GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gears of War 2

Gears of War 2 is the highly anticipated sequel to the 5 million-selling blockbuster action game and one of the most popular Xbox games in history. Players continue as Marcus Fenix, a reluctant war hero and leader of Delta Squad, six months after the events of Gears of War. The last cities on Sera are sinking, swallowed by a new Locust threat from below. A massive counterattack is humanity's last hope for survival.
Average Customer Rating:
9.033
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (706 reviews)
10 stars
305
9 stars
101
8 stars
46
7 stars
18
6 stars
6
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
8
467 out of 50892%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gears of War 2
Review 1 for Gears of War 2
Falls short in online play
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/08
Chadam
I have literally had the 7th of November marked on my calendar since the day it was announced. I fell in love with Gears of War shortly after the first time I eviscerated a member of the Locust Horde with my Lancer Chainsaw Bayonet. Gears 2 provided everything that I anticipated and hoped for: More depth in the plot of the game, amazing graphics with the Unreal Engine, enhanced capabilities in the co-op mode, increased difficulty of gameplay on Insane mode, new features such as the chainsaw duel and walltagging with the grenades, and not to mention a fantastic new class of weapons. The one thing that I am utterly disappointed in is the online gameplay. Epic Games went out of their way to ensure that there would be a plethora of options for the online gamer: Co-Op play, traditional old-school Warzone, Execution and Annex, newly introduced Submission (capture the meatflag), King of the Hill, Wingman, the highly anticipated Wingman, and I would be remiss if I failed to mention the brilliant induction of the Horde mode. Where they fell short was in the design of the matchmaking procedure. I have spent several nights attempting to join rooms and found myself waiting for up to 5-10 minutes before backing out of the lobby and trying it all over again. Another fault that I find annoying is that once you are done playing a match you are automatically booted back to the match-finding lobby. Whereas in Gears 1 you could find yourself competing with the same 4 opponents for hours on end. I've always been a proponent of the addage "If it's not broke, don't fix it." Whatever they were trying to do in an effort to enhance the online experience has severely backfired. I only hope that they are fully aware of these deficiencies and are in the process of repairing them so that loyal gamers such as myself can continue to enjoy the landmark release of this brilliant franchise game. Until then, I guess I will just resort to playing Horde with my friends in a private room, since the public mode is just too much of a hassle.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
39 of 53 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gears of War 2
One of the best shooters ever made!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/14
Sharpshooter92
Location: Oklahoma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has brought me countless hours of addictive wall bouncing and shotty battling. I love this game. The Story is good and horde was a good addition but this game really shines when it comes to multiplayer. It's my favorite out of the first 3. (I haven't tried judgement bc of the bad reviews) This game is like 6 years old now and yes it has its problems but the multiplayer is so addictive! I would recommend this game to anyone who likes 3rd person shooters.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Gears of War 2
Have To Buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/13
CodGamerForLife
Location: tn
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It's Awesome You Have To Buy it is the best game of the Gears Of War Games Buy it people it is awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Gears of War 2
Awesome game in the series
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
nightkid921
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is an awesome follow up to the original game. The story is probably the best in the series and the multiplayer is still amazing.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Gears of War 2
2nd Installment
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/13
SPITANGEL
Location: My House
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Maps are very sweet. The guns look and sound better. And the Gore looks juicier. Headshots in this game are sooooo crunchy that ya jus soil yourself (excuse le term). The continued story was great. Ugh even the queen and the locust look cooler. Dizzy is super funny and the fights with the even bigger locust are sooo fun. Ben carmine had to be my fave of the brothers. The ending was epic with the HAMMA's OF DAWN! and i loved the part where you're inside a worm :D best part.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Gears of War 2
More Story for the Shooter Genre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/13
Shanks
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Two sequels later and this game still shines as one of the high points of the Gears series. This installment takes Gears fans for a longer ride with a substantially larger amount of plot and cinematic sequences to enforce the large, over-the-top visuals and sound quality. All in all this is a very refreshing breath of fresh air to the shooter genre that has been lacking story and plot for years.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Gears of War 2
Not much in the way of innovation
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/13
ASWCC
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gears of War is one of Xbox's benchmark franchises, right next to Halo and Forza. It is supposed to be the pinnacle of third-person over-the-shoulder combat, but it falls short. This otherwise engaging game is marred by combat that feels heavy and clunky. If you want smooth cover-based combat, try Ghost Recon Future Soldier or any game in the Mass Effect series.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 8 for Gears of War 2
great improvement
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/13
Executioner1032
Location: Westport, CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Good story. Horde is an amazing feature. The multiplayer was good until everyone switched to gears 3. Its been some time since I played this but I remember the story being not as boring as gears one. gears 3 has better horde but 2 is good as well. Its more of a challenge. Great game buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Gears of War 2
Awesomeness.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/13
PotterHeadBob
Location: Jacksonville, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Just pure awesomeness. Pew pew them enemies with awesome weapons, a good storyline, and not to hard.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Lol, Locust got stuck in the wall.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Gears of War 2
cant wait for gears judgement
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/13
TheDude1998
Location: leitchfield ky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
when I first got my xbox for Christmas I was pshyced I went and bought halo 3 because before I had my 360 I had the original xbox and I had both halo 1 and 2 that's one reason why I wanted a 360 because of halo 3 but I soon found out marcus phenix is more boss than master chief now don't get me wrong I still like the halo series but I think marcus and dom are more of dangerous elite commandos than master chief all I have to tell you is that this game is way different than call of duty or battlefield it ist a run and gun first person shooter its a stop and pop over the shouder third person shooter so if your tired of first person games or you just whant to try something new get it and just watch out if your on live I am boss so you better watch out cause ill be curb stomping your head into the pavment or what ever your standing on
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Gears of War 2
Worst gears ever
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/13
Tony810
only thing that was good about this game was the campaign. the multiplayer was the worst of all the gears games. still with playing the 1st and 3rd gears.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 12 for Gears of War 2
GEARS 2 BABY!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/13
SteveZ
Location: Mishawaka, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So the first Gears of War (GOW) blew me away and i loved it, the second one is even better with a more in depth storyline and a more vast multiplayer experience. Great game at a great price I highly reccomend you owning all of the GOW's if you are a fan of TPS.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Gears of War 2
Amazing game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/13
360Mafia
Location: Hialeah, FL
This is another one of my favorite games. This is another game I got addicted too. Couldn't stop until I completed the whole story mode. The graphics on this game are insane and the sound is awesome too. Overall this game is excellent.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Gears of War 2
LUV IT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/12
RaYzGaming12334
Location: Phoenix Arizona
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
THIS IS AMAZING!!!! luv this game youll want to play and play all day its a must buy for gears fans!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Gears of War 2
Best third-person shooting experience!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/12
sportman101
Location: Earth
You thought the war was over, but its only just begun! This game is completely packed with realistic gameplay and killer graphics. It also has numerous game modes and an intense storyline that keeps you on the edge of your seat. The online in this game is definetly one of a kind, but if this is your first Gears of War game then you might not want to jump right to the online because once you die you sit out for the rest of the match. I also do not recommend this game for people who don't have many friends because it is mostly a multiplayer based game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 16 for Gears of War 2
MY FAVORITE ONE YET!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/12
superblooper108
Location: Burlington, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Gears of war 2 is my favorite on yet. Thier are no flaws or anything. The saddest part in the game is when benjamin, and tai die. My favorite thing to do on this game is versus. That is all I have to say about Gears of war 2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gears of War 2
Great Game to play with friends!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
xD3thklokx
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gears of war 2 is really fun & great to play with friends. The story is excellent and wish they can make it into a CGI movie. If your into Gears 3 and like to learn on the history of the game you should play gear's 1 & 2. Gear's of war Story Board series is one of the best i ever seen then halo 1,2 & 3. You get to drive some of the locust best to get where you need to go, it so much fun.
If you want to unlock skins and characters in gears 3, have to play and bet gears 1 and 2. there both link together.
Would recommend playing with a friend doing insane mode playing gear's 1 and 2. You will Die a lot so take your time playing it on insane. You can play it on casual mode on gears 1 and 2 to unlock insane mode.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gears of War 2
NOT A BAD GAME FOR CHEAP
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/12
MILKASKI
Location: ponce,pr
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
THIS GAME I GIVE IT A THUMBS UP MAN I LOVE IT AND THE GRAPHICS AWWWEESOOMEE I RECOMEND IT TO HARDCORE GAMERS
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gears of War 2
Gears
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/12
Anonymous
This game continues the story of the first Gears, while adding the horde game mode, which is fun. This is a great game for co-op.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gears of War 2
Mind-blowingly awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/12
falling89
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So I left off on GOW 1 and spent a long time before picking up 2. I felt like I was living under a rock. The first part was good, but everything just exceeded my expectations in GOW2. From beginning to end you can feel the rush of war. There was never a dull moment. You could almost feel the desperation of the gears to end the war. Graphics are great, no complaint there. The plot works in conjunction with the first GOW and brings the characters to life with emotion. Gun battles are fantastic. The inclusion of new weapons makes fire fighting and finding cover that much more important. Best part is the revamped AI. Your teammates are not useless anymore and actually provide coverfire, kill enemies, and even revive you. Thats right no more immediate death. There are more gaming options than I have explored, but this game is just amazing from start to finish.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 36 next>>