GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NASCAR 09

Race your way with unprecedented adaptability and customization in NASCAR 09. As the sport's newest prodigy, NASCAR's four-time champion Jeff Gordon takes you under his wing and guides you through some of the key aspects of the game. Use his advice to your advantage when racing in an all-new Career mode or the Sprint Driver Challenges to earn reputation and become a NASCAR champion yourself. Create a racing credential, design a customized car, and get ready to race for premier contracts as you work your way to the top with NASCAR 09.
Average Customer Rating:
7.737
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
11
8 stars
8
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 3874%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NASCAR 09
Review 1 for NASCAR 09
Awesome NASCAR game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/13
Lions101
Awesome game, you have Jeff Gordon as your mentor and you can choose between two driving styles. I have this game for Xbox 360 and I have the 360 hooked up to surround sound and it sounds good. It's $14.99, if you have the money, I recommend you get it. ($14.99 for 360)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for NASCAR 09
Good But Not Great
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/12
Naton
Location: Muskegon, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Nascar 09 was a good game but its flaws really showed. You can run the top of the track a lot better than previous nascar games and sound and graphic are pretty good. The things i didnt like are they took rubbing out of racing in this game, you get blacked flaged alot even if iit wasnt your fault. Also its really hard to pass because side draft makes you hit the other cars. Another thing is you can fly by car until you get to the front then your almost a sitting duck. I liked how you can custimize your car except i didnt like how you have like no car numbers to choose from. Also its neer impossible to quilfy good at big tracks. I also wish they would bring back where you could own your own team.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for NASCAR 09
Not good for hardcore racing gamer.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/12
1970judge
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've played them all, I started with Nascar for PS1 on up to This for 360. Racing games are the only games I play, Nascar, rally, forza, F1 and consider myself pretty good at all of them. Nascar '09 is a terrible racing game from every aspect. It is the only Nascar game to date I haven't played so I figured I would try it out, and man what a waste of 20$. The make believe rolling off the clutch has to be the most annoying thing ever. The AI is awful, graphics are sub-par, and at times it looks as if you are cruising at 30mph. In no way, do I think EA improved on 08 with this 09. There are way better games for the money. Hopefully Nascar inside line is better.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for NASCAR 09
best nascar game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/12
patterson
Location: ga
this is the best NASCAR game i have ever played the graphics are the best and the sound is great. i wish EA still made NASCAR games!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for NASCAR 09
a great nascar game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/12
sonnycorleone
Location: spring hill,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
nascar 09 is a pretty good game.the controls could be better,but i guess it makes it more realistic that way.i love the fact that jeff gordan trains and teaches you to become a great nascar legend,and build up your reputation,your car, and your racing style.overall,great nascar game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for NASCAR 09
sweet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/11
sceamer
Location: gorham nh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i bought this at game stop about a month ago i love it the action is great and the grapics are great ! and who ever said they don't black flag well i was black flaged while playing it today if you are into hard core games you won't like it but i am a nascar fan and love it! also i love game stop the prices are right and they have alot to choose from.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NASCAR 09
Good Nascar game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/11
N8TheGr8
Location: Arkansas
This is a very good Nascar game. I like that it had the top four nascar racing series. I would have liked to have seen that in Nascar 2011, which I will say is better than this game, but if you are looking for a good fairly cheap racing game this is it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for NASCAR 09
Good game, but not perfect
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
Hyperswyper
Location: Missouri
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is good, but no where near perfect. If you'd like to get a taste of nascar in a game this would do it. However, this game could be so much better. It gets boring after the first couple races. At least for me it did.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NASCAR 09
solid racing game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/11
AnonymouslyConfused28
I am not a fan of NASCAR but I do enjoy the NASCAR video games. I like the fact I can turn off some of the regulations and customize features to the way I want to play the game. Graphics are pretty good in my book and the game plays just fine. Not the best racing game in the world but good nonetheless. You can even customize the sensitivity of your turning in the game which it took me a few minutes to get it set where I wanted it. Once I did I started winning races. On the easiest setting anyone could play this game. If you play games on occasion or all the time turn it up a notch so you don't get bored with lack of competition.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for NASCAR 09
not so good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
Nascar01
Location: Batavia, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i'm always wrecking and other stuff. it is very hard
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NASCAR 09
A great racing game for all ages.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/11
CarsmatcCarot56
Location: Lawrenceville, New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is fun wether doing a 500 lap race, or driving backwards and creating multi-car pileups. After playing 2008, 2009 has better graphics, more realistic controls, and the crowd doesn't stand still......
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for NASCAR 09
Not What I want!!!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/11
roper5
Location: texas
I love Nascar and I am probably one of the biggest fans. I never really did like this game and I thought it just bored me. I can remember back when I had a nascar game on my old xbox and it had a career mode on it where you had to start way down in like the modifieds and stuff. You had to race your way up and get contracts to drive for different teams andstuff. I loved that game and I havent found one that I have liked since then...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NASCAR 09
Needs alot more
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/11
Midnightdrifter
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game starts out decent, but for fans of nascar and true gamers, this game is missing alot... In my opinion, it's not worth the money... Maybe it's better on-line, but playing as a single player going through career mode, it just gets really boring... After a few seasons, the game will freeze up when loading your xbox 360 profile and you have to create a new one and start all over again from scratch... I wouldn't advise buying this game... I'm hoping someone comes out with a better version of Nascar Thunder 2004 for the xbox 360... If you insist on buying Nascar 09, get a used copy... TRUST ME, you'll be thankful you didn't pay full price, for a racing game this basic and frustrating... I had this game for about a month and have now traded it in... It's an ok game, but not worth buying...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NASCAR 09
ok nascar game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/10
Naton
Location: Muskegon, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Nascar 09 was better than 08 by a little but not much. I liked the sounds and graphics they were great and it seemed like u could run the top of the track a lot better than 08. what i didnt like was when i was racing it seemed like every time i barly hit someone i was warned or black flaged. in my opinion they total took rumbing out of racing in this game. i was really dissapointed with that. And just like 08 in 09 it was very hard to qualify. one thing i wish they would bring back from the older nascar games is when u could own your own car and team
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NASCAR 09
Ok nascar game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
Naton
Location: Muskegon, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I liked this game but it had its high and lows. What liked abou the game is it had really good graphics and sounds. It made me fell like i was actually driving the car. The bad part that really was drag was it seemed like every time i bearly hit another car i either got black flaged or warned.(rubing and trading paint is racing) EA. But otherwise i really liked the game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for NASCAR 09
Best NASCAR Game ever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/10
JeffGordon24242424242424
Location: San Jose, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Since I was small I've always been into NASCAR. I've played about every single NASCAR game out there. When I heard that NASCAR 09 as coming I was more excited than ever. I got the game right when it came out and it was awesome! I really really enjoyed it. I'm still playing it now and I'm not bored of it, and it's been more than 2 years. I'm very disappointed that E.A. isn't gonna be making any NASCAR games anymore but yea. It's a really good game for racing fans, NASCAR fans in general. Some F1 fans may find this a bit boring or possibly hard cause they aren't used to playing with a field of 43 cars and racing for 500 laps. Of course you can change the settings where you can race 5% of the full race but yea. It's fun and entertaining. It's a lot easier to play this game with a steering wheel. Everyone can play this game, it's very simple and easy to figure out. If you're lost on a certain part of the game Jeff Gordon will be there to tell you the basics of the game. The only bad thing about this game that I thought was bad was when you make your own season and there's 10 races left if you're in the top 12 Jeff does tell you that you made the chase and all, but the points don't reset like they do in real life. But say you're racing, you're in the lead, what I find really bad is that when you're in the lead everyone in the field will stay on you like no other. So if you have the best car in the world you won't be able to run away from the field. But if you're in 30th place then you're car will get a little boost to get to the lead. I know... I wish there was a settings to take that off but sadly there isn't. Other than those 2 things it's a really good game. I'd spend my money on this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NASCAR 09
O.K job EA!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/09
Mark_Martin_Fan5
EA did a good job on Nascar 09, but they could do better. First of all, the career mode should be more realistic. All they cared about in this game was the REP you earn during a race and from completing contracts. They should make it so you have to own your own team, hire crew members and everything else Rick Hendrick or Joe Gibbs can think of. Make it more like Nascar Thunder 2003 EA! Another room for improvment could have been that the cars could have had a Chevy or Ford on the car. Instead, they have these weird headlights. One more thing, the paint booth could have been a little better, all they needed to do is to add the Chevy's or Ford's I was looking for when I started playing this game. But the graphics were great! The first year they have the crowd cheering you on, very authentic pit stops, and good gamplay. I most like that you can't hit AI or Player cars when they are in the pits. Thank God for that, or I would be geting wrecked by every person online! But I give Nascar 09 a 8/10.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NASCAR 09
The best nascar game ever!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/09
bubbalicious
now, i can't find nascar 09 for the xbox 360, but i have had it on the playstation 2 and 3 and it is a great game, it has a great challenge and the vehicle custimization is great even if you can't make a very creative car on here. also the tracks have great variety and it is just like in real life, with the fact that you can ride on the high side and actually gain speed and pass cars, it is very easy on the low difficulty settings but once you raise those settings, this game is incredibly hard. on the playstation 3 version of this game, the chase for the sprint cup mode got pretty repetitive but it can get hard once you are on the sprint cup level for a good sponsor and a good ride. the thing i'm saying is that nascar 09 is definitely one of the best games ever made. so everyone should totally buy it, this is so that maybe a nascar 2010 can be made. but even if you're not a nascar fan, this game will suit you so BUY BUY BUY!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NASCAR 09
Best yet, but the last.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/09
karter1221
This is probably the best NASCAR game out of all of them yet. There are many good points like the graphics, the online play, the challenge of it all, etc. But yes it does have some bad qualities. First off, there are no manufacturers for any of the series' which sucks, because in NASCAR the manufacturers play a big part. Secondly car customization really hasn't changed much at all, it has the same schemes, colors, numbers and all. If you do have Xbox Live the vehicle customization is great. You can put whatever sponsors, manufacturers, numbers and anything you want. The game is also missing some tracks from N'wide and Camping world series. Just like other games in the past there are drivers missing from the lower series' as well. Something missing from this game is 2-player splitscreen which many would have like to have seen it been included. Lastly you do have to pay for alternate paint schemes which should come with the game. Sadly, even though this is the best NASCAR game yet, it is the last.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
inhotpursuit
 
Please wait while more information about inhotpursuit is loaded.
Additional information about inhotpursuit could not be loaded.
Didn't live up to Expectations
Posted 1/9/11
Nascar 09 is by far the best Nascar game by EA. But in many ways it may be the worst. The career mode is way to easy even on its hardest level and overall is a total dissapointment. Drivers do not perform like they would in real life. I also wish this was a multiplayer game. However on the positive side of things the races are pretty fun. The damage looks realistic. The graphics are amazing. If your going to get this game hopefully you can play online because that may be its best game mode.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for NASCAR 09
The best Nascar game out there!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/09
yohay
I will first say this game is a good one; the best Nascar game I have played! It is very challenging.The good will take too long to list, so here is the bad. There are 3 levels of play, but they are too spread apart.For example, on normal I am can win almost every race. On hard (the next level) I can only run 35th (out of43 cars), but there is an option that's automatically on that if you are in 1st they will be on your bumper and they will try to pass you and will sometimes. If you turn that option off you can drive away from the pack. Also (like the other Nascar games from the past) your car will be faster on the straights, (meaning you have a more powerful engine). By the way (for you who like and have played nascar games before), the middle, or top of the race track works!!! I don't have to only pass on the bottom of the track any more!! The vehicle customization is good, but the problem is that the sponsors are mostly fake, and your number has to be in the 100-199 -- not the real numbers. Oh yeah, they do not have all of the tracks for the Nationwide series (Nashville, Kentucky, Gateway, Montreal, Memphis,and the road coarse in Mexico). No 2-player either, and I don't have Xbox live. Don't get me wrong, It is a great game. I love it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>