GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Madden NFL 09

Celebrating 20 Years of Innovation, Madden NFL 09 delivers its most fun and exciting footballpackage ever for the PSP and NDS, combining Wi-Fi multiplayer games and Rec Room minigameswith all-new EA SPORTS Family Play, featuring an easy-to-use game control system.With an all-new tri-level playcalling system, plus the new Last-Minute Miracle mini-game, thefranchise takes its next leap in bringing you the greatest football experience on the go with MaddenNFL 09.
Average Customer Rating:
7.826
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
5
8 stars
1
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 2378%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madden NFL 09
Review 1 for Madden NFL 09
It's just not good!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/10
bigmoose
I thought this would be a good game to play, I mean, my friends told me it was good. No offense to them, they were completely WRONG. First the (few) upsides. The gameplay is sort of fun and Franchise mode is decent. The defensive camera is sort of a trade-off. The gameplay is flipped 180 degrees so you can see the backside of the defense and the front of the offense. That's good, but the playbook does the same so the plays appear UPSIDE DOWN. Next the (many) downsides. The statistics for the players are horribly wrong unless you update the rosters by online.The graphics are so horrible! Your players are standing in a sea of lime green and white. EA at least has to TRY making the field look realistic! The players don't look real, either! And this game has the least bit of challenge. You can go on All-Madden and likely be ahead by two scores throughout the game, so if you go on Rookie Mode you'll probably win by around 100+ points. For those hard-core psp gamers out there, do NOT get THIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Madden NFL 09
A sports favorite
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/09
Gunner_God
This game surprised me. I am a very low sport game fan, except for football games. When I picked this up I though I was wasting my money. I was wrong. This is the best Madden game yet.The camera angle is traditional. It hasn't changed since other Maddens. The controls are great. I also like how they added a second set of controls for beginning players, and advanced for players that have the skill. The challenge is definitely there. The game is based off of how good the teams did the season. So, some teams are easier to beat than others depending on the teams. The graphics: a touchy subject. They aren't the best thing, but it is PSP. The PSP can't handle amazing graphics. The sound is possibly one of the best touched. It is so realistic that I find my self cheering my team, and yelling at the opposing TD. Team variety never ends. You can trade players, sign players, re-sign players. It is a great game. If you like the Madden games then you will walk into another year of greatness with this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Madden NFL 09
Ok, but could use work
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/11
dolphinboy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I got this game I thought I'd be really cool. Not so much. The game is nice and all though, the graphics are not the best because when I make a tackle, I cannot even see who has the ball! Also whenever I am running, the game freezes! That could just be my copy, but it still bothers me. Though the thing that gave this a seven was this game isn't that fun. Well, it sort of is. I love watching and playing football, so I am a little upset that this turned out a little boring.Plus whenever the other team gets the ball they always take forever to hand it over.
The sound is good and I love to pick Madden's pick while playing, cause it is so much easier. This game is okay, though I wish that it had a lot to it. To be honest, I really am shocked about not much to do. Or is that just me thinking that? Well if you like football I recommend this for you. And GO GIANTS! (I love the Giants, they rule!)
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Madden NFL 09
Finally
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/08
PJ7227
I finally got this game cause I just got my psp yesterday and I have played it a lot and I really was surprised about how good it was. The graphics are the best it has ever been and the controls are usually kind of hard to remember and the highlight trucking move works the best when you're running. The only downside about the game is you cant create a player so you will never play with Brett Farve in the game and you cant update the teams via online so you have to do it manually and it takes forever. Another thing is there isn't much to do in it outside of franchise, mini camp, play now, and superstar challenge. The challenge in the game isn't that hard I played on all-pro and picked off 8 passes and returned 5 of them for touchdowns. Another hard thing is the return game it is pretty much impossible to return one for 25 yards rather then a touchdown(even Devin Hester). All in all this game is worth buying, but if you dont like it buy it used.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Madden NFL 09
Ten out of Ten
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/08
gamerKC14
This is a very good game even though it took a while to get used to the controls. Especially since I had to go from the X button to the right shoulder for sprinting, and also having to use the left shoulder and triangle buttons to deliver big hits. The sad thing though was to my surprise there was no superstar mode and it looks like it would have been capable. But as always when a great franchise (one mode they still kept for the PSP version, sadly for all you one season players out their you're out of luck since their is no regular season mode.) comes to the PSP they also take things out. Since my sound is out I'm not able to comment on the commentary (lmao for those who get the joke.) So it looks like I'll be right back in Gamestop buying a new PSP (more money in Sony's pocket oh well.) But the overall gameplay is great, but only complaint is that they didn't have the pre-snap menu in either corner of the screen oh well can't have it all.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Madden NFL 09
Awesome!!! Good Graphics and Gameplay
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/08
Jasko Kenjar
I absolutely loved this game. I got it with my Blue PSP bundle and it was just great. The gameplay is spectacular. The graphics are good, well on PSP the graphics are always good. I would recommend this game to anyone who buys a new game system. This should be the first game you get. I played this game for hours. It's addicting. It's the best Madden so far I cant wait till the 2010 Madden comes out next year around November I think. It gets better every year. The only downside was there is not enough teams in the NFL. Well, I guess thats something that cant be changed. I mean, this game was so good I actually love football now. There were so many plays to choose from. I couldn't believe it. In total I would give this game a two thumbs up , 5 stars , 10 out of 10. The sound quality was great on this game too. I cant wait until I get on of those cable for the PSP so that I can plug it up to my TV.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Madden NFL 09
Madden 09 for psp is badass
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/08
Michael Flores
I would definetly recomend this game for psp.its a cool game i play it all the time with my favorite team the Dallas Cowboys. The cool thing i like about this game is that when you get a first down it tells you the yardage with the teams logo and that to me is cool. The game beats all its past madden games but the thing they shouldve added was hall of fame mode and create a super star mode to the psp version of the game. The other cool thing about this game is the new rookies and the fantasy draft so you choose the players you want on your team and you can also sign free agents to the teams roster. Another cool thing is that you can play in two modes rookie mode being the easiest, and Advanced mode being the hardest. This game is alot better tham MADDEN NFL 08.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Madden NFL 09
I am disappointed
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/10
bigmoose
I am disappointed with madden nfl 09 for the psp. First off, the graphics are horrible and need some improvement. Second of all, this game is WAY too easy. I mean, you can be playing on All-Madden or something and still be winning by a landslide. This game was pretty much a waste of money.....the only thing that saved this thing from the trash can was moderately fun gameplay. I don't mind the new defensive camera, where the camera is flipped 180 degrees and you can see the front of the offense and the back of the defense but the SAME THING HAPPENED TO THE PLAYBOOK so the plays were upside down and it got SO CONFUSING! However, Franchise mode is ok and that is the only thing I do with this thing. And at the same time I noticed a few horrible players with their overall skill in the 80s or something like that. When I got this game I was happy but quickly got disappointed when I discovered that it was no fun at all. EA needs to improve this game so bad. It's definitly not Madden-like. If you are a hard core gamer I'd suggest you look elsewhere but if you just want to have a good time and you are a beginner this might be a good game for you.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Madden NFL 09
Solid game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/08
marco the man
This madden game is the best so far. The gameplay is improved a lot more player animations by that I mean tackles and things of that nature. Don't be dumb people this is a portable system of course it's not as smooth as a console. So with that being said this plays about as smooth as you could ask for a portable gaming system I'm extremely impressed real madden fans think about the gameplay. were not thinking about all of that other stuff. They also improved a little bit on the difficulty level I remember on the previous versions it has been a little to easy to win but that has changed a little, I'm referring to the real men out there that play on all-madden not all-pro. The point of this review is to let people know that this is as good as it will get unless they come out with a more powerful portable system! So enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Madden NFL 09
Awesome!Nine out of Ten!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/08
Zelvanax
This is an awesome game! I love it! There are a lot of people online! The gameplay is sweet. Online play is absolutely fantastic. There are so many updates, it's awesome. I played online, and again, the online play is amazing. I play this game all the time, and i love it. It's the best game for the PSP in my opinion. If you love football, the madden games, and great play, you will love this game. The graphics are very cool. At the moment, this is my favorite game on the PSP. So if you're trying to decide if you want this game or not, you WILL NOT be disappointed once you play it. It is incredible. The sound is awesome as well. To be honest, there are a few bad things, but overall, i rate it a 9 out of 10! So this is definately a "gotta get" game. It's fun for long vacations, car rides and it's fun if you're bored!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Madden NFL 09
Its okay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/08
Racerboy6
I recently bought the madden 09 bundle thinking madden 09 would be fun. Well it's the same as any other madden just with some new features. The graphics aren't that good but the game play is great. Madden 09 on the psp comes with a new feature, the superstar challenge which is very easy but fun. You can't create your own team or player that's why i think it's not as good. The sound is okay and the controls are the same unless you choose rookie mode. The bad thing it dosen't have Brett Farve on the packers or the jets. The game is fairly easy and gets boring after a while. Superstar mode mainly focuses on the patriots and the giants. In the rookie mode all you have to do is hit one button and it passes for you. It's kind of stupid. I recommend playing it on advanced mode. Overall the game isn't worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Madden NFL 09
very good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/08
sports fan 111
this game was awesome. once you star playing it you can't put it down. this is not like the other madden games and has more things like the new superstar challenge where you be in real a exiting game from last year like the jaguars vs. the steelers and you have to be jacksonville when there is a minute left and when by a feild goal. another reason is the good graphics. this game has 2 modes. one is the advance mode which lets you do more things and one is the rookie mode which doesn't let you do much stuff at all. i really truly thing that all of you people reading this review should get this great game. don't miss out on how fun this game really is. the other kind of bad thing is the sound because you have to turn it up a lot until you here a pretty good sound of the announcers. this is a great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 13 for Madden NFL 09
same old same old
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/08
gbfan
Madden '09 for the psp is the same exact thing as last year's madden. The only new feature is a mode where you use one button to do everything and the other new thing is that you view the defense from the back when you are on defense. If you bought last year's madden there would be no reason to buy this one unless you have money to throw away. The player ratings aren't even that accurate, some players are rated lower than others who have accomplished little in the NFL. In other words, Madden has disappointed with Madden NFL 09. If you buy Madden '09 you will definently be disappointing. Madden should have atleast upgraded the franchise mode which is also the same as it has forever been. The soundtrack is decent. Superstar mode is average at best (mainly focuses on the patriots and giants)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Madden NFL 09
Good game but expected more
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/08
Yehuda Bloom
I got this game the other day after trading in madden 06 a while ago. Its pretty much the same game with superstar mode which is fun but takes two seconds to beat. But there is another new thing rookie mode which is for beginners and you press x to break a tackle or throw the ball to the most open receiver. Overall its a good game but for the 20th anniversary i expected something big. Another bad thing is that when you buy the game bret favre isn't on any team you have to download him from the internet. While online it freezes a lot and gets disconnected even when i'm right next to the router. To wrap this review up i believe its a good game but don't get it if you have madden 08 its a waste because its relatively the same game so wait until a real new feature like a career mode comes out.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Madden NFL 09
Dissapointed
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/08
A fan of Midnight Club
This game is good, but considering it was the 20th anniversary, I think they could have gone a little farther. To you people saying the game is to easy, raise the level! Pro is way to easy, but try all madden. It is ALMOST EXACTLY the same as 08, but it has superstar challenge. They took no risk! Come on... 20th anniversary! Rookie mode is really stupid. You press x, then it automatically passes to whoever the game thinks is most open. This game is not worth *edit*. It just repeats and repeats and repeats... same old thing every year. Also, since I pre ordered it, Brett Farve isn't on packers or jets and obviously now he is on the jets. It gets boring after a while, like you cant play this for 1 Hr. all in all, it is disappointing, but it is still fun like madden always is.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for Madden NFL 09
BUY THIS IF....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/08
vance
If you're a sports fan and you have a psp get this. It is great for car rides and such because I am a fan of franchise mode. It's a little long of loading but thats ok. ONLINE PLAY IS GREAT! I got this at midnight and as soon as I got home 40 people were on it was sweet. Over 200 people play it already so don't be afraid to go online and no one is there. And people are challenging and I like it. Please if you get this and play online don't create a new account or leave before the game is finished because it extremely sucks to play for 45 minutes and someone quits. Im finally not playing SOCOM ftb2 thats how much I like this game. The controls are ok but its hard to get a big hit or highlight move. Overall I love this game and cant wait to play it when I wake up every day.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Madden NFL 09
Awesome game for football fans
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/10
Aj12
Location: 41red toad road
I just bought this game for my self and I think it is awesom for the price i would buy this game any day football fans would problay love this game for the price.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Madden NFL 09
gameplay cool. graphics bad!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/10
demolition
Location: cincinnati oh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
needs better graphics. needs a better camera view. needs a better season mode. but the gameplay is awesome.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Madden NFL 09
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/11
Subway
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is sick. I am so happy that i bought this game. The best foot ball game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Madden NFL 09
cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/11
coolguy543
Location: 85041
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is so cool. it has super good graphics. anybody buy it now!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>