GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wipeout Pulse

As is tradition with the series, gamers will race along at high speeds in futuristic vehicles outfitted with weapons. New to the franchise with Pulse is a mag-strip, a part of the track that locks the vehicles onto the track, allowing them to race through loops, 90-degree-angled parts of the track, and steep drops.
Average Customer Rating:
8.857
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wipeout Pulse
Review 1 for Wipeout Pulse
Great Concept + Great Features = Beautiful Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
camomatt
Location: California, USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is the bomb. I'm going to start with the sound, which I gave a low rating.
The sound effects are great and sound like you're really there, but music is the only problem. Unlike in Pure, you're given a relatively boring playlist. It's good, but not very great. However, the game does allow you to make your own music library. Put on your favorite music and you're set to go. You will need a way to connect your memory stick to the computer, however.
The game is fun to play, but after a while it may feel like a chore. With so much to do, there's almost no stopping. It's bad for a game to have little content, but sometimes it's also bad for there to be too much.
Gameplay is wonderful. A large variety of weapons, anti gravity racing, and around 8 different teams. Not to mention the race modes, including the all new head to head, elimination, and much more in comparison to Pure. You can even take screenshots of midrace and create your own ship! Another cool thing is being able to save your ghost in a time trial. However, as I mentioned earlier, it may feel a bit repetitive.
Graphics are stunning. They're not 100%, but for the PSP, they're much better than a lot of games. The level design isn't too bad, either.
This game is great. It uses the full capabilities of the PSP, keeps you entertained, etc. Buying this game at the low cost it is would definitely prove to be a great choice and is a must be for your collection.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wipeout Pulse
Wipeout's 2nd Apperance On The PSP = AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/12
Lilrocker55
Location: Vancouver WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Wipeout has been with us ever since the first Sony Playstation. It was basically a spoof of Nintendo's not so popular F-Zero game from the Super Nintendo. Although F-Zero crashed in the sales market at the end with F-Zero GX, Playstation's Wipeout has been going strong ever since. Ever since Wipeout Pure on the PSP, fans were asking for more since technology wasn't created to where you can take your PS2 on the go. From there on, they released Wipeout Pulse for the PSP & the PS2. This game in my opinion was a great success with it's amazing new features from Wipeout Pure. The added WLAN and Online gameplay of the game added the fun of playing with your friends. It also added the feature of playing the music you have on your Memory Stick Duo in the game instead of the techno music they have in the game. Personally, this is a great success for the PSP and highly recommend this to anyone who loves fast paced racing games. 3, 2, 1, BUY NOW!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Wipeout Pulse
Wipeout Pulse Killer 5-star review!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/08
TheHomeDog
Wipeout Pulse is a great game! It is very challenging and the vehicles are AMAZING. The best part of the game for me is that you can do the Elimination mode where you try to destroy your opponents vehicle before they destroy yours. It is a great game for everyone and I guarantee that anyone will love Wipeout Pulse. The races are cool and the tracks are also amazing. I like how you can use weapons during the races. Another great part is that you can download things from the Internet, such as skins, tracks, and other many other cool things. If I were you, I would buy this game instead of any other race games. Wipeout Pulse is also great for its Infrastructure Mode. You can also take pictures during the race also! I love this game and you should too. I would give this game a 10 star if I could, but it can only go to a five star. Get this game. If you don't, you'll regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wipeout Pulse
Great Racer, Among Best On PSP
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/08
StrykerO7
I've never played a Wipeout game before, so this was my first and I truly loved it. It is really easy to just pick up and enjoy playing. The online is good, and the ship customization is great. I love the eliminator game mode, where you try to destroy other contestants before they destroy you. The campaign is amazingly deep and full of different game modes. You can always customize your own race in the Racebox mode. The weapons are awesome, there are some very cool items and explosive stuff. The sense of speed gradually grows as you get deeper into the campaign and when you reach phantom (fastest class) it really brings a since of speed that I believe only Wipeout can bring on the PlayStation Portable. This is a game definitely worth checking out, even if you don't like PSP racing games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wipeout Pulse
Review...not preview
Posted on:12/13/07
FireFryFish
I got this game "imported" so heres a brief review: 1. Great 2nd WipEout on PSP, just as good as the first. 2. Graphics are superior, frame rate is ultra smooth. 3. Crazy techno beats, also plays music off memory stick. 4. One of the best multiplayer game to own.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wipeout Pulse
BEST WIPEOUT EVER
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/10
JaNGRaViTy
Location: sacramento,ca
this is one of my favorite games so far ..tried wipeout pure its alright but i like the gameplay everything ONE OF THE BEST SO FAR
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wipeout Pulse
The Best Racing Game On PSP So Far...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/08
XClann
This game is a Futuristic Racing Game. SHIPSYou start off with 8 different types of Ship, each having it's own stats. You unlock more Ship types as you progress through out the game. You will be able to use a Ship Skin-Editor at the game's website where you can create your own Skin for you any of your Ship types or download other people's Ship Skins and use it at your own race or in MultiPlayer. You can only save up to 5 skins at a time though... MAPSIt only has 3 maps for free race, but you can unlock as you progress through the game. MUSICThey have lots of great music that fits the game, track, and the Genre. Additionally, you may import your own music to the game to play while you race in the game,, but the game ONLY accepts MP3 files; therefore you can't use ITunes since ITunes uses AAC file. Also, most CDs don't have MP3. I believe they didn't do a good job on this feature. CONTROLSThe Controls are quite easy. R is for air break right, L is for Left. Control Pad & Analog Stick is for steering and pointing your ship's head up or down. Triangle is look back, Square is use item. X is accelerate and O is absorb your item for health. If that's not good for you, there is always a Custom option where you can change the controls to you liking.ONLINEThe online feature is pretty good. You can access the Internet directly from the game and download skins directly from it. It features both AC and Infrastructure for MultiPlayer. Not really much people plays online though...STORYThere is no story, but there is a Campaign. The Campaign is no different from you making up your own races, so if your only looking for a racing game with a great story, this might not be the game your looking for.GRAPHICSThe graphics are right where they should be. It's not bad, but not very good. I gave it a 8 out of 10.CHALLENGEThis game is like one of those racing game where after you get it, you've got it. If you played Sonic Riders, this might be a great addition to your game library.SUMMARYPros-Fun Racing Game-Good Music-Great Customization-Add Your Own Music to play-Easy Controls-Online includes BOTH AC and Infrastructure.Cons-Only accepts MP3 Music Files-Pretty Repetitive-No Story-It's Very Hard to make a GOOD Looking Skin-Very Less People Online.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wipeout Pulse
good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is a hard game to describe, but you have futuristic racers, an assortment of weapons, and a narrow track. it's actually a hard racer, and it's easy to crash into walls, but it's still fun with those problems. the graphics in this game are better than wipeout pure. this is a good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10