GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Space

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design and Action Game of the Year.When an immense mining ship, the USG Ishimura, comes into contact with a mysterious alien artifact in a remote star system, its communications with Earth are mysteriously cut off. Engineer Isaac Clarke is sent to repair the Ishimura's communications array, but he arrives to find a living nightmare - the ship is a floating bloodbath, the crew unspeakably mutilated and infected by an ancient alien scourge. Clarke's repair mission becomes one of survival as he fights not just to save himself, but to return the artifact to the planet ... at any cost.
Average Customer Rating:
9.067
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
2
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Space
Review 1 for Dead Space
Re:My Review
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/12
thegeezergamer
Location: The United States
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let me say here that I've been a Gamer for years, however, I don't jump on the band wagon and buy/play what everyone else is playing, b/c everyone else is playing it(case in point, the call of duty series). Anyways, even though this game is from 2008, I finally decided to buy this. Let me say that this game is one of the best I have played. If you are looking for an all around action thriller that at times will make you jump, then try this, you won't be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dead Space
Sound Skipping Repair
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/11
UncleChubby
Location: MARS
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you downloaded this game like me & are having problems with what seems like the sound skipping & causing the game to lag no worries i'll tell you how i fixed mine on Win XP. First close your game completey, then click on start then R-click "My Computer", Click on properties, Then Harware, Then Device Manager, Then you will see all the +signs look for the + Sound, video & game controllers click on it, Then go down the list & look for (Unimodem Half-Duplex Audio Device) Right click it & disable it (dont uninstall cause the system will reinstall everytime you reboot) and thats it . comment back & let me know if it helped ya!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dead Space
Good but LOOOOONNGGG Load times
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/11
madpcskillz
Location: philly, pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game fun i like the 3rd person and it will scare you if you play alone at night. graphics are great for 2008 game there no skyrim or oblivion but there alot more advanced then doom or quake 4 shiny skin ppl. tons of gore. I recomend that its 18+ for this game any one younger might become a scaredy cry babby with nightmares. Now to the bad LONG very long load times may take 1-2 mins to respawn after a death and 2-3 mins for level change. it wouldent be bad if there werent so many do it 100% right or die or oops sliped and killed your self oops ran in to antigrav trap so many respawns spend more time in loading then in game. i can load oblivion saves and respawns in seconds on my pc and other high graphic games like l4d and hlf 2 in 10s of seconds. this is for some one with a very good pc or your be waiting all the time respawning
 
My Product Recommendations
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
10 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dead Space
Awsomw
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/11
GryGry2
Location: New York NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the next awsome horror game after silent hill. It has more action and blood
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Dead Space
Best survival horror game since Silent Hill
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/11
imabornkilla
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I know I'm late playing this game, but I wanted to do it before I get Dead Space 2. First off I'm playing on the pc with an Xbox controller, pumping it out to my tv in full 1080p glory. Graphics all on high and the game plays flawlessly. The story is pretty good, the sound is superb. Graphics are also top notch. There were definitely times when I jumped out of my skin because the timing was just perfect. I would definitely recommend this game to any one who likes the genre, or any one tired of the easy run and gun style of the COD's out there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dead Space
BEWARE: horrifying horror
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/09
giSPY
This game is a really eerie thing. Wherever Isak goes and whatever he does there's a beast waiting for him in an ambush. Top-notch visuals recreate gloomy atmosphere of the abandoned spaceship and sinister sounds remind us that there's some form of life present onboard. Odd mouse control could be easily "healed" by turning off Vsync while it'd take some time to get used to the game's camera view. Different levels provide various environments but the fighting itself is almost always about two things – freeze and kill. Upgrade system adds depth to gameplay and replay value of Dead Space. The story is a bit tedious and the number of "specialties" to kill on the menu is rather limited, though. Despite some minor flaws the game looks polished and makes good impression – look forward to playing its sequel.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dead Space
Survival Horror Lives on!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/09
JCM
If your looking for an excellent survival horror game and are sick of all the shooters.... Than this is the game for you. I was blown away on how you can have the graphics pumped all the way up and still have this game perform well. All of the graphics are crisp and won't dissappoint some of the most picky. The sound in the game is absolutely fantastic from the crunch of the alien body parts to the depth of the gun fire all the way back to those creepy little wispers that came up here and there which show up beautifully with any sound system. I was extremely pleased to see that ammo was not hard to come by like most games which gives you the ability to blow your enemies away and smile about it and not worry about if you'll have enough ammo to kill the rest. The controls however took a bit to get used to and I was a bit dissapointed to see that the movement keys could not be modified to the arrow buttons and this could take some tjme to get used to. I was frustrated for about a day but once you get the hang, you won't take this CD out of your drive until you finish. I won't ruin any endings, but I hope they continue this story becasue it has great potential and could go further and go well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Dead Space
Horrible controls
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/09
Coastman28
I waited anxiously for this game and when it finally became available for download I did not think twice before buying this game. Since I love Doom style game, I was sure I would enjoy this game for a long time. So I downloaded, I installed.....went on to play and......What I waste o money. Not because of the graphics, storyline, sound, but the controls. I was expecting something similar to call of duty which is simple and still you can do a lot of things. I tried using the mouse, joystick, keyboard, but nothing was easy. After a few try I have up and removed the game from my computer. I am just hoping that they release an update in which they can fix this problem. Why make things so difficult when is not necessary? Very disappointing.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dead Space
System Shock 2 meets Doom 3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/08
Thief_3_Wannabe
I do not recommend this game to anyone with heart conditions, so with that said.... Never since System Shock 2 have I been so terrified in a game as in Dead Space. This is one of the rare gems that make me stop playing not because of poor quality but because my heart needs a break from pumping so much adrenaline. Many times I found myself creeping around the U.S.G Isuimaru's haunted corridors hoping I could make it to the next airlock without something sneaking up behind me or bursting through a vent screaming to tear me limb from limb. Like a good movie, it left me siting watching the credits roll as I reflected on just what I had experienced. The game features an interesting story line told through audio, video, and text logs, upgradeable weapons and equipment, a couple "force" powers (for lack of a better word), puzzles that seem plausible/realistic, and nicely built up "boss" battles. Of course, nothing is ever perfect and Dead Space is no exception, mouse controls are somewhat sluggish and it had an annoying bug that changed your difficulty if you selected "Continue". The other thing I had an issue with was not being able to play it in first person but you get used to it after a bit. As far as replay value goes, its hit or miss, while it does unlock a few niceties its basically the same play though but at a harder difficulty (if you choose). So if your in for a challenge like Dooms "Nightmare" difficulty you'll get a kick out of Dead Space.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Dead Space
The best game ever!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/08
Crusader4u
Every so often you play a game that gets it right in every respect, and then some. This is the game every gamer needs in their library. It's one of those rare great ones. Games have never really frightened me until I played this one. The weapons match the atmosphere, the sound is unlike anything I have heard before and the graphics are among the best I have seen in a game. This game is really, really scary and has some moments that will make you jump and scream. I love how they didn't overdue this, the game still has a great scary vibe but stays lit enough that you don't feel lost in the darkness. From the moment I saw the commercial for this game I said to myself, "Man, that's gonna be a great game." This is by far the best game I have seen on the PC. Get out of the way DOOM 3, you've just been replaced.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dead Space
what a waste of a brilliant game !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/08
psychosis00
I hate 3rd person perspective games, the only exception for me is the GTA series. This game is a horrible disappointment that so much has gone into making it, yet they did not bother to give an option to switch into First Person view to play. A simple code option in the menu could have salvaged this game for me, as the camera could have been made to pan back to show 3RD person perspective when a beastie grabs you and tries to make you lunch. SHEER LAZINESS in my opinion, but maybe a patch or MOD will make this happen and save ONE OF THE MOST BRILLIANT GAMES I HAVE EVER PLAYED! Why am I so angry? Because this game is BREATHTAKING! My god, it is a fantastically bloody, atmospheric, scary game and a limb blasting work of GENIUS! Even if you can't stand 3P views in game play (like me), this game is still worth the full price of admission to play at least once! The environment, creatures, sound, no Gravity features, weapons, armor suits, story line, attention to details, are beyond any game I have seen to this date. A must play game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Space
A gleaming gem, but slightly flawed.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/08
Crantius Colto
I picked up this game after seeing a bit on X-Play about it, and I'm impressed. The intro is very nicely done, as is the models and use of lighting. The atmosphere (when you have atmosphere, one of the nicer touches has you roaming about in vacuums) is just incredible, with ambient sounds, strange whisperings, and the subtle sounds of monsters that may or may not be nearby. The music, while sparse, is also on par with the game, with tense violin bits when you come to a corner.The graphics are quite breath-taking, with lovely shadows playing on all surfaces - flashing alarm lights, strobes, all of which augment the sounds to make the game's environs even creepier. The models and textures are very crisp, even with the graphics turned down a bit. There are also scripted events, such as entering a room, and seeing an insane doctor killing somebody with a saw, then committing suicide with that same item. The game also runs well on the high settings as long as you have plenty of RAM to carry the load.The level design is a little linear, but doesn't detract from the game too much. Combat is a bit sketchy. While you will be fighting horrid aliens, the real enemy is the camera. I've died more than a few time because I was backed up to a wall, and navigation can be a little tough in places that are in a vacuum, especially in zero-gravity.The controls are also a problem, in you're not used to using the WASD keys. This is especially a problem for lefties, and makes it very hard to deal with a fight against more than a couple enemies. Mouse control can be an issue as well, as there's just a little lag between mouse and the game. Hopefully this will be addressed with a patch.But aside from a few small problems, this is a spectacular game, and anybody into survival horror games will greatly enjoy this title.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Dead Space
Pure Excellence
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/08
ZeroMaverick89
In my opinion no game ever created compares to this one. Maybe Resident Evil 4 for the sole reason of the same game control. Dead Space as far as i know has an original storyline but sets the most nerve testing, fear shaking, and blood freezing effects on yourself. The attention to detail on the graphics and design on the over-all ship itself is perfect. The lighting effects on Isaac, his weapons and everything in the ship sets the most perfect mood. In most games the lighting is typical and stale and sometimes even predictable. Dead Space is an exception. A dark corner the first time may or may not reveal a target, the second time around the same corner may or may not reveal a target but the whole time you approach this corner you are asking yourself will there be something or you may even be telling your self there IS something around the corner but as the story unfolds you will swiftly and fearfully learn the truth. The storyline is another thing to be told. To be perfectly honest i do not wont to risk accidentally given any spoiler of any sort but as much as the gameplay itself, it will keep you standing on your CURLED toes and wanting more with every step your force Isaac to make. The targets are unique from any game i have played and as in almost every game they have a weakness just waiting for you to find and exploit but be careful of these weaknesses for they may be difficult for u to hit at times. The weaponry is very creative and each has its own design flaw and advantage and as a small tip for those that read this far, save before you feel like testing a gun out because in my experiences that one "bullet" can mean the game or life. Lastly, as for controls, depending on your gaming preference it may take some time to get accustomed and i don't mean hours but more on the lines of your first few kills with a gun. All in all this game is pure excellence.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Dead Space
Very Very Good!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/08
PanzerShell
I just played this game for about a solid 3 or 4 hours and it is amazing! The story is very good and very eerie, if you have ever seen the movie Event Horizon its kind of got that feel to it, a very dark and evil ship in space, except in this case the ship is actually crawling with monsters! The control scheme in this game in my opinion could not be any better, it is a third person over the shoulder view, think gears of war and resident evil 4. When it comes down to survival horror games like this, first person view takes away from everything, especially if you have guns, it takes the sense of the fear right out of the game, you run around feeling invincible cause you can move around so fast for example...but in third person over the shoulder, you have to actually watch your character turn corners and watch him run from things and etc.., just my opinion though, either way very good control. Graphics are very good!! Hope everyone enjoys this game, take care.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Dead Space
Dead On
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/08
Million
You can tell this game was a labor of love for its creators. The attention to detail is incredible. The suspense factor is fantastic. The environment is extremely creative. The weapons are well designed, with cool upgrades. Your player's suit is cool as heck. These people worked hard. They didn't rush to market with a sub-standard product and it shows. The controls, however, are tough. I prefer a First Person perspective, so this game took time to get adjusted to. It didn't take long though, and after seeing how the story and action sequences play out, I can see why they chose to have your character in view during gameplay. Either way, this game combines fantastic story telling with cutting edge graphics. If you liked games like Half-Life, BioShock, Doom and Quake, and if you liked movies like Blade Runner, Alien, and the Thing, there is no doubt you will enjoy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Dead Space
I think it looks promising
Posted on:10/16/08
Anonymous
Dead Space is what you get when Doom 3 meets Resident Evil 4 and the Manson Family for a tea party with Dr. Weir on the Event Horizon. It looks like a pretty solid game; I don't know about the naysayers, but I'm willing to spend the money for this one. EA looks like it's finally coming out of the cartoon era.
Review 17 for Dead Space
Low Expectations Prevent Huge Let Downs.
Posted on:10/7/08
Great Expectations
My biggest hope is that this game plays out like an interactive version of Event Horizon and not just some crappy Space Marine shooter number Eighty Billion. My biggest fear is that the attempts at unique gameplay detract from the atmosphere. I guess I'll find out when the demo releases.
Review 18 for Dead Space
Simple
Posted on:10/6/08
Captain Obvious
From a writer's stand point, the game seems to take an approach of Event Horizon meets The Thing (both movies for those that have never seen them). All your old friends and loves are now your enemies in twisted creations of what they once were. The only thing that I could see as a flaw to the game is a possibility that there may be a lack to the variety of weapons. Overall though the game appears to be an interesting space horror based game. I cannot really compare it to any horror game currently on the market. I look forward to playing a demo to decide if I will commit to a purchase.
Review 19 for Dead Space
What Bioshock SHOULD have been
Posted on:10/6/08
doomyGIRdoom
From everything I've seen and read, this game is a serious contender for GOTY. From the graphic novels, or animated shorts, the story is looking pretty good so far. I love the idea of tactical dismemberment, and looking forward to untraining the headshot. Also there seems to be a lot of horror influence in this sci-fi realm. I'm a HUGE System Shock 2 fan, and I've gotta say Bioshock (the spiritual successor) was a let down (formulaic story, easy final boss, and no real character advancement). Dead Space is going to be what Bioshock should have been.
Review 20 for Dead Space
God No!!
Posted on:10/5/08
Para
I'm sorry I have to say this looks aweful....I loved Bioshock and resident evil but the story preview they give just sounds stupid and unrealistic...your a mechanic (technically) and you somehow manage to slaughter hordes of random aliens that randomly spawn on some ship atleast resident evil and bioshock gave explainations...if yout hink you'll like it have fun im gonna stick to more promising titles liek Left for Dead and Fallout 3
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>