GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Madden NFL 09

Celebrating 20 Years of Innovation and counting, Madden NFL 09 delivers its most complete NFLfootball package ever. Whether you're a seasoned veteran or picking up the game for the first time,players of all skill levels will enjoy a unique, yet challenging experience with the innovative AdaptiveDifficulty Engine, which tailors the game to match your playing style. Instantly improve your gamewith the all-new virtual Training Center or incorporate feedback with EA SPORTS BackTrack,allowing you to learn from your mistakes on the fly. With a new broadcast presentation and onlineleagues, plus more than 85 new features and enhancements, Madden NFL 09 is the mostauthentic and adaptable game in sports video game history.
Average Customer Rating:
7.669
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (226 reviews)
10 stars
42
9 stars
29
8 stars
14
7 stars
5
6 stars
9
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
13
87 out of 12172%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madden NFL 09
Review 1 for Madden NFL 09
Not bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/08
Nick M
I have to say, that I'm quite surprised to see all the changes made to this new Madden. I've been asking for a complete overhaul of the game for years now and this is about the closest they have come. While I still think the game is lacking in many areas, they have improved on many things. First of all, the game plays out a lot more, dare I say, realistically than Maddens of old. The first thing you will notice is the speed of the players has been greatly scaled back. Which I happen to like, as it makes the game feel a bit more real. The new running game system is pretty damn good. The old Maddens, running was so easy that it became quite boring, perhaps in time this one will also become too easy, but right now I really like it. It's a challenge to run the ball. Passing is also, quite difficult. I heard people saying "oh you can just drop back 50 yards and throw a bomb". Not me man! Passing has become a much more timing oriented task. Hit receivers as they make there cuts or they will be covered. Try to bomb it downfield and trust me, if the timing ain't right that corners gonna bat the ball down. I don't think I completed a pass over 15 yards in my first game. Now there are also things I didn't like. For one thing, I seemed to have a lot of trouble stopping the opposing teams offense. They could complete passes and get the yards they needed, but the only time I could get the ball back was by forcing a fumble, WHICH I DID 5 TIMES IN MY FIRST GAME. That to me was a bit strange. I would say 2 of the plays were good fumbles and 3 were silly. Running with the ball is very different and it will take time to get used to, but they have put more emphasis on how you use your turbo. Whereas in Madden 08 you basically could just hold turbo down, and return kicks for td's this game it has become a bit harder. Now you are rewarded in a sense by saving that turbo boost until you hit a hole. Tackling physics appear much better although it can be glitchy at times. Gang tackling seems pretty good too. I don't know if it was just in the game I played but for some reason I did not think, the QB's were as mobile as they used to be. Which would make sense, since in Madden 08 I could usually scramble for a first down with Chad Pennington with relative ease. The only risk was fumbling. Now it seems that running with the QB is a little more tough. Overall, and trust me I didn't think I would say this, I think Madden 09 seems vastly improved. I like that the game has more of a simulated feel rather than that arcady feel where you could scored 60 points with no problem. As for the extras? Well, the virtual trainer is kind of cool I guess, although I don't think I will use it very often. Some players are mis ranked, Shawn Merriman has no special ability apparently. At least thats what it seemed like. I haven't checked if you can turn it off, but pre snap there is too many icons on the field. An icon for player skill, an icon telling you what buttons do. Also the pre snap controls are a bit unsteady. I was having trouble smoothly calling hot routes and stuff. But I think with time all these things will become easier for me and less confusing. One last thing. As I have said, I haven't played this game a lot. Just one game and a few mini games. But the commentary seemed pretty damn good. I guess its possible it will be very repetitive, but I like what I heard so far. Tonight I'll start my fantasy league and see how it works out. For those who were hesitant to purchase Madden because of how similar it is every year, I think you will all be pleasantly surprised to see how different it plays and feels. And that might just be the change it needed.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
13 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nicc
clifton
 
Please wait while more information about Nicc is loaded.
Additional information about Nicc could not be loaded.
Not Bad
Posted 10/24/10
It's not bad I like it better than 07.i like how you can by it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Madden NFL 09
Very good Madden game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/13
Shamus
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Very good installment in the Madden series, very good gameplay, nice graphics, I know its old (4 years to be exact), but it's still very good. I like it. If you like older football games, get it. You won't regret it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Madden NFL 09
bad yet good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/13
elitegamergangsta
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is good in graphical features. Not in appeal. Lost interest in 3 weeks. Ok but I would not recommend it. Not a good thing To get AT ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 4 for Madden NFL 09
good game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/12
theian
Location: newcomerstown,ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is better than expected. graphics are good. gameplay is also good. the sound is great. soundtrack is amazing. the best song is the one by Shinedown!!!! career mode is fun. franchise mode is good. if you don't want this game because it is old, just try it. its worth the very low price
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Madden NFL 09
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/12
Jody31599
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great for any type of gammer, personaly my favorite team is the Pittsburg Steelers but there not doin well this season... The gameplay is great the graphics are great, the sound is great. get this. its only $1!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Madden NFL 09
Pretty Good Madden Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/12
TheBlitzer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have all the Madden games from ( 07-12 ) and its pretty good for $0.99. Graphics are alright and it's a good game. It may get boring after a little time though. It's easy to get achievements on that game and I recommend it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for Madden NFL 09
Madden NFL 09 - Review
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/12
KingJames2085
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm not the biggest football fan in the world, but I tried this one out, and I'm glad I did. It's a really good game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Madden NFL 09
just another Madden
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/12
Coolyo
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love Madden games, but when they come out with another and another and another... it just gets old. I don't see why people get new madden games for 60 dollars, just wait a month and then it will drop to 30, or get the one that came out last year, it's not different!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tredaking
 
Please wait while more information about tredaking is loaded.
Additional information about tredaking could not be loaded.
madden
Posted 1/5/12
i think they have new madden games every year because its new players instead of creating one and see what they can change to make it better
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Madden NFL 09
The Graphics Are Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/11
thebrendan02
Location: Columbia,SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
OK, first of let me say the graphics on the PlayStation 2 graphics suck really bad ( NO OFFENSE YOU PLAYSTATION 2 FANS ), but anyways on the Xbox it's awesome. BUY IT TODAY!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Madden NFL 09
Best Madden Game to 2012
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/11
varsitydream50
Location: NJ
I am writing this review in the end of October 2011 to tell you that this is still the best madden available. Best gameplay, graphics, announcing, and just overall. Great buy! Hope this helped!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Madden NFL 09
Okay... but needs some room for improvement.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/11
BSADULSKI
Location: Palm Bay, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I purchased this game, I was thinking the worst of it. Being I purchased this game right when Madden 11 was accepting pre-orders, I thought that this game was a tad outdated. Of course, it is outdated, but the graphics are pretty good on it being it is a 2009 game. The graphics are very well for this year, the sounds are pretty realistic, but the only issue is, there are a few features I dislike. I myself, and alot of my friends dislike the Rewind feature. I mean they are trying to make the future games even more realistic, but they completely lost that view of making it more realistic. I mean in real life, you do NOT have a rewind feature. Sure it is good for rookie players, but it really is unnecessary to have. Before spending your money on this game, I would suggest spending a few more bucks to upgrade to Madden 10 or even Madden 11 (depending on how much of an upgrade you are willing to contribute). Hope I helped, and I hope the future Madden games get even more and more realistic.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Madden NFL 09
Awesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/11
awesompj24
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ITs good especially the graphicsi got all the maddens so far this is the best one
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Madden NFL 09
meh
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/11
XxXxDOM0xXxX
Location: NM
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i dont like football games because they are like the same thing every single year...but this one is good...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Madden NFL 09
I honestly love this game more than the two years
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/11
Yummiehd
Location: MorenoValley,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
2010,2011,Were less appealing than madden 09 by graphic and game speed
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Madden NFL 09
Perfect
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/11
Rob1234
Location: Tuscaloosa,al
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is fun i had it for the wii and im getting it for the xbox 360
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Madden NFL 09
ok
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/11
killer12345
Location: Denver,Colorado
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The game was fun at first and then I got bored after 30min.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 17 for Madden NFL 09
Madden Nfl 09
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/11
xbox360svr
Location: None Of your business
I think Madden nfl 09 is a great game. It has improved graphics, better commentary and it only costs $2.99. The gameplay is great and the graphics look real.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Madden NFL 09
this game sucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
pman816
Location: indianapolis,in
i thought this was going to be great but when it got down to playing it it was the worst madden ever. the nitendo 64 madden was better than this game. Madden needed to put alot more time and effort into making this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rhryrgrg4gbhtrt
utah
 
Please wait while more information about rhryrgrg4gbhtrt is loaded.
Additional information about rhryrgrg4gbhtrt could not be loaded.
awesome
Posted 11/1/11
this game is the best game i ever played i've bin playing this game for 2 1/2 years good game awesome buy this game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Madden NFL 09
overall better than madden 10.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/11
young12swag
Location: Charlotte
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My favorite part of this game is the superstar mode and u get to go through the combine. That was fun and easier to get a higher overall. I hope it comes back in madden 12.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Madden NFL 09
Great game!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/11
MaggotKorn
Location: Scottdale,PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think that Madden 09 is great but it was missing on some things. Specifically-Rewinds. This is the most annoying thing when playing multiplayer. You make a great play and then it gets rewinded and makes me yell at the screen and whoever i'm playing
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>