GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm

Warhammer 40,000 universe - a dark, futuristic, fantasy setting where armies of technologically advanced warriors, fighting machines and hordes of implacable aliens wage constant war - and is played by millions worldwide. Executive produced and co-developed by Relic Entertainment in association with Iron Lore Entertainment, Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm is a complete standalone title and will feature two all-new armies, including the malicious Dark Eldar, for an unprecedented total of nine playable races. In addition to new units across each of the seven existing races, Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm will incorporate air units for the first time and introduce multiplayer medals, adding a whole new level of depth to online battles. The revolutionary meta-game introduced in Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade is further expanded to an interplanetary scale in Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm, allowing players to battle across an entire star system.
Average Customer Rating:
9.5
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
Review 1 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
For the Emperor!
Posted on:2/26/08
Skoal
This game looks very well done and will fill in nicely with the series. I'm relly tired of everybody complaining about no nids, personnally they are the worst army in 40K anyway. But anyways, flying vehicles is a very awesome addition to the series. Considering a war can not be won by foot soldiers alone and also now we have a couple planets to fight over. I'm readying my Blood Ravens chapter for a fight. Can't wait.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
nids not in but looks sick
Posted on:2/17/08
A Customer
ive loved dawn of war since the board game and i was thinking if they could put the nids in but its really impossible to b/c how would they obtain resources but the game looks amazing the new races look ehhhhh but the addition of air units is gona change the game completely the game looks sick otherwise
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
Awesome RTS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
Player1
Location: Tustin, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great Graphics! Great gameplay. Great sound! Awesome storyline and campaign! There is a different campaign for each of the nine races. Conquering the universe is so fun!
 
My Product Recommendations
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Gold Edition
9 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade
10 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
Y another eldar
Posted on:3/2/08
A Customer
If you know... Dawn of war are from Warhammer 40k from game workshop. And they Have DarkEldar. Also, there's a complete story about Dark eldar, who are they, y are they here, etc. It is very original, like Chaos marines and Space marines, they and the eldars are from same origin but their philosophy, their way of live is totally different. What Good about dawn of war (especially soul storm) is that when you are playing 4v4 online, Every one can have a different faction.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
Death to the False Emperor
Posted on:2/29/08
Eliphas the Inheriter
When I first picked the DoW series up, I couldn't put it down. I couldn't figure out why this series overpowered others. (C&C) Until I realized, each unit could attack each other. Unlike the games which you needed to build a specific unit to attack another, like an AA unit. But now we are bringing in air units, which to my perspective, could make or break the game. Hopefully there will be no need for an AA unit. But why another Eldar? The originals sucked so bad.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
This is where the 'nids are!
Posted on:1/16/08
SnistrCheshire
Relic/THQ long ago addressed why the tyranids are not in the game. Putting tyranids into DoW is not like adding masses of zerglings. They stated that they were simply unable to make the tyranids look/feel/appear in a manner which does justice to the 'nids themselves from the tabletop game. until they are able to add them in their full glory, they arent going to dumb down a seriously cool army just to put them in. On a side note. SoulStorm will rock.
Review 7 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
Response to everyone
Posted on:1/17/08
Dan
I notice all of you have said c'mon where are the tyranids and as a huge fan of DOW myself I look at it as another DOW game and I know since they didn't add the tyranids in I can look forward to another game so once i get bored of this one they can keep making more! I don't care if they make 1 more game or 4 more they will eventually put the tyranids in but until then have fun with what they give.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bartimeus8
 
Please wait while more information about bartimeus8 is loaded.
Additional information about bartimeus8 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/16/10
I really like the new races especially the dark eldars the game is awesome so i recomend it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
Dark Eldar Suck!!!!!!!
Posted on:2/15/08
DarkBeast
The Game Rocks but the Dark Eldar are terrable and some of the new voice overs expecialy the Space Marines Captain is really bad and is one of the worst in the game. I believe the game will be awsome but there are just some parts of the game that where not done to the best ability. I would recommend this game but I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND PLAYING DARK ELDAR (they really are terrable).
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
lord nurgleth!!!
Posted on:12/10/07
kenny b
yes omg i cant wait for this thing to come out i play all the games and the tabletop and have read all the books this game is gonna rock the fondation of strategy gaming with all new units,powers vechicals and two brand spanking new armies the slavering dark eldar and the vicous imperial sisters of battle this my warhammer friends this will rock
Review 10 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
Where are the Tyranids!!
Posted on:12/25/07
A Customer
I am a huge fan of the tabletop games as well as the PC version. I just dont understand why the Tyranids have not been included. They are a original and popular army. Do we have to go through every version of "Dark", Chaotic or Space Marine chapter before we get to them. I will still get them game but will curse GWS at the same time!
Review 11 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
Another addition to a great game
Posted on:2/23/08
A Customer
This will be an awesome game. Regardless of what some people have said, the Dark Eldar and Sisters of Battle will be great additions. For those who think they're bad in the tabletop obviously haven't played anyone who knows what they're doing cause both armies can potentially dominate.
Review 12 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
Not so Keen
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/08
Firraveus Carron
My first opinion when i heard about this expansion coming out last year I was like, "sweet another two races, including the Sisters of Battle". But when I heard they weren't going to go the normal route with the addition of a new ground unit and going with an aerial unit I was bummed. No Chaos Dreadnoughts fellow heretics, sorry. Even with the high probability of the air units being overly powered I still bought Soulstorm to check out how badly Iron Lore screwed it up. So I eventually got around to pick up my copy of Soulstorm at Gamestop and took my new addition of the Dawn of War series home and installed it into my PC. I did what I normally do with the new expansions and check out the new races on skirmish and found they both were powerful, but some of your AI are dumb like the Dark Eldar's Talos. Place it in Assault stance and it goes chasing a squad of Space Marines across the map. Anyway, now came the inevitable, testing the air units. Surprising to me, they're very flimsy and not overpowered at all. But again, Iron Lore left out some of the intelligence in these units. Lastly I'm covering sound for this review. The voice overs for some the new units didn't sound like the races they were assigned to. (i.e. Hell Talon) Also the voices for the commander units of the "old" races were just reused from Dark Crusade. Oh, I almost forgot about the some of the new races unit's voices aren't even there. Let's just hope they come out with a patch for this game soon. I would have liked the game better if it were to have new ground units instead of air units. But Soulstorm is still a nice expansion to the Dawn of War franchise, so if you're a Warhammer 40k or even a Dawn of War fan go out and pick it up.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
At long last..
Posted on:2/29/08
DasBuut
Man, it's been awhile since I've played the DoW series, and I am so excited for this release. Great way to attract consumers with an outstanding cover like that... I don't think a game cover has had me more eager or in awe like that until now (except for DooM3, hehe...)
Review 14 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
Dow and nids' dont mix
Posted on:1/30/08
spamburglar
I have been a huge fan of the dow since the beginning. But all you people who wnat nids' need to realize the game engine cant handle it in a good way. This maybe the last Dow game but its likely they will revamp or rebuild the engine to do the tyranids justice.
Review 15 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm
i feel ripped off..
Posted on:1/9/08
kris picman
dude r u serious? no tyranids? SoB and DE? 2 of the most pathetic armies in the entire game? dude you guys suck for doing this(although im still gonna but like the dummy i am cuz im sure it wud b a freeking great game) but seriously...ADD SOME GOOD RACES!!!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.