching during the levels allowing you to focus on the battle itself. In the campaigns you recruit units which you can upgrade and level up (which increases the squad's population cap) to follow throughout the campaign and at the start of each level you are given a certain amount of slots for troop allocation (so it isn't simply about overwhelming numbers rather then having the right units for the right situation). The Campaigns are extremely well scripted and thought out with optional missions which are worth the risks they bring (rather then simply having a few optional objectives thrown in as an afterthought. For those of you familiar with the Warhammer games, the game includes chaos (Undivided, Khorne, and Nurgle), The Skaven, Orks & Goblins , Dwarves, The Empire, High Elfs, Dark Elves, and Mercenaries. For Multiplayer games each player has a set amount of gold with which to buy heroes, units and if desired siege weapons. Each player then has an allotted space to set their army before beginning the match (much like the table top). The Morale and Cover systems which Warhammer and Warhammer 40k RTS games shines here allowing a couple of well placed spells or abilities to cause entire regiments to flee and the Hero battles can seem truly epic once they start getting to higher levels. Enemy AI is excellent and fits the difficulty levels you set for it well. The only downside I have come across in playing this game is in the controls which while difficult at first begin to flow as you play. Selecting troops on screen and all of your troops requires little more then pressing down a joystick though individual troop selection forces you to pause the game using their radial menu (though you can select them with the cursor easily. Setting regiments to certain functions and formations is a breeze as is switching between heroes to chain some of their crippling abilities. (The Game also has an advanced controller scheme option which makes it go easier once you know what your doing but it will leave you with many "No, I didn't want you to do X I wanted you to do Y" from hitting the wrong buttons. All in all I would Rate Warhammer: Battle March an 8.5/10.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.