GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Mass Effect

Take the role of Commander Shepard of the starship Normandy, the last hope for all life in theGalaxy. Saren, a rogue member of the elite and untouchable Spectre agents, has discovered thesecret to unleashing an apocalyptic force upon the galaxy, and only you stand in his way. To savethe lives of billions, you must do whatever it takes to stop Saren and prevent the return of anancient force bent on the destruction of all organic life.
Average Customer Rating:
9.167
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
4
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mass Effect
Review 1 for Mass Effect
DRM
Posted on:5/16/08
Anonymous
DRM doesn't matter to me. Here's why: I will buy ME legitimately. I will then remove the authentication and securom on an old PC I keep just for things like this. Then I will install it on my gaming rig, free of all DRM and installable on as many computers for as many times as I want. This way, I will be supporting a great game by a great developer ( Bioware ), while sending a big F U to a POS publisher ( EA ). Course now, for those who lack the technical knowledge for performing such actions, I would suggest paying for the game itself, and then obtaining a cracked version for installation (wherever/whenever there is one available, as I don't participate in distribution of pirated software, I only have a dislike for companies trying to tell me when and where I can use the product I pay them for).
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jets2brazil
NJ, USA
 
Please wait while more information about jets2brazil is loaded.
Additional information about jets2brazil could not be loaded.
DO NOT DOWNLOAD
Posted 1/14/11
I did not know this but there is a issue with some retail copies and some digital downloads. You will download this and get a bunch of CRC errors. It will not install and the work arounds you find on the net are for the retail copy. I tried downloading the game several times getting the same error. Supposedly it has something to do with SecureROM. Doesn't matter it sucks. Also at the bottom of the page it says no refund, so as of now I am asking for one but we will see if I get it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mass Effect
Pretty good but needs improvement
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/11
DangerPig
Location: San Diego
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A pretty good and involved RPG. I like that you have options of what to say and how to respond, though it doesn't seem to matter 99% of the time how you respond, you seem to always get the same results.
The game is like a hybrid of Halo and Phantasy Star. The battle system takes some getting used to, but once you get a handle on it it is pretty good. I like traveling to the various star systems ad searching for stuff, but the planets get a little boring. They are pretty similar and almost all empty and dull. There needs to be an improvement on the tank controls, they are awful.
The music is great. It makes the game. I want the soundtrack. It really sets the atmosphere of the game.
The dungeons are all the same 3 or 4 set ups, so you get to know the layout and it becomes pretty boring, but the quests keep you going.
All in all a pretty good game, but has much room for improvement in some areas. Still fairly solid and I think I will replay after I get to the second one. I don't know why I missed this years ago.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Mass Effect
Are they for real..?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/08
Piipurkki
Never ever did game characters feel so... Alive as in Mass Effect. Never ever did Sci-fi interest me, unlike in Mass Effect. Never ever did I pay so few glimpses to the graphics and character customization over the incredibly deep story. Boring classes I must say - but what the heck, the story, all those little facial expressions and conversations are so high above it all you can only love it. Reminds Star Wars? No doubt. It is like Star Wars with only the good sides in it and without the bad ones. How you grow to actually care about your companions (or hate them) gives it more living feeling than any game or movie before. Voice acting is better than in any game, ever. (Alright, I haven't played any karaoke games in my life). The ' enhanced n' fixed ' PC version is the one I am talking about so I do not know about the XBox 360 game version at all. I have high-end sound and visual performance systems so it might have enhanced the Effect. Bugless, seamless, endless... More than 30 times I have now finished the game, and still it is one of my top played games per week along with Neverwinter Nights 2 and Fallout 3. Evertyime I play it... I find something new - that keeps the spirit up! Multiple endings, multiple ways to solve situations, multiple ways to kill... GIEF MORE PLZ! ...Ahem. Keeping a tight eye on the Mass Effect 2 release date informations, rumours, hints, tips... All. Oh. It was too short (fine 30x20 hours) though! I crawe for more, more, more...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mass Effect
Epic Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/11
coolskaterman
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played Mass Effect 2 first before I played Mass Effect. I was instantly in awe at the second one. me2 called for some high pc requirements but it was well worth searching out a pc that could run the game. The reason why I bought me1 was to see the story behind me2. The dialogue in me2 always confused me when characters would speak of saren, sovreign, the battle of the citadel, protheans etc. so i purchased me1 to get more of a feel for the mass effect series. The me1 is truly a great game. I love how you can choose how the game plays out and how the decisions you make in the first game continue into me2 if you load it into your me2 folder. A decision based game is truly the future of gaming. Overall me1 is a fanastic game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mass Effect
Epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/08
Chango
Bioware brings as usual an epic story, with awesome characters and voice acting. Love is in the air as usual with Bioware stories as well as the Destiny factor which I personally love. PC gives this game the playability it should have, no offense console lovers but it's a lot better on a PC, you will get used to the controls right off the bat, easy to learn. Not as demanding on the graphics, I thought it would be tough there, but not really, you can have a great graphic experience with a mid range GPU. oh! and you will LOVE the MAKO, not telling what it is, dont wanna spoil it, but you will simply LOVE it!! You can't miss it, if you liked KOTOR you will love this game, wish KOTOR 3 would be developed under this engine and quality. Only wish the game was a bit longer. This game is a must have for PC/RP lovers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mass Effect
What we wish KOTOR II was like...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/08
XRK
Mass Effect + BioWare + PC = Brilliance. At least that's what my math adds up on end here. I recently upgraded my computer just to try this, and was blown away. The game is an epic space opera, if you didn't get that from all the previews and reviews on the game. What they may not tell you is that its better on the PC than it ever was for the 360. Don't believe me? Well, then try both cause I have. Don't get me wrong both are great, but the sheer power of the PC is so much that the game blew my mind. I mean I have a modest rig, a P4 3.2 GHZ w/ Hyper Threading, an HD 3650 512 MB video card that uses AGP, and 4 gigs of ram, and I was amazed out how much I could punch out of this game with my computer. I then went to try it on my friends super rig (you know the type, quad cpu, 8 gigs of run, 2 gig sli video cards. The works) and was even more floored, the game looks, plays, and reacts better than the 360's ever did. If you have an aging PC like mine that has been upgraded to the max, or a modern rig, it'll look and play amazing.Trust me on this you won't regret it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Mass Effect
What Tabula Rasa should have been!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/08
Nightrun
Wow, what a great game! I don't often write game reviews but I thought Bioware deserved some credit for this awesome game and if a good review will help produce more games like this then I'm all for it! This is the sci-fi RPG that's been a long time in coming! This is what Tabula Rasa should have been! This game has phenomenal graphics, an excellent story, awesome voice acting, a great mix of action, fighting, team planning, immersive atmosphere, and a variety of non-linear missions you don't often see in RPGs. I found myself feeling that I was actually in a compelling futuristic star-base and looked forward to each return. The activity level of NPCs was a little low and more sparsely populated than I imagine an actual star-base, but that hardly diminished the enjoyment. You are able to equip, choose skills, and designate which members of your crew will make up your away team, and piloting the surface in your all-terrain fighting vehicle was a mini-game in itself. I do have a high-end system and was able to turn the graphics all the way up, but it sounds like the game will also run fine on mid-range systems. Keep up the good work Bioware, I look forward to your next games!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mass Effect
Mass Effect has it all!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/09
Capt Dan
I was bored with WoW, searching for a game that might offer more than 1 playthrough. Loved the Half Life 2 series, but ... 1 playthru is it. Fallout 3, okay, a few playthru's. The STALKER series was decent, but the only real repeatability was with the (extensive) mod community. Crysis, BioShock, ...... you get the idea. So, a couple of years after release I find out about Mass Effect. Sounded decent, but then I remember the Tabula Rasa disaster. Well, ME has everything you could ask for ..... well, maybe except for first-person action. It's 3rd person action all the way, but WOW! Great customizable characters, all the RPG options Bioware is known for. You really get to feel you KNOW some of the main characters! And it tops off with some great vehicle action and some awesome physics. Cutscenes are outstanding and the action is consistently interesting. When you visit a planet you can actually get a bit of an astronomy lesson: while most of the worlds (except for the local system) are made up, the factoids that describe the planets are right there in the current extraterrestrial lexicon. Great depth! And when you do one playthru, turn around and build a new character, choose a different look, different gender, class .... and the playthru and dialog options will be different. Can't ask for much more! Kind of like Oblivion without the everpresent Orcs and Elves. I give it a SOLID 10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mass Effect
Classic Sci-Fi RPG Shooter
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/11
ColumbiaLion
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Mass Effect is an awesome sci-fi themed shooter with RPG qualities. Set in the future, the humans are part of a greater galactic community trying to prove their worth. Over the course of the game you find yourself in the middle of a battle against the Reapers, a seemingly invincible force that has existed since the beginning of time. While the storyline was initially difficult to follow at first because there was a lot of foreign names for different characters, planets, etc. I found that everything seemed to come full circle towards the end. The form of interaction between characters facilitated this since you are allowed to further interrogate people regarding things that may seem unclear.
The main type of game play employed is 3rd person shooter. I liked the game mechanics and the leveling up system was cool; you are able to focus your character to being proficient at certain weapons of your arsenal among other things. You also are able to ride in a vehicle called the Mako, which is essentially a tank with a gat and cannon. I found the controls to be rather unresponsive and sometimes sticky in the vehicles. Also, there were some inaccuracies since the tutorials in game say to use 'E' to exit but this was not the case. Aside from having install issues, the game itself once it was up and running was without flaws. I ran this game on my PC with the bare minimum requirements and it ran smooth with zero lag. The voice acting was good but would have liked a better soundtrack. The characters were well constructed and I enjoyed watching the interactions between them. You are also forced to make moral decisions that affect the progress of the storyline. Overall, this is a great game that I would highly recommend to anyone including fans of shooters, RPGs, or perhaps a PS3 owner looking to get caught up to play Mass Effect 2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mass Effect
PC makes Gaming More ALIVE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/08
xche4x
Mass effect for PC is more in depth than the Xbox 360 version. It has the same story line but more enhancing visuals and no more graphical glitches, so they have been saying ever since they started making the PC version of Mass Effect. This game has the new HUD and now it is the best for the Run and Gun type players which is the best for the players that now have that little quick list to Drag powers which makes it a lot easier. The AI is now more smarter so enemies now know when to pop out at the best time and now commanding your teammates are 10x better than the Xbox 360 Commanding. It kinda sucks that you have to put out the key every 10 days but what the heck I would not mind. I don't think I'm going to get the PC version, but to all the people that don't have an Xbox 360 and want mass effect for PC nows your Chance to get the best game ever. Highly recommend game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Mass Effect
DRM
Posted on:5/14/08
Anonymous
Guys, maybe you should read up on the DRM yourself before posting anything. Yes, they removed the 10 day activation part...no, they didn't remove the 3 max installations part. If you regularly change hardware on your PC you WILL have to reactivate the game using up one of the 3 max installations, do it one more time and you used up all 3 (counting the one for the initial installation, too), from then on you ALWAYS have to call customer support to get them to let you play the game YOU paid money for. If you think that is something that needs to be supported by buying the game.... well, I don't agree with you. Side topic.... how long will it take to crack this game? Some days. Meaning, people who download games can just play the game when and how they want. people who buy the game are at the mercy of customer support. Yeah, definitely a great idea.
Review 12 for Mass Effect
Finally for those who dont have a 360!!!
Posted on:2/27/08
Rodimus2008
Yes, Yes and more Yesess I have been waiting for ever on a PC Edition of Mass Effect. For Many reasons and those include that i can not afford these pricey next-gen systems yet. So this is a good alternative for those who live on a tight budget like my self. What is cool about the PC Edition is it has new features, cutscenes and more options than the 360 did. But what I am hoping for is the new downloadable content that they mention to also be included on this disk. But what sucks about this is now that I have to upgrade my video card to a XFX Nvidia 8600 in order to play this game. As my GeForce 7300 does not have the juice to play this game due to the high resolution graphics. But overall I can not wait for this on the PC thanks Bioware and please hurry up with the next Kotor game and it had better not be an MMORPG!!!!!
Review 13 for Mass Effect
Most onerous game DRM scheme to date
Posted on:5/6/08
Anonymous
Requires constant re-activation every 5-10 days; if your internet connection is down then you are out of luck. Maximum of 3 activations tied to current hardware configuration, upgrade your PC & you will be out of luck. This kind of oppressive DRM only hurts legitimate users. The game itself looks great, but i'll take a pass due to the DRM .
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mass Effect
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/10
MHgod
Location: Norman, OK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game just keeps pulling you back to play. When you think you done it all there are characters with new a different powers than the last. Not only do each character vary, you can take thngs to the dark side.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mass Effect
Story does not make up for gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/08
OmfgTimmy
In all honesty I think that mass effect would have made a better movie than a video game. In this game, the cutscenes were the fun part, and the gameplay was the boring part. Which is the opposite in most games. The button layout and control scheme are just plain bad, and the combat plays out like a mix of Driver 3 and Gears of war, which is not a good thing at all. While the graphics were above average, they were nothing too impressive. On the PC, I noticed a lot of shading issues on the character models, even on the highest setting. the "squad gameplay" just felt like work because your teammates did little helping, and a lot of dying. The level goals are very similar and usually the side quests are more fun than the actual game. The voice acting could have been better to say the least, I was surprised to see Seth Green in the credits. While this is a role playing game, they don't give you much choice as to how you want your character to be. It's usually as simple as GOOD/BAD with no in-between. and it was kind of annoying how no matter what your character looked like, he/she had the same voice no matter what. Also, I noticed a lot of drawn out walking sequences to get to your next mission objective inbetween the action which I was not fond of.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mass Effect
Copy protection/Activation
Posted on:5/3/08
Anonymous
"Mass Effect uses SecuROM and requires an online activation for the first time that you play it. Each copy of Mass Effect comes with a CD Key which is used for this activation and for registration here at the BioWare Community. Mass Effect does not require the DVD to be in the drive in order to play, it is only for installation. After the first activation, SecuROM requires that it re-check with the server within ten days (in case the CD Key has become public/warez'd and gets banned). Just so that the 10 day thing doesn't become abrupt, SecuROM tries its first re-check with 5 days remaining in the 10 day window. If it can't contact the server before the 10 days are up, nothing bad happens and the game still runs. After 10 days a re-check is required before the game can run.". From Bioware's official forums with 4 pages on this topic so far. I personally hate this type of protection as I had MANY problems activating my Bioshock the day I bought it. I couldn't even play the game till 3+ days later due to the activation problems and what not. Bioware not only wants activation (limited amount) but wants you to check in every 5-10 days or your game stops working. I'm not gonna fall for the same mistake of having to deal with this crap and just ignore this game all together.
Review 17 for Mass Effect
DRM in Mass Effect/Spore
Posted on:5/13/08
FallenMystic
This is in reference to the folks worried about the DRM/10 day activation segment of Mass Effect. EA announced on Friday that they were doing away with this piece of their DRM based on customer feedback, (read tons of people spammed their forums complaining about it). Now the way it’s going to work is you activate it when you first log on to play, then the only other time you have to re-authenticate it is when you want to download a patch or added content. From the article I read this also extends to Spore. As an added bonus, (if this is still in place,) you will not need the disk in the drive to play.
Review 18 for Mass Effect
Great Title; Bad Publisher...
Posted on:5/21/08
Kahnman
I haven't played the 360 version, but this looks like a great game with a cool storyline... too bad EA has to be the publisher. I agree with one of the other buzz's below; I bought Battlefield and had to end up going down to the local Circuit City and just buy the damn game. Fortunately, I don't plan on rebuilding my PC for a while, but if it becomes a hassle, it may be my last EA title... in the meantime, I'm looking forward to the rewarding risk.
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mass Effect
Worth the wait
Posted on:5/14/08
Dyskresiac
First of all, to people complaining about DRM: Why would you care UNLESS you wanted to pirate it, or if you planned on getting a pirated version? If you are indeed an honest customer who plans on buying this from gamestop, who cares? Second of all, as stated this game is fixing a lot of problems ME had, including being stuck on boxes and walls. That alone is worth trading in your 360 version for the PC version if your computer has enough power for it.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mass Effect
DRM
Posted on:5/9/08
bravo
I took a pass on bioshock because of the nazis style forced activation and if mass effect does indeed have this then I will be forced to take a pass on this one , I know companies need to protect there products but this is abusive way to treat honest paying customers, and we the customer are the one's who can make a company successful by spend our money on their product , personally I'm not going to give somebody money to treat me like a thief.....
1 2 next>>