GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gears of War 2

Gears of War 2 is the highly anticipated sequel to the 5 million-selling blockbuster action game and one of the most popular Xbox games in history. Players continue as Marcus Fenix, a reluctant war hero and leader of Delta Squad, six months after the events of Gears of War. The last cities on Sera are sinking, swallowed by a new Locust threat from below. A massive counterattack is humanity's last hope for survival.
Average Customer Rating:
9.016
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (708 reviews)
10 stars
305
9 stars
101
8 stars
46
7 stars
19
6 stars
6
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
8
468 out of 51092%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gears of War 2
Review 1 for Gears of War 2
Amazing and great value for the money
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/12
CAPTA1NSOAP141
Location: Columbia, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I own all the Gears Games but i really still love playing this one and for the $5 price tag its worth a try by all Xbox 360 gamers.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gears of War 2
Awesome game in the series
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
nightkid921
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is an awesome follow up to the original game. The story is probably the best in the series and the multiplayer is still amazing.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Gears of War 2
What can top this wonder!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/11
hgji
Location: Monroe,GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has everything you would want in a game.If you are a hardcore gamer like me you will love this game.If you are not a hardcore gamer this game could be a little harder are for you.This game had it all great gameplay,long story line,and amazing sound.i almost forgot that you can kick your when their dead and kick bricks.You get to ride a brumack on the last level of the game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Gears of War 2
Gears of War 2 = Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/10
Andreman
Location: Tucson, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gears of War 2 kicks butt and it s really awesome, so i bought the game 3 weeks ago and its really fun and kinda gruesome awesome Graphics, awesome sound and better than the first!!!!! I STRONGLY reccomend this game I play it all the time with my brother!!!! What I like the best is cutting the the bad guys with those awesome chainsaw guns!!!!! buy this game or I'll kill you!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Gears of War 2
Awesomeness.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/13
PotterHeadBob
Location: Jacksonville, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Just pure awesomeness. Pew pew them enemies with awesome weapons, a good storyline, and not to hard.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Lol, Locust got stuck in the wall.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Gears of War 2
GEARS OF WAR II
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/11
lati
Location: methuen
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gears is just a great all around game! does who hate the game must really stink. sound is amazing and graphics are just the best out at this time! game play is just insane!
get the game you will be satisfied!!!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gears of War 2
Epic game cant wait for 3!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/11
gamer1324
Location: evanston, ev
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Gears of war 2 has an amazing story and amazing gameplay! I blew me away and still does. Al i can say is that this game as not made by epic games for no reason!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Gears of War 2
nice game epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/11
coletrain63
Location: bolingbrook ilinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
marcus,dom,cole,baird and carmine make a great team
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Gears of War 2
It's Worth It
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/14
NuthinButGaming
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Wow...let's begin with the gameplay. It is definitely a great experience, although the controls could be a little smoother. The campaign is pretty good, my only issues being far too many cutscenes, and the co-op gameplay can get a bit cramped.
Lets move to graphics. They are average-good, nothing notable, but still pretty nice. One great move I thought Epic made when creating the game was expanding the game to younger gamers by giving the option to toggle gore and strong language.
Next, Sound. The sound quality is ok, but the AI and character sounds or chatter can get quite annoying, expecially when you are trying to fight a monster with a minigun who keeps saying "Grinder" every two seconds.
Lets move to re-playability. Great game to play every once in a while with a buddy, expecially on modes like horde or warzone.
Great Job Epic! It should be a definite buy, expecially with gamestop dropping the price to 99 cents. Trust me, It's Worth It.- NuthinButGaming
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for Gears of War 2
Great Game enough said
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/10
Aman
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Graphics, gameplay, story, online just amazing. The story picks up right after the first one don't worry no spoilers!!! The campaign is amazing and full of surprises never gets boring. There is also co-op for all the people that want to play with their friends. Not going to lie there is the occasional lag now and then but what game doesn't. Online is also very fun but in my opinion very very difficult. I personally suck at online not afraid to admit it but if you keep on playing you'll get good. Online matchmaking takes FOREVER. One time i was in a matchmaking lobby for five minutes just to get into one game and i had perfect signal!!!!!! The new execution moves are sick and brutal. My personal favorite is when you take the crossbow put the guys head to the blade and snap his head right off. To some everything up this game is everything any 360 owner can ask for, this game will not dissapoint anyone especially fans of the series. From the breathtaking moments, shoving a chainsaw through a locust this game is an automatic 10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gears of War 2
Multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/08
Anonymous
What made GOW 1 a great game was its multiplayer action. Sure there where plenty of little problems however, this was a game that you could spend hours playing. GOW 2 multiplayer I only have one word, horrible. First, you can't have a guest playing with you online what the is up with that? The smoke grenades are insane a smoke grenade knocking you down are you kidding? The shotgun has no power to it and has poor accuracy. The Motar and the Turret you can take out an entire team in two seconds, where is the tactic in that? The online matchmaking is outrageous, you spend a good ten-twenty minutes looking for a match and another ten minutes looking for players. The fact that you slow down while getting shot at is a good feature except you can hardly move. You have no way of getting out of the way of fire. There are just so many things that are not working for multiplayer. They just have a lot of things that need to change in the multiplayer or epic will be having a lot of un-happy people.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Gears of War 2
Great Game.. But..
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/09
Gow232
Gears Of War 2 is a great game. The storyline is incredible, And the Missions are great. I'm gonna break it down like this. Storyline: Great Storyline, Takes place after the first GOW (Gears of war) and should keep you on the edge of your seat. Interface: Easy Interface, Barley any loading screens and easy to access stuff. Graphics: Very good graphics, Great character design and everywhere you go you will see Great graphics to buildings, Cars,People, Water. Caves, Etc. Responsiveness: It is the same thing over and over.. Killing locust and killing bosses, But you will have fun every time you pop a locusts head off. Sound: Sound is great.. Explosions sound great, Gunshots sound very good. Crashes, Buildings falling, Everything sounds great. Multiplayer: Ok Multiplayer makes you mad. It takes 5 minutes to find a match then if you find one and it lags then you can't quit.. You have to go back to the Dashboard. But overall this game is great and you guys should really try this one out.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Gears of War 2
Takes 2 steps forward for every step back.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/10
Fenixman
Gears of War 2 is a great game. I highly recommend picking it up, but there was just something about Gears of War 2 that was just unattractive. It's a good game, but I found myself going back to play Gears of War 1 online, rather than Gears of War 2, because online is not Gears 2's strongpoint. The gameplay has been greatly improved, however. Getting in and out cover has been polished to the core, and the graphics and animation are solid. Voice actors delivered a strong script and the storyline was better and more complex than the first Gears. The horde mode is also fun, which is the only mode I play online in Gears of War 2. Playing Warzone or any of the new, creative modes online is not fun because of the lag I experienced. However, it's not enough to make me hate it. Playing the different modes with bots is great fun, and it's an awesome alternative if you don't have Xbox LIVE for whatever reason. Pick this up today, because this game contains great, memorable, and set-piece moments.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Gears of War 2
Ehhhhhh
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/08
Devin
Why does everyone want to Halo? Halo is not cool, it's the worst game i have ever played, so why copy a game that sucks? Because thats exactly what gears of war 2 did. Let me explain the weaknesses, THE SHOTGUN!!!! What the heck happened to it? Theres no way you can go around and best with the shotgun now. THE MATCH MAKING!! It took me and my friend 15 min to get in one match, then the host ended it. And what sucks is that you dont always get the match you want. You cant pick the one you really want unless one of the matches is the option. THE LAG!! We all know the lag was pretty bad in the first one to, but comon we didnt have to wait 3 sec to blow someone to pieces when shooting with a shotgun. Now this game is really fun to mess around with and its really fun(sometimes) but if your hardcore and think u can beast better luck next time because a noob can beast now(by just planting gernades in the wall) the graphics and diolouge are both amazing and funny but tell me.. is it worth it?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Gears of War 2
It's Official... This is the best 360 game of all time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/08
Wii Fanboy
This is by far the best game of I played and is a big improvement from the first Gears of War. First of all, for all the Gears fans out there this game has the same core game play or formula from the first Gears, but the only difference within the game play is that epic games tweaked a little more with the execution styles and you can punish your enemies almost any way you want it with the ultimate new weapons they have for this game. The new match making and game modes makes this game much more fun to play with than (Halo 2 & 3 and COD 4). There are 4 new modes Wingman, Submission, and Guardian which you can find on match making and also there is one stand-alone mode called Horde, it's a survival mode where you endure wave after wave of locust. If you're a fan of survival than this is for you. The downside is that the graphics aren't that great and the loads times are a bit long. Overall, this game awesome with a better storyline and I prefer this to all fans of 3rd person shooters.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Gears of War 2
Great game... it just has flaws.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/08
A Person who can drive
The storyline was good. I found myself actually watching the cutscenes instead of skipping them. Epic however did recieve many failures in my book though. First one was the matchmaking. One day it took up to 25 minutes to find a match only to get disconnected from the host. However, Epic has fixed this problem... for the most part. There are times where it goes retarded still. Second failure, would be the glitches/exploits. INSTEAD of fixing these glitches, they release a mapack. 3rd failure is the random host. Randomly giving somebody host is a bad idea. Not everybody has a great broadband connection. This results in lag. Lag means you lose because host isnt lagging. Epic should either a. upgrade to dedicated servers. or b. give host to best connection so nobody lags. The worst failure i say would be THE UNSTOPPABLE CHAINSAW OF DOOM. Everybody who owns GOW2 and plays online knows what im talking about. You shoot the guy in the face or you try and role away from him... it wont matter
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Gears of War 2
Amazing Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/08
jjaajjaa
Well, the online sucks it takes for ever to start a party. You must have a party of 5 people to be able to start a game or else you'll be on the waiting screen for ever. The story line is good. But the ending is terrible. The guns in the game are good. But I wish they could have added more guns to the gun inventory. I got the game the regular edition but my friends are having problems getting the golden lancer and the marketplace doesn't accept the code for the golden lancer so I suggest that 10 more dollars for a golden gun isn't worth it. The story line is better than number one were it just takes one night to beat. The story for me on normal took me the night and the whole afternoon to beat the game. I also liked how they added the new tia guy in the game but of course something always happens to the characters in gears. So I'm finally overall live isn't what you expect it to be unless you have a party of 5 people. The story line is great expect the ending. WATCH OUT FOR GEARS OF WAR 3!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Gears of War 2
Major let down.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/09
T-R_0219
When I picked this game up, I was expecting something new and different from the first Gears. I was wrong. The only thing Gears 2 offers differently is new environments and weapons. (I am a GOW fan btw). I wasn't impressed with the bleed-out system or the over use of the same textures in the maps. The A.I. is mediocre at best and the story-line needs improvement. The ending was really the major downfall for me. I set my controller down in shame when the credits started rolling down the screen. A lot of times with the missions in the game, I found myself preying for either a new environment or it to end quickly. The multiplayer is okay, but nothing special or groundbreaking. I really wish there were more than 10 players at a time seeing as how there are games like Resistance 2 with 60 and Killzone 2 with 32. I really hope Epic games fixes these problems with Gears 3, and allows for a more enjoyable experience because I would hate to see such a decent franchise go even more downhill.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Gears of War 2
It's Official... This is the best 360 game of all time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/08
Wii Fanboy
This is by far the best game of I played and is a big improvement from the first Gears of War. First of all, for all the Gears fans out there this game has the same core game play or formula from the first Gears, but the only difference within the game play is that epic games tweaked a little more with the execution styles and you can punish your enemies almost any way you want it with the ultimate new weapons they have for this game. The new match making and game modes makes this game much more fun to play with than (Halo 2 & 3 and COD 4). Their are 4 new modes Wingman, Submission, and Guardian which you can find on match making and also there is one stand-alone mode called Horde, its a survival mode where you endure wave after wave of locust. If your a fan of survival than this is for you. The downside is that the graphics aren't that great and the loads times are a bit long. Overall, this game awesome with a better storyline and I prefer this to all fans of 3rd person shooters.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Gears of War 2
Gears of War 2
Posted on:10/9/08
A Customer
Let me start off by saying that the original Gears of War was a really good game, there was a lot of innovation in the way you moved in and out of cover, the way you reloaded your weapons, the use of grenades, and the way you could melee enemies. The only things I didn't like about Gears of War were: the lack of Bosses, the Campaign seemed way too short, and the Online modes were very limited. Now, if Cliff and the rest of the guys at Epic Games can fix these small issues I think this game will be great. From what I have seen and heard about this game it should win game of the year considering there aren't that many good games that have come out or about to come out this year. It looks like Epic Games has really pushed forward in many different aspects in this upcoming sequel. I like the inclusion of the new weapons, the ability to use your enemies as shields, new modes in Online Multiplayer, and the all-new Horde mode. I think this game will be bigger, better and more fun than the original.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 36 next>>