GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomb Raider Underworld

Designed specifically to take advantage of the latest technologies Tomb Raider: Underworld represents a new advancement in exploration-based gameplay. As fearless adventurer Lara Croft explore exotic locations around the world, each designed with an incredible attention to detail resulting in breathtaking high-definition visual fidelity that creates a truly believable world and delivers a new level of challenge and choice.
Average Customer Rating:
8.154
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
6
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 out of 2677%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomb Raider Underworld
Review 1 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Not bad!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/08
Anonymous
Being a long time TR player I eagerly awaited and embraced Underworld. Overall a very solid game. Camera still needs work, but has become a trademark of the series, at least to me. The game didn't appear to utilize Dolby Digital, which was disappointing given my interest in wanting to be pulled more-so into Laura's world. Story was solid and wrapped up loose ends from Legend. Controls were okay, frustrating at times. I wish there were more action options however (mines which you rarely use, kicks, and gunfire). There was a nice balance between action and exploration. The puzzles were unique and nothing less than what you would expect from Tomb Raider. For optimal performance I recommend playing w/HDMI cables, as I could tell a difference between 1080 I and p. Soundtrack was very nice and captivated key elements in the story and in-game world events. I would've preferred that it was a tad longer like old school Laura, but the game from start to finish is a solid buy worthy of your time!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Camera angles & length AHHHH!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/08
amuncy
I have played all the Tomb Raider games, and I was expecting an outstanding game in Underworld, and although I did enjoy it, if fell a bit short in some places. First of all the graphics and controls are great, along with the story line, it's all good. The camera angles are annoying, not being able to see where you are jumping to really starts to anger a person. The thing that really bothered me was how short this game is. 14 hours is how long it took me to beat this game, I don't know how everyone else feels about this, but I like a game that takes a while to complete, and I was looking forward to a boss fight at the end at least, but I didn't get one. This game lacked enemies, I know Lara is a Tomb Raider, and that is the point of it, but previous TR games have featured many more enemies, and boss fights, so this was a big disappoinment. All in all I did enjoy the game, it was good to play,and I don't regret buying it, I just regret beating it so quickly.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Very Fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/09
i got squeezed
Alright, This game will amaze you in every way i can think of, i bought this game Friday, not bad for its descent price and very worth it. The game has amazing looks and lara is better and a lot cooler then the past games. In my opinion i like this better than TRL, who wouldnt right? The game has lots of places to explore and may get lost of where to go but I'm sure you will find out, and unbeliveable graphics in some places are just jaw dropping , because mine did in almost every level of the heights and scenery is just gorgous. You will not be dissapointed beside the horrible camera angle thats in the game but thats overlooked since its an amazing game. Somewhat short game but not too short where you will not get bored, the treasures who are hidden somewhat good and some are in your line of sight, in my opinion theres too much of them in the game thats just not needed but the game is very well made beside the bugs like once your running in a corner you get stuck and you start to twitch, weird, but overall Buy THIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Tomb Raider Fans!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/08
No Such Name
I had heard good things and bad things about this game long before I bought it. But no matter what I heard, I knew I was gonna buy it. First the graphics and especially lara look fantastic, a true next gen game. The underwater levels were beautiful and just watching the surface of the water was amazing. Gameplay was good, but I would enjoy a tomb raider game with less gunplay and more exploration. The bike levels were done better than previous games, but I would prefer if they were not included at all. Handling felt sluggish and late and I was finding myself constantly having to reverse and turn around or back up because I ran into a wall or some trees. The storyline is forgettable, which isn't a problem because the gameplay is so good, but I really liked the story for legend and I would have loved to have a bit more in the storytelling process. Overall I would definitely advise anyone that loves action/adventure games to buy this or even rent it for a weekend, I'm sure the real tomb raider fans already have.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Ok, but not for everyone!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/08
Linkle2
I am not a Lara Croft fanatic as this is my first installment, and I am deeply disappointed. The shooting mechanics and guns feel lousy, although jumping from ledge to ledge never does get tiring. The biggest issue with the game is the camera. It can ruin those intense or should-be-simple moments by blocking your view or making timing a jump seem way harder than normal. You are a Tomb Raider, who, well, raids tombs. The enemies are fairly idiotic as they stare and let you pick them off, even if you are a few feet away. As for Lara's signature Gymnastics style moves, they are way to hard. The enemies may be stupid, but they can stop your kicks like crazy, and then the camera blocks out so you don't know where cover is or who is attacking. To sum it up, if you are a fan of Lara Croft's games, then you will enjoy this except for the camera. If you are not a Lara Croft fan and are new to the series like me, I don't think you will get your money's worth. Rock on!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Best Tomb Raider Yet!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/08
WishList
This game is great and like all other Tomb Raider games it takes you all over the world with a very compelling story line to boot. Lara in search of her mother following her fathers work has her to search for the mythological weapon Thor's Hammer, which might be as good or better than the last weapon she found, Excalibur. This game has a lot great cut scenes and lots of extras if your willing to work hard for it or if you just want to take your time and play it out on easy. I really enjoyed the stages where you get to ride on her motorcycle and even though it was required to help you reach certain places it did not take the fun out of it at all. Again I say this game is great and the best feature of this game would have to be the hint system you can find on the items menu. Now anyone can continue to play without having to stop and look online as to where to go because you can get help direct from the game itself! Also Lara Croft has never looked any Better! Great Game 9/10! Also for those who like a challenge, I read online somewhere that there's a secret ending if you play it on the hardest difficulty. Definitely something for everyone.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tomb Raider Underworld
I dont have xbox live!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/09
hello fellow movie goer!
I almost fainted when I heard about tomb raider underworld! my sister was watching the movie so I thought it was cool and googled tomb raider. I found an array of tomb raider games and my jaw dropped. I would recomened it to anyone who likes action adventures that put you on the edge of your chair. I started with buying tomb raider anniversery,then legend then angel of darkness. but the best one so far to me was underworld partially because of the questions they answer and fun playability. Some bad things about it were the glitches and how easy it is to die!! but all in all it might be the best one so far in the tomb raider franchise. to sum up all of my good things and minor things we could do without I give it a ten and recommened it to anyone even if you don't know what tomb raider is. if you play this one you will get hooked on the tomb raider series. Just get it (:
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Seriously Bad
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/12
Katlyums96
Location: Tampa, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ugh, what a waste of money. The first hour or two of the game you just walk around climbing and jumping. The camera angles are pitty, such as you have to jump to a ledge but can't see the ledge to jump to, mostly like a leap of faith. When you do get to combat it's pitiful. I imagined this beeing like the old tomb raiders, like the ones for the original playstation, but no. They're re-mastered it into something awful. Not recommended, even if your a tomb raider fan, cause I am, or was i should say, and found this game beyond dissapointing. Now im stuck with 50gs in achievements on the game which makes me mad cause im not going to put myself through misery to make it better.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Please -- More Fun Than Frustrating This Time
Posted on:11/6/08
Anonymous
What made Tomb Raider Anniversary such an un-fun, frustrating mess is that the camera and controls are never as smooth and responsive as the game needs them to be. Anniversary wants you to be incredibly precise, but the camera regularly switches angles without warning in the middle of do-or-die jumps. I really enjoyed Tomb Raider: Legend, but if Tomb Raider: Underworld is more like Anniversary (demanding perfect precision, while the camera and controls work against you constantly) than like Tomb Raider: Legend, then Tomb Raider: Underworld will be the last TR game I ever buy. And no, that doesn't make me happy.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Tomb Raider at it's near best.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/11
mayorwestify
Location: Seattle, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Lara Croft never felt better in her action role game play to console. I can't stop playing this game just to see what lye's ahead. I'm about 5 hours into the game and I'm hooked. Graphics are top notch, elements of water, land, animals, etc. are brought to life. Water effects are great. This game does require some thinking to push forward, but has all the tools to complete each level to its end. The camera is kind of a hindered now and then but I use the pocket camera to figure out my next moves if needed. So far so good with this title and at the price it goes for now it's a definite purchase, go get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Expecting another disappoint
Posted on:10/27/08
AnyOneButOsamaBarack
I grow up around Lara Croft and she being the only adventure, treasure hunting title around and felt it enjoyable though especially with legend it got old. With national treasure I and II and the newest indie films its perfect time to bring back that series but like others have mentioned I hope this one is up with the times. I lean towards games like Ghost Recon or Saints Row, Grand theft auto, or Assassins Creed so this new tomb raider better have multiple paths and this will probably be taking wrong or twisted out of context but with technology these days the game's feel and look should be more lifelike from trees and cars etc. instead of looking more chalky and bubbles then the original versions. I always find it funny to go back to cartoons I grow up around and see how the latest versions seem so poorly drawn they are these days and that's what I see with a lot of games especially legend. Now in cartoons and games characters are like stick figures and chalky compared to clear and crisp though obviously outdated in my time. It's hard to explain but it seems like characters should be clear like assassins creed but in legend it felt more like where's nemo mix with the flintstones. Unless the graphics are up to date I don't see a lot of hope which is sad Lara's still hot for a game character but then again I'm a realist and games with wizards and monsters have never been my thing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Great!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/09
InvaderKyo
I have played all the way back since the first Tomb Raider game in 1996 and the games are getting better every time!! The graphics are AMAZING, and Thailand is beautiful. I kept looking at everything and saying WOW! Lara has way better equipment, like the grapple and choice of guns. I am absolutely OBSESSED with the Thailand level and I play it like every day. The thing that annoys me,though,is the camera. But that is about the only bad thing. I got one of my friends to try the game and she loved it!! I'm hooked!! At first I was doubtful because, being a girl gamer, and a little feminist, I thought it would only be appealing to some people because of Lara's body, but I love the game and I will NEVER tire of it!! It is the best and I can't wait until I get Beneath The Ashes and Lara's Shadow!! I love the Doppleganger.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tomb Raider Underworld
this tr game is a disgrace to the series.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/12
IIIIIIIIIIIII
Location: michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
tr anniversary and tr legend are great games but not underworld first off the controls are stupidly oversensitive compared to legend and anniversary the only good thing about this game is the graphics, they favor harder puzzles and no boss fights like in legend and anniversary, i just think they should have left the controls the same as the other games, buy anniversary or legend, you'll be mad you wasted 12$ on this game.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tomb Raider Underworld
This game is awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/11
chevyguy1
Sorry if it seems like I gave this game too high of a rating. But i've been a Tomb Raider fan since the beginning. And I gotta say, I absolutely love Lara. She is awesome. Ever since the very first game she kept getting better and better. I'll admit the ending is a bit of a bummer. But this is still a great game. And in case some of you didn't know, there is a new Tomb Raider coming out towards the end of the year. I'm definitly going to buy it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Please work on the controls
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/13
SoulOfRage
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really enjoyed the story, and the puzzles (while fairly simple) are fun.
BUT! The controls (especially while doing critical jumps) are absolutely AWEFUL. The game wants you to be precise, but there is no real way to be so. To compound the problem, the screen zooms in whenever you are next to an object (say, a wall...) which makes looking where you need to leap very difficult. And exactly which way do you need to push the control to leap in that very critical direction? UGH!
I hope they continue to make games for this magnificent series. But the devs need to slap themselves if they don't correct the control and camera problem.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for Tomb Raider Underworld
THIS IS AWESOME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/08
Tomb Raider Underworld
This game continues Lara's adventures from legend and closes many loose knots. The gameplay is awesome lara [try the demo and then buy it just to be sure] will actually push brush away when she runs into it. She can finally sprint and can stand on her famous swinging poles. This game may be hard [unlike legend definitely] but for those of you who like a challenge buy this! If you thought legend was hard this is not for you! Anniversary and Underworld come close in the difficult rating but I say anniversary was just a little bit harder [think back to greece] but all in all it's a great game! And the games awesome story is just a sequel but did you see the burning Manor video. Well what does it mean? You'll find out because there are no loose ends in this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tomb Raider Underworld
GOT TO GET!! NOW !!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/08
jovil11
Crystal Dynamics deserve acclaim, not just for having created their best Tomb Raider game so far, but for something even more remarkable: listening to criticism. They’ve taken on board the fact that their strength lies in epic puzzles and astonishing level architecture, and that their great weakness has been boss fights. Of the latter, Underworld contains an admirable none. The former constitutes the whole of the game. Crystal Dynamics’ first Lara outing was Legend, in which Lara’s backstory and motivations were explored, ending with the discovery that her mother might still be alive, trapped in Avalon. Along the way we learned of her feud with another tomb raider, Amanda. The cliffhanger ending of 2006 is where Underworld picks up. The remarkable architectural vision, coupled with ultra-smart level design, all produced on such a huge scale, makes this as good as Tomb Raider has ever been. Its still short, it still has annoying combat, and Lara still freaks out and jumps off in the wrong direction far too often. So it still falls short of greatness. But the most exemplary check-pointing we’ve ever encountered forgives a great deal, and the brave decision to ditch the boss fights makes us want to hug all involved. Go explore the Underworld.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tomb Raider Underworld
Lara Croft
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/10
gamer666
I always liked lara croft she's cool. the graphics on this game is a lot better then the previuos one's i like her new look. i have always hated the camera it stunk but they pretty much fixed that thankfully so it's a pretty good game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tomb Raider Underworld
CRAPTACULAR
Posted on:11/6/08
Tomb Hater - Blunderworld!!!
I've tried playing the demo 3 times already and got stuck on a jump where I kept falling into the water. I've always hated the Tomb Raider series for stupid obstacles like this that take away from actually play time. I just found it frustrating and even hate wasting my time on this piece of crap. The word Craptacular doesn't do this game justice.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tomb Raider Underworld
A Masterpiece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/11
eggynick
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is beautiful and a must-have for many gamers. It is an all-time masterpiece and I played through it twice. The mechanics, like the assassin's Creed series, are perfect. The game is intriguing and extremely interesting. You'll be hooked! One of my favorite games!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>