GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Patapon

Enter the fun, colorful world of the Patapons, a small, yet brave noble tribe. Behind the Patapons' cute exterior,lies a fierce warrior spirit that can only be commanded by the beat of your war drum. For years the Patapon tribe has lived in the desolate frontier, driven from their home by the evil Zigoton army.The Patapons wait for the day that the "rhythm god" will return, to bring them back to their homeland, to defeattheir enemies and to lead them to the edge of their world. Finally, their wait has come to an end; the drums ofwar are heard once again. You have returned! For the first time, the rhythm and action genres are fused into one incredible experience. Lead a small losttribe to the edge of their world with the beat of your war drum and grow them into an army of warriors. Usingsimple drum beats, command your tribe to march, attack, and defend themselves against fierce beasts, giganticmonsters, and the evil Zigoton army. Watch as your tribe grows in strength and numbers as they progressthrough this colorful adventure. Unlock a variety of warrior types from infantry to cavalry, archers to spear-menand maximize them for battle with a variety of weapon and shield upgrades. Discover the tribal beat of war!
Average Customer Rating:
9.8
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Patapon
Review 1 for Patapon
Simply Fantastic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/09
FINISHim!
Patapon. Once I heard the name, I laughed. The name sounded like it was created by a child! I soon decided to check out what this game was even about. I watched some videos and then thought it wasn't so childish after all. It actually looked fun! I didn't have a PSP at the time, so I couldn't actually play it. Luckily, I finally got a PSP for Christmas. The day after, I ran over to Gamestop and bought this amazing game. Immediately, I got sucked in. The cute characters and music had taken me in. I couldn't stop thinking PATA-PATA -PATA-PON! At certain levels I got stuck, but was soon able to pass them with ease after I powered up my Patapon army. The only slight downside was that there was no pause button, so it affects how you play if you need to put down the game for a little while. There are about 30 something levels, which are usually always unique every time. Patapon 2 is coming out soon, with almost double the content. Until then, me and many others shall be enjoying the awesomeness of Patapon.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Patapon
Once you start....you can't stop.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/08
xXSalkinXx
I was searching through some games at Gamestop, when I came across this jewel. Patapon is and addicting game that will hook you after the first level... or sooner. Firstly, the idea to control your units with drum beats is great. It's an easy process that doesn't take much getting used to. The only people that might face a problem, are those that can't keep a rhythm. Once you've got the beat, it's easy. The units are great too. The animation is well done, and the characters are adorable. You can have units ranging from foot soldiers to mounted. You can also make create unique soldiers with a variety of items. The storyline is pretty straightforward, the Patapons are looking for a mysterious "IT", but it gets a little bit annoying when the Patapons keep asking what "IT" is. Another great feature is the sound volume and quality. My volume is at half or lower and I can still hear the game well. The one flaw this game has is the length. It's a little on the short side, but if you beat it... just play it again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Patapon
Better than Puzzle Quest!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/09
14 Silver
Patapon is one of the greatest psp game I had since Puzzle Quest! The game is about this army that has lost their homeland to another ferocious army called the zigotons, an army same as the patapons. But the patapons luck will beging with you and the power of the drums, guiding the patapons to defeat the zigotons and find their earthend and "IT". This is one of the main reasons what they are doing, so its up to you to help guide them to victory! Besides the storyline, there are also other exciting challenges such as hunting, to help feed the patapons, battles, to help your army overcome the zigotons and boss challenges. Boss challenges are also the main part of the game, there are many different bosses, each with unique abilites and strategy, are you up for it? In conlusion, the patapons were once a great army, and now defeated, so its up to the power of the drums and you to help the patapons and search the legendary "IT"!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Patapon
The best game...with one flaw
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/08
experience gamer
Patapon is probably the most addictive game out there. Fun to play and exciting as you beat the drum. I find myself coming home early and playing until late at night every day until I beat it. It's so addictive and fun that I will never sell it. I know one day I will play this game again and again. So what is the flaw? Well, it's too short. The whole game only took me 15 hours, and it make me sad to see something that is so much fun to do, and the challenge is unbalanced, because some stag is way too hard compared to the later one. It can get you really frustrated to the point that you're about to smash your PSP; especially the earlier stage. This game requires patience. The mini-games are hard to beat, and they don't tell you much about it. But you will need to beat some of them to gain devine weapons.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Patapon
Wow! Very surprisingly awesome game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/09
StrykerO7
I played the demo for Patapon, and I really didn't think it was that hot. Well, the game grew on me, and I decided to try the full version. I have no regrets getting it. Some other people said the game was 15 hours or so short... it's not. I'm already on 20ish, I still have 3 levels to go, and I'm not even close to having all the weapons/items. It's very fun to build up your army, and while it's childish a bit, it is very challenging. But with the challenge comes great rewards and a great sense of accomplishment when you complete a stage. It's so awesome to see your army and race grow and get bigger. This is a great game, and the way you control is awesome. Using drum beats is a blast (I happen to be a drummer) and it really brings out the best in the already good game. Try it-you'll like it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Patapon
the best game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/11
anto
Location: petersburg IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game that started it all if you havent play it you wish you did
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Patapon
Great Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/08
SasukeTeme
I loved this game when I tried the demo so I bought the full version. Definitely a game that not only kids can enjoy, but adults too. It's challenging and fun I also love that you can redo bosses and they get harder every time. Also, the customization is great. You can create different types of a single unit then change their armor and weapons. There are many different units you can choose to take into battle with you meaning that there are many strategies you can use when you go into battle. Another great thing about this game is you can pretty much play it with one hand so you can eat or cook while fighting bad guys at the same time. This game is definitely unique, like LocoRoco (also for PSP), and that can turn some people off before they try it. Try the demo at the Sony Playstation Online Store while you can and see if this game is right for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Patapon
i havent bought it yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/09
dragonbot678
I haven't bought patapon yet, but it looks really cool i might get it this weekend, i hope.the mini games look fun too. i hope ill get the game soon.i used to think it was boring, but i saw videos and played the demo and now im so excited to get it. the gameplay looks great and its cool to build up your patapon army and make it stronger. i cant get the game out of my head because it seems really fun. the release date for patapon 2 is in i think may 5, 2009. i think patapon 2 is going to be twice the fun as patapon. i think there should be more levels, too. if there were a patapon 3, i would quickly get it. i hope the game doesn't sell out because i really want it. anyways, i think that this game should be greatest game for the psp ( well maybe).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Patapon
a must buy for psp!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/08
persianhero
this game is very simple but the story is very funny and the characters are very cute. u start by building ur patapon army and making stronger soldiers to fight demons and monster and as the story goes you find out what is IT that these little patapoon are fighting for and they are risking their lives. you act as a god to them and u instruct them how to attack and defend and other stuff by playing a certain beat. this game is very funny and before this game i didnt use my psp alot but now i dont have time to play with the ps3 anymore! this game is an excellent selection to ur psp games and it is very challenging. it is for all ages and warning : this game is extremely addicting! that just says it all! and oh keep on PATA PATA PAT POONING!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Patapon
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/08
Addicted
I was a little reluctant to by the game. It seemed a little too childish for me. When I got the game though it was awesome! I like the characters. There pretty cute. I'm a little stuck though; I don't know how to remove single patapons from my army. Oh well maybe I SHOULD have read the directions. This game is one of the best Rhythm games you can ever find. my ratings were: challenge: 10 It looks easy, but getting the rhythm right every time and you still have to form your lines right and do the right songs for the right thing. Graphics/Animation: 9 it’s really great. The background is very define and colorful. Your characters are clear to! The only thing that brought it down to a nine was the fact that until you get later in the game, most your characters are black and white. Length: 9 what makes it long are how hard it is! Storyline: 7 the story line is good, but you won't find any type of intricate plots. Controls: 10 the only big controls you have are the "drun" buttons and they're really awesome! Interface: 9 you have all the guys in the village that help you but overall there isn't a lot of interface at all. Sound: 10 the sound is the whole point! To hear the drums and the singing is to keep rhythm. I would recommend this game to anybody that has a PSP!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Patapon
Another Great PSP Title
Posted on:2/19/08
A Customer
This is another fantastic game for the PSP, and in the mold of LocoRoco uses simple graphics and fun, unique and addictive gameplay to keep you coming back. The demo is great, and the full game should be as well. This game is proof yet again that just because we can make digital copies of people right down to the nose hairs, there isn't always a need to. Games such as this and LocoRoco showcase the beautiful 2D games todays handhelds and consoles are capable of, and how fun they can still be. Platformers and other similar genres have dropped off in fun dramatically since most of them have gone to 3D. The Mega Mans and Marios of the world were, and always will be best in 2D, and Patapon continues the tradition.
Review 12 for Patapon
Cute and addictive!
Posted on:2/16/08
Ooblah
Picked up the free demo from gamestop and was very impressed. The game is composed of you (the mighty patapon) and your little horde of patapons that follow your commands by banging your "drums." The mechanics remind me of an RGP with back and forth play; you hit a 4 button drum combo to the beat, the patapons repeat and follow the command, and then you enter another drum command. Rinse and repeat. Other RPG elements include item gathering that are used to make new kinds of patapons like spear throwers, axe wielders and archers, as well as equipment to give each. The style and art is very cute, much like loco roco that was made by the same developer. Fans of that game will find themselves enjoying this.
Review 13 for Patapon
A Beat We Can All Walk To
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/11
Spanky2lj2
Location: Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Patapon is by far one of the most amazing games on the PSP. Its unique, it's easy to play, and best of all it's fun. You take the role of the Patapon's god, and it’s up to you to restore them to their former glory. The controls are simple: each of the buttons (circle, x, triangle and square) are a beat, you combine the beats to make the army perform various functions such as attack, move forward, defend, ect. I bought this game expecting maybe a few days of play and ended up enjoying the game to this very day. The only complaint if you could even call it that would be the lack of a pause button, but don’t let that change your mind, Patapon is a must have for any PSP owner.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Patapon
Very Addicting!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/11
JaytheSk8er
This game is just awesome! the price is very small for this amazing game this game is perfect for anyone who owns a PSP if you don't have this and own a PSP go buy it!! I can literally sit and play this game for hours without getting bored. The beats' that you play are very catchy. I have to admit when I first saw this game I wasn't really interested in it but then I just decided to buy it and when I started playing I was instantly hooked on it! I think that this is the perfect psp game! and I hear Patapon 2 is better! I own Patapon 2 but I haven't played it so I'm going to play it today! So anyway go buy this game right now! P.S cant wait for Patapon 3 ^_^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Patapon
Awesome game
Posted on:2/22/08
John Mark
I was kinda skeptical about this game when I first saw it but after going to my local EB game store and playing the demo I am hooked for life. This game is so incredibly made that I cannot put it down. I cannot wait for the full game to come out. I will be first in line to purchase this title. Great game. The salesperson gave me a demo and I have not stopped playing it, well maybe to take a shower and sleep, oh and work, but other than that I have not put my PSP down. Please buy this game
Review 16 for Patapon
Fun Game!
Posted on:12/26/07
Josh
I played the Japanese version. It was fun. It's like a side scrolling 300 game. In this game, you have to press a series of commands with the face buttons, and each button causes your army to make a sound. Pata for square, Pon for circle, Chaka for triangle, and Don for x. Lots of levels, customizing, the great graphics, and fun. Buy the game and I'm certain that you will enjoy it (I'm mostly referring to the Loco Roco fans.)
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thani
maryland L
 
Please wait while more information about thani is loaded.
Additional information about thani could not be loaded.
THIS IS A MUST BUY FOR A PSP OWNER
Posted 3/26/11
if dont have this game get it NOWWWWWWW!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Patapon
The Demo
Posted on:2/17/08
John Berry Jr.
This game is awesome! I've only played the demo but i got so addicted to it i kept playing it over and over again. I think its because its really simple to get into. But i have to say the basic graphics is a nice change of pace since games now are getting more advanced graphically. The bad thing is that the controls can be a little bit too precise when putting in the musical patterns.
Review 18 for Patapon
Patapon Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/08
Lothia
This game is one of the best innovative games released for the PSP. The game starts out just teaching you the basics, which is walking, and from there you slowly gain different drums. In all there are, I believe, only 4 main songs but that is still enough to keep the game challenging. Evolution of character is very fun and trying to get the best types of Patapons is challenging. The mini games become second hand after a while, which is a slight down side, but the first few times doing them is fun. I had wished they made the side games more random on the beats you had to copy. Killing large monsters gets harder as you beat them repeatedly but if you have a good strategy it still can be easy. Graphics in this game are not ‘A’ quality but they were never meant to be, and I refused to give them a low score because the style and the purpose are perfect. If this game had been 3D then I would base the graphics differently. The sound I enjoyed because it would help you with the beat or in some cases make the beat harder to do which just added a different challenge. The interface was nice to use but my only pet peeve was sometimes when trying to delete a character I would hit the wrong buttons because that layout didn't seem correct. The equipment in the game was also a bit of an annoyance to get which has been stated in other reviews but I didn't think of it as a key. Once you get, I believe, the 5th lowest Patapon your attacks go up a huge amount and then the different weapons don't matter as much. I would suggest anyone who likes unique games to get this game in an instant. With the very low price, there’s no reason you shouldn't try it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Patapon
Stylish Innovation meets Incredible Fun
Posted on:2/13/08
Phil
After playing the Patapon demo, i'm positive that this will become a favorite among PSP owners. The demo reminded me of the fun that I had with games such as Taiko Drum Master and Parappa the Rappa. However, the by virtue of adding a more interactive story with cute characters, this will surely become a favorite for the young and old.
Review 20 for Patapon
Spank that bottom!
Posted on:2/16/08
Eric
I downloaded the demo last night and played it twice. I'm positive that I want to own this game. Plus, the budget price leaves no excuse to not purchase it. This will be a classic game added to the Playstation Portable library and shows that the PSP can have innovative games without a touch screen. (hint hint wink wink saynomore)
1 2 next>>