GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon

FINAL FANTASY mainstays Chocobo and Cid find themselves in a mysterious town. Whenever the clocktower bell rings, people lose their memories. It's now up to Chocobo to journey into the dungeons and retrieve people's memories. But Chocobo is well-equipped for this task, as he is able to train in any number of classic jobs from FINAL FANTASY games. Choose the right job for each task, and level up to defeat the evil that dwells in the dungeons.
Average Customer Rating:
9.571
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
Review 1 for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
awsome!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/08
moosewii
I got this game yesterday and i loved it!! first of all the graphics are so great. all of my wii games don't even compare. second of all the gamplay is great!! you get to choose between different jobs which each have unique abilities such as a knight or black mage. you get to fight monsters in dungeons that are different every time you go in them. there is also a place where you get to play minigames such as pop-up duel. you get different cards a you play the game which you can use to build a deck and battle other people. The challenge increases the more you play. this might be a little frustrating for people who like easy games but all the other good things about this game still make it good to buy. the controls work really smoothly. you have three different choices on how you want to play. you can use the wii remote sideways,upright or use the classic controller. the storyline is awsome. there are all kinds of suprises which makes you want to keep playing to find out what happens next. overall this is a great game. i would recomend this game to everybody!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/10
tikitales
Location: Fresno, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have been playing different versions of chocobo dungeon on different systems for years and this latest installment didn't dissapoint...I was enthralled from the begining intro...the game play is excelent, the cut sceens are beautiful, the replay value is limitless and the game is just down right fun...they managed to keep all of the fun elements of the old chocobo dungeon series and they added a new and interesting job class aspect that allows you too choose the battle style you like best...(and you get to play chocobo dress up.. it's super cute! )...so to summerize I would say that Chocobo Dungeon Wii is filled with cute characters, a deep storyline and the final fantasy characters we know and love...it's a true ation rpg classic..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
Good RpG
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/08
WishList
You play a chocobo, which is not surprise, while you adventure through dungeons you can change jobs for him. At first you will only have yourself as a job and gradually you'll be able to change jobs to a knight, a thief, which in my opinion is the best to use until the last boss, a white mage, black mage, a dragoon, a dark knight which I did not even use, a scholar, and thats all I can remember from the top of my head. The game plays tactics style where you take turns and battles are not as random as your conventional final fantasy game which might make game play a bit faster in my opinion. For the most part all the dungeons are just variations of each other and can reach at the highest 40 floors which is the last dungeon. The story and plot are pretty predictable. The characters are interesting and it was fun to play but the ending leaves you to ask one question and this is without a spoiler: Why?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
A very fun game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/14
WiiGameGuy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'd like to say that until this title, I had never beat a single game in the Final Fantasy franchise....and I had never played a Chocobo's Dungeon game......long story short, I got 38 hours worth of game-time out of this haha. From the engaging cutscenes to the challenging dungeons to the mini games within, this title is a title worth the 9.99 price tag. Even once you beat this game, it'll have you continuing to play by challenging you to beat bonus dungeons (some being extremely difficult). It was also fun to find the best equipment and fuse and hone it to the max. Aside from that, there is an awesome arcade within the game to keep you busy...ranging from typical arcade type games to a pop-up card duel game. There is so much I could say about this game but I would hate to spoil anything. I would recommend picking this up if you are a fan of dungeon crawlers, cinematic RPGs, or any type of RPG for that matter!!! Playing through this title has given me a new found respect for the Final Fantasy franchise, and while I still might not play through a core FF game, I'll at least purchase the Chocobo Dungeon games if any happen to arise in the future. I hope my input has helped anyone who might be interested...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
An excellent game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/08
Le Dauphin
I was a bit skeptical at first... I haven't played video games since I was a kid and ownded a SNES. As an adult, I rediscovered this fun and purchased a Wii and love it. While I own many Wii games, I'm actually currently playing old gamecube games to get "caught up." So I played this game last night (remember I am comparing this to all the game cube games I am playing.) The animations were excellent. The voice overs were excellent (I don't know what was happening during the gamecube era, some of the voice acting on the gamecube is PAINFUL!) I like the fighting interface... again I have only played the game once, but already I had an excellent time and enjoyed it very much. Although it looks like a "kid game" its very fun and just has cute characters. The very last game I played was a Final Fantasy for PS. I was very disappointed to see the almost non-existant RPG selection for the Wii. Luckily there are a few great ones for the gamecube to keep me tide over, though Chocobos Dungeon is definately a step in the right direction. I hope future FF titles continue for the Wii.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/08
Crimson Angel 94
I picked up this product expecting to be dissapointed at a poor storyline and gameplay mechanics, but I was incredibly wrong. This is a true Final Fantasy game. The difficulty is right for Final Fantasy, the story was good, and the gameplay was amazing. I don't think I have ever been more impressed at a modern Final Fantasy game that isn't a remake. You play a choboco named "Choboco." You enter the first dungeon and go through a tutorial that explains all of the basics. Dungeons usually are in people's minds, and you gain the ability to enter their minds shortly after the game begins. There's more to worry about in dugeons than just health. There's SP (magic), hunger, and position. If you let yourself get surrounded by enemies in a big room, you can consider yourself dead. The game encourages you to fight enemies one at a time in hallways, which is the smart thing to do. There are several different ways of fighting. You gain the ability to change jobs in the game, making different stratigies for fighting, and also changing the appearance of Chocobo. Jobs are different class of warroirs, consisting of mages, warroirs, etc. The controls are pretty good and give you several different options. You can hold the wii remote upright, sideways, or just plug in a classic controller. Holding the wii remote upright allows you to go through the entire game using only one hand. Everything in the menu is easy to find and saving is quick and easy (although you can't save in dungeons). The soundtrack is good and easy to listen to at the different situations. This game has tons of voice acting that fits each character's personality. The graphics are sharp and eyepopping; well, for a wii game, at least. However, the dungeons, being random made, can get a little repetitive. The game will last a long time as well, so expect it to be in your wii for a while. I was really impressed by this game, and I hope that more games like this are released. To those with a wii, this game is a must buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
Awesome! Better than Crystal Chronicles!! Good old turn based RPG action
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/08
Mulder1617
I was skeptical at first of this game based on some recent bad reviews but when I got into the game I absolutely loved it. The graphics are pretty good for a WII game, the story isn't too shabby, and the cuteness of Chocobo on the front of the box should not turn away old school turned base RPG games. Its a mixture of the original FF games for the NES and SNES plus Final Fantasy tactics rolled into one. The ability to change into different old school job sets was a great idea. An addition of a Wifi card game wasn't too bad if your into the Pokemon or Yugi Oh! card battling thing but other than that this game is worth the money. Sure, some of the dungeons can be repetitive but I wouldn't let that deter you from checking out this game. Finally Square has made a praise worthy Final Fantasy game for Nintendo's main console.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
Well...
Posted on:6/25/08
Tobias
My initial thoughts aren't aren't exactly concerned with graphics. I enjoy flashy high-end cut scenes just as much as the next guy, but they don't make a game fun to play, just fun to look at. Even if I was worried about that, this is a Final Fantasy game, so the graphics can't be atrocious. I mean, Square Enix did a great job, graphically speaking, on the PS2, which has much less processing power than the Wii. Regardless, it looks kind of, forgive me, cutesy. Normally, I have nothing wrong with that, but lately it seems like several cutesy games have come out for big rpg franchises and they have, for the most part, been severely disappointing to veterans of the series (example: Tales of World Radiant Mythology). I'm all for trying new things, but my question is, "Is it worth buying?" Good games are coming out now so much faster than they were just four or five years ago. It's reached the point were I can no longer buy every game that looks like it might be worth it. If anything I'd give it a rental since games like this are usually repetitive in the gameplay department, lacking in the storyline department, and short. Terribly short. In no way relative to normal Final Fantasy games. These kinds are more like spin-offs. I won't be buying it. Maybe I'll rent it if I have enough time.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
crazy cute
Posted on:3/30/08
Cat Bite
This game is going to be the best thing that ever is coming to the wii. I don't care aboot Smash Bro.s. it's square-enix on wii. i've played the ps1 chocobo's dungeon they were ultra fun and the ds not so much. it will mostly be like the ps1 ones, but they will have some ds features in it. the graphics ARE GRAND-ER THEN PS1. that doesn't say much but still. i would give my pinkies for this game and maybe a few toes the rest of the toes would be givien to final fantasy 7 ps3. (it has to come out right)
Review 10 for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
awesome
Posted on:4/29/08
Nintendo fan 100%
I played Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo Tales for the ds and I realy enjoyed it, Yet it was a little bit shorter than I would have hoped. If Square Enix could work on that It would be a perfect game for the wii, I say that because the wii oozes graphics and I would love a final fantasy game( a game that you know pretty much has good graphics anyways). Just the idea of having a final fantasy game for the wii... I'll be honest I didn't think it would happen. But I was wrong!!!(Thank goodness);)
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
Not so sure about this one...
Posted on:6/24/08
wifidragonx
This game looks like it would have okay graphics. But I have read articles (Game Informer) saying that this game is very repitetive. same place over and over again only changed around randomly - (the dungeon part). It said that you'll only be doing the same stuff over and over again. I was hoping for a more RPG adventure game. I may be wrong, but that's what I have learned so far. The screen shots look okay so far. Hope it's more exciting than what I've heard
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon
Pretty good
Posted on:5/3/08
Ericonforce
This game will be an awesome release for the Wii. I would not say the best until it actually comes out, but from playing previous FF's this game should be nothing less than excellent!