GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Bleach: Dark Souls

Based on the popular anime series currently in its second season on Adult Swim,BLEACH: Dark Souls features an enhanced battle system that takes the video game series to awhole new level. With new online multiplayer options and enhanced battle strategies, players canfight in dramatic high-action sword clashes via Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection as one of 44 characters.The branching storyline created exclusively for the Nintendo DS allows players to fight on theside of good or evil for the first time in the series as the evil "Hollows" have finally found a way toinfiltrate Soul Society.
Average Customer Rating:
9.273
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
2
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bleach: Dark Souls
Review 1 for Bleach: Dark Souls
An amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/10
Ice_wolf
This game is by far one of the best games I've ever played. When it came out back in 2008 I didn't even own a DS but I wanted one just so I could buy the game. It has amazing graphics, an excellent story line that goes with the final episode of the first half of the Bleach series, and a good number of characters to play as. It's not like most games that make you stay as the main character for the whole storyline, but rather in some levels you get to be different characters. The levels are hard yes, but not so hard to where they're unbeatable like some games. The special powers that they give to the characters for battle actually keep to the anime/manga story, which again, most games don't do that. I've played some games that give the characters less powers or new powers they never had; this game gives the characters the exact same powers they have in the anime. I would recommend this game to any Bleach fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bleach: Dark Souls
Superior Fighting Game for DS!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/11
cudicutie
There is a lot I can say about this game other than it being great. First of all the gameplay is just great. Its top notch were you can pull off some insane combos or hits one after the other. The music is great from the intro to the title screen and until the ending. The character graphics r great and look really smooth in action, but maybe the stages could have been slightly better. Still great though. A couple things to say is the character roster is large for a ds game and every character has there way to fight. There are mutiple stages from being bored. This game will keep you interested for a long time since this game let's u customize a lot of things such as the wallpaperand the sound of your favorite character voice for the game to say things. Overall this game is a must have for any bleach or fighting game fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bleach: Dark Souls
An awesome Bleach game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/08
OC Maker
I love this game! Or at least, I will love it. I have the first one, The Blade Of Fate, and I am hooked on it, despite it's mildly low selection of characters. In my opinion, all but one character, which is Bonnie, completely deserved to return. It has players that only had a speaking role in the original in the spotlight. Characters that had no role whatsoever in the original, like Shuuhei and the Hollows, also have some spotlight in the fighting. I don't think you'll be missing too much if you get this before the first. Another thing I love about this, which also took a while for me to grasp, are the controls. The touch screen doesn't get too much action in these games unless you want a constant repetition of their special and super moves. The controls help them do their moves, such as B for their Flash Step, A for high, Y for low, and X for medium height. It took me a while to get good combos due to those controls, but you can do awesome combos once you grasp the controls. So I recommend this game as well as the original.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bleach: Dark Souls
The Impossible made Possible
Posted on:9/12/08
OC Maker
Treasurer and SEGA have really done it now. Making a sequel to one of the best DS fighting games, if not the best, is going to keep this game on sale for months! I have the original and playing the 28 characters they have available is unbelieveably addicting! They have lovable oldies like Hollow Ichigo and Renji, while bringing some new ones like Urahara and Kukaku. I only know about 7 new ones out of the additional 16, but I'm ultimately psyched to find out! The release date couldn't come at a better time or whatever... The graphics and moves have been updated as well, along with the fighting skills. With newbies like Kukaku and Matsumoto (since I'm partially familiar with a couple of Urahara's), you'd be just itching to see their techniques. This is going to be greater than the already awesome Blade of Fate, and that's something to be proud of! My fellow Bleachtards, look forward to this game, because if you like fighting RPGs like Pokemon and Naruto, this game could most likely blow other fighting games way out of the water!
Review 5 for Bleach: Dark Souls
Great for Bleach fans~
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/08
SailorPokemon
Overall I thought this game was pretty awesome! I thought the graphics were great, considering I only really play DS and/or GameBoy games. The storyline was pretty fun, a lot of fighting, but that's a given in most games like this. There were more characters and cool new Bankai moves than the last. My only problem with the game was that Aizen doesn't do a 'cool Bankai' attack like he did in The Blade of Fate game. But then again, I'm an Aizen fangirl, so it may not bother others as much. Oh, and once you finish the story mode, you can go back to what you want to later. (Also, the game has alternative endings, which I found interesting..). So if you like fighting games, random stories and fights, [Aizen- cough], or anything like that, I bet you'll like this game! I hoped I helped someone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bleach: Dark Souls
Zaraki Kenpachi
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/09
Kankuro Rules
This is the best game for the DS in America I think because you can unlock and play as almost every single character in the show even hanataro and Kon (But no one uses them they suck). The Storyline is weird because instead of ichigo going back to his hometown he stays in soul society and theres a festival and then osme dude finds a whole rack of mos souls and they turn into hollows and you ave to defeat them i still havent unlocked everyone. But they made Kenpachi suck (or I just dont know how to use him) hes slow and has weak attacks. The person I use the most is the commander dude ( I cant remember his name) and Ichimaru. And you can buy different costumes for every character even though it's just different colors. I wish they would make it easier to unlock characters
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bleach: Dark Souls
This is a Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/08
RUN
I really enjoy this game and had a great time playing the first one too. There are many characters in this game and beating the game once doesn't get you every thing. That's what I like about games. Also you don't have to replay every part of story mode. You can go back to the parts to complete parts you didn't complete yet. If you are a fan of the Bleach series, then this is a must play for you. The story line doesn't complete go with the TV series. I'm not sure if it follows the manga series because I never read those yet. But overall this is a great game. Unlike some other fighting games that have mass of characters to play with. The characters in Dark Soul have their own special and super moves. As an overall rating I give this game an 8. Hope this review answers some of your questions about the game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bleach: Dark Souls
Almost the best game on the Ds
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/14
Gokenc17
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is awesome. awesome gameplay. the bad things about it are
1. the story mode is kind of confusing
2. there are barley any bad guys
3. i wish the tranformations (ex. ichigo's bankai) could have lasted longer. the good things are
1. awesome gameplays 2. great modes
3. awesome characters 4. really good moves
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Bleach: Dark Souls
AMAZING Audio but Graphics Could be Better
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/11
IceNeon
Location: Townsend, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am a Bleach fan myself and I LOVED this game. I recently bought it and have not put it down since. It has tons of combos to memorize but if you don't want to memorize them all, the touch screen comes in handy for this. The graphics durning game play could be a lot better but this is a DS game so its pretty good based on the standard. The graphics not in gameplay (i.e. chat) were awesome and well thought out. Audio was amazing and really close to the series. I have yet to use the Wi Fi option but I loved that highlight as well. Definatly worth your money if you're into fight / action games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bleach: Dark Souls
Sounds Good
Posted on:3/12/08
Rangiku
Even though i haven't got the first Bleach DS game this sounds like one that i am sure to buy. I reccomend those who r just startin into the anime try to avoid gettin the games be4 u kno whats goin on or this probly won't make much sense. I love the grapics and how it has 44 charaters to choose from and the fact that it takes place in between my fav part of the series. I can't wait til this game comes out i graunatee this will be another awesome Bleach game.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bleach: Dark Souls
Baaankkaaiii!!!!!! Super-Bleach-Action!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/11
Deadlyshot
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is an amazing fighting game even for people not a fan of the show could easily get hooked by watching someone else play or trying ti out for themselves.however if you are a fan of the show, they did great detail to the characters and gameplay.Every little thing is done like buwhahah' is a taunt for someone, the basic 'flash step' is very useful and used wisely in game. their spirit moves are great, their specials definitly are as well...and when it comes to bankai's,,,,well see for yourself...its almost like controling the show itself especially with th rest of the sounds and gameplay dynamics.theres plenty of small extras and a few big ones to unlock, a wiiddee selection of characters and even some things ahead of its time during that saga.;] the sound is great, so many voice overs and effects and clear yet explosively loud, its all just soo great and captavating. only annoying part is having to replay threw some of the story modes to fully complete and unlock people and things which has a skip feature 2nd time around for stages beat but gets annoying stlll. then the spirit card system can be greatly useful and customizable but also a pain to adjust, unlock and learn.of course u can fight with or without spirit cars in versus, up to 4 players even online but i reccomend one on ones. theres also team matches.customizable emblems.sooo much to this game but its still a 9/10 in my book because the action is exciting and sticks around. very few flws, and soo many great accomplishments. enjoi!!! ^_^
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bleach: Dark Souls
bleach dark soul review
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/10
skype
Ask we know we played the frist bleach game bleach the blade of fate for the ds that was release 2007 was the best fighting game for ds.Now in 2008 sega release bleach dark soul this is the 2nd bleach game on the ds but it kind like the same game from blade of fate so you get the same fighting controls.Thier are some changes to dark soul now if you have button on maulen you dont have to side scoll to your super it well be thier when you start a fighter.Im a bleach fan the gameplay good the characters are cool and when i play blade of fate it fell like i was playing mvc or mvc2 cause it fell like a arcade game sega sould release a arcade machine frist for these two games dark soul and blade of fate before they release them on handheld or consoles.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bleach: Dark Souls
A Great Ds Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/13
jinpartyji
Location: OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game took the first game (Blade Of Fate) and said ok here's what were going to do. Keep the same format and give you more characters and balance everything out (or try to at least). My only problem with this and the first game is the card base assists feature (but you can turn it on or off for this one, I don't remember if you can for the first one.) But even that can be a big game changer. The fact this game has 1v1v1v1's and tag battle and so forth is great, the whole line battle is great for free for all's or tag battles. And the best thing is the fact you can ds download play with any of your friends who don't have the game and use anyone you have unlocked, so if you have everyone it's going to be fun for either single player or multiplayer craziness.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Bleach: Dark Souls
dont buy it!!!
Posted on:3/13/08
hitsugaya toshiro
dont buy it!!! the title for the game sounds pretty cool but trust me the game is awful...i got a japanese version of this game a while back and though it would be really cool. it turns out the the graphics are extremely poor, gameplay is boring, sound is okay, and attacks such as bankais, shikais, etc. were also very horrible.this game is really not worth buying. you should only buy bleach games for the wii,ps2, and gamecube.their grahphics and gameplay are way much better.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bleach: Dark Souls
I'm gonna kick some Grand fisher butt!
Posted on:7/24/08
kimimaro87
I loved The Blade of Fate. So this one should be off the hook. I am a total Bleach fanatic! And I also own Bleach Shattered Blade for the wii. So I am definitely not gonna skip out on a chance to get this sequel to what I believe is the DS's best fighter. It's just like Guilty gear, basically. But now that you can play as Kisuke Urahara, Matusmoto, A Menos Grande and Kukaku Shiba! This is gonna be pure sweetness!
Review 16 for Bleach: Dark Souls
Sounds Awesome
Posted on:3/25/08
Momo Hinamori
I would definately get this game because I have the first one, finished it, and am still playing it regularly. This one sounds even better because there is a wider range of characters to chose from. Also, since the storyline is original, no spoilers! Bleach forever!
Review 17 for Bleach: Dark Souls
A Great Fighting Game
Posted on:4/16/08
Ichigo50
I've had the japenese version of bleach dark souls and its great, but the graphics are the same. Basically if it's like the import, Bleach fans will love it and fighting fans should give it a try.