GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guitar Hero III - Game Only

Rock out to the third entry in in Red Octane's music series for guitar gods! Songs for Guitar Hero III include Barracuda by Heart, Sabotage by Beastie Boys, Rock And Roll All Nite by Kiss, and much more! In addition, players can experience an incredible number of added features and explosive content including a new multiplayer action-inspired battle mode, grueling boss battles, a bevy of exclusive unlockable content and authentic rock venues.
Average Customer Rating:
9.105
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 1989%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
Review 1 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
BEST Guitar Hero Game Ever Made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/11
Director95
This has got to be the best Guitar Hero Game ever made! It literally has it all! The challenge that is fun and not guitar-smashing hard. The sound and music that is perfect! All the things to earn and buy at the shop! I have had this game forever and I have yet to get 5-Stars on every song! Its so fun to play because all the right elements are mixed together. Just the way you pick you song and how everything is arranged presents a very amazing Guitar Hero experience. If you have played Guitar Hero before or are thinking about it, I STRONGLY STRONGLY suggest that you play this game first. Despite the 'iffy' graphics this game is a blast and you will be playing the songs you've beaten over and over again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
Guitar Hero's Best!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/09
slater
This right here is where it all started! At first the games were only ok. The graphics were iffy and the song choices weren't that great, but then this one showed up! It had an amazing song choice Like Guns n' Roses' "Welcome to the Jungle" and "Through the Fire and the Flames" by DragonForce. It also was cool playing as "Slash" the lead guitar player of Guns n' Roses. The controls for this are also simple and fun. You use the whammy bar and get extra points. You also tilt the guitar into Star Power and then you get major points! I also like it with the Wii because it's wireless. So say you memorized a song, you could go downstairs and play. You can roam around your house and just play. But man is it a great game! The music game of the year! It's the bomb!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
Best GH yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/09
guitarmaster3000
This Guitar Hero is the best one yet! The challenge is great, espicially in the boss battles. The graphics are amazing! It's like watching a music video but the hair on the male singer lookes kinda cheesy. Responsiveness great! Controls rock and roll all nite and so does the interface. The song variety rocks! They have so many great songs like Welcome to the Jungle, Rock and Roll All Nite, Same Old Song and Dance, Cliffs of Dover, Paint It, Black and somuch more! The Wi-Fi on it is great. I love playing people who I don't know. The game also has many amzing bands such as Aerosmith, The Rolling Stones, Guns N' Roses, Pat Benatar, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Metallic, Stevie Ray Vaughn (bless his soul), and so many other great bands. I wish was downloadable content in this game, though.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
AWESOME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/08
Roth
Guitar hero 3 is a great game and my personal favorite. It is challenging, it has great songs, and it is great fun. You will never get bored of Guitar Hero 3. The sound is nice and clear. It has so many customizable outfits. You can battle rock legends such as Slash and Tom Morello. You can unlock them after you defeat them in a guitar battle. You can unlock tons of guitars. There is a great variety of songs to play. You can play songs from bands such as Metallica, Slipknot, the Rolling Stones, and many other great bands. You can customize characters with different outfits and styles that you buy in the store. You get money from completing songs. You get more money the better you do. You can get three, four, or five stars. Guitar Hero 3 is a great game. Buy it, it is worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
Best music game of all time!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/11
sammy4444
Location: cohasset, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I liked the entire game from when i sucked till when i was playing expert, it is one of the best games for hardcore gamers but you have to be fast with your fingers, then once my 2 year old brother broke the disc and i got a new one and was still totally worth it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/11
jurassicparkfan500
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Everything about this game is awesome. This is honestley along with Guitar Hero II is one of the best. The songs on the game are awesome and again everything about this game is awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
guaitar hero
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/11
Littelbigreviwers2
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is one of the finest music games. I love that you verse the devil at the end. it is a bit hard at first but you get used to it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
Really Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/12
otz900
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I used to love this game.But know im terrible and don't play it anymore.But if I ever play it again,it will be alot of fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
BEST GH GAME EVA!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
WhasUp
Location: Never Goin to Say
This game is amazing. The Graphics are awesome, The Characters are sick and the songs rock! Well done GH, well done
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
Pretty Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/12
Metallicafan123
Location: eg
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a fun game. It dosen't take very long to beat though. But it is still fun to play it over and over.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
Love It!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/09
Animal Lover
I absolutely love guitar hero and when it came out for the DS (since I didn't have a Wii), I had to get it. The song variety, could expand, but overall, I love this game. Easy is super easy, medium is good for me, and hard I can't do yet, because it's too fast and adds the fifth key. I don't really like how you have to get through the guitar challenges in order to move on in the game. At first they're easy, but then they get difficult and annoying. The animations are really weird, but I play it for the songs, anyway. It's a great challenge, but not too challenging. I love it, because I love the guitar. Overall, I think it's a great game and they should come out with more... hopefully they get into newer songs, but I like the songs they have, they're not bad.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
Gets boring after awhile
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/08
A fan of Midnight Club
This game is amazing...for 3 months. Then you get so fed up with it! But at this price, go for it. It is very fun, and i would have given this a 10 if it had a point to it, so you would want to play it for a long time. There is a career mode, but you just go through the songs in order. The only reason why that is worth it is because you can unlock lots of songs. co-op mode is fun too. In quickplay, is just like all other games. The songs are great, it's real rock music, not crud. This game was AMAZING FOR 3 MONTHS. I played it nonstop. Now i barely ever play it. Make sure you get the guitar if you don't have one. If you are looking for a game that will entertain you for a while, pick this one up, but be prepared to buy another game in 3 months.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
One of The Best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
Spyrofan227
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I've played most of the gutair hero games and this in my opinon is the best fantastic, music and all in all a great game for a party and just to have a good time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
The Third, but not last...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/08
greyhoundlvr
I love all video games, basically. I love Animal Crossing, Need For Speed, and most of all Guitar Hero. After reading reviews, I decided one year after the game came out to go get it. I played it, and here I will write down what I think of it. Honestly it is a fun and addicting game. After an hour or so it would get a bit exhausting, mainly because you are standing up the whole entire time (I'm not trying to sound lazy or anything!!). It's like this for all the Guitar Heros, though. I mean It's fun, but tireing becasue your jumping around in stuff, or at least I am. Then after a couple of hours of of "ROCKING OUT" it gets hoplessly boring. Then you start to realize, all I'm doing is pushing buttons. That's when the store comes in. You can activate the store through the character menu and you can buy new guitars and outfits for your player. You can also buy new characters, songs, videos, and so on. Then if your still into it go back on stage and show off that sick new guitar. With World tour and decades out, I feel a bit out of date. What you have to realize, though is that guitar hero isn't for everyone. Play different games once and a while. And remember to NOT eat your fruits and vegetables. Stay inside and play the Wii all day!! YEAHH!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
Needs newer songs/Otherwise pretty good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/12
WiiStars
Location: Roscoe,Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Guitar Hero 3 legends or rock is a pretty good game.It has 3 main ways to play,quick play,multiplayer,and carear mode.It has hit songs like hurricane,barracuda,and rock and roll all night.It also has some and I mean some newer songs off some madden games like 3s & 7s and Dont hold back but thats a bonus song that you have to buy through carear mode.My only complaint is that there arent many newer rock song and that meant alot because most of the songs ive never heard of.Other than that thouge,it was pretty good.So for me,I think Guitar Hero 3 Legends of Rock deserved an 7 out of a possible 10.Pretty good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
Having a software issue with this game.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/12
Othniyel
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Game would be great.... if it worked. Has anyone had an issue with the + button on the wii? It works to pause the game on warriors of rock, and band hero, but it will not work on this game, or on the world tour game. my remote is not broken. It won't pause, and after making a playlist I can't continue due to it not working. On one of the games I can't progress past the highscore screen due to the + button not working. I'm told it's a software issue. Being the game got such high reviews I would assume that not all disc's come like this. I have exchanged once with the same result. extremely frustrated.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/12
kyle3505
Location: georgia
This game is perfect for: party gamers
perfect game ever. i had it for ps2 and working on getting it for the wii. great game and i loved it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
It is great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/13
Historys
It's fun, it has really excellent gameplay, multiple music tracks to listen to while playing, downloadable content, and multiple difficulty levels making it a challenge to master.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Guitar Hero III - Game Only
this game is awesome graphics everything rocks!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/11
guitarheroisawesome
Location: riverside,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is definetly for hardcore gamers i love evrything about it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10