GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Madden NFL 09

Celebrating 20 Years of Innovation and counting, Madden NFL 09 delivers its most complete NFLfootball package ever. Whether you're a seasoned veteran or picking up the game for the first time,players of all skill levels will enjoy a unique, yet challenging experience with the innovative AdaptiveDifficulty Engine, which tailors the game to match your playing style. Instantly improve your gamewith the all-new virtual Training Center or incorporate feedback with EA SPORTS BackTrack,allowing you to learn from your mistakes on the fly. With a new broadcast presentation and onlineleagues, plus more than 85 new features and enhancements, Madden NFL 09 is the mostauthentic and adaptable game in sports video game history.
Average Customer Rating:
7.669
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (226 reviews)
10 stars
42
9 stars
29
8 stars
14
7 stars
5
6 stars
9
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
13
87 out of 12172%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madden NFL 09
Review 1 for Madden NFL 09
Okay... but needs some room for improvement.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/11
BSADULSKI
Location: Palm Bay, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I purchased this game, I was thinking the worst of it. Being I purchased this game right when Madden 11 was accepting pre-orders, I thought that this game was a tad outdated. Of course, it is outdated, but the graphics are pretty good on it being it is a 2009 game. The graphics are very well for this year, the sounds are pretty realistic, but the only issue is, there are a few features I dislike. I myself, and alot of my friends dislike the Rewind feature. I mean they are trying to make the future games even more realistic, but they completely lost that view of making it more realistic. I mean in real life, you do NOT have a rewind feature. Sure it is good for rookie players, but it really is unnecessary to have. Before spending your money on this game, I would suggest spending a few more bucks to upgrade to Madden 10 or even Madden 11 (depending on how much of an upgrade you are willing to contribute). Hope I helped, and I hope the future Madden games get even more and more realistic.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Madden NFL 09
Got Me Hooked
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/10
mkbn43240
I played some of the Madden games that were for the Playstation 1&2 and did not like them. I picked up Madden 09 as an add-on to an order and have enjoyed playing it. It is fun and is helping me as I wait for the 2010 NFL Draft and Pre-Season to begin. I am jones-ing for football and this is helping I agree with a lot of the other comments that the players run too fast and the defensive backs are just TOO good in that in many of the games they have 4-5 interceptions. But I bought it for entertainment value and it does that. I am going to be buying Madden 10 and 11 (when it comes out). Overall the game play is good in that you can start out with the basics and work your way up. If you play Franchise (this is my favorite) you can run the whole team - from front office - to scouting - free agent market - the draft (you can import from your NCAA football) - determine the 53 man roster - the whole shebang. If you love playing sports on your Xbox, Playstation or any console – BUY THIS GAME - It got me hooked.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Madden NFL 09
Alright could be better
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/09
shoelax17
I got madden 09 for christmas and I was so excited. But madden needs more achievements, I mean only 25 is so boring and the achievements are very easy. I still think that madden 07 is the best madden game created because the NFL superstar was easy to do and in 09 and 08 you have to do bench presses and a lot of annoying things that are so hard to do. I think also that John Madden should be the announcer if the game is called Madden. I think that each NFL team should have its own achievement instead of 3 teams. But some pros of the game are the great franchise mode. The franchise mode is amazing... it makes you feel like you're the actual coach. Also in madden 09 I really like the random facts about the teams while you're waiting for the game to load. But all in all I would give madden 09 a 9 out of 10 because it recovered from last years terrible madden 08 which I played for a day then returned it... madden 08 was probably the worst madden game ever created it was a big upset.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Madden NFL 09
Finally a descent MADDEN!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/08
Kalel77
This game is a big improvement over the last few editions. First of all, the graphics are simply amazing. The movements of the players on the field is very smooth. The Madden IQ called MY Skill is a great feature and the game will adjust to the way you play. I wish they would have kept the custom AI opition if you still wanted to do it the classic way, but not that big of deal. The new endzone celebrations are awesome and make it fun to score. Breaking tackles looks great, but not as easy to do as you would think. The game is more defensive and you really have to earn your points. The main menu is nice and it was a trophy room (LIke my Shrine in NCAA) showing of you awards and stuff. The create a player opition is about the same with some cool new visors and stuff. There is also create a team, which I haven't used yet. If you liked NCAA, you will love Madden. I can't wait to import my draft class and see how my players like in Madden..... I must buy for football fans....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Madden NFL 09
Good, but not great
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/08
Quats
I've been playing madden for about four or five years, but unless you're playing the game online it's not really any fun because if you have your running game turned up at all-pro it's almost impossible to run the ball. I know you can set up the run, but that takes too much time to do because unless you plan on playing a single game for about two and half hours it's almost impossible to do. Although i do really like this game, it freezes up quite a bit in franchise. When somebody gets injured, the replay freezes up my game, and if you're in the fourth quarter or even the third, it's no fun to restart. I haven't really gotten to superstar a whole lot, but when you do the camps where you can up your stats, or even train for a game in franchise, it also freezes up. Other than that, i really enjoy the game. I wouldn't recommend it to anybody who wants it to be perfect or wants it to be super smooth. Overall, i have fun playing, other than praying that it doesn't freeze up.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Madden NFL 09
Welcome to the world of Madden
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/08
Deli Boy
Every year i am so excited for the new madden to come out and hit stores. I am always watching G4 TV to get the latest news on the game and all the new features. Ever since i first saw the game on TV I have been counting down days til' it comes out. The day it came out it was truly awesome. I started out on a play now match and it seemed so realistic. The touchdown animations were pretty cool being put in there. I don't really care that much for the superstar mode this year. I know everybody says it is the best part usually but I don't really care for it. What i do love about this game is that the online play. It is pretty cool on how your stats are tracked through out your career in online play. Also the leagues that you can join online is pretty cool as well. Finally, what is always my favorite part is just the gameplay with the new roster. With Brett Favre now on the New York Jets and Adrian Petereson unstoppable to take down on the field, Madden 09 is true elite football game for any sports fan to enjoy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Madden NFL 09
Worst Madden yet?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/08
AEL
I am a Madden junky. I have played madden since the days of the original playstation. Needless to say, when '09 dropped, I was psyched. Then I played it. Game looks great. Sounds great (Welcome back John!). Unfortunately I quickly realized that running doesn't work, going deep doesn't work, and the only real option is running slants and outs. Even with studs like LT or Adrian Peterson 3 yard gains are all you can expect. With Peyton and the Colts play action barely changes anything, and that is where they excel. I am planning on trading this game in and getting FIFA, and I don't even like soccer. This game is a must have for anyone who can't get enough of the west coast offense. If you like short, boring, and repetitive; have at it. Also, playing defense against the routes that "work" is nearly impossible. Zones or Man are equally ineffective, and even user coverage rarely works. Game looks wonderful but was nowhere near worth the $edit. I miss Madden '08.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Madden NFL 09
it's alright
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/09
Nintendo Master
When my dad got the game for himself I was so excited to play the game! I was dying to go home, and when I played it, it was ok. First of all, you can't throw the ball to any of your players at some plays. Also practically all the other players on the other team come at you all at once and you instantly get tackled. The game does not give you a chance to do anything you want to do. Your under its control. When I was playing, one of my teammates was wide open in the goal of the other team, I followed the directions that was in the instruction booklet to throw and nothing happened. It told be to press any of the selected buttons, but it won't work. Out of nowhere I get tackled to the ground and get frustrated! In conclusion, this game is possibly the worst madden game I've ever played! Madden games where so good until this game out. You have no control, the instruction booklet is a lie, and most importantly it's unfair. I DO NOT recommend this game at all!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Madden NFL 09
Very pleased with this game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/09
succdawg
Madden is gradually getter better and better each year. The biggest improvement in this one is that the field seems bigger and it doesnt look like a green carpet like in 08. its really nothing new from 08 but im just a huge football fan so i get them every year because of the roster changes. Online play is solid, could be better, but no online in any game is perfect. The only thing that i really dislike is playing a franchise on the all-madden level. its so unrealistic. you can have pittsburghs d and they will have a qb like Andrew Walter and he will pick you apart, and they also break every tackle, you need at least 2 people to take one guy down. so id suggest playing on all-pro level if you are good enough because its fun yet challenging. this is by far the best madden game made yet. with online you can download roster updates whenever they come out (almost every week during the season). fantasy drafts are the best part to me. THIS IS A MUST BUY IF YOU ARE A FOOTBALL FAN OR SOMEONE WHO JUST WANTS TO PLAY A GOOD FOOTBALL GAME!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Madden NFL 09
best madden yet..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/09
sdcharger
i loved madden 09 very good game.to start off its very good online i love the madden test witch makes the game fit you. also online very good . i also like the super star mode were you play as your own customized person witch is been made better than in 08 my team is the chargers and the roster is up to date. also i love the the new way the end zone celebration is set up. and the graphics are a very nice touch to the game. now there are only a few problems with the game with me the announcers especially chris is very very annoying. also every wants and a while the game freezes witch means you have to turn your xbox . but beside these thing the game is very good and every thing else runs smoothly.oh also you can do this virtual test witch mean you can make you running throwing and defense perfect just like you own personalized guy so there at 100%. this is the madden yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Madden NFL 09
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/09
eagamer
I had more fun playing Madden 2002 than i did this. The graphics were alright, and the music was good,but the rest was poor to terrible. They made the defence way too tuff and the ofense too bad. You throw to your reciever and he jumps before it's there or it goes right through his hands half the time. Also a lot of times the clock will keep running when it is supposed to be stopped. If you are playing superstar mode your line hardly ever blocks most of the time they don't touch anyone and the defender blows right by them. The whole gameplay was just too dark it didn't look real at all especially when it was raining or snowing. The virtual trainer was a nice feature but your skill doesn't change when you play in superstar mode. Also the EA sports backtrack was a cool feature it really had no flaws in my opinion. Finally the EA sports rewind was nice but it wasn't amazing. So overall i think this game doesn't deserve more than a 5 at most and for gameplay maybe even less. Hopefully madden 2010 will be a lot better because 09 was just poor.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Madden NFL 09
Greatest Madden Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/08
Anonymous
I don't understand what peoples knock on this game is. Madden is Madden. Football is football. Except this year they managed to make the controls and situations you see in game more realistic. The graphics are stunning and the presentation is too. The game seems to run smoother than ever, and as much as I can't stand collinsworth in real life, hearing him call the games just makes it seem more realistic since I have to hear him just about every week once the season starts. I love the training camp. Also, the difficulty seems to be challenging enough. I gotta say that this is my favorite Madden ever. It actually feels like they made changes this year. If you're like me, the first time you play Madden in August, It seems dull. Probably because you're not into the football season quite yet. But after a few games and starting a franchise, You're gonna be dying for September 7 to come more than you were before. Well worth buying.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Madden NFL 09
Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/08
babYr0sie
I am a big sports fan, and particularly of the Madden series. THis is the first one on my 360, and it's not my favorite. It's challenging, and the graphics are great, and i love the ea sports backtrack, but there are a lot of things that are annoying, like how sometimes the other team just runs out of bounds when they could break a long one, or a player drops an easy pick that hits them in the hands, and i hate that if you're scrambling as a qb, and you try to throw it, it's a bad throw. I do like, though, that if you get hit, and need an extra yard, you just push up on the RS and you push forward the yard you need. SO overall, pretty good, but superstar sucks, franchise is dull as usual. if you want a game just for playing around, and just playin little games, this game is the way to go, but if you want to have a variety of things to try out, then look elsewhere on the shelf. ps AMAZING GRAPHICs( I know i said that already)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Madden NFL 09
Not bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/08
Nick M
I have to say, that I'm quite surprised to see all the changes made to this new Madden. I've been asking for a complete overhaul of the game for years now and this is about the closest they have come. While I still think the game is lacking in many areas, they have improved on many things. First of all, the game plays out a lot more, dare I say, realistically than Maddens of old. The first thing you will notice is the speed of the players has been greatly scaled back. Which I happen to like, as it makes the game feel a bit more real. The new running game system is pretty damn good. The old Maddens, running was so easy that it became quite boring, perhaps in time this one will also become too easy, but right now I really like it. It's a challenge to run the ball. Passing is also, quite difficult. I heard people saying "oh you can just drop back 50 yards and throw a bomb". Not me man! Passing has become a much more timing oriented task. Hit receivers as they make there cuts or they will be covered. Try to bomb it downfield and trust me, if the timing ain't right that corners gonna bat the ball down. I don't think I completed a pass over 15 yards in my first game. Now there are also things I didn't like. For one thing, I seemed to have a lot of trouble stopping the opposing teams offense. They could complete passes and get the yards they needed, but the only time I could get the ball back was by forcing a fumble, WHICH I DID 5 TIMES IN MY FIRST GAME. That to me was a bit strange. I would say 2 of the plays were good fumbles and 3 were silly. Running with the ball is very different and it will take time to get used to, but they have put more emphasis on how you use your turbo. Whereas in Madden 08 you basically could just hold turbo down, and return kicks for td's this game it has become a bit harder. Now you are rewarded in a sense by saving that turbo boost until you hit a hole. Tackling physics appear much better although it can be glitchy at times. Gang tackling seems pretty good too. I don't know if it was just in the game I played but for some reason I did not think, the QB's were as mobile as they used to be. Which would make sense, since in Madden 08 I could usually scramble for a first down with Chad Pennington with relative ease. The only risk was fumbling. Now it seems that running with the QB is a little more tough. Overall, and trust me I didn't think I would say this, I think Madden 09 seems vastly improved. I like that the game has more of a simulated feel rather than that arcady feel where you could scored 60 points with no problem. As for the extras? Well, the virtual trainer is kind of cool I guess, although I don't think I will use it very often. Some players are mis ranked, Shawn Merriman has no special ability apparently. At least thats what it seemed like. I haven't checked if you can turn it off, but pre snap there is too many icons on the field. An icon for player skill, an icon telling you what buttons do. Also the pre snap controls are a bit unsteady. I was having trouble smoothly calling hot routes and stuff. But I think with time all these things will become easier for me and less confusing. One last thing. As I have said, I haven't played this game a lot. Just one game and a few mini games. But the commentary seemed pretty damn good. I guess its possible it will be very repetitive, but I like what I heard so far. Tonight I'll start my fantasy league and see how it works out. For those who were hesitant to purchase Madden because of how similar it is every year, I think you will all be pleasantly surprised to see how different it plays and feels. And that might just be the change it needed.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
13 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nicc
clifton
 
Please wait while more information about Nicc is loaded.
Additional information about Nicc could not be loaded.
Not Bad
Posted 10/24/10
It's not bad I like it better than 07.i like how you can by it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Madden NFL 09
Best Madden Game to 2012
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/11
varsitydream50
Location: NJ
I am writing this review in the end of October 2011 to tell you that this is still the best madden available. Best gameplay, graphics, announcing, and just overall. Great buy! Hope this helped!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Madden NFL 09
Great, but not perfect
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/08
Ps3 lover 234
Here's the deal! Every year when a new Madden comes out, every insane Madden fan praises the game, but the last 2 maddens were just average. This madden was better than average, it was actually somewhat of a challenge. The only thing that concerns me is the rewind button. That is not real football, that's just trying to make your Tony Romo screwups become successful. I mean that button could win or lose a very close game for you or your oppenent. The Pros of this series is that the graphics are amazing. I actually feel like i'm at these football games. But what about the stadiums. The new Jets stadium is posted as playable and that is not ready till 2010, 11 or 12 i'm not sure, but anyways that's pretty dumb. Your team and roster updates is a HUGE score for madden. That's just awesome. The sound and gameplay is generally the same. But overall this game deserves a solid 9. It was a really well rounded game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Madden NFL 09
This game is a joke...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/08
XMaddenfan
Why put a game out thats not really playable? This virtual Madden that EA think is so innovative is really a complete JOKE. You can't throw the long ball and when you do, more than likely you're gonna get picked off. Try running the ball...thats a big joke also. If the o-line is engaged with the defended to create a hole, somehow the defender breaks free and get the tackle. But let the A.I run the ball. They manage to break tackles that are nearly impossible to break. If your Madden score put you 700+ there is no way your running skills will match up to what the A.I can do. The graphics are O.K. but there really not that much difference from the 08 version. The playbook doesn't give that big of a selection, matter of fact they're(EA) using the same playbook from NCAA09. Which I must say is a way better game than Madden. To anyone who read my review all I can say is stick to 08, maybe next year will be better. I know EA only have 10 months of production between games, but if they are gonna put any old piece of crap game...then I can no longer buy another Madden game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 18 for Madden NFL 09
For love of da game
Posted on:5/4/08
RAIDA RIDA
I have purchased every year of Madden since 94 on the release date, but I must say I have to talk myself into it these days since the last 3 (madden 06 – 08) have done little to get hyped for. Graphics are better but so much detail could be added, player in game animations are top notch, and online play has become decent as far as lag and smoothness. But online play is horrible overall with glitches (3man d-line pinch and crash glitch, WR screen-pass glitch, as well as a plethora of disconnect glitches. Please spend some time testing the online play and actually earn the money paid for the game instead of robbing your consumer and chuckling about how easy EA has it. Hey maybe even upgrade your swap meet servers EA. Also tone the rocket catches down a tad huh, or make the AI what it should be; there is nothing more frustrating then a rocket catch bailing some1 out on 3 and forever time and time again. I can go on and on with problems EA but "for love of the game" I will have madden09, but the lack of competition is making you lazy EA and you seem fine with mediocrity.
Review 19 for Madden NFL 09
Some much needed improvements
Posted on:4/1/08
Murphy
Madden 08 was a good madden, dont get me wrong, but there are some much needed improvements they need to work on. One would be the gang tackling concept. If a guy is bout to drop a guy short of the marker his buddy isnt gunna jump on n give him and extra 5 yards. Secondly, If your going to vamp the defense so that they can all make spectacular plays, ur gunna wanna make it so ur star wideouts arent gunna jus let the ball fly over their head into the defenders hands. WRs run their routes but they also go for the ball. Lastly, in franchice, you should be given the chance to really develop a player, like training camp. you look at a guy like Ahmad Bradshaw. He was 67ovr to start last year and then was updated to 80ovr. It should be made that if you can overhaul a guy before the season, then he deserves a major boost to his stats, otherwise how wud we get the unknown backs that become the hall of famers
Review 20 for Madden NFL 09
Madden recommended improvements
Posted on:3/2/08
ThEgReAtEsT
Reguardless of what people say about MAdden no matter wut EA does milions of people will buy it including me. But i believe that they should make the game more realalistic, i love the idea of a half time show and a post game show. The measuring of a first time would always be good and more that two types of spectacular catches i don think every time you throw a 70 yard touchdown for the win that any reciever with a spectacular catch icon should jump up wit one hand and fall to the touchdown. I also think players on defense should hav celebrations like shawn merrian and warren sapp.Please make adrian Peterson beter this year, if not that make the vikings hav the best line in the world. And bring back the franchise mode from madden 07 for the orginal x box where you could raise prices in ya stadium and move cities. theres lots more that i could say but not all of will come to me head right now.....
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>