GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Strategy/Simulation Game of the YearAfter seven years, Red Alert returns! After a time travel mission goes awry, a new superpower has been thrust onto the world stage and World War III is raging. The Empire of the Rising Sun has risen in the East, making WW III a three-way struggle between the Soviets, the Allies, and the Empire with armies fielding wacky and wonderful weapons and technologies such as Tesla coils, heavily armed War Blimps, teleportation, armored bears, intelligent dolphins, floating island fortresses, and transforming tanks.Experience the next chapter of the Red Alert saga.
Average Customer Rating:
6.692
6.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 1362%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Review 1 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Awsome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
NinjaKitten
Location: Woodinville, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game was awsome because the campaign is fun, the multiplayer is one of the best and the units that you can get are some of the best.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
well made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/11
TinyTim2011
Location: Kansas city, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Red Alert 3 is a well made, excellent command and conquer style game. It's Graphics are excellent for something that has come all this way. Just look back at Red Alert 2 and the original. This type of game is for people that do not look for perfection but a good game to keep you busy and keep you drawn in. first of all the bad-@$$ intro with the classic h3ll march along with the intro and invasion scene. Also whats up with all the hot chicks? is that how they make sure you stay over the top interested in the game? That truly is a smart tactic. Especially for people that strongly critisize what a game is based on. Also They should try to keep the gameplay graphics somewhere close to the trailer and intro graphic experience. three things i reall like about the graphics. 1: They did an excellent job on fire and large explosions. 2: Water is suprisingly very good with the waves and ripples. 3: even with a not so good computer, the graphics range is great for enthusiasts or just gamers that like the game soley because its command and conquer. Keep it going Red Alert, your next game should look even better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Amazing Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/09
Tim S.
This is a great game for one and all to love. First off the AI is actually pretty good, well unless if your playing on easy. Also in the campagin you get a 2nd AI (or another player if your doing the campagin in Co-Op online) commander to help you. This works pretty well as you have basic control over them (go here, attack here, defend here, etc.). What I personally didnt like about it is you can just have them pump out 50 Gaurdian Tanks and send them in the enemy base and win fairly quickly, but this is helpful to new players to the genre and to Command & Conquer games themselves. Now for the Challenge, I personally am not new to Strategy games and the Red Alert series so I had little to no trouble on medium settings. But once I got to higher levels of difficulty I enjoyed the challenge that the AI brought, as well as you 2nd Commander relying on you for help. Graphics are unique in that they didnt want realism they wanted it to look cartoonish, and it allowed for some of the funnier looking vehicles to look cool. Also as in all C&C games you have actors/actresses telling you your objectives and what not. I personally enjoy these cutscenes, because they add some variety to the game. The Interface is pretty decent, if you've played other C&C or Red Alert games you should feel close to home. There are some changes like the Command Point system. Which I didnt even realise was there for a while, because it hasnt been in other C&C games that I can remember. The Sound is pretty decent to men dying, bombs droping, and vehicles exploding. Some Russians go back in time, one shakes the hand of Albert Einstien and he disinergrates. They come back to find that there is no such things as nuclear weapons anymore, the Allies are being defeated by the Soviet Union, and The Empire of the Rising Sun is starting a full out attack. A little cliche I know, but hey it tried its best. All in all get this game. 8 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Very Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/09
Camgoeswild
Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3 is my favorite C&C game yet. I will now describe the ratings i gave this game. AI: 8: the opponent used pretty good tactics to try and defeat me, such as bombarding me from just out of range and going around my defenses. Challenge:10 The campaign was difficult but not too hard and you had to use strategy to win, not just brute force which makes to easy. Graphics:10 The Graphics are amazing on high detail, Although if your computer isn't very good then you may need to turn the graphics to low in which they are pretty bad. Interface 7: The menus were easy to navigate and the in game controls are easy. But building a base is fairly complicated, although that just adds to the strategy. Sound 10: The music is pretty cool and catchy. The units say a lot of funny things, For example one unit calls in an artillery satellite to bombard the enemy sometimes says "Your call is very important to us" or "Please Hold" Storyline 8: The story line was good and cool. But it was still a bit odd. This concludes my review of Command And Conquer: Red Alert 3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Lay it to rest with Dignity....
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/09
Lodoss
Every time I see a Command and Conquer game not made by Westwood Entertainment, I cry a little, but after experiencing Command and Conquer: Red Alert 3, I didn't cry a little inside, I died a little inside... Let's start with the key importance of all games, the storyline. Red Alert and Red Alert 2 both had somewhat cheesy storylines, but at least they were the kind of storyline that could happen in a science fiction future. In Red Alert 3, Stalingrad is under attack by the Germans during ww2. In a last plan of action, two soviet union guys go back in time, and one warns the other not to touch anything, as it could change the future for the worse. The other guy fails to listen and goes to shake Albert Einstein's hand, disintegrating him. To make sure they didn't mess anything else up, they go back to their time, only to find it's changed, the Soviet Union is in control of Europe, and a new force known as the Empire of the Rising Sun (Japan) is fighting for it. You are also at war with the americans/british, as the soviets are even more power hungry. Sadly, Red Alert 3's storyline is full of plot holes. Why does disintegrating Albert Einstein in the past make Adolf Hitler and the entire Nazi Resigm disappear in the future? What is the real reason the soviets are forced to fight the americans/british? The second worst part of Command and Conquer: Red Alert 3 is the cutscenes. If you are a hardcore fan of the old Red Alert, you are probably as tired as I am with these "realistic" looking cutscenes with actual actors/actresses. If I wanted something like that, I'd join the army, but for the game, they should just keep the game's cutscenes game format instead of real life format.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Awesome Graphics, tough game play in skirmish
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/08
Don-E
I did not expect much from this game after reading the reviews here, I decided to buy the game anyway. I can honestly say I am glad I bought the game, its fun and very fast paced. The graphics are excellent, very intense colors and the graphics do look a little like comic book graphics (not a bad thing, just different), the animations and the special effects really add to the look, it all works, sort of an old and new look combined which really goes with the theme of the game. Game play in campaign is ok, the videos are corny but again it works with the comic book look of the game, the skirmish is my favorite game play, that and on line which is where the game shines in my opinion. Overall I was very impressed with the game, after downloading the patch the game looks and feels very polished, smooth and it runs great. I do recommend this game if this is the type of strategy based gaming you like, won't be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Hurting
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/08
funkymonkey
I downloaded the demo of this game and after about five minutes into each mission I dropped it and deleted the file. Honestly, I'm so sad to see what's happened to the C&C franchise. The original saga, which covers Kane's rise to power and Tiberium's effects on the earth, is pure gold. The first Red Alert was an absolute masterpiece. i just couldn't put the game down. I was a bit confused about how Stalin could be alive in the present day, considering how he'd been dead for decades when the game came out, but I digress. The second one was a huge disappointment (to me at least), and I figured I'd give the third a look too, and keep an open mind. First off, it's probably the corniest acting I've ever seen. I also hate how they totally just threw away the storyline from the first RA and changed it into some lame three-way battle. RA 1 was supposed to be a prequel to the Tiberium Wars story, but the other two seemed to not only stand on their own in the overall scheme of things, but they also got too far over the top. Dolphins? Squid? I mean, come on. I miss the good old fashioned cruisers and submarines, or the mammoth tanks plowing through a group of light tanks. Another thing I couldn't stand were the outfits. All the women in that story were dressed in way that no real person in their position would be allowed to dress, even if they wanted to. The Allied blonde in the demo was in a ridiculously short skirt and then there was the one in the tight leather outfit on the Soviet side. Oh, and don't get me started on Tanya. I'm not a prude or anything, but they went way too far trying to provide eye candy for teenage boys. But why stop there? Let's add stupid inuendoes just for kicks. Anyone notice the Soviet general's statement "they're probing deep into Russia's nether regions"? or something to that effect. Funny. I'm not saying that my opinion is the right one. Everyone has their own views on it, and I'm sure a lot of people would disagree with me. But for my tastes, this game simply does not deliver. The way I see it, the Tiberium Wars storyline worked well with sequels because it's a long, developing story. RA on the other hand was meant to be a single tale in a single game, and they should have kept it that way.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Please Save Your Money
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/08
UcantseeT
I have been a C&C fan since the beginning of the series and this is by far the worst in the whole series. I would play Renegade before I pick this title up again. Before I would pick up a C&C title with no worry and would not be disappointed. Now, I will make sure I demo every release from now on. Red Alert is cheesy and is void of any type of new gameplay or functions. I guess I'm going to have to wait for the next Tiberium to come out before I forgive EA for getting me to waste my money on Red Alert. If you are a big fan and considering Red Alert, I beg you to download the demo before going to any store and picking this up for full price. I wish EA took me out before laying me down and well you know... Just wait for the next game in the series or buy used or just get it from a friend who would more than likely give you their copy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Very Disappointed
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/08
Vicero
Please save your money, I thought this would be a good title from EA, another good command and conquer release. They have come so far from where they were in this Genre. The first C&C was so good, Generals series was good. These last two have been terrible. What sucks is I cant take it back to gamestop. So it will just be reminder on my shelf on what not to do when buying games. This interface is not polished at all, I can see graphics just acting very weird, I can see their enemy dogs out in the water attacking my harbor. These dogs can swim.... I see that the navy units aren't useful at all. I remember when Red Alert meant something, especially the ones where you could take the navy along side the base and bombard the buildings and it would be a decisive victory. The aircraft carrier is way under powered, and just the whole game is clunky. I hope to find something good with it, since I do have to keep the game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Corny but fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/08
Keith F
I know Red Alert is known for it's "silly" videos, but sometimes they just go so far over the top, I can't stand to watch some of the videos. Sometimes I am surprised that certain Actors agree to do some of this stuff, but I guess desperate times call for desperate measures. Aside from the corny videos, the big difference between this and C&C3 and its expansion is the pace. RA3 is VERY fast paced. If you think you are a pro at C&C games, load up a skirmish on medium. Right off the bat, the AI "scouts" and tries to find your weakest point. If it's getting overwhelmed, it'll pull back. And battles are short. Even the strongest units dont last long. I'm not saying this is good or bad, but if you like the slow build up your base approach, you are about to get pissed off. I don't even know why the option to build walls is in the game. Graphics seemed pretty top notch. There is definitely a more "cartoon" look to it. I thought c&c3 and kanes wrath looked better, yet in RA3 I could not top everything out like I could in c&c3. Nothing big really. The story.... Is just silly. I'm sorry, but there's only so much I can take. (SPOILER) I haven't gotten in to the Empire campaign yet, but I'm going to assume that at some point like in the soviet and allied, you will have to take down your leader after being his right hand man through several missions. I would say the coolest thing about the campaign missions was the option to do the missions co op. Unfortunately, I did not have the patience to try it out. While there were people in Lobby rooms and chat rooms, it took far too long to get someone to join. So I played each mission with the computer AI, which I have to admit is pretty kick ass. The ability to order you're ally to "plan" an attack or strike a target is actually pretty well executed. I usually just tell him/her(each computer ally has some sort of 3rd rate actor to play as) to "take position" which works pretty well. All in all, it's not a terrible game, but it's not going to shatter anyones expectations. The computer AI does offer quite a challenge.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Devided
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/08
Bishop
I must say overall the game played very well, this being after I ordered the game from the digital download only to find that the download is broken and wont give me my money back. I drove 30 miles to the nearest store that had a copy just to try it out. The AI was good in the game only rarely did it ignore me and just go after the computer assistance. Graphics are top notch on this game and really flow well I don't think you will be disappointed. Storyline was good if that is what you like mixed into the game heavily, I could go without it but a lot of thought was put into it so it turned out well. To end I warn anyone strongly of the digital download of this game. The secondary company used is not helpful and still offered the product for download even though they knew it was broken and didn't even take the time to inform you before purchase that you would have to wait 3 days in order to play the game you bought. Not only that but I personally spent 9 hours downloading the game to find out its broken and not just in one way. The answer given to me was sorry you can download it on Tuesday have a good day. If that is customer support then I'm set back. I must say if this doesn't get resolved I most likely will not use gamestop again for ordering games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
I'm left wanting
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/08
Bahlkris
I am fairly disappointed with RA3 and it took me several hours of playing to figure out why. The graphics are great and the storyline is great. I love that they brought in some big actors to get the cutscenes done. But while I was playing there was something just felt wrong and out of place. I found myself constantly thinking back to TW3 and Kanes Wrath. Finally after finishing the Russion and Allied missions and half way through the Empire missions I decided to play a skirmish. And it hit me. Lack of units. This game has land and water on every single map, and while any one team has a wide range of abilities you MUST use both land and water to get access to them all. That annoys me. Maybe I dont want to play a skirmish with water, maybe I dont want to play one with land. But now I have to. Maybe if the game had more units in both land and water so I could lean one way or the other then that would be great. And it annoys me that in an effort to try and do this they made a lot of the vehicle amphibious, and some of the boats can drive on land. Most notebly the Allied Destroyer... and yes... it looks a wee bit retarded when it does. Kudos on the building diversity of how each faction works. Thats clever. And the Empire not even having an air force but they worked that out with units that change form, again clever. Lots of little things in this game make it really fun... The story also has been pretty entertaining, albeit a bit silly and goofy at times but still entertaining. But for me it didnt last long. I am totally not enjoying the skirmishes, human, computer, or otherwise. And thats what I loved in Kanes Wrath. And I must say something about the use of color. What is this? Spice Girls meats RTS? Everything is bright and flashy. Its overkill.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamerextreme5000
None of your business
 
Please wait while more information about gamerextreme5000 is loaded.
Additional information about gamerextreme5000 could not be loaded.
Hold on, what did you say?
Posted 1/16/12
Did you say what I think you just said? "Maybe I dont want to play a skirmish with water, maybe I dont want to play one with land." You just said that you didn't want any land on your map? So, how would you play it, there's no land, so where could you build?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Best RTS, yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/08
Zeighy dotNet
If love RTS, RA3 is the game for you.... If you're not a CnC fan, you better try this and you'll know why we're fans of the franchise.... Over-all, the game is EXCELLENT and the best in its time (well, some people didn't much like the cartoonish looks of the game, but hey, we're talking Red Alert dudes). Gameplay was excellent, Sound was just great that you'll try to just stay there and do nothing just to hear the whole song, Graphics was awesome (I was able to run smoothly with Medium settings -which still looks great- on my ATI Radeon HD 2400), the Storyline was made well (but it fell a bit short to make me enjoy the Campaign), the interface was good but I didn't like how it was made (ever seen those webpages that has menus with expandable submenus? although the animation happening in the background looks cool, but not cool enough I think), and finally the game's challenge was just plain AWESOME, the game was well balanced. Oh, and the AI was great, they don't get beaten unless you wanted them to, but they won't finish the game unless you tell it too (well, that's for Co-Commanders), also the AI enemies would play fair so you don't have to worry. Micro-management and naval gameplay should be given a fair attention when playing the game. you can't just sit there, build a big army because this game is not about how many your units are, its about how you handle them. the video clips were awesome, also, you can activate subtitles for the game (which gets annoying because you still get subs when you don't really need it). I haven't tried the online feature yet (because apparently after I installed the game, you would get a "invalid serial" when going online, but it was able to go online after a few hours -but I didn't go for a game yet) Oh, one more thing, if you have a software firewall, be sure to add the game to the allowed list before hand if you don't want to get screwed that it somewhat crashes when the "will you allow ra3.exe to access the internet" prompt appears. and when that happens, you may need to force shutdown your system and reboot. The DRM wasn't bad, if that stops you from buying the game you're missing the best feature it has to offer (the online co-op). and besides, I don't think you would be doing something else with your computer that could make you're format it once you start to play the game, it is simply addictive (but hey, a fair bit control, don't get addicted). If you want fun, this is the game for you. You'll shout RED ALERT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
The BEST RTS game so far
Posted on:10/15/08
Zeighy dotNet
I've been playing a lot of RTS games and I think this is the best so far. The graphics are not just great, but it is simply the BEST! The sound is superb (I can't wait to immerse myself to the music again!) and the gameplay is simply outstanding! EA surely did a great job doing what Westwood did. I don't know why people just keep on hating the game just because EA did it... not because CnC3 sucked means that RA3 would..... EA might have learned from their mistakes, and hopefully, the DRM wouldn't suck like SPORE (even if the game was so good, the DRM surely killed the sales). I still bought SPORE though, and I WILL SURELY buy RA3 no matter what the DRM is! I promise to all you guys that buying RA3 is the best thing you could ever do to yourself this year (if you are an RTS lover).
Review 15 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Gonna be awsome despite some skeptics
Posted on:9/28/08
Anonymous
the red alert series was never realistic to anyone who thinks it was and just because westwood was absorbed by the omnipitant blob that is known as EA does not mean that Red Alert 3 wont bring its own flare to the table. every red alert game brought its own unique twist or add on to the RTS scene and each in the series was a smash for red alert 3 it is the japanese. now i dont no why everyone seems to hate the thought of a third faction and bash the fact that they have transforming mechs samuria and phychic school girls but as everyone should know all the red alert games (subtle in the first but still present) are complete parodies and stereotypes of modern warfare and japan being the culturaly unique as it is why not spoof them as they did with the russians and Americans? although parodies red alert has always been a great series and im sure all the teams will be balanced thats why they have the bata and that the techs down at EA will produce a truely epic game.
Review 16 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Its not westwood ]=
Posted on:9/25/08
Anonymous
The westwood versions of red alert were simply amazing. It seems like they EA'd this version up too much. I didn't believe it had sub-factions like in the previous versions, and it seems like they lost the idea of what it was about (I played the beta). The tanks they have are very different which is cool, but I was kinda hoping for the old rhino tanks and telsa tanks that I can build in the refinery. The addition of the airfield to the soviets was a good one, but I've noticed that allies and soviets look alike. I loved the look of the soviets in the old game, but now they just look like another faction. The rising sun would be a great faction, but not for the red alert series. Seems more like a supreme commander collided with red alert. It still is a good game, and a game one should buy, but it is NOT red alert. If there are sub-factions, which I doubt there are, it will make the game actually good.
Review 17 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Red Alert 3!
Posted on:9/24/08
C&C all da way
The lack of realness is the whole point of Red Alert. Sure the first one was relatively serious compared to the second, but i personally think the second was changed with a much, much better result. For seriousness you can go to Tiberium Wars, but Red Alert is all about wacky technologies and cheezy cutscenes. I've been worried ever since EA bought Westwood that they would turn Red Alert into a serious game but they are continuing the tradition just as i hoped. Plus with the all-star cast EA has brought in and same simple interface they kept, i'm beginning to think EA actually cares about this game. With more telsa technology, new superweapons, a new faction, and a whole bunch of other loaded features i'm officially excited!
Review 18 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Red Alert 3: Nothing Like C&C 3
Posted on:9/23/08
SirHandsInPants
Red Alert: these two words make even the most matured men giggle like a girl. I have been playing the infamous Westwood (now EA) series for most of my life. The interface is easy to work with, and the interface in RA 3 promises to be the same. Easy to navigate and use. The only thing that may not peak my interest is the new Rising Sun side. EA, what are you smokin'? Rising Sun promises to be like the Scrin from C&C 3 ; easily the most powerful side, with completely unfair tactics and units. I really wish Westwood still existed, because this crap wouldn't happen if they were still around. Transforming Mechs? Flying Submarines? Tank Boats? It's like RA clashed with friggin' Gundam.... I recommend this for fanboys only, or anyone who thinks stupid Japanese robots are cool (which, they are NOT!) But I will buy it...only because its a Red Alert game.
Review 19 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Fingers crossed
Posted on:9/20/08
IronRaptor
I have been a fan of CnC all the way from the first release of Tiberium Dawn in 1995. I gotta say, I was worried when EA took over Westwood but Generals was a good game and it spawned awesome mods. All the other games were sweet as well. Red Alert 2 was a game that was fun with some humor thrown in and the first Red Alert was all business but still a great game. But this new game, the trailers and stuff... I dunno. I'm still gonna buy it cause I won't judge something I refuse to buy, but with all the supermodels dressed in skimpy clothing showing their bodies off... I tend to feel like playing a game of playboy mansion and not CnC. Now I won't deny, those chicks are hot... but the whole point of the game is to wage war, using a tactical approach and to be involved in an ever changing storyline. With that many girls wearing little skin tight clothes, I tend to feel detached from the game and more interested in her bust size instead of her actual uses. Mixing sex with video games is common and usually helpful as long as there is a good balance to it. But with this one, I got a feeling EA is gonna learn the hard way that no matter how many stars you put in a cast or how gorgeous they look it won't make up for bad gameplay or balance. So I'm gonna keep my fingers crossed that they didn't skimp out on making a good game and spend their money on a bunch of models and not on actual gameplay. So heres looking towards October!
Review 20 for Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
Ugh...
Posted on:9/17/08
Anonymous
I loved the original Red Alert, the second one was pushing it... but this just looks god awful... Whatever happened to the realistic side of Red Alert? The original was amazing because it was realistic and seemed possible. Japs using transformer mechs? This is an embarrassment to the Red Alert Series. I'll be a fan of C&C when they go back to the truly good games again.
1 2 next>>