GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution

Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution will be the first offering in the legendary Civilization series to appear on next generation consoles and handheld systems. In development by legendary designer Sid Meier and Firaxis Games, this game will deliver Civilization's renowned epic single-player campaigns featuring vast re-playability and unmatched addictive gameplay. In addition, with revolutionary features like real-time interaction with leaders and advisors, extensive multiplayer capabilities and integrated video and voice chat, Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution will completely transport the Civilization series to a level of gameplay that fans have never seen before.
Average Customer Rating:
8.417
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Review 1 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Its alright.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/11
silentevil
Location: Tempe
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is alright. The gameplay is good, it kind of reminds me of age of Empires a bit. The sound effects are ok, not really the best in my opinion. The graphics on this game suck, but then again, you cant get the graphic of the computer versions on a handheld like a DS so it's kinda understandable, but I still feel like they couldve tried harder to make it better.
The main reason I bought this game was to play with my friend over wifi. and when im not online with my friends I tried to go online with a random opponent and got no one. I dont think many people play this game online anymore, so if your wanting to go online with it, this is probably not the game for you. However, if you do know someone that has the game, you can get each others friend codes and add each other as friends and challenge each other over wifi, which, I find to be the best way to play with someone.
Overall, I think its a pretty good game. Is it worth the money..? Well, I guess its up to you to decide.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 2 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
An overall great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/08
MarioGolfRulz
This version of Civilization for the DS is great! I was interested in the idea of Civilization being portable, but looking at screenshots of the game made me a little nervous. I took the risk and bought the game and it turned out great! Understanding everything takes a bit of time but in the end you (the player) will be able to control everything with ease. The maps are fairly small but it would be extremely difficult to play on a much larger scale. The gameplay is exactly the same as it is on Playstation 3 and Xbox 360 version. I will add that there is not as many details in the game that many hoped for, but it is still a fast paced, extremely fun game. I highly recommend it for those who want to play a portable version or if they are new to the civilization series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
A Good Game That Gets Old
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
MrIthinkyouknow
Location: Selmer, TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution is a fun game, I will not lie. Its got a great choice of civilizations to play as and very fun game play. The trophies are a nice touch, but don't add much addiction to collect them all. I began the game on the easiest difficulty and easily mastered it, then I moved on to Warlord and got a little more challenging and so on. Then as I played the each individual games that take up to an half hour to an hour and a half, I began to get bored and it became repetitive. The graphics are great as usual for a Civ game, and the characters are funny, but the game itself just isn't a overall masterpiece. I would recommend it to people who want to have a little fun set aside from their main epic games. Its a good game, I liked it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Nintendega's Review for Civilization Revolution DS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/11
nintendega
Location: columbus, oh
This game is amazing. Its a lot like SimCity only your the leader of a country not a city. You start out at the start of the world pretty much, you can chose from popular leaders such as, Abreham Lincoln, Gengis Khan, Queen Elizibith, and many more. Build cities, explore oceans, start wars with fellow leaders, build armies, the possiblities are endless. This game is amazing. Pick it up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Alameda
 
Please wait while more information about RayTheUlitimateGamer is loaded.
Additional information about RayTheUlitimateGamer could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
I want to play online.
Posted 8/21/11
Would you like to do online multiplayer sometime? If so post another comment under this one.
Customer Avatar
Geniusqtm
 
Please wait while more information about Geniusqtm is loaded.
Additional information about Geniusqtm could not be loaded.
I love this game
Posted 8/17/11
When I first got it, I loved it. I still do, it is my top game. I know everyone else says it isn't fun, but dare to dream.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
A must buy that will leave you wanting and disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/08
Papa44
Civilization for the DS is a throwback to the days of CivII with an added Nintendo flare. Interesting and fun, but nothing more. For starters, the AI is all over. For example, I attacked a pike man with a tank that had naval power bonus and was defeated by the pike man. Apart from the AI and a short game play (I beat the game in the easiest level in under 3hrs) the game, although a bit “cartoonish”, will entertain. The interface is easy to learn and very intuitive. The maps are small and contact with other civilizations is fast. Most of the game happens in the lower screen and sadly the upper screen is used only for quick and repetitive animations and limited and useless help. For a fan of the Civ series; this DS version is a must buy that will leave you wanting and disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
FUN! But...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/11
ILUCKYI
Location: MN
This is a great DS game but it does get boring after a while because you can only do so much playing the game. I like the game, I just wish It was more exiting...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Alameda
 
Please wait while more information about RayTheUlitimateGamer is loaded.
Additional information about RayTheUlitimateGamer could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
Let's play online!
Posted 8/21/11
Post another comment under this one if you want to play online!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/08
111111111111111
I personally love this game and I got it about a month ago and I would suggest it to anybody who likes strategy games. This was my first of Sid Meier's games and I mastered it within an hour or so. It can be easily understood by a rookie like me. Your country's technology can decide whether or not you lose a war and must give money and technology or you can take money from them. You can be leaders of many civilizations from Romans to Americans, each country has different strengths and weaknesses. You start before recorded history and continue past present day. At the beginning you mainly search for the four other civilizations and rid the world of barbarians. You can win many different victories, there is cultural, economic, scientific and world domination. Domination is my favorite because you can constantly declare war against other countries, while you're not attacking other countries you can hunt barbarians along with allies. You can even form armies by combining three of the same type triple their power. However don't expect mass battles, there only two or three people fighting at a time but they represent an entire unit. Don't expect great graphics either, the graphics are rather cartoonish. If you are a rookie player start with chieftain to learn basics like talking to other civilizations. The King level difficulty is where it gets tough. You should definitely get this game if you like strategy you should get this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Awsome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/13
slappy12
Location: edinburgh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is so awsome its perfect for long car trips because 1 game lasts forever when I first got I could'nt stop playing it was a super fun game and only 5 dollars for ds im always the Aztecs they are the best ever sadly I reasntly lost it so im probally going to buy a new won if you dont have this game you need to get it because it is awsome you must get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Addictive
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/08
Civ Fanatic
I picked this up and its addictive. But so were Civs 1 - 4 for me. Its a fun game, definitely cut back but that was expected as this is a DS. The strategy aspect is still there and can easily rack up hours of your time. Great for when you traveling. This is actually one of the better games i've played on the DS. The graphics are a little cartoony but that seems to be a Nintendo trademark. My only complaint is that you can't update your units unless your the Germans or discover Leonardo's Workshop. Not the end of the world. I've found the old units make for good suicide units. The higher difficulty levels tend to have nations declaring war on you a heck of a lot. Army up your units and you should survive. Other items that may annoy traditional Civ gamers: You don't get to see a whole view of the map Cannot customize victory conditions (they have scenarios you can play that are more custom) Trading is not as prominant You don't have traditional worker control (example: roads are something you buy) The game is a lot of fun and the controls are great. The stylus works great or you can do everything with the dpad etc.. If you are a Civ fan and have been jonesing for the day to take Civ in your pocket, you'll have a lot of fun with this game. i've not tried out the multiplayer yet...still waiting for my brother to get it this week. Then i'll annhilate him :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Good could have been better
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/13
Frehley
Location: Garfield Heights,Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game a few days ago I like it alot but it does get boring to a degree.If you ever played the board game risk this is risk into a video game.It is a cool fun strategy game that makes you think.My buddy's wife plays it on xbox360 and is how I got into the game from watching her play it.The game is alot different from 360 in gameplay.I wish they would have put the level of the armies or navy's of enemies you fight against like on 360 as well as seeing you cities grow ect.I wish they would have made the 360 version for this the gameplay is much better.The replay value is good though as you can play it on different skill levels like centurian,warlord,king ect. I also don't like the fact that after you win a campain like industry or technology you have to star a new game you should have been able to continue to the next one and till you win all 4 areas of the game.That being said the game is still a very good fun game that is worth the money but buy the new one I got the used one for 5 bucks i wish i would have had the instructions with it would have made it better to figure out.I do highly recommend this game to anyone into strategy games including hard core gamers.This is also a good way to pass the time when bored I started playing at 2pm and when i won a victory it was 7pm. Time fly's like I said a good way to pass time and lots of fun to as you get to choose from 8-9 different countries to play as like China,Russia,U.S.,Mongolia,Japan,Zulu,Egypt,Germany,England and I think a few more.I am still figuring it out but it is alot of fun.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 11 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
I love this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/13
Shadow1302
This is a really fun game that I would not have thought would be fun. There are many ways to play and win.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/13
Frehley
Location: Garfield Heights,Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game a few weeks ago after watching my buddy's wife play it on xbox360.It is a fun strategy game similar to the game risk.It is challenging too.There are different levels of difficulty to choose from.
You start in the caveman era (something like that) and progress to the modern era doing different things like building armies or navies the farther you get the better weapons ect. you get. You also get to build things to make your civilization better also you can trade with allies or attack them if they arn't allies. Sometimes it does get fustrating when you get attacked and lose a city.Barbarians are the easiest to defeat.The game ends when you win a victory in technology,science,population,domination ect. It is different from the xbox360 version but has the same principal and somethings are the same ect. You can choose from 10 different civilizations to be or leaders like Linclon,Ceasor,Cathrene the great,Ghandi,Ghangis Khann,Alexander the great,Napolian ect. you can buld world wonders to get things ect. It does take awhile to get to the next era to save your game progress or you have to start where you stopped at in the current era this is the only bad thing about the game and sometimes it won't let you take a turn or do certain things but it is still fun and you have to think alot also. I beat it a few times and now am playing it on a harder level.The sound,gameplay and graphic's are all good. It does have replay value also I recommend anyone get this game new or used it is worth the money and a very good game.No there is no blood in it if that is what you are looking for pass on this game it is a strategy game not a FPS ect.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 13 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
Not Civ4-But looks fun anyhow!
Posted on:1/13/08
Paul
From what I've managed to find on this, it looks like a fun change of pace. Streamlined (partially due to lack of a keyboard) for console play, built from the ground up for console systems, this one isn't a PC port, and looks alot better because of it. Not sure if I like the cartoony looking graphics yet, but will give it a go and see what it's like on screen, and not in a magazine. I'm seriously waiting for this one though, as a logn time Civ fan (since Civilization on my 286 pc!)
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dotdot
 
Please wait while more information about dotdot is loaded.
Additional information about dotdot could not be loaded.
Great strategy game
Posted 6/3/12
For a game on the ds, this is a very good game. It basically involed growing your civilization and dealing with other nations (weither peacefully or not). You go through different eras with different benifits. You reserch technolgy to grow your empire. I really like this game, however, When i tried to play this game on the ds lite and dsi, it broke my left bumber for some odd reason, and it never worked on either after that.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution
A No Brainer...
Posted on:2/19/08
SciFiTy
With Sid Meier at the coding helm, how can we go wrong. This man in single handedly responsaible for the God genre of games that are available. Ganted this is his first time on these concoles, but he's tested the waters on a Nokia Ngage unit and I believe a cell phone or two. Since he was apparently happy with those renditions, I'm sure he knows how to re-produce a great game without damaging his already spotless record. God Sid!, Here's MY cash!....want more??