GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Alone in the Dark

The game that started the popular survival horror genre returns better than ever! Players control Edward Carnby, the main character from the original Alone in the Dark, on a thrilling journey through a dark and terrifying re-creation of New York's Central Park where Carnby must discover the truth behind a dark conspiracy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9
4.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
5 out of 1050%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alone in the Dark
Review 1 for Alone in the Dark
Not For Everyone
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
PSPownsDS
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you don't have patience then your not going to like this game. Alone in The Dark is a game aimed at making the player feel like He/She is Edward Carnbe and immersing you into it's world. The story here is okay. it feels like it was stripped down to it's core and it's not helped but underwhelming performances by the cast. It dose however do a good job of pulling you into it's locations and sinareos. At it's best it's highly immersing and on the edge of your seat fun. The game basically puts you into an everyday location full of hellish monsters and you have to escape. using objects you find around you, your left to find a way out. There's also some clever puzzles that use yuor wits/the things around you. This is where people can lose interest as the game never really tells you were to go or what to do at times. Some will love this others will get board and quit the game. The wii controls work good for the most part but take some getting use to. it's a short game and doubtful you'll play it twice any time soon. Get this if you want a new survival horror game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alone in the Dark
Great Game
Posted on:6/18/08
Where is RE5?
Already played this game. It is not as good as Resident Evil, then again, nothing is in my opinion. However this game is pretty fun. The controls are pretty well done, and gameplay so far has been different. I mean that in a good way. There is driving, putting out fires with extinguishers, and busting down doors with heavy objects. That is all I have encountered thusfar, but I cant wait to sink my teeth into more. I suggest this game to anyone that is looking for a survival horror game to hold them over till Resident Evil 5 (which seems so far away) and/or just anyone that is looking for another good title for the Wii. I have yet to play the xbox version but I will probably give that a shot just for the achivements.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alone in the Dark
worst Wii title ever?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/10
newleaf326
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i would say yes! let me just say that i have read most of the reviews here and on other websites to see if this game really was the worst of its kind, STORY: the story takes place in New York City, stuff happens while your being held hostage, you as the main character have no idea who you are or whats going on in your sittuation, but when you contiune through the game you will soon realize whats really happing to new york.. GAMEPLAY: the gameplay itself seems fun when your not the one playing it!!, but once you do, you might not really know what to do next, this game has a nack for not giving you a direction or a "hint" when your stuck to a certain part of the game, which in this case, all the time!! but if you really think hard enough on what you have to do, you can pass this in no problem, the AI of the monsters are horrible, sometimes they don't even see you when your behind them or in front of them! its that bad... CONTROLS: controls at first seems ok, you get to control your charcter in a first person view or in a third person view (your choice) but once you have to do certain things like driving a car, jumping to the next rope, or some ridiculus stunt, it becomes hard or unresponsive, an example is driving, there's a part of the game where you have to escape from the bad guys and have to do a 2-3min chase driving, because of the horrible controls you crash more often that you have to restart most of the missions because of the horrible controls....GRAPHICS don't get me started with the graphis, its a wii game, ported from the 360/ps3/PC, they tuned it down, its just horrible, at times the game is even lags since the wii's hardware can't handle it, didn't i mention that because of the lag, disk stopped working? it happened to me over 10 times, thats not a lie, even close to the end of the game, it just frezzes, its sad really....SOUND: the sound isn't helping either, sometimes when you shoot your gun you sometimes here it go off, sometimes it will go off silent, at times you won't be hearing the background music at all, or being hereing the monsters coming towards you...OVERALL: this game has horrible controls, graphics wise are poor, the helpful tips arn't there, its a short game and the game will give you a eye sore, but considering its a very cheap price for a wii game, i only advice getting this game if you want to just try it out like i did, or buy it for your collection i don't know, overalll i give this game a 2/10(poor)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alone in the Dark
Very Dissapointing
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/09
Darkganon15
I was extremely dissapointed with Alone in the Dark. I thought it would be a good game, but I was wrong, I would reccomend renting this game first. The challenge of this game can sometimes be stupidly hard, to the point it will piss you off. The graphics are horrible, you can see the pixel squares. I don't even know the length cause I didn't complete this game. The storyline is ok, but presented in a weird way. The controls are weird and kind of suck. The interface is ok, and the game's sound is ok. I just don't see how people like this game. I think I played the first two chapters of this game and just decided this sucks. I'm usually the guy who will play a game all the way through and decide what I think, but this game was just ugh... I overall think this is a poorly made game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alone in the Dark
Save your $5.99 for a value meal at mcdonalds!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/11
hennessyhypnotic
Location: greenville pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Best feature - the ability to turn it off. Worst feature - the ability to turn it on. Lasting appeal - none. Verdict - DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alone in the Dark
Alone in the dark ahh!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/08
snake8246
I brought this game for high hopes idk why it's Atari I mean for the wii the graphics are generally bs. As well the actual game play is interesting though have to survive with minimal help and supplies it's cool. I mean don't get me wrong I reccomend this product if u do not have a 360 to play this game on but the wii make u want to play this game and I love that so support this game or don't idc. Just the game it self is a new horror game and rated M game for the wii. I belive this game is crazy rediclious and if u have time to just learn to get pass certain parts u find it scary and ammusing as well I learn that u really have to play this in the dark. It's make it scarier but also allow the game graphics come out more on the tv since the sun leave a big glare on mine. So yeah I am glad to be the first review!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alone in the Dark
If you know what's good for you, don't bother
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/09
Jack565
Puzzles - way too easy. Gameplay - way too easy. Lots of pointless swearing, it's as if an immature twelve year old who likes to swear wrote this. You're never alone (even though it's called alone in the dark) there's an annoying woman hounding you to hurry up all the time. If you want to be scared...well...hahaha you're in for a real disappointment. Using "environment" isn't like how you'd think it'd be. Ooooooo, I'm going to hit you with a barrel! Ooooooo, I'm going to burn you by holding a lighter up to a spray! The graphics are worse than terrible, they look almost as good as play station 1 graphics. I wouldn't recommend even renting this game unless you're curious to see how crappy this game is, then I would understand. I don't know how good this game is for xbox 360 but for nintendo wii, it sucks.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 8 for Alone in the Dark
this game is grand and fun. buy it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/08
Albert
I'd like to say that this game is a lot of fun, offers good in-game music, a nice story and the whole controls with the wiimote make it an additional fun for wii players of this game. However, beware with the controls of the driving, this is one thing I must address, because it's quite awful. Maybe it's just me, but I found it quite hard to do it and control it, but if you get it down and don't hit lamp poles. But still overall the game is epic fun and offers a lot of interaction with items you find all around, from axes to poles. You'll have fun killing the good old fashioned way! So basically in the end I had/have a lot of fun with this game and I know most that buy it will as well. Good luck and have fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alone in the Dark
sweet
Posted on:6/3/08
Jesse.P
Now this game is gonna be awsome. I seen the previes and tech demos and it made me want it even more. I realy like how if you can't ass a spot then you can skip it to another spot. I also like how the demons (zombies) can die instantly if hit by fire. I find it cool how you can make traps, weapons, and other cool stuff by combining them together. Its sweet how you can use almost anything as a weapon like the swords and axes. You can also drive across the city and hit monsters with the car your driving. The envirenment is one heck of an enemie at some points as it can help you or trap you in a death trap.
Review 10 for Alone in the Dark
Horror
Posted on:6/18/08
snake8246
I love horror games I love all games but horror is the best I got every single resident evil and this game for the wii will be so much fun. I mean don't get me wrong the graphics for this game version will be not as good as x-box 360 of course but wil still blow our minds with the inovation of the wii controls schemes as well if u like I am legend or any thing that is survival and u screamed at the movie saying I would had done this this game is a living movie that allow u to do the things u would want to do to survive I pre-order this game I think u should do the same!
Review 11 for Alone in the Dark
looks fun but
Posted on:5/11/08
ken - alone in the dark
I still miss the original. where you explored the house, room by room and when you were killed, a zombie monster would wheel your body into a cavern. That always sent chills down my spine. Later versions changed completely to plain shoot-em-ups - the same formula used in so many of today's games from Resident Evil to you name it. Give me back the puzzles of the original Alone in the Dark and I'll be alone in the dark trying to figure them out.
Review 12 for Alone in the Dark
looks good but....
Posted on:5/11/08
Aiden
This game looks good. I mean come on any game where you can light zombies on fire with hairspray is gonna be great, but saying that the game looks a lot like resident evil. The controls on that game were good, but I didn't like how you had to press B to aim and A to fire. They should make the aim automatic so that you can use the wii zapper or perfect shot. But I say this game is going to be awesome none the less.
Review 13 for Alone in the Dark
excitement awaits!
Posted on:5/3/08
Albert
Catchy title, but anyway I think this game looks really good and I’ve seen trailers for the Wii version and it looks like a lot of fun! I can’t wait. The movie of this wasn’t too grand but I’m looking forward to the game for sure. And what’s not to love about a free T-shirt!
Review 14 for Alone in the Dark
Alone In The Dark
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/13
Dani23
Location: Usa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I went to Bull Moose the other day to get Alone In The Dark for my Wii, and I think this game is a bit much for my liking, I can't get passed the first level without killing myself in the game..
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 15 for Alone in the Dark
Alone in the Dark
Posted on:6/2/08
Iamyourgod
This game looks like amazing. Graphics are awesome, cool monsters. The only thing that looks a little bad is the controls. It looks as if there is going to be a lot of free will in the game. All in all it will be one amazing addition to the horror games of the era.
Review 16 for Alone in the Dark
like alan wake
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/11
52zz
Location: Tegucigalpa
This game is perfect for: party gamers
a guy in a dark world with a lot of horrible creatures and all the fear it is on the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alone in the Dark
Edward Carnby? 3DO Edward Carnby!?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/08
Wiiplaya
Yeah Edward Carnby returns to save the day once again, though he's now over 100 years old. You would think the medic would be least freaked out by that considering they being attacked by a giant momma bat freakish thing. But yes you heard right its the SAME Carnby after the 3DO version Edward went to newyork were he disapeared for 56 or so years. Ok, now to the begining. You start off by first person were it tells you you can blink by press the down button on the wiimote pad (or if you don't you'll see a bunch of blinding light). After awhile of them talking about what just happened they will notify eachother that one of them must go kill you on the roof, so he stands you up and you start walking to were he tells you to and sooner or later he'll get dragged away by something then your free to roam through a building thats collapsing. The good thing is however it'll tell you must of what to do, here...(thats just to start you off in the storyline wise) (oh and you have amnesia) Challenge - 9/10 - Thing I love about "Alone in the Dark" games they hardly tell you anything about what to do - but "A clever mind leads to good times." Though when you first run into enemies they're really dumb and watch one another get beaten with a chair. Graphics/Animation - 6/10 - It severly disappoints me to see such waste of the Wii graphics, They probably could of used about the same graphics as the Xbox 360's, but instead like all lazy game makers they bundle the Wii's graphics with the Ps2's. The characters faces like hardly have any depth..but the animations are great! Length- 10/10 - I think it has the right amount portion for the making of a sweet satisfy pie..I mean game. Storyline - 8/10 - Its ok maybe its because of the cheesy acting it doesn't appeal to me as much.. controls - 8/10 - Its totally not as bad as everyone say but it helps if you do the motion exact. Who knew garbage canisters made such great weapons! The attack motions are great, Driving is hard (apparenty is you hit a blown up car or a wall you won't die or get hurt but if you hit a parked car that has its lights on you will??), setting fire to things is FUN! Until you waste all your alcohol spray and you got nothing to heal yourself XD. OH and ONE THING YOU MUST NEVER FORGET YOU CANNOT SHOOT OVER A DESK, THROUGH BARS, OUT WINDOWS. I wasted my time bashing zombies, or whatever you want to call them I'm a resident evil fan so, bashing them with a chair and screaming "Die zombie!" seems very appealing to me, and then running around a desk grabbing a gun from what seems to be an hotel manager, then turning around (first time you get the gun) , seeing that the "zombies" reappeared I unleashed all the clips of ammo I had trying to shoot one of them over the service counter! IT DOSEN'T WORK! Interface - 8/10 - I seen nothing really to wrong with it but not anything to awesome about it either. It flowed together ok but im not in awe. The the episodic storyline was cool. Sound - 9/10 - I never thought i'd hear "F&#%" in a game as much as this. Some of how they talk is really cheesy too, and I keep hearing a crackle sound.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10