GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Universal Component Cable Legacy

Looking for ultimate connection quality? No compromises here. The Mad Catz Component Video and Audio Cable for the PlayStation 2, Xbox360, and Playstation One maximizes resolution and picture clarity. Nickel-plated contacts and reinforced cables provide you with the best signal transfer available for your sound and video.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909
3.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
4 out of 1136%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal Component Cable Legacy
Review 1 for Universal Component Cable Legacy
Good Product
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/08
Nick Davidson
This product gets a 7 because for the price of this product you get smooth playtime and nice picture resolution. The only problem with this unit is that there are a lot of wires unlike the hdmi. Even though this is universal they should make individual units for each system. I just recently bought a new xbox 360 (arcade console) which doesn't come with a component hook up for better graphics and what not so I bought this product to hook up to my LCD tv. I only use 480p but it makes a real difference. I play many games like GTA IV, Forza Motorsport 2, And Call Of Duty:4, and I can tell the difference. This product is also very easy to install and use. I haven't had any problems out of this and would definitely recommend this to many people including many friends and family.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Component Cable Legacy
Better than standard composite cables
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/12
Bork2631
Location: Memphis, TN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Bought this to replace the OEM composite cable that came with my ps2 and it works great. Yeah, it may only be 480i but the difference is very noticeable. With the composite cables, everything was distorted and the words were unreadable. But once I bought this cable, the picture became crystal clear. For those of you that say this cable does work, must be something wrong with your connection because it works fine on all my TVs from the 17" LCD in my kids room to my 55" LED in the living room. My only gripe is the cable is a lil on the short side.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Component Cable Legacy
well...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/10
deNNis55555
ok I bought a ps3 off my friend and what it came with is this cable and at first it did its job...WELL... but now its been 2 weeks max and now every time I play my ps3 theres this bar that starts at the bottom of the screen and it moves all the way up the screen. at first I just thought it was a connection problem so I reseated it and had no luck the bar is kind of like when you video tape a computer and you look back on it and you see like a wave and it travels up to the top and starts over back to the top. It doesn't interfere with anything its just really irritating and it doesn't make me want to play my ps3 and instead my 360. so I am giving this cable a 5 for the reason that the cable does what its sopost to do... weather it does it well is another thing. I would not buy this product again and would spring the extra cash to get a better cable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jayman2098
 
Please wait while more information about jayman2098 is loaded.
Additional information about jayman2098 could not be loaded.
same problem
Posted 7/10/11
i had the same problem but this happened when i first got it. when i plug the audio cables in theres this annoying sound thats nonstop.and there are purple and green waves
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Universal Component Cable Legacy
does what its supposed to
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/11
joe727
Location: tampa
i have the ps2, xbox and xbox 360 all in the same entertainment center and i bought this to reduce clutter and it does. the only problem i have is that the length of wire going to the console is not very long.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Component Cable Legacy
despicable/ you get what you pay for
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/08
An angry dude
This is a horrible product. I bought it to use with my ps2 and my hd widescreen tv so I could watch my widescreen movies full screen in component color and in progressive scan it work ok for a little while but I only used it to watch 3 movies I unplugged my ps2 2 for a bout a week and used it on a different tv and when I went to use the component cable on the hdtv the green plug no longer work so no DVDs would play in progressive scan play mode and my game Hitman Blood Money is a pink color when I try to play it in 480p(progressive scan) mode so as you can tell I’m a little pissed I payed for some thing that only worked 3 times but like I said you get what you payed. also there is a switch function that lets you choose whether to have the cable on progressive or not it is called hdtv and tv on the cable and what is supposed to do is you flip the switch and the cable is supposed to switch for progressive component video to composite(regular yellow cable)video with out having to change the settings on the system well that switch does absolutely nothing because you can leave it on switch it to TV and you still have to change the player settings to none progressive scan or you can turn off progressive scan and keep the cable on hdtv and it will play as a regular composite cable which is ok I guess but then what’s the point of having the switch there o I know it a feature you pay an extra for. But it’s really up to you to do the research and find out for yourself
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Component Cable Legacy
Cheap, defective connectors
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/09
Frustrated Customer
I bought this cable a while ago to use with my original xbox, which worked fine, but when I bought my 360 arcade and tried to use the cable, I noticed the connecter for the 360 is defective and slides back in the metal housing. I have never used the cable with my 360, it came that way. This is a cheaply made Madcatz product, as usual. Now there is no way to get my money back without a receipt from a year ago...I won't be buying a madatz product again.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Component Cable Legacy
Don't Bother
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/11
Keric
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this because I needed a component cable for the capturing device I'm using but now I regret getting this thing as it was DOA. When I plugged it into my component to HDMI adapter(since my monitor doesn't use component) to test the cable the adapter wouldn't get a signal from it nor would I get video on my monitor. Making sure it wasn't the adapter I plugged in the cable to the capture device and checked if I could capture anything from it but all I got was a big fat "No Signal". I'm returning this piece of junk back tomorrow and now I know better not to get any cables from GameStop.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 8 for Universal Component Cable Legacy
it is not worth it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/11
jayman2098
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
THIS PARAGRAPH IS WORTH READIN!!! since i first used it which was yesterday, the quality and sound is garbage! ok hear is what will make you not buy it. when you plug in the audio plugs theres this annoyin sound thats non stop even when you start a game up. the sound will kill you. and the worst thing is that purple and green lines go up and down the tv. i have a hd tv and the problem is there still. i tested it with all my tv's!!! the lines will intefer your gaming real bad! and the problems will all show when you use your capture card!im returnin mine and buyin a real ps3 cable!!!thx
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NXTkid
Pittsburgh PA
 
Please wait while more information about NXTkid is loaded.
Additional information about NXTkid could not be loaded.
Thanks!
Posted 12/27/11
Thanks for telling how it was!I was about to buy it for my HD TV does it work for the Wii?If it does tell me!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Universal Component Cable Legacy
Cheap not worth it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/13
dissapoint
Location: LA, CA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well I had a feeling these cables would be bad and I was right. I purchased them for my PS3 couldnt find the official Sony PS3 Component cables. Didn't work for my Playstation tried it on my second PS3 to be sure. It worked on my XBOX 360 and Wii, but I mainly needed it for PS3 so I'll be returning them.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for Universal Component Cable Legacy
return after purchase
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/11
Scofield
Location: MI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
does not work for PS2 - I bought this because original RCA video cable for PS2 gave very poor quality video. However, the component Pr, Pb, Y video cables fed NO signal, at least from PS2. Other reviews stated same. NO SIGNAL!!! Guess I can't connect my PS2 to an HDTV with a clear picture. Thanks anyway.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cyborg1985
 
Please wait while more information about cyborg1985 is loaded.
Additional information about cyborg1985 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/9/13
did you go into your PS2's video settings(using the composite cable) and switch it to component? If not it won't work. You have to switch it using the composite cable first. The PS2 system is so old you have to do it manually.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Universal Component Cable Legacy
PS2 users
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/12
Dune
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
To everyone who says it doesnt work with a ps2 that is because the ps2 was not designed with HD in mind however if you have a hard modded or soft modded PS2 there is a program to force HD resolutions then it will work just fine for you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10