GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES

Lead a group of high school students with a dangerous extracurricular activity: exploring the mysterious tower Tartarus and fighting the sinister Shadows during the Dark Hour, a frozen span of time imperceptible to all but a select few. However, the end of their quest is no longer the end of the story. Witness for the first time the aftermath of the final battle and the students' struggle to find meaning in their new lives.
Average Customer Rating:
9.667
9.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
10 stars
28
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
29 out of 3097%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Review 1 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
One of the BEST RPGs out there!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/08
Uubahh
Persona 3 FES is one of the best RPGs in the gaming market. The game combines the aspects of a dating sim, turn-based battle systems, standard RPG elements, and simulated real-life situations that the many characters face. Along side of that, it has a really good soundtrack. Just like in real life, you can make friends with people, go to school, and just plain out have fun. But there's also another side which where P3 really shines, the Dark Hour. The Dark Hour is where you really start to fight the monsters in-game, and it's where the turn-based battles and the story really come into play. But also, just like in real life, you have to keep a balance of both going out to the Dark Hour and keeping up with your friendships and school work. The game has a calendar system, where when you do one thing, time will pass and the next day starts . The calendar follows the Japanese calendar, including special events only in Japan. The music in game is composed by a number of artists, vocals by Lotus Juice (a JP rapper) and Yumi Kawamura. Meguro Masashi, the sound director of the game, did a great job putting everything together. The music is a combination of Jazz, Rap and Pop. Although some people think it gets tiring after a while because it gets a little repetitive, in my opinion, I think it'll never get tired if you are into this genre. Overall, it feels like you really are inside the game, experiencing different things, such as putting your life on the line fighting monsters, while trying to do good in school. And adding to that, a really great soundtrack. This game is amazing. Get this!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
21 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Must Have for PS2!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/13
IdontWantAnickName
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Easily one of the BEST games for PS2 and an amazing game in general. You will clock in about 70-80 hrs just breezing though it but without having to force yourself to finish. I clocked in around 100 hrs, because I like getting the most out of my games. If your looking for a great story, with awesome and addicting game-play, this is perfect for you. You will NOT regret buying this outstanding RPG.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
An Engaging and Exciting RPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/12
bluefin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Having never played a SMT game before, the opening of this game had me confused at first. The protagonist and several other characters who will later become his friends experience the dark hour. The dark hour is a "hidden" hour that occurs at midnight, during which shadows appear. Their main hangout is Tartarus, a huge labyrinthine tower that appears where the school stands during the day.
You and your comrades decide to enter this tower to fight the monsters with the power of Persona, aspects of your personality that fight with elemental abilities. It's something like a version of Pokémon, if the pokémon were all gods, demons, angels, and mythical creatures. The battles are turn-based, and most of the monsters have a weakness you can exploit.
The story continues from there, and throughout the year of gameplay you can level up, gather new personas, and explore Tartarus. During the day you must go to school. This can prove an unexpected challenge, because many of the questions are based on Japanese history and were not changed from the Japanese version of the game. You can also make friends in school and around the city, creating Social Links. Social links allow you to fuse more powerful personas and unlock interesting cutscenes.
While this game is without a doubt entertaining, it is not simple. Leveling up becomes increasingly difficult, fusing some personas is frustrating to figure out without help, and maxing all social links in one play-through (necessary for creating a special persona) is almost impossible without a guide. Even on the "easy" setting, this game is a challenge.
The Answer, a shorter epilogue of the main storyline, is even more difficult, and consists only of level-grinding. It is tedious, but the story is just as interesting as the main game.
The challenge of P3 gives it a high replay value, and the many unlockables will keep you interested long after you've finished the main storyline. This is a difficult game, but its characters and story are unforgettable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Definitely worth the cost
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/12
BunkerXCM
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am amazed how many copies of this can be found used... who would return this game?! There is always room for improvement in any game, but even starting this game in 2012 I have found it addicting and very fun. The social mechanics are an interesting twist on the dungeon crawling RPG, and monster fusion is just complicated enough. Highly recommended to mature gamers of the genre, parents may not like that characters shoot themselves in the head to evoke their demons.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
One Of The Best RPGs Of All Time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/12
PoisonGamer
Atlus, I salute you to infinity AND BEYOND! Persona 3 FES is a fabulous, marvelous, extraordinary addition to the beloved Persona series. It takes you on a journey, and makes you feel emotions that you've never felt before. It also feels like you're truly there with the characters, experiencing the pain and hardships, as well as the happiness and joy, with them. Believe me, not many games can do that. If you are at all a gamer, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND, no, I DEMAND you to play this game! You will not be disappointed. You will laugh, cry, and be taken to a world that is beautiful.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Beautiful...Simply amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/12
AsachiShirato
Location: Orland Park, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing. Atlus makes the best games. They never let the fans down. Persona 3 is on of the best games. Hard yes, but so very addicting. The music sometimes gets annoying if you play for hours, but thats nothing to how amazing the story line is. If you love RPG's and never played this. get it. It will blow your mind away
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Addicting
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/12
Makingcookies4all
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I saw a uncompleted walkthrough of this game (about 80 parts that were 15 mins. long) and this game blew my mind. It was so amazing that I begged my parents and I'm getting a PS2 tomorrow. I love the voice actors (except Fuuka) and the script for each character is well written. In short words, this game is arguebly the best and funniest RPG out there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
A "Must Own" for RPG fans, unique and epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Persona 3 FES is an Anime-Inspired Supernatural-ish Japanese High School RPG. Yeah, it's a little unusual in terms of what you'd expect from an RPG but it immediately became one of my top 5-10 games I've ever played. For a PS2 game the graphics are wonderful, the sound and music are among the best I've ever encountered, the gameplay requires a little level/item grinding (at least on Hard mode, which is the only way I've played it) but both the combat side and the everyday-life-in-high-school sides of the game are both masterfully done and highly addictive and entertaining.
Persona 3 FES is also a very long game..... I'm not done with my first play-through but I'm at about the 50-hour mark and I've still got quite a ways to go. The difficulty can be rather hard, especially in the very beginning. Grinding is pretty essential in the very early-going in order to establish your first few skills and Personas (these are like summoned creatures in the game's lore.... they effect both your skills and basic statistics). This is more of an older-school RPG in regards to the fact that you might hit a boss that absolutely DESTROYS you until you grind up a couple of levels or find a certain Persona that will give you a skill that gives you the upper hand. This becomes less pronounced in the mid-game (where I currently reside) but in the beginning you'll have to devote more time to leveling up.
As I said above, aesthetically this game is great, wonderful music, great graphics. The subject matter is mature despite it being a game where the characters are high schoolers (similar to many animes). The game has much depth.... I believe more-so than Persona 4 in many ways.... weapon crafting and persona-modifying.... I never played the original Persona 3 and thus can't compare Persona 3 to Persona 4.... but Persona 3 FES (which is a special edition of Persona 3) has more MEAT to it than I found in Persona 4 (which is still an AMAZING game and makes advances in the series regardless.)
On that note, DON'T pick up the original Persona 3. The FES version has more goodies in the actual, playable main game as well as an extra campaign called "The Answer" which according to what I've read ties up some loose ends to the main game. "The Answer" is much shorter... I've read it clocks in at 30-40 hours at different estimates....not bad considering there are many good games out there that clock in at that time or under IN THEIR ENTIRETY. (Mass Effect 1 was amazing and I believe I finished it in 30-35 hours.)
Persona 3 FES is a must own game..... old-school RPG fans will LOVE it and non-RPG fans just might be converted. It is similiar in form and scope to Persona 4.... though from what I've read some of the other Persona games are a little different. If you own a PS3 I believe there may be a version on the Playstation Network so you might want to read up on that..... I'm still rocking my PS2 to play old RPG gems like the Persona series and Xenosaga. This is a must-play game and I cannot recommend it enough..... though if you arn't into or familiar with Anime the visual style might take a slight adjustment.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Epic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/12
Thedarkone52
Location: Ripton, VT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I absolutely loved this game. Compelling story, great graphics, and the choice of what you want to do. I reccomend this to everyone looking for a good RPG. You will be hooked.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
shin megami tensei.....the best maker of games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/11
digitalblade
Location: new york ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has got to be one of the best games i have ever played. the storyline the music the gameplay....all of which were outstanding and incredible. you get to make friends date girls fight shadows save the world and make tons of personas. this game hooked me the minute i saw the cover.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Why don't you own this!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/11
0Kyrael
Location: OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Hands down one of the Best RPG's of all time. The Soundtrack is amazing the Social Link Setup is really Easy to get sucked into . The Story is just Brilliant and of course FES added another chapter past the end to enjoy. And after you played several times threw you can grab Persona 3 Portable and see the game threw a Female Main Charecters view which makes the story new a fresh all over game. Must have for any serious RPG fan
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AsachiShirato
Orland Park, IL
 
Please wait while more information about AsachiShirato is loaded.
Additional information about AsachiShirato could not be loaded.
One of the best
Posted 7/19/12
This is one of the best games. I've played it twice. Everything is beautifly done. A game that I could play over and over. RPG's are my favorite. The portable version just made me love it more. The female's POV makes it even better. Nothing can beat the original though. If you love RPG's then Persona 3 is a game for you.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Amazing Story
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/11
neonscorpion
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
What really draws me to this game, time after time (I've played it several times) is the incredible story, and the richness of all the characters. They really draw you in, and make you care about them. The relationship mechanic, called Social Links, adds a whole new level to the story, and what your character is fighting for. The gameplay is solid with it's own flavor and twists, but does contain tried and true JRPG mechanics, which I rather enjoy, but I know many people find frustrating with the way some games have evolved in the last several years. If you are a fan of JRPGs, or even just moderately interested in the genre, I can't recommend this game enough. It's one of my all time favorite games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Good graphics....gameplay..not so much.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
Excadrillibur
Location: Lake Elsinore,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's so hard to gain EXP. in this game.I would not recommend this to anyone.It's so annoying how the enemies do way more damage than the main character does.Buy something else with your 30 dollars.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 116 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
AsachiShirato
Orland Park, IL
 
Please wait while more information about AsachiShirato is loaded.
Additional information about AsachiShirato could not be loaded.
Posted 7/19/12
Slowly gaining EXP is the point of persona. It is a long game. If you found this a bad game dont play RPG's. This game is amazing
Customer Avatar
xeedoc
 
Please wait while more information about xeedoc is loaded.
Additional information about xeedoc could not be loaded.
Posted 3/29/12
Just because a game is difficult does not mean it is bad. Don't rate a game a 1 because you can't beat it.
This game is fantastic, but it is difficult, so don't buy it if you're new to RPGs or if you can't handle games that require patience and planning.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
This game is amazing, best in the series!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/11
awesomeguy353
Location: san diego, california
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well first off this game has not a single flaw! this game has an amazing story line,fun game play leading a life as a saviour of the world and a high school students. this game has many many heart warming experiences as well as depressing moments. But 30$ is so worth it even though its a ps2 game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Beautiful. Absolutely stunning!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
Gameplay
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Shin Megami Tensei has done it again! Persona 3 FES is enjoyable to the very last second. And considering the length of the game, averaging around 100+ hours, that's a LOT of enjoyment. This compelling RPG is included with a new story mode, averaging 30+ more hours. Also included in this game are new features, such as a new "Hard" difficulty mode, and other small add-ins that fans will definitely appreciate. Persona 3 FES almost turned me down by its pricetag, but I knew that would be a mistake. Please don't turn this game, you'll regret it. This game is an amazing RPG, and I hope you'll treasure it as much as I do.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Best game ever. Hands down.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/11
taco10
Location: virginia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Shin megami Tensei Persona 3 is not a game but an experience. To start of with the opening is amazing with a J-rock theme and a nice anome cutscene. The graphics are average for a PS2 but frequent anime cutscences add to it. The combat consist of turnes based supporting up to 4 characters who can summon their demons to fight of the other demons villans etc. Players are rewarded at the ends of battles with a lottery like way of earning demons and power-ups to help in combat. Players have a wide range of demons associated from different religions,mythology and supernatural themes which adds a atmosphere like no other game can offer. The story line is vivid with many twist and turns. It mixes horror,action,thriller and romance for a unique experience. The story consist of going to school in the day,socializing with friends and even dating and getting a job. At night you fight demons in the Dark Hour. It works as a fusion between a simulation/SRPG for a creative spin. If your a hardcore gamer I would absolutely recommended this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Near a godly lv
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/11
Thefool
Location: AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This games worth the time its darkish story will draw you in and, the soundtrack is great and the game play is easy to pick and fun if you played Final Fantasy xii then you have a blast.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Very, very, very, very, very GOOD!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/10
BoNeShippuden
I was introduced to this game by a friend. When I took it from them, I though "hrmm, this looks weird", and I was right. Weird in that it is definitely not a normal game, it couldn't even be compared to any of the games I had played before, and even now (3 years later), I still can't compare it to anything else. This game should be the game all other video games designers take notes on because when Shin Megami Tensei did this game, they did it right.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
I'll never forget this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/10
plastic plates
I had to get my hands on FES quickly. I figured that soon it would be out of stock from everywhere I knew (I had found it by chance, actually. Luck.) To tell the truth, I don't quite know where to start. I suppose I shall go by the rating topics. Challenge/Gameplay: Persona 3 FES really put me on my toes. Throughout the game, you have chances to exploit enemies' weaknesses, and in some cases there are none, so you're on your own, as well as the weaknesses of your own Persona that you equip. Because of this, you have to constantly switch, think, evaluate and then in the end just have a lot of fun. What really was enjoyable was the concept of weaknesses, strengths, nullification, repulsion and absorption. It really made me celebrate and curse at the same time. It adds to the charm. It adds to the difficult. It just adds to everything. Which brings me to the Persona factor of it all - man, you have tons of persona to choose from, to create and discover, and the skills that come with them are pretty great, really. I think what I love most is the history behind the persona - real creatures of different beliefs and myths. I love mythology, so I fell instantly for the different gods that appeared (as gods, and all). I even loved the name of Tartarus - Google that so you can see how it relates. If you have the persona yourself, you can check up the history of it and how it relates to others (Fusion skills) which eventually puts you on the spot to build up social links and create many Persona. Controls/Interface: Because of my own PS2 I had some trouble with the controls, but it's really simple to navigate through your menu (both on screen and during battles) or change angles, and what really amuses me the most is when you leave your MC standing there just to watch him do things that are humanly. He bends his legs, he flexes, he stuffs his hands in his pockets - they're all things that make it seem like you're really playing something, and because you feel that, you're bound to enjoy it more. At least, that's what I think. Sound: This might have been my most favorite aspect of the entire game, if you don't count the Persona. The music is just the greatest fusion of everything - I'm not a fan of rap or bubbly pop but this soundtrack has the greatest mix. It goes with the mood, the setting. Different maps trigger different music, different scenes with characters play some other tracks, and man, the option to even change music while you're running around Tartarus, the main place of the story, is superb. You have music to get you going, music to make you relax a bit - sometimes I leave the game on just to hear the tracks and don't do anything. Plus the two different intros really are great. Both songs, thumbs up. I might as well talk about the voice acting here. The MC doesn't have a voice - unless, by chance, you whip out a new Persona or use a skill, in which he shouts out the name or makes a grunt. The grunts changed by weapon and honestly speaking I found it to be the most amusing thing ever when I first discovered that. But everyone else - their voices fit their characters and the pronunciation was pretty key, man. I couldn't ask for anything better! Voices really are important to me when I'm playing a game, and these voice actors were pretty superb for a video game. Character Customization: The one thing I'll rate a 9. Because really, with the exception of the summer outfits and whatnot, only the girls get the clothes that actually change their appearance on screen. I mean that's not the only thing I harp upon. The items you get to equip the characters are really great - and the fact that the MC has access to every single weapon except guns and knives adds to the thrill - because they're not useless. They enhance stats, some even change on-screen appearance. But sometimes, some of the descriptions are just so vivid and make me go "Wow, I wish he would really wear that", but ..they don't. So it was a bit disappointing there,
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES
Best RPG I ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/09
SmokingSkull21
Indeed you might disagree with me that Persona isn't as good as Final Fantasy. However, I enjoyed Persona 3 FES much more than any Final Fantasy game. The storyline is perfect. You are these high school students fighting monsters, sounds like you can even think of that but this game makes that idea truely epic. The music is this game is Jpop but I enjoyed it. The music really does fit the mood in the storyline. The storyline is superb. It's not too long or too short although I would have wanted it just to be a bit longer. However, this game contains a new mode called "The Answer" which is about after the events of the original Persona 3. The Answer is the 2nd mode. You must play The Journey first so you can get what is going on in The Answer. I strongly recommend you to beat The Journey first. The weapons in this game contain of swords, guns (which only 1 specific character can use and I won't spoil who that is for you), axes, and bows. They are not as strong as your inner being (Persona). Personas are monsters inside of you. You can summon them to attack your enemys. As you make friends you can create much more powerful Personas so you really should pay attention to your social life in the game as well as battle. I strongly recommend this game to any fan of RPG or is willing to try an RPG for the first time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>