GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Borderlands

Lock, Load, & Face the Madness ! Get ready for the mind-blowing insanity, as one of four trigger-happy mercenaries, taking out everything that stands in your way. With its addictive action, frantic first person shooter combat, massive arsenal of weaponry, RPG elements and four-player co-op, Borderlands is the breakthrough experience that challenges all the conventions of modern shooters. Borderlands places you in the role of a mercenary on the lawless and desolate planet of Pandora, hell bent on finding a legendary stockpile of powerful alien technology known as The Vault.
Average Customer Rating:
8.414
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
5
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
25 out of 2986%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Borderlands
Review 1 for Borderlands
THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/12
XxR4G3xX
Location: Cardboard Box
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Graphics are really cool and weapons are unique.Gameplay is so much better than COD or BF. Just Pure amazingness.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Borderlands
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/11
Leo9000
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Out of all the games I played Borderland is number 1of 10
 
My Product Recommendations
Borderlands Zombie Island - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
9 out of 10(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Borderlands
Master Game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/11
SoupCanFreak
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Borderlands is an amazing game for anybody! you do not have to have any skill. i love this game because you have thousands of weapons to find, many classes, character customizations, perks, and Replay value is amazing! i only can think of one thing to complain about. That is the fact that they should have increased the level cap in the expansions. Speaking of the expansions are AMAZING! tons of new content and unlockables! MY preferred class is absolutley 100% the hunter! but the thing about this game is the fact that you can be any class and use ANY guns! The point is to Buy this game now!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Borderlands
A Beautifully Constructed Masterpiece.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/11
Denimatron
Location: Champaign, Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Borderlands is the BEST RPG/Shooter that I have EVER seen-and I would know, I've seen ALOT of RPG's and Shooters (Very seldom have I seen a combination of the two.) and this just makes me feel stunned in the wonder of this sensational game. While there may not be much to see in the wastes of the average areas, each little nook and cranny looks well made, and epically detailed. Very few games have grabbed my attention like this (I.E. Half Life, Half Life 2, Halo Reach), and fulfilled my thirst for plot. My suggestion: Get this game-you wont regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Borderlands
BORDERWIN!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/11
k9chris
Location: Aubrey TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Borderlands is an FPS (first person shooter) and an RPG (role playing game) combined, this is know as an RPS (role playing shooter). GearBox did an excellent job on creating such a game. I currently own the game on the xbox and I am getting it on the PC, and who could come up with such an Idea of 87 Bazlion guns... Ok ok, im getting excited, we dont actually know how many guns are in the game but I can tell you this, the game has a gun generator that makes new guns each time. if you do get the same gun without modding your very lucky, the only time you can aquire two of the same gun is a boss or vending machine, or you just found it by chance. on to the rest of the game... The map is very big even bigger if you have all of the DLC. The graphics are a bit new and cartoonish but you get uesd to it after a while. There is way too much to explain for the game, its just something you will have to play for yourself... Overall the game gets a 10 out of 10, BUY IT NOW
 
My Product Recommendations
Fallout 3
8.9 out of 10(66)
 
 
 
Fallout New Vegas
7.3 out of 10(51)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Borderlands
One of a kind
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/11
ReDzOmBiE94
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
with over hundreds of unique weapons, sheilds, and upgrades to choose from it makes this game one of a kind and fun to play and takes a long time to get bored with unlike many other games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Borderlands
good graphics,good gameplay
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/11
52zz
Location: Tegucigalpa
This game is perfect for: party gamers
all the cartoon graphics and gameplay,any last word,wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Borderlands
alright
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/10
idkwatmynameis
Location: ct
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is amazing with unique graphics but there are some repetidive misions or ones that you'd have to go back and forth witch is a real pain but in the begining you may have some trouble getting started because of the first boss you meet 9 toes but it gets easier and more exciting as you go on.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Borderlands
Overhyped, Boring, poorly designed game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/10
Ric
This game is awful. Runs poorly, even if you go past the specs, and turn all the graphics options as low as possible. AI is stupid. If you are a sniper its as if it is just a shooting range where they run back and forth in front of you so you can line up the sites, with meelee chargers mixed in. You will see the same 5 or so enemies over and over for the first few levels. Can't speak for the whole game because I can't stomach past level 17. Why? The games biggest design flaw, you can't save. They have save points, where if you die (or exit game to come back later ) you respawn there. So, lets say you get all the way through a mission that took you a half an hour to get to the boss, then you die, you can't go back to a recent save, you have to hope the most recent save area is close to the end. Worse than that if you exit the game and want to come back you start from the beginning of the entire level, with every enemy you killed respawned. Yep, you'll have to do the ENTIRE level over again to get to the boss that will probably kill you many times in a row, then if you get sick of it and quit, you have to start from the start of the entire level next time you play. Way to make a game frustrating. Did I mention that enimies respawn behind you as well. Yep, say your in a hard map, you run back to get away from something and everything you just killed will be there again, all in the same place. To add to the frustration, you have to hit an enemy in the head to take them down with one shot, otherwise it's at least 5 no matter how much damage you do......because of shields. Everthing is super hard to kill and takes lots of shot to kill, unless you get the head shot in. It just makes for a game that is boring, it feels like they added shields and the damage system just to make combat take longer than it has to, to make the game seem longer. Combat feels like all the enemies do massive damage to you and you have to either get the head shot in on them or peck and run.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 82 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rabiesdemon
 
Please wait while more information about Rabiesdemon is loaded.
Additional information about Rabiesdemon could not be loaded.
Posted 6/19/12
Well i guess everyone has their own opinion
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Borderlands
Borderlands, Set a New Mark for RPGs
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/10
SlicTrix
I must admit at first I was taken back by the comic book graphic style look of Borderlands, I was thinking Comic Zone an early Genisis title. But half way thru the first lvl I became consumed by the game play and challenge and once I got to spend skill points I was hooked. Take 2 really made this game work with it's 3 DLCs and RPG game style layout and gameplay. I really must say after playing thru it with all 3 DLCs twice that even now as I am on my 3rd play thru, that it still holds my interest and attention to the point of addiction. It is so wild fast and free but has the RPG feel and play that it just keeps you coming back for more. Not only does the game grow and get better everytime you play thru it, But it just grows on you too and you almost become a part of it in a sense that you feel despare and want the revenge that follows the story line. A Must Have, One That is a Classic BTW some say the story line isn't that great and all I can say is that OH Well it was right to the point and got the game going to where you and I made our choices and continued the story out to the end to suit our own purposes. I Honestly enjoyed it all and still do.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Borderlands
PURE EPICNESS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/10
Natehalo75
when I first bought the game I thought am I going to like it cause i just had $***** to spend. But I am glad I spent that money the Graphics are good and the interactions with the AI are so responsive.not like some other games where they lagg to every button push. the story line and gameplay are excellent as well as the fact of leveling up to make you more powerfull. I like the collecting style of finding mods aswell as weapons. This game never gets old as it is never the same the characters change each time you play it again not to mention the loot you find throughout the game and also in hidden places and a special gun from A CHRISTMAS STORY called the Rider.Besides that the game was well worth the money and time spent playing it. the one thing i left out was the difficulty it starts out as easy but it becomes challenging so if you cant wait to level up.( thats why there are side missions as well to get Weapons,XP,loot,). I would recommend the game to any gamer i met possibly the best game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Borderlands
amazing game overall
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/10
atlas192
at first, i was really unsure about buying this game, i had heard good things, but the graphic style really didn't go to well with me. But after a while of playing the game and watching gameplay videos, i was sold. The best thing about this game is the gameplay, its always make you want to play more, and never gets dull. the story line was fairly good although at sometimes it just seemed that it was making me do the same thing over and over again, but this would never last long and it would shake things back up again. The difficulty of the enemies was great. and it was never overly hard but still many challenges that would have to think about to get around. Another great thing to mention was the boss designs were amazing, not a single one was just sit back and pull the trigger, they all had something unique you had to do. My only complain about this game is that at some times there would be the odd glitch, but nothing game breaking, the odd model stuck or texture bug. All-in-all a very good game, and if you haven't at least tried it, its worth renting it and trying it out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Borderlands
As close to Role Playing nirvana as you can get
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/10
HBK Dew Man
I have owned Borderlands for close to two months and during the time I have been in possession of this game I have continued to be enthralled by this game.Overall i would give this game a 9.5 out of 10. The challenge that this game has is not 100% apparent in the start of the game but if you go to fast in the game you will find a high degree of difficulty which can cause disinterest but if you try to level up before retrying a mission. One of the most creative aspects that this game has is how the game is presented. The graphics make it seem as though you are in animated universe but upon looking at how the game play works there is no other way i would have it. The controls are easy to memorize and it is usually quick switching between weapons even if you cant memorize the hot keys for the four weapons you can have equipped at a time. The sound of the guns is outstanding and the sounds are almost as numerous as guns though the dialog can get repetitive, though it is always entertaining to hear a physco or maniac yell "Strip the flesh, Salt the wound!!!!". The only thing that is not perfect about this game is the story. It is short, though at the end of the first play-through you have the opportunity to play through again except it is far more challenging so be careful we taking that risk as you keep all your guns but it is extraordinarily harder, and there are three DLC's that will extend the game which I do not have but I heard good reviews about them.The other problem is the lack of involvement the characters have in terms of verbal dialog. There is next to none though it is always good when it is apparent. That is my review of Borderlands.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Borderlands
Great...Until the End
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/10
MojoMagic
I just recently beat Borderlands. I thought it was a great game with an exciting story line. I love the idea of being a treasure hunter and looking for the mysterious vault like everyone else. Once I got to the point where you start collecting the pieces of the key, I got excited about getting too the vault. Once I was racing to the vault as the mysteriously lady was talking to me, I was super into it! But then once the vault was opened (SPOILER ALERT!) and that tentacle monster came out, my heart sank. Then the monster died and the game ended...WHAT THE HECK ABOUT THE VAULT!? So the vault was just a house for the big monster? Also, they never explained the mysterious lady. It just ended abruptly. Terrible ending!! So overall, the game was fun, but the ending will make you feel suck with disappointment.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Borderlands
Helluva' ride!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/09
Stevendh
At last, a game that lives up to it's hype! Once you get by the cartoonish graphics, this becomes a great game. The unreal engine runs like a champ. So much to do and explore in the far out fringes of Borderline, I can't imagine this one getting old very soon. Lots of great weapons. The vehicles are great fun to drive for a change too. Lots of great baddies to dismember in a million different ways never seems to get old. I can't wait to see what this game still has to offer and try the different characters. Haven't played online, so I can't comment on that. If you're looking for a new RPG and 1st person shooter game, look no further, this is it. Game play is addicting and I haven't said that about a game in a long time. This game is worth the price in a world of overpriced games. Get this one......
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kleetus7
 
Please wait while more information about Kleetus7 is loaded.
Additional information about Kleetus7 could not be loaded.
An excellent FPS.
Posted 4/19/11
This is an excellent game that combines RPG elements into a first person shooter game. From the beginning, you have choices to make: what class will you be, what kinds of weapons will your character be proficient in, will your character be a support character or a tank? The choices seem to be endless. Not only is the gameplay good, but the plot grabs your attention and keeps it until the very end. Not that you have to beat the game quickly. There are tons of other side missions you can do to earn extra money, experience, and better weapons. If you should get bored with your character, you just create a new one with a different class. The different classes are all played completely differently, and makes it feel like it's almost four games in one. In addition to the openness, gameplay, and plot, the graphics are excellent as well. They're not Call of Duty style realistic graphics, but they're much more cartoony, very comic book-like. I recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a good FPS, good RPG, or even just a good game in general.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Borderlands
Boarderlands is Crazy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/09
Noah Caron
I love this game. Anyone eho can should get it, their isn't a ton of rpg but their is some rpg i love the fact that it is first person all the guns and missions are all really fun. Anyone who can get it should, the live is my favorite part out of anyone. You get matched with 1-3 other people then you can d missions that you migh be stuck on or just simply freerome. The map is huge just not all at once. Just read the name of the game Boarderlands all the areas are all seperate but really big. The classes they have are really. Even thoe ones a girl still try her she goes invisible and makes explotions inbetween faze walks. The big guy he boxes he just keeps punchs everytime you click the LT and RT. The soldier he drops a TURRET ya its awsome you can make the turret regenerate your ammo and health if your close enough to it. The hunter he throws birds. The birds attacks things and make them drop money. The gameplay the wepons the rpg what eles could you want in such a great game even LIVE
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Borderlands
if you are having stuttering issues
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/09
Liq
I was having similar issues as Harley Man 54 or whatever his name is. I waited a week for a pc patch to no avail so I tried using the beta 195 nVidia drivers after deleting and using Driversweeper to remove any old driver remnants. It worked like a charm and I've been playing for a week solid with no issues. It is a pain to get into a co-op game on occasion, not to mention microphones stay hot so if some idiot isn't using a headset it will wreck your ears. If you want this game for co-op on pc I would wait until the first patch to see if the connection issues improve, but beside that the game is a BLAST! With upcoming downloadable content and character progression this game can truly have some staying power as long as it is properly supported.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Borderlands
As good on PC as it is for consoles...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/09
RGordon
Challenge: If you're not prepared, at a specific point, this game will kill you a lot. But that isn't to say that you can't do specific missions if you're under-leveled. In fact, the game rewards you for challenging yourself in the form of greater experience for yourself AND your weapon proficiencies. Even if you're like me, reading and listening to everything and doing all available side quests before moving on in the primary storyline, it'll probably be a bit of a shock when you finally reach the end of the game. Sure, there's playthrough two to fight through, but you've pretty much beaten the game (most likely at ~30 out of 50 character levels). As varied as your opponents will be, they're all pretty much subtypes of about a half a dozen types. Once you learn how to kill a type, you've figured the game out. Do yourself a favor and don't consult any strategy guides, because once you're through with this game, there really isn't much else to do other than start a new character. *** Graphics/Animation: There isn't too much to say about them alone. The design is solid, but without the story and pretty cel-shading there wouldn't be much there to set it above any other game of its type. The cinematics are short, to the point, and mostly there for character introduction. The particle effects and violence are as outlandish as I expected them to be. *** Responsiveness: What I have could hardly be called a gaming PC, but it is decent for a laptop. A 2.4GHz P8600 with 4GB of RAM and a 9600M GT video card are perfectly capable of driving this game with multiple players at high to max settings. This seems to be one of those titles that is influenced more by selected resolution than anything else. But as well as this game can run on old PC's, be sure you meet the minimum requirements, such as Shader Model, etc. *** Storyline: There isn't really much in the way of in-depth story here, but what it does is establish the environment and motives within the confines of gameplay, and does a good job for what the game is. You never do encounter the (local) leader of the Crimson Lance that harasses you over the radio for a good portion of the game, instead being shunted directly to the endgame boss. Character backgrounds leave much to player imagination (and whether or not you've read the manual) and don't seem to have too much influence on the game itself. Likewise, there isn't a whole lot of exposition as to the motives of important NPC's. At first, the game tricks you into believing there will be, but as it progresses it starts going too fast for it...either intentionally or because the developers just got into a hurry towards the end. One of the most welcome features is being able to review completed quests and certain segments of audio after their portions of the game been completed. *** Controls: There's no keyboard button for walking other than moving while sighting down your gun. I've been criticized for this complaint before ('why would you want to move slower?' ...Why?! Why not? Don't use it if you don't care about it.), especially if you COULD walk with an analog stick. But it is precisely games that allow you to walk with an analog gamepad that irritate me even more, since nobody bothered to port the function to my favored keyboard/mouse setup. To to be honest, this is one of those games where it doesn't really matter, since it's first-person. Any game with stealth, tension or dramatic aspects should have a slow movement toggle/key depression even if it's for nothing but to look cool. Aside from that, everything works out fine. It's just as easy to run, jump, shoot, interact and drive as it is to beat this game. *** Interface: Since you aren't given a 'chest' to store items, the game lets you acquire upgrades to your character's inventory space via quest rewards, but you have to locate them in some pretty odd places throughout the game. Until then, a portion of the game will be spent shuttling endless loot back and forth to a merchant
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Borderlands
PC gaming is fun again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/09
Exvideogamerincollege
I have been waiting for a game like this to come out for quite some time now, and I know some of you are saying that games like fallout and oblivion are just like this. Let me say, this game is just flat out fun! It's a fresh and innovative way to approach role playing games. It has the addiction of an mmo, and the action-packed excitement of an FPS. It starts off slow, but that's because it's mainly designed to familiarize you with the game system, but once you get past that it's "sweet sailing". The sound is pretty good, it immersifies you fairly well and conforms to situations quite nicely. The game mechanics itself reminds you a lot of how the mmos are played(i.e. button for quests, button for map, talent trees, inventory, etc.) and the quests have a compass to guide you to the spot so it's not a drag when playing, unlike WoW. I am a lvl 13 solider at the moment, and I'm just itching for more! I have played many pc games over my years, and right when I was thinking I was going to quit pc gaming for good, this game comes along, and keeps me interested. Also, the co-op mode is a big plus, you can meet people online or lan. Games I have played before: WoW, AoC, CSS, CS 1.6, HL2 series, L4d, Company of heroes, Doom, and all other triple A fps titles. You don't need a super pc to run this thing. I would say that the only users that would have trouble with this game would be folks still running vista of any form. I've had several problems with various games on vista, and I thought it was my hardware, but after I installed windows 7 ult 64 bit I saw all my games perform significantly better. So to all of you having unexplainable problems with your games, I suggest you look into getting windows 7 soon. If you're wondering, I was running windows vista home premium 64 bit. system specs: intel core 2 quad 9550 oc'd to 3.7 ghz 4 gb ddr2 corsair xms2 320 Western Digital HDD 9800gtx Asus p5k deluxe 22" samsung 1680x1050 If you don't like the concept of mmos then I wouldn't recommend this game to you, but I'm definitely recommending this game to my friends!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Borderlands
Keeps Freezing Up!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/09
Harley Man 54
Just purchased the game yesterday and paid top dollar for it. The controls work well, The story line seems to be good. Very dissapointed in the responsivness. Keeps locking up (often) for several seconds then unlocks and lets you continue to play. The game will only allow me to play for a few minutes then freezes, very frustrating. The sound continues to play even when it locks up. My Laptop is very capable of handling this game. They will need to come out with a patch for this issue. The graphics could be better. For the cost of this game it is not worth it. Will attempt to play futher on, not sure how far I can go until it locks up for good. It is dissapointing that you can not return a video game. I will not recommend this game to other fellow gamers.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>