GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Soul Calibur IV

The world's premier weapon based fighting game franchise returns to deliver a true next generationfighting experience. Set to finally reveal the origins of the Soulcalibur saga, Soulcalibur IV featuresboth new and familiar faces from across the galaxy, seeking the rival swords for vengeance, honorand salvation.
Average Customer Rating:
8.02
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
10 stars
46
9 stars
12
8 stars
17
7 stars
3
6 stars
3
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
78 out of 10177%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Soul Calibur IV
Review 1 for Soul Calibur IV
A Great First Impression to a New Soul Calibur Player
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/08
GameMaster149
As I observed the development of Soul Calibur IV, I couldn't help but be attracted to it. Though I've never found such a genre of fighting to be attractive, something about this game caught my eye. I was convinced to buy it by what I had initially read and the trailers that I watched, and I am absolutely grateful that I made such a decision. Soul Calibur IV is a FANTASTIC video game, and is very addictive as well as challenging in its own rights. The perhaps first thing I noticed was the sleek graphics the game bolsters. Despite some loading screens, the characters, their armor, and even the menus look detailed. For being a game that can only display up to 720p in resolution, it looks like a quality almost beyond that. I was personally, very impressed by its appearance. In battle, the graphics retain their quality detail as you bash the environment during duels, and the music acts as a reasonable combination (though you'll not be paying attention to the music as much, since the fighting demands a lot of attention). While its graphical and musical arts are admirable, the story and Story Mode are lackluster. It was a disappointment to see how short each character's particular storyline was. In most cases, each character battled through about 5-6 stages. The Arcade mode is, as I found it, a bit more challenging than the story mode itself, anyway. Arcade mode slowly works you into the challenge, with some of its last challengers being very...tough. It takes more than button-mashing to beat either mode, especially when enemies are capable of decimating you at the appropriate time. The Tower of Souls is an apparently new addition to the series, and it is also enjoyable. The initial option is to ascend the tower and claim the first 20 floors before you can begin to descend. To this point I've only ascended the tower and find it intriguing, because each series of floors comes with a clue and some hidden items which can be unlocked by completing these hidden requirements. It's an effective way to unlock some fashionable equipment to use in the character creation. The character creation mode is absolutely amazing. Always looking for customization, I was completely enthralled by the opportunity to create my own character the way I wanted! You can choose from their fighting style, weapons and armor, even their point of muscularity and voice pitch! And if you would prefer to not spend the time creating and developing your own character, you can customize one of the already existing fighters. It's something to marvel at, because the developers absolutely went above and beyond in perfecting this perk. Better yet, you can use these characters online, an another excellent new feature to the game. Battles are usually smooth (obviously varying upon each fighter's internet connection strength), and when you aren't one of the fighters you're able to observe the two combatants through Spectator Mode, just to keep you occupied during the intermission. Overall, there's an outstanding amount of depth to most parts of this game. While the Story Mode's unfortunately shallow, you'll find yourself immersed in battling and perfecting your favorite fighters, learning the combos through the training mode, and then kicking some butt online. I have found this game to be incredibly addictive and highly customizable and have no regrets in making the purchase.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
21 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Soul Calibur IV
EXCELLENT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/13
TDOGG94
Location: salt lake city ut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is so fun so cool love it very much even when i think i would not like the game after a few hours i really enjoyed it very much. and its a good price for the game cheap the game was hardly scratched at all also for pre owned always look for slightly scratched call before you get the game ask game stop how the disk is or good it is in shape that's how i always make sure if the game works or its playable o use game stop you guys are great at what you do bye
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Soul Calibur IV
If you are new to fighting games, stay clear!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/12
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
I have so many problems with this game. The only good thing I can say is that the graphics weren't bad for a 2008 game. So first off the music wasn't bad itself, but it really didn't fit in the game at all. Then there is the whole Star Wars thing. Ok just because the game is by LucasArts, doesn't mean it needs Star Wars in it. I have a problem with all of the Star Wars Characters. Yoda- He is short so you can't grab/throw him, and it is much harder to hit him. The Apprentice: Every time this guy attacks you lose a 1/4 of your health, and it is very hard to damage him. Darth Vader- I actually like using Vader, but he costs 5 DOLLARS!!! FOR ONE CHARACTER!!!!! Next let's move onto the gameplay. First off, when you get hit down to the ground, you have to roll and spin to get up, it takes a long time, and you will likely get hit which means you can lose a ton of HP because of one mistake. Your opponent however gets up in 1 second and always manages to counter-attack. Also I can't figure out how to use the special attacks because the idiot who made the game decided that instead of writing down the directions using the familiar ABXY and triggers, they would have a complicated list of moves with random letters that aren't even on the controller. It's ok though because the manual has the chart to convert the two. Supposing you didn't buy it used, and you actually got the manual. Then they expect you to beat 4 -8 people with only 1-2 people. And last but definately not least is the problem in arcade. So in arcade mode, you fight best of 3. If you win a match, the AI opponent becomes stronger and harder to beat. So if you lost the first match, and then won the second, you're pretty much doomed to lose. Maybe I'm just bad at the game since I don't have much experience with this kind of game. But you know what? You shouldn't have to already be a pro to play a game. You can pick up MW3 and start on the easy stuff (campaign and spec ops) and then you get skill to go on multiplayer and rank up. But in this game you basically have to have skill already. Oh and P.S. The "Story" is all reading, which would be fine if it was a book, and not a freaking video game.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Soul Calibur IV
I've Never Played This Game Before, But I Love IT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/12
AwesomeShadowNinja123
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The story is detailed and hard to understand, but the combat is awesome! It's simple, three buttons are for fighting, and the A is for blocking. The character customization is also awesome, letting you name your character, choose their fighting style, voice, face, armor, and more. The arcade is a simple 8 level fight with enemies getting harder everytime. I personally think fighting The Apprentice on level 7 is the hardest, even harder than the boss. Also, there's the Story, which let's you fight multiple enemies while getting information on the plot. Last there's the 'Tower' level where you fight challenging enemies as you slowly ascend and descend the tower. There's also online multiplayer! I said this game was for hardcore gamers because it does get hard with some bosses like Sigfried, sometimes Algol, and like I said the Apprentice, evn though he's not a boss he's pretty dang hard on the level 7. The graphics are not to shabby, but I can't say the same for the soundtrack, which failed to compare. This game is an awesome game for me, being I'm new to the series, but it's not for everyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Soul Calibur IV
New challengers unleashed!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
DJ2010
Location: Snow Hill, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Soul Calibur at its best on Xbox 360. Not bad for the first time graphics on it. They took they're time with this game. Although this is a little harder than before, it is fun. And they did great with the star war challengers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Soul Calibur IV
Better then the newest installment
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/12
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The graphics are great, gameplay same and characters a mix of classic and new. Like all the Soul Calibers before there is always a "cheap" character such as Starkiller who is overpowered and quick. Overall its a fun game, but like Super Smash Bros. it gets old quick when your not playing with others. This is a good party game, but only a quickplay if your by yourself.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for Soul Calibur IV
good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/12
AnonymouslyConfused28
I feel it is a step over Soul Calibur 3 but I am going to be blunt Soul Calibur 2 will always be my favorite I have a feeling. Character models and environments look great. The weird intros are back to full effect which are great ! You know the announcer haha. Great game for longtime fans or newcomers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Soul Calibur IV
Best fighting game for xbox yet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/12
Supra
Really solid game lots of fun and easy to pick up. it wont take you but a few hours of gameplay to nearly master one character
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Soul Calibur IV
good fighting game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/12
daneomite31
this game is good but needs a better campaign.....gets boring but i think u should buy it!!! good 4 a fighting game!!!!!!! yoda is awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for Soul Calibur IV
Good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/12
otz900
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a good fighting game.It gets boring after a while,but it is entertaining for the time being.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Soul Calibur IV
soulcalibur 4
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
c117
Location: denver,colorado
I think this game is a waste of time and effort. The first soulcalibur game i played was soulcalibur 2 everything in the game went together it was like one big slice of perfection pie!!! But soulcalibur 4 just made me not want to buy any more soulcalibur games. I was really dissapointed in nightmare his new look was really bad same with the new soul edge. I didnt like any of the arenas accept for the star wars ones. And besides why would they even bring in star wars characters their lightsabers would cut trough the swords and stuff and the opponents. Also the game has way to many female characters the before. I'm not not being sexist but they they basically out number the guys.The music doesnt really go along with the stages for example th supreme sword stage should bold and daring music. it should send out a vibe that its the end, do or die time. Ihope they make a remake of soulcalibur 2 and ad some features soulcalibur 4. Like the remake of halo combat evolved.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Soul Calibur IV
BEST GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/11
DUDEGUYMAN
Location: Florida,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
everything about this game is epic,my favorite charater is nightmare he's epic and yoda is epic to but like i said everything is perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Soul Calibur IV
it is awesome game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/11
gircookie
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It is a great game. Because it has a good roster. Also it has a critical finish for every character.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Soul Calibur IV
this game is one of the new generation games.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/11
cursed
Location: phoenix, AR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game, in my opinion is the first of the new generation gaming. it has a story mode that has both action, adventure and a god plot. the graphics of this game are new compared to those that came before it, i think it acts as a signal for the other new generation games to start. the old story began on the original xbox with soul caliber one, since then the story has continued and became more and more into a long awaited action book then a game series. the old characters, nightmare, cervantes, and the others are pit against new characters like siegfried, and ROCK. and there are new characters that have been brought in as well, such as yoda the old star wars favorite, and the apprentice the new generations favorite. all of the new things incorporated into this game have been a major milestone for gaming and has encouraged more people to submit ideas for games into the gaming companies. if you think that you like swords, epic battles, and a fair storyline then you should at least give this game a try.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Soul Calibur IV
foot needs to go down.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
Knightmare
Location: houghton, MI
First, I'm a major fanboy of this series, but there are two gripes I can't let go. First, why kill the story? Are you kidding me, we wen't from an ever improving story mode that had 3 in a situation where you got to about 15-20 fights per character, with multiple paths, multiple endings, hidden boss fights and they get rid of all of that for a standard 5 fights per character story. WHAT!? Second, Chronicles of the sword was even more amazing. It gave your custom character a deep involved story, with extremely unique gameplay. Yet they replace it with a generic challenge tower....... It feels like they cut a lot so they could add a broken and easy to exploit multiplayer.. I hope they can make 5 more like 3 and less like 4.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Soul Calibur IV
Get's boring
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/11
CoolJ
Location: Houston,Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Fun when you start when you passed it get's boring.Do not buy this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Soul Calibur IV
awesome, no more no less than the best game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/11
marauder
Location: oklahoma
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Soul Calibur IV is one of the best fighting games you can ever play. especially if you've played any other fighting game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Soul Calibur IV
Great fighting game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/11
Videogameguy
Location: Chicago iLL
I was surprised to see Ivy(Amongst another chick with two swords)in a THONG!!!!...anyway the graphics are amazing and its among the only fighting games I play and I aint big on fighing games either so thumbs up to the developers and keep the soul calibur games comming please!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Soul Calibur IV
I'm not worthy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
mrblakop
Location: Lafayette, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Simply one of the best games i have ever played. Great lasting appeal, good campaign, great graphics. I would recommend this game to anyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Soul Calibur IV
Online ruined the game
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/11
Deaththysoul
The invention of star wars players are fun but the online and old gameplay is just not good enough for me and many other owners of soul calibur IV
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>