GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NASCAR 09

Race your way with unprecedented adaptability and customization in NASCAR 09. As the sport's newest prodigy, NASCAR's four-time champion Jeff Gordon takes you under his wing and guides you through some of the key aspects of the game. Use his advice to your advantage when racing in an all-new Career mode or the Sprint Driver Challenges to earn reputation and become a NASCAR champion yourself. Create a racing credential, design a customized car, and get ready to race for premier contracts as you work your way to the top with NASCAR 09.
Average Customer Rating:
6.312
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
8 out of 1650%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NASCAR 09
Review 1 for NASCAR 09
Very Solid.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/08
PlaystationMan24
I'm overall impressed with Nascar 09. Jeff Gordon is the game's mentor. It's a shame that there aren't any videos of him like on the next-gen versions. Instead, screens of his picture and what he has to say pop up. There are two new driving models: EA Family Play and Pro. Family Play is good for beginners and Pro is good for more experienced players. Either way the game is sorta easy, but it's still fun. On the track, things certainly look good, like the sky and the sun shining off the cars. Even the cars themselves look good. There still aren't hands moving on the steering wheel though. The AI cars are better and the wrecks look more realistic, but cars still flip too easily. At least the car setup is better. Everything else still is a lot like Nascar 08. The career mode, Chase for the Nascar Sprint Cup is the exact same as the career mode in 08, except for a new name and Jeff Gordon as the mentor. But the game is still very solid and those that can't get this game for one of the next-gen systems will still be content with it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NASCAR 09
For all of u na sayers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/08
A.J. 88 fan
I don't care what everyone else says I think the game is awesome they repaved the track at Talladega they put Dale, Jr., new car in the game. They the new guys Patrick Carpentia I have no clue how to spell his last name. Also Sam Hornish, Jr., who might have a bright career ahead of him. So for all of the people who said this game sucks u should really learn how to respect the way EA sports runs things with nascar games. You guys need to really sit down and get to know what this game really has to offer and if you want a nascar game that has good turning on the cars buy this game. The xbox 360 game has awesome graphics I will give it that but thats the only reason why people get that game then once you see there reviews they say the game sucks and not to buy it for it's a waste of your money. So thats what I think of the game and what people have to say about this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NASCAR 09
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/08
192837465
I find this game not much of challenge but not too easy either. The graphics are incredible and the sounds like the engine roar and the crashes are fun to experience but one main downside is that in career mode you have to start with the NASCAR Whelen Series then on to the Craftsman Trucking Series then you get into a harder series buy the name of The NASCAR Nationwide Series. It has some bigger challenges in it but then finally you reach the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. That is the most challenging series. A way to get out of going through the all the series you will have to qualify for a series. One other challenging part of Career mode is the License mode when you must pass the challenge and get your license for the next series. The money you make is good. You can create cars and ghost cars are always fun. The Team Communicator is cool because you can ask your teammates for help like blocking, moving, following , etc. One thing I haven't noticed about the game is that I haven't figured out how to use a car you have created in the pass and on the main menu on the bottom Jeff Gordon gives you some stats from your career when you're not in it. THis game would be for anyone who likes auto racing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NASCAR 09
This is a great game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/12
Shamus
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love playing this game. It's so realistic. My first race, I used Dale Earnhardt Jr. About ten laps into the race, there was a huge crash, and I just took over. Finished with a huge lead and the win. I love this game. But there's just one problem: Jeff Gordon's on the cover. I know your supposed to focus on the game itself rather than who or what appears on the cover. I get that. But Jimmie Johnson, or one of the Busch brothers would've done nicely. Dale Jr. wouldn't be bad either. It's a very realistic game with a lot of depth. It's really good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NASCAR 09
BORING
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/09
xXMAMASBOYXx
This game is just like NASCAR 08 so if you already have 08 dont bother buying 09 unless you hate Tony Stewart and love Jeff Gordon. THe tracks are just like the real life ones but one of my favorites is the New York track and thats where you drive through Bew York either in Craftsman, Sprint, or Nationwide Series. You only have a limited way to customize your car/truck. One of my favorite races are the Whelen Modified races. Those are like what you would find at a local race or something like that. The sound is pretty good, but the bad part about the whole game is that in some series or on certain tracks you cant go into the pits which really stinks when you have a flat. One of my favorite features in the game is the rewind button. Thats where if you wreck oir take a turn bad then you can rewind and do it over. I think you can rewind a max of 8 sec. So if you are a big racing fan and already have 08 dont bother buying this game unless your collecting the games because i heard that this is the last NASCAR game that EA is going to make.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NASCAR 09
Great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/10
AnonymouslyConfused
I am not a big NASCAR fan so it is rare I pick up a game. I played a couple of the releases early on in the Playstation 2 life cycle over at a friends house. This is the first version I have actually purchased since the N64 release of NASCAR 2000 which brings me up to date on this release. I got to try the online and it worked pretty good with little to no lag. Although EA has since or is getting ready to shut the servers down. And frankly I do not blame them as every single time I went online there was about 4 to 12 people online which is not enough to keep the servers up and running. Season mode is exactly as it sounds and the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup is probably where you are going to find the depth in this game. It has some nice features as you can choose who you want to sign a contract with, upgrade your car parts, take license challenges, check your career status, change your drivers appearance and of course race. This mode is highly addictive to say the least. The sound is really well done and comes with a varied soundtrack. Some songs I found annoying but overall they were pretty well chosen. Graphically the car models do look dated and the race tracks themselves look pretty good. The menu's are well implemented into the game and are extremely easy to navigate. Nothing really to fancy here but they look nice. Gameplay is a blast. I know some people were upset with this release but I do not buy sports games on a yearly basis because I know well ahead of time they do not change much. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this game and my recommendation is that if you bought the previous years go ahead and skip this one. If you have not bought a NASCAR game in a few years you might as well pick it up if you have a PS2. Bottom line is it is a very fun game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NASCAR 09
Good for Rookies, NOT for more Advanced!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/08
Bob "No, I'm Not Turning Right" K
The real deal is this.... The game is a re-hash of the '08 game and nothing really is new including the way the cars drive. Starting out of the box, I ran in the PRO level & immediately won the first 4 races that I have run. If you are a rookie, maybe you'll like this game. The cars are so easy to drive & the new COT does not drive any different from the other cars. The company should have dumped the medallions & chase plates & used the extra memory on improving the abilities of the cars with more radical tuning capabilities. It's so hard to believe that I can win at Daytona with a 14 second lead even after the required pit stop. If I'm that good, then I should be behind the wheel of a real NASCAR. There is a much better game that is older & actually starts you out in the old stock car dirt track series & makes you have to work your way up. It's much better than this game, regardless that someone said there are alot of the new drivers in this game.... Yeah, and your point is??? Bottom line... This is not the game that I. HOPED for... Maybe someday they will start listening to the customers!!!! Take a hint...FIX or RE-INVENT THE NEXT GAME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NASCAR 09
I've seen better
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/08
bob the builder
One of the easiest games I ever played. In Career mode I started right off in the cup series and won all 36 races. The graphics are exactly the same as 08 and there still is no black flag. Where are the penalties? If it meant making the game fun I would like having to go through pit road for passing under the line, or being parked for rough driving and being too slow. The sound effects are also the exact same thing from 08 Same crew chief same old crash sounds. The good thing is there is a wide variety of cars. I also like how the computer cars actually have strategy. Sometimes they actually do take two tires for track position. As far as creating your own car, they put back all the fake sponsors and took away the real ones. This game was definitely a big disappointment. I also would like to see other drivers lead. It is always the Hendrick cars. Not even the Gibbs cars are very good anymore. It gets kinda boring.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NASCAR 09
Not the best NASCAR game
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/09
jbourne
NASCAR 09 on the PS2 is not the best NASCAR game ever. There are certain features that the PS3 and 360 versions have that could easily be in the PS2 version but they are not. The career mode is not as fun because you can't own your own team. The only thing you can do in career is sign contracts and drive someone else's car. The graphics are decent but there are some very noticable glitches like when driving alongside another car the other car won't have any tires and then after a few seconds they will appear. The crashes aren't as fun but the biggest problem with this game is that there are dozens of drivers that are real life competitors that are not in the game at all. This is an OK game for those who have never played NASCAR game ever but die-hard NASCAR fans will probably be a bit dissappointed by the game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NASCAR 09
Nascar2plays Review
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/08
nascar2play
It seems that Nascar 09 for the PS2 was expected to be better then the others. I have to say that they were fooled by the commercials on t.v. It has the same thing as the rest of them do. They need to add the features like differant kinda cars like dodge and toyota. All the cars look like toyotas though. The car of tomorrow or COT looks great actually. Better then 08. The challenge was great, hardcore actually. The chase foremat in the PS2 version really was'nt all that every expected either. Hopefully EA SPORTs will get it right next time and i hope that they will take out the modified cars. they really dont show them on t.v. that much so they can really do away with it. The Beginning of your career was easier then last years game Nascar 08. Thats very good. Overall i give it a 6 out of 10.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NASCAR 09
the graphics
Posted on:3/13/08
nicolas halcon-wade
i hope the graphics are better then the last two games becuse when i saw the graphics for ps3 and the xbox 360 it sucked and hopefully it will better this time and possibly better then the ps3 and xbox 360
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NASCAR 09
hope for more
Posted on:5/3/08
ZWal
Hopefully EA will have added optional race commentary and unlockables just by winning. I would like to see an occasionsal black flag and hopefully different weather conditions (rain, wind etc.)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NASCAR 09
Previous Ones Are Much Better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/12
GameHeadOnline
Location: Albuquerque, NM
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Not bad, but not great, or even good... I bought this over priced at $19.99 used from GS (you can get it new for that much) I also have 05 and 06, and I have to say they're much better. Even in 4 years not much has changed. I don't like what they did to the handling, which is now tight if you don't. By the way they got rid of auto brake. They haven't added any new game modes for some reason. In career mode you have to do these hard License challenges to advance series. The crash physics are better. In the team controls you can't swap drivers like you could in 06, they also removed the Hawaii track, and the UPS Truck. I'm not impressed, since you can get much better for less money. If you have to have more recent teams get 08, it's only $9.99.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for NASCAR 09
Unchanged from 08.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/08
jtk43
If you are looking at buying this game and want an honest opinion, don't buy it. As a diehard nascar fan who owns nascar game, this is by far the worst game I have ever played. Usually I can try to find at least one good thing about every game I play but truthfully could not for this title. EA hyped up this title saying that it includes ESPN but does not, only for the next-gen versions yet neglected to take it off of the ps2 casing. The AI went way down hill compared to last year and the cars have "matchbox car" like physics. As soon as I played it, I put it through a series of tests for various categories: FPS, clipping, physics, plus many more such as number of tracks, drivers, etc., and failed in all of them. Clipping is a major issue that potential buyers should note, wheels frequently disappear off of the cars during a wreck, appear through another part of the car, then reset to the original position. The frame rate decreases while in a pack of cars sometimes slowing it down below 30FPS. Also note that the car physics and handling are completely unrealistic and the car setups are very plain where you are limited to a slide-scroll to setup the cars. Cars easily flip at speeds as slow as 65 mph from what I've tested so far and pile on top of one another like pancakes. The cars are "loose" no matter how you tweak them and slide through every turn leaving skid marks even if you start braking half way down the straightaway and go as slow as you can. The Tachometers are also pegged at 9500 rpm whenever you get on the gas. Many of the tracks are outdated and haven't been used in Nascar for 4 or more year yet are still on the game, such as Nazareth and the Darlington Truck series race. There are also only a handful of real drivers in the game outside of the Cup Series. None of the new features are included into the game that were supposed to be: No pre race or commentary, ESPN, new paint shop feature, challenges or anything else that EA hyped up for this new installment. This series of games has gone down hill since 2005 and has been completely stripped down from what we've seen in the past. It is the same game as 2008 with just a new roster and paint schemes. I have seen much better games in the past and EA is capable of better things than this so I don't know why this is the product I bought. You are better off using your money to buy some older nascar titles that are much more enjoyable and will give you a ton more for the money than this years installment. Sadly, this is the lowest score I have ever given a game in a review and you should take this review to mind when if you are considering this purchase. Thank you.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NASCAR 09
Ps2 version an afterthought?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/08
Rookie Stripe
What is EA thinking? The PS2 version of the game is virtually unchanged from last year. Which was not noted on EA's website. The only changes were a few cosmetic changes to the menus, and soundtrack. The only true option which carried on to the ps2 version is choosing the Pro or Family control style. The car handing appears the same as last years version, and the AI improvements were also not implemented in the ps2 version the drivers still move across the entire track to wreck you, and you have the big one even at tracks like Richmond. The 360 and PS3 versions are supposed to use a rep based point system to progress through the 3 top series, and unlock new sponsors and teams. (Truck, Nationwide, and Cup) The ps2 version still uses the six areas of skill points that was used in last years game. Also the ps2 version even still has the Modified tour in it (that I do not believe was in the other two versions). Also the challenges are not in this version. I know that the ps2 version cant be as detailed as the ps3 version, but they could have done most of the same things just don't use the videos. I strongly recommend that if you don’t have a 360 or ps3, do not buy this game. Especially if you bought 08. Because with the exception of paint schemes, and new drivers it is basically the same. One change is the skill points you earn cannot buy the chase plates (which there are the least of in any nascar game). And no offense to my fellow PS2 owners but, if EA is just going to basically re-release the prior years game they should just stop releasing them for ps2, or at least strongly note that on their site. This is the first time I have been upset with the quality of an EA game.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NASCAR 09
Possible improvments
Posted on:4/25/08
lawler
Just hoping that NASCAR 09 indicates which manufacturer the cars are (in 08, Cot’s had no manufacturer name on them). Also, it'd be awesome (being from Canada) if the game included the Nationwide n Truck series tracks that the Cup series doesn't race on (Mexico, Montreal, Nashville etc) and the drivers that are up and coming (not the Bushwhackers or whatever). Being able to control the cars under the yellow flags would be sweet as well as throwing in a black flag from time to time... still expecting a kick ass game this year tho! Can’t wait
Review 17 for NASCAR 09
WORST NASCAR game on the PS2.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/12
cbargan23
Location: Hebron, MD
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The worst on the PS2, it's virtually the same as 08, just with updated drivers and teams. During races, if you get to far away from a car, the wheels on their car just disappear. This game also has serious frame rate issues. None of these problems have existed on past NASCAR PS2 games, not even 08! The cover says this game features ESPN, but it doesn't, the PS3 and Xbox 360 versions do however. No manufacters on any of the cars. And Talladega isn't even repaved! Same with 08! This game is terrible! I would never recommend this to ANYBODY!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NASCAR 09
best one ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/12
theian
Location: newcomerstown,ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is the best racing game ever!!!! the graphics are just as bad as last year. the sound is good. the gameplay can be a little hard sometimes, but is still great. career mode is fun. the only problem is that it is impossible to complete the challenges to get to the next level. the soundtrack is good. I like country music, but it just needs a little more than all country music every year. overall, this game is amazing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for NASCAR 09
The best ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:2/28/08
Chris from Eastern Kentucky
I want to start off by saying that Nascar is the best sport ever and i have every nascar game since 1999 and the graphics are the best ever and i hope that they bring back all the legends or at least 7 or 8 of them and the crashes could be more on the edge of your seat action and i done got mine preordered when i bought Nascar 2008 so that's about it. Go out and preorder yall's today come back uhere
Review 20 for NASCAR 09
Dissapointed
Posted on:3/12/08
Ras
i was really dissapointed with nascar 07 and 08 because to be quite frank they sucked. so i expect a lot from this. i really hope ea hasn't already got their grip on another contract with nascar because sierra made a much better nascar game. i want to be able to personalize my own car for online play think about that it would be sick.
1 2 next>>